Skip to content

bring on April!

March 31, 2011

I can’t believe we’re at the end of March already, as April is going to be a key month for Real Madrid!  But first, someone had a birthday yesterday…

ONE. Sergio shared these two shots of his birthday celebration yesterday via twitter.  On the left, he’s having his birthday dinner with his sister and his cousin José.  I wonder if Álvaro Arbeloa has that shirt?  No, it’s probably too loose for him.  And on the right, Sergio shares a shot of his bedroom (!) as he found it upon return from Lithuania, the work of his siblings.  Hands up, how many of you have filed away how the room looks for future fantasies?  However, I’m sure you’re not going to include a stuffed eagle head in that fantasy… what’s up with that?  It looks very strange and out of place… but then again, we know that Sergio’s tummy tattoo includes a pair of wings, no?  Perhaps there’s some connection?  By the way, I really have never thought about what Sergio’s bedroom looks like, but I wouldn’t have imagined it as this.  I would have expected more color!

And Guti took to twitter to congratulate Sergio on his 25th birthday, calling him “the greatest in Madrid” and his “brother,” and telling him he has a great family.

TWO. News agency EFE tells us that our internationals traveled a total of 35,000 kilometers during the international break, played 1,382 minutes (Iker and Álvaro were the only ones to play the maximum number – 180) and suffered two injuries, to Marcelo and Karim Benzema.  The rest of the players made it back safely, and trained yesterday, with the exception of the two Argentines, who will return today.

THREE. Karim Benzema returned to Madrid yesterday and went directly from the airport to Sanitas La Moraleja for tests; he was picked up and accompanied by Javier García Coll.  Karim had felt pain in his left thigh while playing for France against Croatia on Tuesday, and had to be substituted out.  The tests showed that he has a strong contraction to his thigh and he’ll be out for about a week, ruling him out for this weekend’s game against Sporting.

FOUR. Looking ahead to that game: don’t forget, (original) Ronaldo will be honored before the start of that game.  He will receive a shirt, then go onto the field while a video of his highlights play and he’ll receive a commemorative statue.  Then Ronie will will take the saque de honor.

FIVE. Sporting forward and former canterano David Barral spoke with Unión Madrid’s program “El Silbato” recently, and he talked about his former club: “playing in the Bernabéu should be special for any player.  It’s a football temple, the best… I support Madrid for all the years I spent there.  I’ve dreamed of becoming a footballer since I was small, and thanks to Madrid I became one.  I have a lot of affection for them and I wish them the best.  I have very good memories of Madrid.”  Despite that, David also said he hopes to score against Madrid on Saturday.

That’s the good thing about us having practically none of our canteranos – each time there is a game, we get former players reflecting on their time in Madrid.

SIX. Other injury news: in news that (unfortunately) surprised no one, Tottenham’s Jonathan Woodgate will miss the first Champions League quarterfinal game against his old team, although he will attend the game, because, according to his coach, “Real Madrid is his former club and this game means a lot to him.”  Woodgate arrived here in the summer of 2004, but didn’t play – due to injury – until September 2005.  In his debut with Madrid, he scored an own goal and was expelled.  He ended up only playing nine games with Madrid, although the fans have good – but brief – memories of him.

SEVEN. The LFP has released the dates and times for jornada 31, and Madrid is once again playing at 18h on a Saturday.  They’ll be playing at San Mamés, against Athletic.  I’ll be cheering for Madrid, but my eyes will be on Javi Martínez (!!!)!!!

EIGHT. If you’ve been studying Pipita Higuaín closely lately, you would have noticed that he’s now wearing Nike boots!  He signed an endorsement deal with them for about one million euros a year (!) and he’s been trying out various models the past few weeks.

I actually wrote down a breakdown of who wears which brand boots on Madrid a while ago, and it looks like this:

Adidas: Carvalho; Adebayor; Kaká; Benzema; Granero; Adán; Xabi; Canales; Arbeloa; Pedro León; Di María; Dudek

Nike: Sergio; Gago; Cristiano; Marcelo; Albiol; Higuaín; Özil; Khedira

Umbro: Pepe; Garay

Reebok: Iker

Unknown: Lass (he wears black boots and I can’t see any marks)

How funny that both the Germans are sponsored by Nike!

