Skip to content

reason 129 why I love this team

March 6, 2011

Thanks to reader bbBenz for pointing me towards this ridiculously amusing and adorable video from Shimon Peres’ visit to Valdebebas.  And it turns out, Iker and Sergio both did get to practice their English, though they and their teammates only mostly said things like “nice to meet you” and “thank you very much” (both repeated various times throughout the visit).

Were they really bored, didn’t understand the English, or was the sun just in their eyes?

Here’s a rundown of the moments you should not miss during the video.

0:33 – Iker says his first English words – “thank you” after Peres tells him, “I love you.”  That’s not exactly the response I’d want if I told Iker I loved him.

0:43 – Iker says “thank you very much” in his adorable (and typical) Spanish accent.

0:46 – Mou pats Iker on the back, Iker gives him a look.

1:00 – Xabi says nice to meet you, tells Peres he’s a good friend of Yossi Benayoun, since they used to play together in Liverpool.

1:05 – Xabi clarifies that he’s a midfielder, to which Iker says “a bad midfielder” (as many of you have pointed out).  So is Iker one of those that only knows the bad words in English?  Just like Mesut in Spanish?  After all, Iker knew to change ‘best” to “worss” with Pepe.

1:18 – Peres’ translator tells the president that Xabi is part of the World Cup winning Spanish side, Peres cuts him off with a terse “I know.”  How much do you want to bet that karate kick was going through his mind?

1:28 – Kaká says “nice to meet you too.”  He’s reduced from being the former world player of the year, one of the most expensive signings ever, etc. to being “the Brazilian.”

1:34 – Iker introduces Pedro León as “Peter Lion”!!!  Iker finds this amusing and grins to himself.  I love it, I simply love it.

1:39 – Cris says hi!  Just like that, with an exclamation mark at the end, and gives a thumbs up.  He and Peres are apparently old friends, having met before.

1:46 – Iker calls Marcelo! Pepe!

1:52 – Cris introduces Marcelo as “the best player of the league.”  Marcelo says “nice to meet you.”

1:56 – Cris introduces Pepe as “the best centerback.”

1:58 – Cris calls himself, Pepe and Marcelo “the best players here.”  Notice a theme here?  Mou and Marcelo would have used the word “top” for “best.”

2:06 – Cris ends the conversation with an “ok? Nice to meet you, eh.”

2:10 – Iker gives Peres a shirt and says, in English, “it’s a present for you.  A shirt.  It’s a tee (?).”

2:15 – Pepe fools around with Marcelo in the back (look at Marcelo’s posing!) while Sergio tosses Iker’s gloves backwards into the air.

2:20 – Sergio yells “very nice!” makes other noises.  Cris and other players laugh.

2:45 – FP’s huge nose comes into view.

3:39 – Cris is bored.

3:50 – someone’s phone goes off, Álvaro and FP stare at the unfortunate soul.

4:14 – poor Di María.  Just as he’s ready to pose for the group shot, it’s over.  Loving Álvaro’s huge smile.  And how polite of Karim to remove his hat for the photo!

4:18 – Mou strokes Peres on the nape of his neck.  Someone shouts “niiiice.”  Don’t know if the two are related.

4:19 – for some reason, Iker and Sergio shake hands with each other.  Love it!

4:22 – someone mentions the Jackson 5 (sounds like one of the Portugese speakers, no?).

4:23 – someone sings like them in the background (why oh why was this not captured?).

So adorable, no?

50 Comments leave one →
  1. Ally permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:11

    So adorable!! But I bet some of them just didn’t understand the English xD
    Thanks Una and bbBenz for this cute video 🙂

  2. Milleca permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:41

    0:33 – Iker says his first English words – “thank you” after Peres tells him, “I love you.” That’s not exactly the response I’d want if I told Iker I loved him.

    Una, you crack me up! Wahahahaha! Well, I’d agree with you though. But Peres is weird enough to say I love you first!

    I need to watch this video and crack myself up. Seems like this is so adorable. Awww.

  3. fatima permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:48

    hearts in eyes throughout the whole video.
    haha at Iker for saying Peter Lion. that’s adorable.
    Sergio (barely) speaking English! YES!
    and when Shimon Peres was speaking, I wonder how many of the boys actually understood what he was saying haha.
    and the Jackson 5! haha i wonder who that was haha.

  4. March 6, 2011 11:10

    haha this is great! also love how after xabi confirms he’s a midfielder, iker adds “bad midfielder”.
    loving the little bits of english!

  5. IsaBella permalink
    March 6, 2011 11:18

    I know that I will probably be crucified by many people here but I just need to say this: in my opinion, most of the players were acting really rude. The only exception is Iker and some others who didn’t speak much or were educated enough to show respect to the world class official, like Marcelo, Pepe, Kaka and Xabi Alonso. Mou was also acting decent.
    Most probably most of them has no idea where Israel really is. That’s why they seemed really bored (or simply didn’t understand what Peres was saying) and completely not interested in what was happening. It just made me sad.
    If the President of Israel paid me a visit I would probably go to the moon and back of happiness.

