Skip to content

there will be Liga this weekend!

March 30, 2011

The internationals will be back today, in an afternoon training session!  It’s only been a week and a half since we last saw them, but it feels like forever, no?  Here’s our five boys after the beach football game last night.  What a perfect picture, no?  In addition to the Four Musketeers plus Iker, the La Roja player in the background is a canterano!

And at least now we know there will be football this weekend!  Madrid will take on Sporting at the unusual (for us) hour of 18h on Saturday at the Bernabéu.

ONE. In yesterday’s session, Sergio Canales was the novedad, rejoining the group after playing with Spain’s U-21 team.  MSFC Juan Carlos and his Castilla teammate Álex also joined in the fun with the available members first team, which was composed of the aforementioned Sergio C., Higuaín, Granero, Adebayor, Lass, Peter Lion, Dudek and Adán.

Meanwhile, Cristiano trained alone as he continues to recover from the injury to his left leg, running for 15 minutes.  Fernando Gago also ran alone.  Marcelo and Kaká also worked out in the gym, along with Cris.  Seeing how seriously Cris takes his recovery work, I’m sure they didn’t joke around too much, just a little.  In other injury news, Karim Benzema had to be substituted out of France’s friendly against Croatia last night due to problems in his left thigh.  He was taped up on the bench before heading into the locker room surrounded by France’s doctors.  He’ll undergo tests today in Madrid.  Uh-oh… I would hate to see him injured especially when he’s finally gained confidence in himself, and that of his coach and the fans.  Well, the good news is that Pipita apparently feels ready to play.  And that it appears that rest of our internationals emerged unscathed from the international week.

I’m sure Cris was disappointed that the wrap around his leg meant that he couldn’t hike his shorts up.

TWO. Sergio C. spoke to the press after the session, telling them that his personal situation is “complicated, but I’m learning a lot, and they’re making me more of a footballer.  I think with time, I will see the positive points of this year.”  When asked if he’s thinking about a change of scenery for next year, the well-trained Sergio replied, “there’s a lot of this season left and it would be egotistical to be thinking about next year.  Right now I’m thinking about Sporting.”  And when asked if there are any reasons for him to stay, he responded, “not only Mou, but also teammates, the coaching staff.  It hasn’t been an easy year, but I know the training sessions and the minutes I play in games will help me a lot.  The important thing is to give it my all in each game and try and earn more minutes.”

THREE. Meanwhile, David Beckham will not take sides in the upcoming Champions League clash between Real Madrid and Tottenham.  Becks of course played for Madrid for four years, and trained with Tottenham last winter in the MLS offseason.  Thus, he said, “I played for Real Madrid for four years and I always said that I would support them in all their games.  But I was also with the Spurs, so there are mixed feelings, and in addition, my grandfather followed Tottenham.  So, I think I will limit myself to just enjoying the game.”

FOUR. File this one under adorable.  On Monday, Álex Fernández had the day off (Castilla’s day off is Monday), which he used to go pay a visit to the benjamines!  He chatted with the B team before their training session about his experience and dreams, and answered all their questions about the first team players (very nice), Mou (súper simpático), what color the locker room is (blue)…

Álex told them, “when I debuted with the first team, one of the dreams I had since I was a kid came true…  Mourinho told me to be calm, noting that if I were with them, it was because I had worked hard since I was small and that everything would go well.”  He also handed out some advice: “at the age that you all are now, you have to learn a lot and enjoy playing.  And you shouldn’t leave your studies behind because they’re very important.  And you should listen to your families because they’re your principal support.”  Álex said he had a great time with the kids, because they reminded him of himself, and that he hopes to do this again.  Plus, they treated him as if he were a big star already!

I spot Theo (he looks just like his papá) and Marvelous!  Who can forget that name?  And I love the inordinate amount of bowl haircuts!

FIVE. And a lovely gesture from Madrid!  This is how canteranos should be treated.  Hércules player Tote was discharged yesterday after having his right knee operated (he tore his ACL) on in Barcelona last Thursday.  He will begin his recovery work in Madrid, and the club has put their installations and medical team at his disposal to help him do that.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. ulong permalink
    March 30, 2011 11:04

    where is Theo? That one standing in the left?

  2. Nurul permalink
    March 30, 2011 11:44

    Oh, Karim… I hope it’s nothing serious!

  3. March 30, 2011 11:49

    I need some time to update myself with the latest entries, as the real life takes a lot of my time recently;-), but thanks for all those news!! It’s great to know that the match will be this weekend, I really need to stare at it!!!!

    Also, as a member of the certain pena, I need to mention that SERHIO RAMO REAL MADRI PLAYA turns 25 today. 😉

    • IsaBella permalink
      March 30, 2011 19:15

      of course, happy 25 to Sergio 🙂

  4. IsaBella permalink
    March 30, 2011 12:44

    I’m happy Madrid is back, I missed them. Not that I haven’t been scrolling through La Roja blog these days 😉
    It would be a pity if Sergio Canales was sold. I really don’t want him to go, he’s such a sweet boy 🙂

  5. Didi permalink
    March 30, 2011 14:28

    The picture of the Four Musketeers plus Iker is so funny. It looks like they are all standing in line to give Iker a hug. (which I would also do if I ever get to meet him :P)

    • March 30, 2011 17:20

      I think a lot of us here would love to standing in that line 😀

  6. Pammie permalink
    March 30, 2011 14:39

    I’m very happy that we’ll have a game on saturday!
    The photo of the Spanish internationals makes me happy too, it’s a perfect shot!
    And Alex with Benjamin B, our cute little merciless goal machines.