NINE. In an interview with Madrid’s site, Tristán Celador had this to say about his assistant coach Rubén de la Red: “Rubén played an important role in all this [winning their division].  He knows how to get his point across, and he’s connected well with everyone in these months, and he takes pressure off of them… He predicted we would win in Parla and we did.”  When asked if his boys respected him for having coached many players in the first division, his response was, “many great footballers have passed through this club.  The best example is Mata, because he’s a world champion.  But there’s also Roberto Soldado, Javier García, Miguel Torres, Dani Parejo.  I tell my players now what their virtues were, and what they did to improve to get to the highest level.  I use these examples so they’ll know what they need to do.”

TEN. Former canterano, Pignoise lead singer and Guti’s good friend Álvaro Benito told “Punto Pelota” the other night that Guti is very much alone in Istanbul, but in a good way, because his life is very tranquil, nothing like the previous life he had led in Madrid, and that Guti is happy and content with his life, although not so much with how the team is doing.  Álvaro also added that this move has allowed Guti to realize who his true friends in (the city of) Madrid are.

ELEVEN. In other Gutiérrez news, Guti tweeted this the other day: “I will return to (the club) Madrid one day, I would like to work for the club of my life but right now I’m only focused on “Besktas” and next year I’ll go to another country.”  I wonder where?

TWELVE. And finally, I’m sticking this in here because I don’t want to make it an even bigger deal than it’s become.  I would like to apologize to everyone who was offended by the readers submission post.  With this blog, I try not to censor anything, because I believe that everyone has the right to his or her opinion, even though it may differ from my own.  But in this specific case, I can see why some of you objected to what was written, and with good reason.

On a lighter note, I’d also like to add how disappointed I am in all of you, because nothing I write generates that much reaction!  What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?

95 Comments leave one →
  1. black widow permalink
    March 31, 2011 08:46

    una, you have nothing to apologise for! i appreciate the reasons why you originally posted the comments un-edited, and i also appreciate the reasons (and am thankful, too) why you chose to edit them. you do such a terrific job here, i would really hate to see you bear the responsibility legally (or morally) if there were any fall-out.

    moving on! sergio’s “bedroom” is … not quite what i expected. i don’t speak spanish (but i’m trying, and no help whatsoever is going on, so it’s hard!) so i misread his tweet as his (hotel) room in lithuania, which would more make sense by the look of it. but if this is his actual bedroom … yikes! his home decor sense is almost as erm, interesting, as his fashion sense!

    • Kristine permalink
      March 31, 2011 23:09

      I understood it to be his room in Lithuania as well. He did say his “brothers” I really dont think that is his bedroom. That bed is way too small and plain.

      • black widow permalink
        April 1, 2011 17:04

        maybe he meant brothers as in friends? you know, how sometimes you call a friend a ‘bro’ or whatever? either way, it’s an ugly room!

    • DebS permalink
      April 1, 2011 08:37

      I thought he meant his room in Lithuania too. Good ole’ Google Translate translated it as “See how I found the bed on arrival in Lithuania, my brothers who have much banter(jokes?)” So I thought it was the La Roja that did this to his room.

      I really need to learn Spanish! lol

    • April 1, 2011 08:46

      The tweet says “de Lithuania” which means “from Lithuania.” And as for the “hermanos,” if you want to talk about a “hermano” (brother) and an “hermana” (sister), together they become “hermanos,” so in this case Sergio means his brother and his sister. That’s the way it is in Spanish. You can have one “chico” (boy) and 10 “chicas” (girls) but they would become “los chicos” if you talk about them as a group.

      • black widow permalink
        April 1, 2011 17:05

        it’s exactly the same in french. makes sense!