    • Mel permalink
      March 6, 2011 21:34

      I don’t want to crucify you, but I don’t think Marcelo showed respect, look at the picture of his hands showing double duces…….

      What the president says is very interesting, and maybe the players would have benefitted more and payed attention if they could understand it. So perhaps the club should have had a translator present to explain to the players what was said.

      I wouldn’t display you kind of happiness if he visited me, and I have to say I feel that a president of a country in the middle east going to a football club in spain, is a bit wierd. I really don’t se why he had to meet the madrid players other than for his own amusement.
      I understand their ‘I could not care less attitude’, because I don’t think they very instructed om why they were meating him. I would be just as bored as the madrid players if he visited me, because it would be completely piontless.
      Peace will not come to Israel because he visits football players in madrid.

      • Corazon permalink
        March 7, 2011 21:57

        No it’s not weird he visited. Peres is the founder of a peace & reconciliation centre in Israel which seeks to show young Palestinians and Israelis a way forward to understanding one another through football and other projects. Mourinho has been to Israel at the request of Peres and Real Madrid also played a game in Tel Aviv a few years ago against a Palestinian side, again at the request of Peres.

        So this is why he visited Valdebebas. He is seeing old friends again.

        • Mel permalink
          March 8, 2011 22:37

          It is a beautiful hope he has, but it’s never going to happen, not before one or both sides stop excisting……

          But thank you for explaining, it makes more sence now. I still think it’s wierd though.

          The Danish team FC Copenhagen played a game in Isreal a few years ago also, and there was a huge media hype about it in Denmark, because it was feared some of the players would leave Israel in coffins………

    • March 6, 2011 23:57

      To be fair, I think most of them do know where Israel is, but the number of times phones went off during the video! I agree that some of the could’ve handled it better if they had turned them off (although we don’t know if the phones even belong to the players).

    • March 7, 2011 02:06

      I think it’s extremely unfair to say that the players probably have no idea where Israel is. It’s unfair to expect Peres to have the same effect on them as they have on you. You also have to put things in context. If it was a formal setting, a dinner in honor of Peres or if there was a formal receiving line, then, yes, their behaviour would be unacceptable. But it was an informal set-up, just meant to be a brief break in the training. They couldn’t be reasonably expected to trail Peres while he was being introduced to all the players one by one and hang on to every word he was saying (even in formal receiving lines, people chat to one another while waiting or once the VIP has passed). My impression was that after they were introduced, they hung back a little and talked to each other, goofed off a little, then gave their full attention again in that shirt presentation and when Peres gave that little speech. While some of them could’ve been more serious about it, I wouldn’t call their behaviour rude.

  6. IsaBella permalink
    March 6, 2011 11:26

    one more thing: in 2:10 I think Iker said: ‘It’s a shirt’

  7. amouria permalink
    March 6, 2011 11:34

    I m sorry Una, I would have loved not to see Shimon Peres in RM, nor to find the details on your post today. When he visited the team, I just ignored it because it did not catch much media attention. But now it is on your wall, I would like to express my opnion.

    • March 6, 2011 13:59

      I edited your comment because I don’t want any political talk here, I hope you understand.

      By the way, what is “my wall?”

      • IsaBella permalink
        March 6, 2011 14:03

        tienes Facebook, Una? ‘the wall’ es como ‘el muro’ de Facebook, donde pones tus sentimientos y opiniones para que tus amigos los puedan leer.

        • March 6, 2011 14:57

          Sí tengo FB pero aquí no hay muro, no?

        • IsaBella permalink
          March 6, 2011 15:04

          creo que era lo que amouria quiso decir…. tu muro como el foro de comentarios o simplemente tu post.

      • March 6, 2011 15:55

        I think she means that this blog is your ‘wall’.

  8. Elly permalink
    March 6, 2011 11:47

    Hi. thank you for this beautiful website. can i ask you something? how you make this animated gif’s from videos?

  9. Chloe permalink
    March 6, 2011 13:24

    too much is going on in this video *wipes tear*
    I watched the video and thought it was hilarious until I read your analysis!
    Peter Lion was A+
    and Sergio’s “VERY NICE OOOOOH”
    I love how Cris is constantly making jokes :”)

  10. Lulja permalink
    March 6, 2011 13:38

    My Goodness!!! These guys turn a state visit into an unforgettable spectacle! I laughed my ass off!
    The Jackson 5 comment must have come from Cris, Pepe and Marcelo – of whom the letter also most likely was the singer.

    Thank you, bbBenz and Una.

