Skip to content

Gonzalo Higuaín – the Real… interview

March 9, 2011
tags:

The third player to sit in the hot seat in RMTV’s studio was Gonzalo Higuaín.  The best part of the interview for me was when they moved past all the football talk (I love Pipita, but he was a bit repetitive with all the talk about how he suffered and how he hopes to be back as soon as possible) and we got to hear about how he forgot his agent one time in his car, how he bought a guitar just for show and how much he loves his mother’s pizzas.

And… Xabi’s next!  His interview will be out tomorrow.  Should we start taking bets on what his song will be?  Note: I will probably translate Xabi’s interview for you all, because I’m sure he has a lot of interesting and intelligent things to say, but after that I can’t make any more promises because I simply don’t have time, and these interviews are long.

By the way, if you watched the interview, you’ll notice that Gonzalo’s favorite phrases are: “sinceramente…,” “la verdad es que…” and “yo creo que…”

“The Climb,” by Miley Cyrus, is a song that talks about achieving a dream, of effort… and it’s Gonzalo Higuaín’s favorite song.

[Cringing for Gonzalo.]

That’s true, I heard it a couple of weeks ago, I read the translation in Spanish and I identified with it because it talks about climbing over obstacles.  I’m sure that I identify a lot with it because from the time that I came to this club, that’s what I had to do, overcome obstacles to get to where I am today.  I hope that I will continue to grow like this with each year, and to achieve the objectives with Real Madrid, which is what I want.

Have you had to overcome many obstacles to become an idol at the Santiago Bernabéu?

Yes, there were a lot, and some that made me suffer more than others.  But with the support of my family, of my friends, the club, the fans, which were all important to me, I could move forward.  That’s why I’m proud of where I am now.  But one shouldn’t be content with this and should want to continue growing and improving with each day.

Gonzalo Higuaín’s dream right now is to play once more wearing the shirt of Real Madrid.

Yes, without a doubt.  Thanks to God I’ve achieved several of my dreams already and sincerely, this is the next one, to return to the field wearing this shirt and to enjoy football again.  Football is what gives me life.  I hope that this can happen as soon as possible.

How do you imagine that day to be like?  You’ve confessed to me that you want it to be at the Bernabéu.

Without a doubt.  Every footballer dreams of returning from an injury in his stadium, to have his fans receive him.  I hope it can be like that, and that’s why we’re working hard, with double shifts every day, and I’m the first one who wants to be back there.  I’m very grateful for how the club has treated me, for the physios, for those who help in the rehab, for my teammates, for everything.  When I go to the stadium and people there tell me that I’m going to play again, it encourages me.

What is the nicest thing that fans have said to you at the Bernabéu?

To be sincere, it’s difficult to choose just one thing, because I’ve received a lot of affection from the fans, from my team and from other persons.  That makes me happy because it means that we’re doing the right thing and I’m growing.  The person is foremost, not the footballer, and that’s how I want people to judge me.  It’s difficult to choose.  I’m very grateful because I haven’t received a single bad comment, which makes me very happy, and I hope to be able to return this affection out on the field.

We all dream of this day, when Gonzalo Higuaín returns to the field and receives an ovation as he subs in for a teammate.  Have you thought of what you will feel in this moment?

A person dreams a lot about these things.  The other day, someone told me that the process of rehabilitation goes faster if you have an objective.  This objective, this dream of when you will return, how you will score, how you will celebrate, how your people will receive you, helps to cheer you up spiritually, psychologically and physically.  I’m very content with how things are going, but we have to take things a day at a time, which is the most important thing right now.

I suppose you kept the shirt from your debut with Real Madrid.  Will you also keep the one from the day of your reappearance?

Of course, I keep all the shirts.  Last season with Pellegrini, I had a leg injury, and I returned against Espanyol at home and I was able to score the third goal 15 minutes after coming on.  It was a tremendous joy.  I remember everything from that day: how I came back, the work I put in to be there, how the fans received me… and hopefully this time around I will appreciate all this more because the injury was more serious, I suffered more, I had to make a very difficult decision and to be sincere, I really suffered before the operation.  But that’s all forgotten now and to be sincere, what I want most is to step on the field and enjoy once more all that football has to offer.