  2. LaBlanca permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:01

    LOL! I just laughed so hard at the image you just described in 12. Nah Una, youre doing a wonderful job with this marvellous blog. Its my daily reference for several months now. I cant wait for the updates and I enjoy reading it every day. Even though Im not replying on every entry. Be sure, youre my fav place in the net.

    on Sergios bday, the eagle… we so much think alike, una! when i saw this pic in twitter, I thought exactly the same. LOL

    on the boots, arent they standing in the RM-museum? Maybe someone has a recent pic and can help you out with your research on Lass’ boot brand.

  3. Hala_Madrid permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:17

    Una Let me just thank you for all your wonderful posts. Your posts always make my day. I forget about my stress, sadness,madness etc when i come to your blog. We are so lucky to have you and thanks for sharing your passion for Real Madrid and for being a loyal Madridista =) Amen!!

    P.S: ripping off their shirts? do it please.. Pretty please!!

  4. Chloe permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:23

    Definitely no need to apologize for what she wrote!
    And oh Una, we love you all the same! Even though we may not always comment on a regular basis, know that we appreciate you very much!

  5. emi permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:29

    Just want to say that this is a great blogg. The best i have seen on RM in fact. Keep the good work up!!

  6. Ebrahim permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:42

    Una you sooo funny :). lol.

    I think the lack of reaction is because you have me smiling and nodding in agreement(and making a prayer to thank god for your news updates). I feel there is nothing to add.

  7. emily permalink
    March 31, 2011 09:43

    ‘What do I have to do, run onto the field…’ Yes.

    Just give us a little warning so we can all purchase home defribillator kits.

  8. superfan permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:00

    Okay, I admit that I may not comment on each and every post you make but I assure you, Una, that I do appreciate very much the time and effort and everything else you put into this blog. I super adore you and your blog. I do visit this blog every time I’m on the internet. And I’m sorry if you feel disappointed. I promise I’ll make more effort in commenting in your blog. 🙂 And don’t worry, I appreciate everything you do here that you don’t need to do anything that would require you to deal with passing through securities. 🙂 Your blog is perfect just as it is.

    Okay. Moving on, I honestly expected Sergio’s bed to be bigger. Haha. But I’m also wondering about that little eagle. It’s cute, though.

    I cannot believe it’s almost April!!! Intense month is intenseeeee!!!!! I don’t know how I’m going to deal with all these crazy, intense, nerve-wracking matches!! Aaaahhhh. Hopefully, April may bring us much much much happiness!!! 😀

    And lastly, thank youuu so much for this round up (?) post!!! Cannot wait until the boys play together again! International week has just been too long.

  9. Quarrymen permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:17

    Sergio’s tweets! I just about exploded when I saw them on twitter! What great genes there are in that family =]

  10. ulong permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:34

    “What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?”

    those will do 😀
    we love you Una

  11. March 31, 2011 10:37

    What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos? – pretty, pretty please Una?!!! 😉

  12. Pipita permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:38

    original Ronaldo? I would say that Cristiano Ronaldo also is original. Insted of that, you could write brazilian Ronaldo or use phenomenon.

    • jaa permalink
      March 31, 2011 17:52

      yes, CR is also original. Brazilian ronaldo is a better way to write it.

      • April 1, 2011 08:41

        What I mean is that (Brazilian) Ronaldo was the first football star to be known as “Ronaldo,” so “original” means first.

    • emily permalink
      April 1, 2011 04:17

      How about Ronalduno and Ronaldos? 😉

  13. Nana permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:50

    Doesn’t Guti feel lonely over there in Turkey? I can’t wait till he comes back to Madrid..

    Happy birthday Sergio. 🙂

  14. Haider permalink
    March 31, 2011 10:54

    No need to apologize for anything as you are doing a great job and I can personally say I enjoy reading your blog more than any other football website!

  15. Ximena permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:06

    Hellooo, primo José! Nice to meet you! (¿Me presentas a tu primo? XD)
    Menos mal que ésta vez Sergio aclaró que la chica es su hermana, que si no hoy hubiera aparecido en los titulares algo así como “Ramos celebra cumpleaños con su nueva novia”, lol.

    “[…] run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?”