    • DebS permalink
      March 7, 2011 20:42

      That would be my guess too about the Jackson 5 comment/singing. These guys are too funny.

  11. Ana permalink
    March 6, 2011 13:57

    at 1:05 after Xabi clarifies he’s a midfielder Iker says “bad midfielder” lol

  12. Iram permalink
    March 6, 2011 14:28

    thank you so much.very cute video . It’s very funny that sergio and iker shake hands! also thank you for your detailed comment breakdown of it.

  13. PepperPots permalink
    March 6, 2011 14:33

    The girl with the red blazer in the first part of the video seemed so giddy and excited to see the players! Haha. Calm your t***, girl! Haha. Couldn’t blame her though.

    P: I love you! I: Thank you! Hahaha!

    Errr. Everytime I see Kaka I couldn’t help but pray for he’s form. In all seriousness. I know it’s gonna take time but that was two years of injury-peppered season already. 😐

    PETER LION! The best!

  14. Cindy permalink
    March 6, 2011 14:35

    Cute video. The players were wonderful, you can see how fun they have with each other.

  15. HermosaChica permalink
    March 6, 2011 15:23

    Hahaha, “It’s a tee (?)” definitely got me. And I love how Iker laughed at his own “Peter Lion” joke..

  16. March 6, 2011 15:48

    Iker was SOOO pleased with his silly little ‘Peter Lion’… I have noticed that other players have used that in the past when referring to him. Maybe they picked that up from your blog, Una? 😉

    • March 7, 2011 13:34

      I found out about it from Miguel Torres.

      • March 7, 2011 19:51

        I noticed it a few years ago when the Tour de France announcers were talking about his brother, Luis – the famous cyclist, they mentioned his other talented family members, including Pedro playing professional futbol. It hit me instantly – ‘hah! Peter Lion!’ It’s too cute. and so is he…

        • Ally permalink
          April 27, 2011 16:53

          Luis Léon and Pedro Léon are brothers?! I didn’t know that 🙂 but now I can see similarities in the face between them

  17. nuni permalink
    March 6, 2011 16:16

    I don’t think much of the politics of Israel but that video is adorable. Iker and Cris were specially adorable. And I had my moment fapping over Xabi and Kaka. And loling at Sergio.

  18. Rachel permalink
    March 6, 2011 16:35

    This is adorable, but I just wish some of them were a little more respectful towards Peres’ being there, especially when he was speaking.

  19. bbBenz permalink
    March 6, 2011 16:53

    2:15 – Pepe fools around with Marcelo in the back (look at Marcelo’s posing!) while Sergio tosses Iker’s gloves backwards into the air. –> lol Sergio. Marcelo pats Karim’s butt before doing the pose lol.

    Thanks Una fr the post I’m a very happy reader! 😀

  20. cisarovna permalink
    March 6, 2011 19:00

    At the beginning of the video Peres was thanking Mou and Iker for their contributions to world peace and I couldn’t help but laugh a little. They seem like nice guys, with their cute goal celebrations and charity games, but I do not put them in the same league as the Dalai Lama. Of course after his big speech later on the message became more clear, but I had already laughed so I suppose the damage was already done.

    Also Marcelo had me on the floor when he was messing around with Pepe during the shirt presentation. It looked like Marcelo was backing his butt up to Pepe, but I’ll admit black on black does not always come out clearly on video. Regardless if I saw correctly, I thought he was hilarious!

  21. Sunny permalink
    March 6, 2011 21:00

    Sounds more like Iker said, “A shirt… of the team.” I love their accents.

  22. Paul Galactico permalink
    March 7, 2011 00:22

    I love our current squad. We’re like one big family, except for Pedro Leon and Gago I guess.

    And any Peter Lion appearance is gold for me.

    I’m American and I barely understood Peres. I really don’t blame the players for looking bored especially if they don’t understand English.

  23. March 7, 2011 01:54

    I think Iker said, “It’s the shirt… of the team.” That’s what I heard at least.

    Am I going deaf or did Peres call Xabi handsome when they first met? Before Xabi clarified he was a midfielder?

    “Peter Lion.” Love, love, loved that moment, and Iker’s smile after he said it. He seemed so amused. Actually, I love all the Iker goofy moments here, because we rarely get to see him making jokes like that.

    But is Kaka’s English that good? Of course I only heard less than 10 words, but what I heard sounded good! Almost like an American accent.

    And Sergio’s “Niiiiiice. Woooowoooooooo. Niiiiice.” Precious.

    • Sahar permalink
      March 8, 2011 12:41

      Kaka speaks English the best on real. I can actually understand him better than xabi.

  24. ulong permalink
    March 7, 2011 03:12

    God, I really wanna meet them and have the same treatment from Iker and the team
    when oh when?
    and of course, I will also say “I LOVE YOU” to Iker :*

  25. March 7, 2011 08:30

    I don’t mean this as an attack on you, Una Madridista. I think your work is great and provides a unique insight to the team that MARCA and AS gloss over.