On Jan. 11, you were operated on in Chicago.  What do you remember about the days leading up to the operation?

They were tough.  I had been playing through pain, until the moment came when I decided to stop, which was after the game against Athletic, to see if I could recover in time for the game against Barça.  I wasn’t 100 percent, but I decided to travel so I could be with my teammates and to see if my back would improve.  It was tough and sincerely, I don’t know why those types of things happen.  When you’re injured, you appreciate what it means to take care of yourself, when they tell you to do this for your own good, even though you don’t want to… The truth is, I took everything that was told to me to heart, and it’s also what I’m doing now.  The most important thing is to return as soon as possible.

You traveled to the U.S. with your parents Pipa and Nancy.  Out of the three of you, who suffered the most in those days?

I think we all did.  I’m also very grateful to the national team, who sent their doctor, to Madrid, who sent theirs, to the directors, to the míster, who were always in contact with me and to all the people who showed me affection and would call me each day to see how I was.  I’m super thankful to my parents and also to my agent Cacho.  There’s nothing that can compare to the support of your family and having my family with me in the moment of the operation gave me tranquility.  To be sincere, everything went better after the operation because they were there with me.  We all suffered, but once the operation was over, we were more tranquil.

What do you remember about the moments before going into the operating room?

There was a lot of tension and nervousness, a desire for everything to go well, and the truth is everything did go well.  It’s difficult to explain and I wouldn’t want anyone to have to go through this, to be sincere.  But if you have to do it, then you have to do it but it should be the last resort.  All that I suffered before is forgotten and we hope that everything in the future will be better.

Tell me about the moment when you opened your eyes, knowing that everything had gone well.

Before the operation, the doctor told me that they were going to anesthetize me and that I was going to wake up in the recovery room, and I didn’t believe it because I just couldn’t believe it.  They told me it was a matter of closing my eyes, and when they opened again, everything would be over, and I told them I didn’t believe it.  I was anesthetized and wheeled into the operating room, and I don’t know what they did because I was anesthetized.  I said some stupid things, the doctor spoke English to me and I had no idea what he said (laughs).  The last thing I remember is when the doctor put socks on me, I don’t know what else I did and when I woke up, I was in the recovery room with oxygen and completely “grogui” (yes, that’s the Spanish word), and out of it.  But everything went well.

Were you afraid?

Yes, because it was a pain that never went away.  My fear was that I wouldn’t be able to move the same way I could before.  That’s why it was a difficult decision, and one that was carefully considered.  But I said, “I can’t go on like this, I’m very young and I can’t be suffering my entire life.  I’ll get operated on, and I’ll have to accept the risks, which means I’ll have to work harder, but I want to forget about the pain.”  And that’s what happened.

Tell me about the days following the operation.  Chicago was snowy and very cold.  You took many walks with your parents and with Dr. Carlos Díez.

Following the operation, I walked around the hotel with the tension that comes from being operated on, but without pain.  But I didn’t leave the hotel out of precaution because it was better for my family that I spent one more night there.  The next day, I walked around the hotel without any problems or pains.  I was very relieved, and it changes your life, your outlook, and you look at everything with new eyes and with optimism.

I’ve been told that it was so cold that you couldn’t even finish texting a message or answering your phone.

It wasn’t difficult for Carlitos Díez.  I don’t know if he had fire inside his fingers, but he didn’t feel the cold at all… but I was happy.

That day, your phone didn’t stop ringing.  What do you remember about all the support you received?  Because that’s when you realize how much people care about you.

Yes, that’s a bad thing about life, that you appreciate certain things more only when something serious happens.  But that’s the way that life is.  I received a lot of support and affection, which helps you to move forward after all that I lived through, all that I suffered.  I’m very happy, everything went well, and now it’s time to pay back this affection, to work hard to return as soon as I can so that all those people who supported me will be able to enjoy seeing me out on the field.

Then you returned to Madrid, and you got to Valdebebas and you saw all your teammates.  What do you remember about that moment?