    Well, some crotch and abs close-ups would be nice, thanks ;).

    • JulieFromParis permalink
      March 31, 2011 20:13

      Si, si o “Ramos y India Martinez juntos” 🙂 Miriam Ramos esta probablamente cansada de llamarse India Martinez en toda la prensa rosa!! Soy una grande fan de India y pienso que la hermanita de Sergio es una bella mujer pero bueno! Las dos no se parecen!!

  16. Sune permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:19

    You do very good job! Keep up the good work!

  17. Marie permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:04

    Una you will do that???????
    oh come on we all LOVE your posts, they are brilliant, witty and absolutely entertaining.

    (And i remind you again) this coming from a barca fan!

    • Amy permalink
      April 1, 2011 00:46

      I, too, am a cule (in Texas) who LOVES your posts– especially with the wonderful sense of humor you have! The first thing I do every morning after filling that coffee mug is check out your site 🙂 You are the absolute BEST at what you do, and I hope you know how much joy you bring to others. It’s a true gift and very much appreciated in my futbol-deficient area!!! TYPE ON, SISTER!

  18. Pammie permalink
    March 31, 2011 12:23

    “What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?”

    I’ll book a flight to help you with this!!!!!!

    ahem…

    I thought Sergio’s room looks like the one in the Crackovia skits 😛 It’s surprisingly simple and elegant, but who knows what he put in the rest of the room xD

    I wonder how the Besiktas fans feel about Guti not even spelling the club name right in his tweet. ouch. 😦

    “How funny that both the Germans are sponsored by Nike!”
    It is! One might think that adidas would at least want to sponsor one of the German Real Madrid players, given the exposure they get. I guess they’re working hard on making it happen ever since they signed with the club.

    I hope that Benz and Marcelo and the rest will be fit soon and especially for the CL match and beyond. It’s not the best time to nurse an injury on the backhand with a match every 3 days 😦

    • Pammie permalink
      March 31, 2011 12:24

      and: YAY RUBEN!! I’m happy that he’s found joy and appreciation in his new career so far

  19. DebS permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:08

    “What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?”

    yes please! 😛

  20. Cindy permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:18

    Una…hugs. You are amazing and I’m sure that the people who read your blog are greatful to you for having this. I barely have time sometimes to come on the internet, what with job, kids & family. If you need help ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., I’m your girl. I got your back.:)

  21. Jennifer permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:23

    In all honesty, that bed is more what I’d expect from Iker, with all the beige and neutrals going on!

    (Any more of a response will have to come later, when I am not *glued* to your other blog, drooling.)

  22. haha! permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:37

    i know i was one of the people bothered with some parts of the submission post, but i love your blog and it’s part of my daily reading! i think even the submissions post was a great idea, and i hope you’re not too worried about doing it again. but i do suggest that you go through with your plan if you want to take your blog to the next level…

  23. Radhika permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:38

    I read your last point about not getting that much of a reaction so that made me post this 😀 !! You are awesome UNA…U don’t need to run anywhere or do anything beyond what you arw already doing , which is amazing . I am addicted to your blog and check it like every single day for a new post ! It always makes me smile 😀 !!So thank you and keep updating us with your super blog !
    On sidenote : Maybe your post don’t generate so much reaction because they are so perfect and after reading them most readers go off in the fantasy world of theirs where they are with the RM players 😛 Just saying u know !! Or maybe because it gets repetetive at time telling you , u are awesome when every1 else is ding it 😀 !!
    But neways you are awesome and keep continuing…:)
    Hala Madrid !

  24. March 31, 2011 13:47

    Oooh, April is gonna be one hell of a month for the team! Excited yet anxious about our important matches but I believe in Mou and our team! 😀

  25. Mohammed permalink
    March 31, 2011 13:52

    nice article . i read each and every article of yours . for the past 3 months i guess . i love it . and this is my first comment . i think there are more number of people like me who just reads all your article and enjoys it .
    from now will give feedback for you article .
    keep up the good work .