    I think amouria has a point.

    From a Real Madrid perspective I don’t think we should be interrupting our training sessions for anyone. If he wants to have a meeting with club officials, that’s one thing but our players and coaching staff need to be focussed on the task at hand.

    • March 7, 2011 13:39

      Your comment was edited to take the political views out.

      Well, if Madrid interrupts their training session for Ochocinco…

      • Michelle permalink
        March 7, 2011 18:44

        Yeah, pretty much. On the grand scale of Famous People, Ochocinco is definitely below a head of state…

        I guess the day they interrupt the RM training session for an audience with Belen Esteban, we will know that they’re in trouble, eh?

  26. Linda permalink
    March 7, 2011 08:59

    I enjoyed watching this video. Peter Lion? Oh my God Iker you’re amazing! And the way he smiled after saying that was just great too 😀
    Jackson 5? I could imagine that Marcelo is the one who sings like them!

  27. Pammie permalink
    March 7, 2011 13:54

    The players aren’t allowed phones during training, are they? so it most be someone else’s. Which was still rather disrespectful. I actually grinned when they went off. xD

    This video is just so cute with the players speaking english and trying to understand what Peres says.

    Also I don’t want to talk about the messenger, but about the message! Football brings the people together. The Players fight on the pitch with the ball and their talent no matter what their nationality or religion is and not with weapons.
    It’s a bit sad that this message gets drowned over the uproar over a foreign politician visiting the training.

    • DebS permalink
      March 7, 2011 20:25

      well said!

    • March 7, 2011 23:28

      The entire football brings peace is nice in theory. But in practice… it’s far from the truth. When we played the “Peace Team” in 2007 not a single member of that squad had represented Palestine internationally. In fact, when that match was going on the Palestinian National team was in training camp in Jordan.

      Do you know how many times the Palestinian National Team has been barred from traveling by Peres’s government? Forget about the politics for a moment just from a footballing standpoint there are actions Peres has committed that raise the ire of many, many people.

      • DebS permalink
        March 9, 2011 21:57

        I think you missed the point of the speech. He is talking about football in general…not just in Palatine.

        The gist of his statement is that football teaches kids how to compete, side by side with people from different religions/beliefs, nationalities, etc. without killing people…that people around the world CAN work together for a common good.

        This is a lesson that kids need to learn universally, not just in any one country. In the US for example, there is too much killing/discrimination against different races, religions, etc. Kids learn from what they see. If they can see that some of the stuff they see in every day life is not the way it HAS to be, they can hopefully change their outlook.

  28. Ang permalink
    March 8, 2011 00:12

    ok 1st WOW!!! on the video & 2nd WOW on ppls comments… I find it insulting on behalf of the players…

    the comment of “they don’t know where Isreal is…” I pretty sure they do…

    & the phones going off … I don’t think it would have been a player … since they where in practice…and pretty sure they are not allowed to bring there phones to practice??? or can they???

    Marcelo… he is sooo freakind ADORABLE!!!! TOO CUTE!!! & if it is him with who Jackson 5 thing… HE GOT THE HAIR FOR IT!!!!

    Iker… what can I say about Iker… All I can say … Is that now I understand you Una … & your love for Iker… he sooo… AMAZING… GOOD LOOOKING… & I’m going to leave it like that…. because only one player has my heart and that is Xavi … *lol*

    Sergio Ramos & Iker … I just love this 2 together … they make for some cute & intresting moments … Why the shook hands … The world may never know…

    & 2 answer your question Were they really bored, didn’t understand the English, or was the sun just in their eyes?

    I think it is ALL OF THE ABOVE!!! The reason I say it is cause they got bored because they don’t know english so they are like ok what is he saying & then the sun is in their eyes & they are just wanting it to end … And they just couldn’t understand him period… Because I know english …. & I’m here.. what is he saying I can barely understand him….

    Una thanx 4 deleting the political views… I hate when people bring up politics…when we are talking about football…and it’s a football blog… Politics is very important… but I come here to read about football NOT politics… for politics I go to news website…

    OVER ALL GREAT POST!!!! THANX UNA & bbBENZ!!!!

    • Corazon permalink
      March 14, 2011 13:53

      I think they shook hands because Iker had given Sergio his gloves and he was clearly looking for them after he had finished with Mr Peres, only Sergio didn’t have the gloves anymore….so he shook Iker’s hand instead 🙂

  29. March 8, 2011 05:07

    This is possibly my favorite post of all time… it is in close competition with the one of Sergio’s leg/butt. Una, you are a woman after my own heart! Every single moment had me rolling on the ground laughing, especially FP’s large nose and Sergio’s noises! I am definitely going to save that video!

Leave a Reply