To be sincere, when I was in Chicago, I watched the game against Villarreal and I was very moved to see the team come out with my shirt, something that was completely unexpected.  I was very moved because it told me that the team supported me and wanted me back as soon as possible.  And the truth is the first few days were full of adrenaline and uncertainty, of when I would return, how I would get better, of this and that… But as the days and the moments passed, including those few first weeks that were full of suffering, and I began to have patience, to see my recovery going well… And now I’m content because after such a serious injury, I’m at last beginning to feel that the objective is close and that makes you very happy.

What did you feel when you returned to the field at Valdebebas, after the first phase of working in the pool, with the physios, was over, and seeing your teammates just a couple of meters away?

A tremendous amount of joy.  It was like training with my teammates once again.  After all the months of suffering, of not knowing whether I’d get an operation or not, taking one step forward towards playing again was a tremendous joy.  There are things, feelings, that you can’t express with words.  Seeing them so close and not being able to join them broke my heart.  But, that’s what I’m working towards.

You always speak of the support you had from your teammates, but you also had that of your president and your coach.

It started when I got injured and when I went to Barcelona and started receiving the support of the people, well that started happening before, but there in Barcelona, I felt the support of the president, of Valdano, of the míster, of Rui, of Karanka, and of everyone, sincerely.  The interest that the directors, the coach and everyone showed in me amazed me, because it makes you feel important and makes you optimistic.  To be sincere, I’m very grateful, I’ve said it many times before and I’ll say it again.  I’d like to thank them for all the support that they’ve shown me, along with my family, my friends and everyone.  I hope to return to the field as soon as possible so that they can enjoy watching me play.

Do you remember that conversation you had with Valdano in Barcelona where he told you not to worry because you were going to be back on the field very soon?

Yes, it was a very touching and important meeting.  He told me that and the president and others did the same.  That gave me the strength to fight and to get back to where I want to be.

I know that we can’t give any specific dates, but people want to know when you’re going to be playing with Madrid again.

Well, it’s difficult to say right now.  But I have no doubts, I’m convinced that it will be soon.  That’s why we’re working, that’s why we’re training and the only thing in my head is that, to return as soon as possible.  I hope that people don’t lose hope.  I want to give them – and to myself – this joy of returning to the field.

Let’s talk about Gonzalo Higuaín the person, which is very different than the player.  On the field, you appear to be a very serious kid, always concentrating.  However, in the locker room, you’re one of those who most like to joke around… in the good sense of the word.

(Gonzalo scratches his nose and states it matter of factly.)

You can scratch your nose, it’s okay.  What is Gonzalo Higuaín the person like?

Professionally, each one has their moments, even though you always try to give 100 percent to your team to help them.  Football is what I love and apart from many other things, what makes me the happiest.  But I’ve also had some very bad moments because of it.  My profession aside, I’m a stay-at-home type.  I like to be at home, to have dinners or get together with my friends, to have them play the guitar and sing.  I like being at home “tranquilito” with my mom, who’s here helping me out now and to whom I send “un saludo muy grande.”  I would also like to send a greeting to my father, who’s in Argentina, to my brothers, to my nephew and my grandparents and my entire family and all my friends, all those that I don’t get to see every day.  I’m talking about this because it’s important to me.  No one put a gun to my head and told me I had to play football, I play it because I want to, because I love it, and I knew the risks of going to another country, knowing that I’d miss important dates such as Christmases or birthdays or New Years, or many other things that I wouldn’t be able to share with them, but it made me mature as a person and value things more.  As a person, I’m quite calm, I say what I think and what I feel, and at times I’m impulsive and things get away from me, but I usually have the opportunity to make things right again.  I’m a very calm person, but when I get upset, I react, no?

Did you, at any point, ever doubt that you were going to triumph as a Real Madrid player?