  26. March 31, 2011 13:57

    Your suggestion in number 12 would be ideal! Please let me know if you would like assistance in that endeavor!!

  27. IsaBella permalink
    March 31, 2011 14:56

    Una can we organize a competition about who raised her hand higher for Sergio’s bed? 😀 of course I have saved the photo and I must admit that I love the eagle above (!) and thinking about the tummy tattoo mrrrr… ok enough of what’s going on in my head 😉 the bed looks a little small BTW :p
    I saw Sergio’s primo in Valdebebas and I wondered who it was but now I know thanks to the photo 😉
    I adore the new T90’s that Sergio wears (the blue/black ones) and I’m happy to see Gonzalo wearing them as well.
    I would give all the reaction (only positive of course) that I got to you Una, you know I appreciate very much what you do here even without ripping the players’ shorts off 😉 although they are usually off in my head jejeje
    ok, lady shut up and go back to work :p

  28. pnylove415 permalink
    March 31, 2011 14:57

    No one will complain if that’s what you want to do to get our attention Una, in fact I highly encourage it! 😉
    And thanks for the blog yesterday that had a part with my favorite canterano, Alex!

  29. browneyedgirl permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:19

    Well I always check your blog and never leave a comment but I’ll leave one today 😀
    April is going to be the worst or the best month of the season O_O

  30. March 31, 2011 15:24

    Thank you Una for all that you do and I will await the pictures from your antics on Saturday haha! And perhaps Guti would enjoy further increasing the growth and popularity of the American game? I can only hope.

    • DebS permalink
      April 1, 2011 08:45

      how amazing would that be if Guti came to the MLS? To the Fire please, Guti!!

    • April 1, 2011 14:54

      Guti might like it in America. But he may be more suited to Nueva York. Discos, fashion week, epic multi-national cuisine… if the new NY Cosmos ever get off the ground, they should make him their first acquisition! Picture Guti’s NY penthouse apartment… but on MLS money, he may only be able to get a 5th floor walk up!

  31. michelle permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:25

    i know i need to comment because i appreciate everything that you do and all the information you track down and translate for us. you’re such a reliable source for information about my club that i hardly have to go anywhere else to find anything. i will comment more often because you deserve it and because i actually do have things to say! 🙂

    i keep staring at sergio’s bed and wondering what that fabric is. it looks so unbelievably soft and absolutely like a bed i need to sleep in for the rest of my life. nodnod. ;P

    oh and mirian (hermana de sergio) is fox.

    i’m really bummed that karim is hurt. 😦 he’s had such an amazing run and his confidence is sky high right now. hopefully he’ll truly only be out for a week and he can jump right back in and keep scoring goals.

    as much as i love international break because i adore the time that we get with la roja and seeing them bond and play together, when everyone comes back to madrid and are together again, i feel so much more content. i’m such an overprotective mother hen hahaha.

    oh, guti. i wonder where he’ll go?

  32. Elizabeth Parker permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:27

    Whoa!!! Sergio’s primo is HOT. Let’s get a blog started about that guy!

    Also, una, you are the greatest, don’t worry about the reader post!

  33. Laryssa permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:32

    Una, I understand your disappointment. I visit this blog every single day, but I don’t comment as much as I wish because English is not my first language and I always fear that the readers can’t understand what I mean. Your blog is amazing and you express so perfectly madridistas feelings and thoughts. Controversies always generate much reaction. Maybe you should be a little less ethical and do some trash posts from time to time…

    About the injuries, I was particularly upset for Marcelo. First, because I think he is a fundamental part of our team and I fell more confident when he plays. Second, because I know how important it is for him to represent Brazilian national team, something that until now he couldn’t do as he deserved. When he injured, he left the field crying, which was very sad. He is by far the best Brazilian left back this days and I hope the fact that he refused play hurt, what was the right thing, is not take into consideration at the next convocation.

    • April 1, 2011 08:33

      Don’t worry, English isn’t my first language either!