    Sergio C is already media savvy, good for him 😀

    Good to see Cristiano running again, but if he still needs that wrap around his leg… makes me worried about the CL match.

    No injury report from Karim yet, I hope it looked worse than it is 😦

  7. Lea El-Najjar permalink
    March 30, 2011 14:42

    who’s theo?

  8. Lalitta permalink
    March 30, 2011 15:21

    Hi Una ..
    I did not know where to put this, but today is Sergio Ramos’ birthday! I hope you will post about it Una, with a tribute and cute pictures of me amor SERGIOOO 😀

    • nicole permalink
      March 30, 2011 17:41

      that sounds like an awesome idea!

  9. Laryssa permalink
    March 30, 2011 15:53

    I just love the way the boys organized a row to hug Iker. It seems that he is irresistible even to his teammates. I would give everything to be strategically positioned behind Xabi…

  10. March 30, 2011 16:04

    1. That picture of our Spanish Internationals is wonderful and perfect!
    2. I hope Karim’s injury is nothing serious, he has been doing really well lately.
    3. I feel bad for Sergio C. , he rarely gets to play so if an opportunity arises he should show us what he’s got.
    4. Álex with the kids – adorable!
    5. I instantly recognized Theo from the first pic – I hope he still has this beautiful hair when he grows up.But even if he looses it like daddy, he is going to be very handsome because of the good genes!

    On another unrelated note: I regularly comment on this lovely blog but I was busy the past couple of days. Seeing all the comments and uproar ( I didn’t like certain things either) over what Isabella wrote ( more than 90 comments!) makes me hope that all those who commented only on that post, participate more in other posts as a thank you to Una. This blog has become very popular and we all know the effort that Una puts to produce such a top quality blog.

  11. March 30, 2011 16:39

    Aww, those Benjamin B kids, so presh and so adorable!!! And they are a force to be reckoned with! I mean, scoring at least 8 or more goals in every. single. match? Fierce! Oooh, shucks about Marcelo and Benz :(( I hope they recover soon! On a more positive note, Pipita is back!!! Oooh~, to see him back on the pitch! 😀

  12. March 30, 2011 18:32

    THEOOOOO, BABYYYYY <3333

    omg, i can't believe he's this big now xDDDDD

  13. Roro permalink
    March 30, 2011 20:46

    I miss them! :”)

  14. Devindra Patel permalink
    March 30, 2011 22:21

    who is Marvelous?

    • Lynsey permalink
      April 1, 2011 10:01

      Marvel is the black boy standing by the RM bag on the wall in the Benjamines photo 🙂

  15. noelle permalink
    March 30, 2011 22:50

    Happy 25th bday sergio ❤ yay! hopefully there'll be some pics =)

  16. rojafan permalink
    March 30, 2011 23:21

    I love that picture of the Spanish Nationals, too. It was great to see them all playing at once, even if Sergio only went on at the end. (I know it won’t be popular with Real Madrid fans who aren’t Spain fans, though.) They almost all hit a milestone, and no one got hurt.

  17. Maddi permalink
    March 31, 2011 01:51

    Baby Zidane! All the little Zizous look like their daddy! To me Theo looks more like Luca but with Enzo’s hair. If that makes any sense 🙂 And he’s such a tall kid! (maybe it’s the camera angle?)

    I hope Sergio C stays. I really hope Karim is okay, and he can continue scoring like crazy for us! But Pipita is really making us all proud with his rapid recovery! Come back soon! (Although my heart is really torn between Benzy and Pipita. I’d really, really, really hate to see Benzema back on the bench, but I’d feel equally sad about Higuain not getting playing time as well. If only we could play with 24 people!)

  18. black widow permalink
    March 31, 2011 08:17

    i’m a die-hard iker girl, but i have to say that sergio (ramos, although canales is adorable too) and his exuberant love for just about everyone is the cutest thing. he is ALWAYS hugging iker (or his other bestie on the national team, nando), or kissing him, or accosting him in some way … i have quite a collection of photos of the two of them and it’s just the funniest/sweetest thing! i love how much he loves everyone. 🙂

    alex fernández, you are a good, good man! the benjamines are SO adorable and look at how excited they are to see him! how sweet! i hope we’re looking at future liga and world cup winners here! (and yes, theo is the image of his father, you could spot him a mile away!)

  19. KathyInCA permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:48

    Una, ignore my previous comment! I should have started with Con La Roja today! Wow!

Trackbacks

  1. Injuries I Am Not Pleased About, Games I Am, International Results, It’s All About the Benjamines, More Birthday Action! « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…

Leave a Reply