When they came to find me in Argentina, I didn’t believe them because I hadn’t even been with River or in the first division for many years.  When they told me, I didn’t believe it.  The person kept returning and I still kept on not believing… all the way until it became the truth.  There is a very important thing that my father said to me that I still remember.  He was one of the few who was convinced that I could succeed in this club when many others thought the signing was premature.  But he was very convinced.  He said to me on the plane on the way over here, “there’s a reason that Madrid bought you.  You have to feel just as important as all those who are there, with respect, but just as important.”  This helped me to believe in myself.  When I entered the locker room and I saw all the important players there, I said to myself, “mierda, two years ago I was playing with these players on the videogame console and now they’re next to me and I’m going to play with them on the field, to speak with them.”  I also told myself, “you can’t let this opportunity pass you by, you have to succeed here no matter what and you have to give it your all to triumph here.”  I’m very proud of what I went through, of what I won and I hope that I’ll be here for many more years.

Your father is someone very important for you…

Yes, although sometimes I get upset with him, in the end he’s always right.

It’s usually the father that you fight the most with…

That could be true, but he’s also always the most reasonable one.  He’s very important to me, he helped me a lot and my family was always there for me, so I have no complaints.

What is the best piece of advice your father has given you?

The one I told you about before.  That if they bought me, it meant something, and that I shouldn’t let this opportunity pass me by, and to have confidence in myself and my possibilities and to give it my all.  That way, if one day you have to leave the team, you can go with a clear conscience because you did everything you could.  I will always remember this.

How can a defender from Boca and River give football advice to a forward?

It’s mental advice, to give you confidence so that you can be tranquil.  He’s very good at this.

Who is better, big Pipa or little Pipa?

I don’t compare myself with my father.  To be sincere, we all try to be the best we can as persons.  Football is a profession and the day that you retire, what’s left is the person, not the titles, not what you did.  When you retire, you want people to day, “what a great person this man was” and not “he won a lot of titles, but as a person he was…”  I try to get the best of both those things.

What is a lasting memory you have of your father, your mother or your brothers?

When I debuted with Madrid in the Copa del Rey in Sevilla against Betis.  I strolled out onto the field, and my father told my mother, “how can that boy be so calm?  Doesn’t he know where he is?  Does he realize what it means to play for this team?”  That shows what I said before, that I’m a tranquil person.  Some players enter by jumping in or running, and I walk slowly onto the field.  But it’s difficult to single out just one moment.

There is an anecdote that your father always tells.  He took a tour of the Santiago Bernabéu months before you would sign for Madrid, and he shot a video…

Yes, he shot a video and in it, he said, jokingly, “Gonzalo, Federico, you’re going to play on this field.”  He continued, “you’re going to be there, let’s see if you can score a goal over there… you’re going to come out from there and the fans will be waiting for you here…” and many other things.  The next year, I signed for Madrid and I couldn’t believe it.

Has your personality changed a lot since you came to Madrid?

It depends.  I believe that in these four years, what I told you before, that I was very young when I came and sometimes you don’t get to do everything you want to.  Now I remember when you asked Iker what he’d like to change about his life and he said, “I wouldn’t want to be so famous and to just be able to do the things that a normal person does.”  I agree with him.  At times, I would also like to be a normal person, but this is what I chose to do.  Yes, things change, but I try to make sure I change as little as possible.  I try to be the same person I was before, the same that went to school on the bus or the one that trained with River in the mornings by taking the car of the third division team and who went to school in the afternoon…  I believe that there’s no reason to change anything, even if I suffered.  Although theoretically there are things about football that changes you, I try to be the same person, though it may be good or bad.

Let’s talk about your pastimes.  I know that when the weather’s nice, you like to go to Retiro and go out on the lake in a boat.  And if I’m not mistaken, you’ve gone a couple of times with Garay, the two of you together.

Yes (laughs), but I don’t spend that much time in the boat, that’s not good.  I like poker, and I also like the movies.  I’m not addicted to it, but I do like it.  And I purchased a guitar, but I haven’t even strummed it, because I have no idea how.  To be sincere, I have it there so I can look at it and say that I play the guitar, but I usually don’t even touch it.

The true artist in your home is Lautaro, your younger brother, who plays the drums.

And my mother, she’s an incredible painter, incredible.  She doesn’t paint defined things, where you can see a person, or a train or whatever.  So you say, “what is this?” and you try to figure it out and you spend some time looking at it.  Lautaro is spectacular with the drums, but we don’t let him play between three and six, since that’s the time for the siesta (laughs).  To be sincere, there are several artists in the family, not only the two of them, but they’re the ones who have had success.

And I’m also told that you play ping pong very well.

I’m okay at it, but it’s been a while since I played, a while since I played.

Did you know that Cristiano also plays ping pong very well?

Yes, we challenged each other, but we didn’t end up playing.

What is a normal day in the life of Gonzalo Higuaín like?

A normal day?  I get up in the morning, I go to train, I have lunch in Valdebebas or at home because my mother loves to cook for me, and she feels that she needs to cook for me.  I love my mother’s cooking.  But sometimes, you just get lazy and you don’t want to go all the way home just to eat…

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food?  My mother’s homemade pizzas.  They’re spectacular, I could eat a ton of them.  But a normal day is that, eating in Valdebebas, and sometimes I try to have a siesta, depending on the day, and I’m at home a lot.  Once in a while I do go to the movies, or to eat in a restaurant with my mother, or to join up with my friends.  I try to lead a normal life.

And you’re a very absent-minded person, no?  You often forget where you’ve left cars, phones, hats, backpacks… all this is true, no?

It’s true, but that’s the way it is…

How does one forget about his agent and leave him locked up inside a car?

We came back from eating and… (laughs).  There were six or seven of us and of course I couldn’t keep track of everyone.  One got out of the car, two, three, four…  I was the first one off and I saw that five of them followed me and so I locked the car and we began to walk away, and I didn’t hear the voice of Cachita (laughs).  So I was like, “Cachita, Cachita, where’s Cachita?”  And then we went back and he was still there inside the car (laughs).  Why did I forget about him?  Because there were a ton of people and I wasn’t aware of where each person was.

What did he say to you?  With that voice of his…

(Gonzalo imitates Cachita) How could you forget about me?  One time before, I left him at the entrance of De María [Madrid’s web site wrote Di María instead…].

You must not like your agent very much…

I love him a lot.

He’s like a second father to you.

He’s a great person.  He helped me a lot and I love him, I love him.

How do you see the team in the time you’ve been absent?  The team appears to have become more solid… how do you see it from the outside?

It’s difficult to tell you what I observe because I really do suffer a lot during the games.  I don’t judge whether this is good or this is bad… I suffer a lot because I’m not there and I have a bad time of it, although at times the team wins.  I believe that we’re on our way up, and if God wants, we’ll be in the quarterfinals of the Champions.  In the Liga, there is a significant difference, but it’s still possible to narrow the gap because the team is convinced that it can and in the Copa del Rey, we’re in the final.  I believe that we’ll fight for everything and that the team has a lot of desire to win it all.

Have you dreamed of going to Cibeles?

We hope so, it’s what everyone wants.  I’m suffering a lot and trying to make it back as quickly as possible to help out the team to achieve this goal.

Talk to me about Adebayor and Benzema, two of your partners on the front line.  They’re very different, no?

Karim has adapted well.  Adebayor, with the short amount of time he’s been here, has done well and has also adapted well.  Karim has shown that he wants to continue here.  I’m happy to have them as teammates and I hope that when I return, I can help the two of them and the team to achieve our goals.

What do you do on game days now that you’re not playing?

I watch them from the players’ palco.  I first go down to the locker room before the game to see my teammates, then I go up to the palco, I watch almost the entire game there and when there are five minutes left, I return to the locker room to see my teammates, and then I go home.

Do you suffer more there than out on the field?

Yes, I suffer a lot.

Let’s talk about Cibeles.  We’ve asked everyone who’s been here what goes through their head when they pass by Cibeles.

(Pipita sticks out his tongue while listening to the question.)

I almost always pass by Cibeles.  Thanks to God, I had the opportunity to be there twice, and as Sergio said, seeing La Castellana full of people, the Puerta del Sol full of people, Alcalá and Atocha full of people moves you.  It’s incredible how many admirers you can get from playing football and winning titles.  You go in the bus and there are millions of people cheering for you and singing about what you achieved.  It’s a tremendous joy.

Talk to me about your coach.

I believe that any player would want to have the míster that we have as a coach.  To be sincere, wherever he goes, he wins things.  He’s a winner, he has personality and he loves his players.  Sinceramente, I’m very grateful to him because this year he’s supported me in very difficult moments and hopefully I’ll be back soon.

What are your dreams for this season?

The first is the return to playing.  When one gets operated on… the other day I spoke to Pepe, who also had a serious injury, and Kaká, and they told me to be calm, that when you return you’ll appreciate things more.  Just training with the team or doing a rondo will be worth double, for what you’ve suffered and all the work you’ve put in.

I know that you dream of the moment when you can step on the field of the Bernabéu again, but I want you to know that there are millions of madridistas who dream of hearing your name reverberate throughout the stadium.

Thank you very much.  I’ve had a great time with this interview.  The first thing is returning to the field, then to score goals, to enjoy watching the fans when I do.  I’m very grateful.  I’ve suffered a lot and I hope that it was all worth it.

Hopefully your dreams will come true.

Well, at least the photographer’s dream came true, of having Gonzalo pose with his thumb up starting in the dressing room, then during the interview, in the studio…  I started this post with some cringing and I end it like that as well.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny permalink
    March 9, 2011 11:40

    Thanks for translating these. If these interviews are too time-consuming for you, maybe in the future you could save yourself some work and just translate the parts that the RM website doesn’t. So far they have posted translations on the English site for all the interviews, but they leave out some parts (usually the most interesting ones). Just a suggestion. 🙂

  2. Max permalink
    March 9, 2011 12:12

    Thx for the translate Una!
    I would like to hear Higuaíns voice haha:) where can I watch the video?

  3. Zuney permalink
    March 9, 2011 13:08

    Are you serious, Higuain? Miley Cyrus, lol?
    Nice translation though, thanks so much! I’m actually learning Spanish by reading the Spanish transcript on realmadrid.com and using your translation as a guide 🙂

  4. March 9, 2011 13:10

    THE CLIMB?!?! By Miley Cyrus?!?!?! I can’t… I don’t… What?!… Why?!… I can’t…

    This is 164 times worse than Cesc Fabregas liking “Need You Now” by Lady Antebellum.

    Anyway. Things I noted:
    – Mou was so thoughtful to him, calling him everyday while he was Chicago
    – So Pipita watched Iker’s interview? It never occurred to me that they would watch each other’s interviews.

    I hope no one gives you a hard time about not translating all the interviews, Una.

    • March 9, 2011 17:19

      I completely and fully agree with you. ‘The Climb’ is possibly one of the most poorly sung hit songs ever recorded. It plays every afternoon on the Muzak at my work and it makes we want to have mongooses gouge my ears out. I have actually changed the chorus to ‘It’s the Dime” because that’s obviously all that matters to that callow, sick little Lindsay Lohan wannabe. It makes me sad that Pipita has even acknowledged it’s mere existence.

  5. Pipita permalink
    March 9, 2011 13:28

    Una, you must see Adebayors new look! I’m a little sad that he cut of his beautiful hair, now he look so ordinary.

    • DebS permalink
      March 9, 2011 22:30

      He may not have actually “cut” it off. It may have been a weave.

  6. Camera25 permalink
    March 9, 2011 13:33

    Una, I appreciate you translating this – sinceramente! It was beautiful, thank you.

  7. Laura permalink
    March 9, 2011 13:54

    Thank you for the interview Una! I just Love LoveLoveeeeee Pipitaa!!

  8. Eliza permalink
    March 9, 2011 14:05

    Thank you Una. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
    I can’t describe how much I want to thank you.
    I love Gonzalo and your blog, forever!!! Thank you so much for taking your time to translate it. I think we can’t live without your blog…

  9. lalitta permalink
    March 9, 2011 14:06

    I really LOVE gonzalo, but I have to point out something: “No one put a gun to my head and told me I had to play football, I play it because I want to, because I love it”… He cleared that, for you who thought he played football because of a huge gun that was pointed at his head, you were wrong! Lol. I wish he had said differently, i mean, i love him, but he sure knows how to paint a funny picture, no?

    Another thing: I do love Miley’s “The climb” but I just could not stop laughing when i red that!! The guys need to start listening more to music. The climb, I need you now – Geeee, come on guys!!

  10. superfan permalink
    March 9, 2011 15:19

    Thank you so much for the translation!! It’s really greatly appreciated. 🙂 You’re not the only one cringing on Higuain’s song choice. Of all songs. And artist. There are a lot of songs that has the same theme as The Climb but he had to pick that?!?! And Miley Cyrus. Really? Hahaha. I cannot.

  11. suzanne permalink
    March 9, 2011 16:10

    pipita….”the climb”?! i had to stop reading and walk away i was laughing so hard. this is…..no words….just…..WOW! that song is horrible.

    thank you una for translating. we love you bunches!!
    i can’t wait for the moment he subs in either. i miss him so much!!

  12. March 9, 2011 17:42

    To be sincere, I would be more than sincerely willing to help Gonzo sincerely learn to play his guitar.

  13. Ros permalink
    March 9, 2011 17:55

    Again, thank you for your time in translating this interview. And thank you for the heads up about future ones not being translated.

    I realizing the other day, I am not only a Real Madrid fan, but a Una Madridista fan too. Thanks for being so great.

  14. mar permalink
    March 9, 2011 18:02

    I’ve missed pipita…

  15. Pammie permalink
    March 9, 2011 18:45

    Thanks a lot for taking the time to translate this! I’m still not over Miley Cyrus, but if he takes strength from the song meaning… no this doesn’t work for me 😀
    I’m glad that he’s recovering well and who knows maybe we’ll see him on the pitch again towards the end of the season.

    Also the thumbs up in the mirror photo? How many more thumbs up do they want to squeeze into one photo set?

    I’m looking forward to the RealAlonso edition a lot. I hope they’ll have an english interview as well like they did with Mou, since his english isn’t bad… But the Spanish interviews are longer anyway, so I’m already wondering with what kind of personal questions they’ll come up with for him 😀

  16. DebS permalink
    March 9, 2011 22:36

    (I love Pipita, but he was a bit repetitive with all the talk about how he suffered and how he hopes to be back as soon as possible)

    I agree. It seemed like he somehow worked that comment into just about every response. We get it, Pipita…really…we get it. lol

    lol I loved the questions about the weather in Chicago. Welcome to the Windy City, Pipita!

    “You traveled to the U.S. with your parents Pipa and Nancy. Out of the three of you, who suffered the most in those days?”

    Let me answer that for you, Pipita…your mother did! I guarantee it!

  17. ulong permalink
    March 10, 2011 01:34

    i haven’t realize how i miss him till i read your post…
    come back soon, Pipita!!

  18. Kai permalink
    March 10, 2011 04:46

    The Climb by Miley Cyrus?? Gosh!! Just shoot me! lolz .. anyway .. thanks a mil Una!

  19. March 10, 2011 05:26

    thanks so much for translating these, Una!! Even though you won’t be translating them all, can you post up the link to the video in your posts/share your thoughts on the interviews? We love reading your comments as much as we love your translations =) thanks y muchas gracias!

  20. Gina permalink
    March 10, 2011 09:32

    A hundred thousand THANK YOU for translating this, Una! For a Gonza lover who doesn’t speak Spanish, it’s a great joy to be able understand *everything* he said! I mean, even the Spanish transcript on the official site chops off his words…

    Thank you so much for doing this. I’m so happy I don’t even mind the thumb-up for once, lol.

  21. Maddi permalink
    March 10, 2011 18:51

    I love this!!! I read it about 3 times yesterday, and I’m reading it again today. He seems so sincere and friendly. I hope he recovers as soon as possible.
    And Xabier is next!!! Can’t wait. Thank you so much Una!!!

  22. madridlady permalink
    March 10, 2011 23:16

    Una i have to say, i simply LOVE you and a mil thanks for the trans – i missed him soo much.
    I have to ask! Are you from Spain? Because your spanish is amazing and so is your english how can that be?

  23. Michelle permalink
    March 12, 2011 07:53

    *points and laughs at Pipita*

    I’m sorry, that’s all I got. 😀 The Climb. REALLY.

  24. December 8, 2014 16:19

    Oh wow.. Thanks for the transltn 🙂 I love you pipita 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. of wishes, futbolín, guitars & more « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