    • DebS permalink
      April 1, 2011 08:49

      don’t be afraid to post, Laryssa. I can understand your English perfectly, 😉

  34. Thomas permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:39

    Lass have been a wearer of Nike Vapor but now Uses Adidas Predator. The black-out version is the next generation of predator’s, thats why they are all black!

  35. Didi permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:46

    The fact that we don’t give a lot of reactions on your posts doesn’t mean that we don’t appreciate all the work that you are doing for the RM-fans!! It’s just that your posts are already great so it’s unnecessary for us to add anything else. But I surely wouldn’t mind if you want to run onto the field and rip off the shirts from the players!! (Just make sure to make a lot of pictures!!:P)

    Having said that, April is going te be VERY tough voor RM. But I’m positive that they will make it!!

  36. Jennifer permalink
    March 31, 2011 15:55

    If you’re going to be a pitch invader and strip the players… might I suggest waiting until the match with Athletic? For maximum hot factor. (And if you don’t manage it, you can at least hope for Javi to pin you down while waiting for the security guards, right?)

    • April 1, 2011 08:34

      I did think about that (you knew I would, didn’t you?) but then I’d have to wait until next season. Unless I go to San Mamés next weekend…

      • Jennifer permalink
        April 1, 2011 13:57

        You say “go to San Mamés” like it’s a bad thing… surely proximity to all those Basque men can only be a net positive?

  37. March 31, 2011 16:39

    Una, your blog is AMASSSSING!! 🙂

    Don’t apologize for anything, in fact, you’re one of the main reasons why I love being a Madridista! 🙂 Please keep up the good work! Although I don’t comment as much, rest assured that I will ALWAYS be reading.

    Take care and HalaMadrid! 🙂

  38. Priscilla permalink
    March 31, 2011 16:46

    Hello, Una. This is my first post here, but I just had to say it’s honorable of you to create a space where people can express their opinion, even and especially if they differ from yours. Not many people have that sense of respect this days. I understand people were bothered with some parts of the submission post (have to admit, i kinda was a little bit), but it doesn’t take away the fact that your intentions with it were the best. Hopefully, this won’t scare away the idea. Anyway, just wanted to thank you for all the great work you do with the blog. I found it accidently a few weeks ago and now I’m addicted. It’s a pleasure to read your thoughts about this great time and it’s great players 🙂 Many thanks and much love from Brazil!

  39. AlbertaMadridista permalink
    March 31, 2011 16:59

    I feel I am just reiterating what everyone else has said but for all your hard work you deserve to hear it again.

    I don’t comment on all of your post but I read it every day and I am very very greatful for the work you put it. You always make me laugh and quite honestly you are the reason I love this team so much because you always have such fascinating and funny information and pictures.

    Thank you for everything.

  40. Nurul permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:07

    (1) I totally didn’t expect his room to look like that! It’s almost… barren. Sort of impersonal. I agree with what some of the others have posted, it looks more like a hotel room.
    (2) I’m so sad about Karim! I hope that injury wouldn’t take away his ‘newly regained’ confidence, though.
    (3) Last, I may not always comment on your posts, but I do appreciate every single post that you make here, and on conlaroja too!

  41. canederli permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:09

    “On a lighter note, I’d also like to add how disappointed I am in all of you, because nothing I write generates that much reaction! What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos? ”

    Yes. Yes, that’s EXACTLY what you need to do, una. 😉 You’re the best and we adore you. Thank you for all you do. You don’t have to apologize for the poor behavior of others. You are beyond reproach, IMHO. You’ve done nothing but be supportive of fans of Los Blancos and La Roja. My issues were never with you, just the poster in question.

    In re: Sergio’s bedroom – damn Google Translate – it said that’s how it was when he arrived *in* Lithuania, which made sense to me because that looks like a hotel room, not how I imagined Sergio’s bedroom. But you’re a much more reliable translator. I don’t know what I expected – a revolving bed, perhaps?! 😉 – I do know I though his bed would at least be king sized! I just looks so…impersonal. Also, he said his “brothers” plural – which I took to be his teammates. The stuffed eagle is perplexing (and disturbing!) But I love this look into his life. 🙂

    • April 1, 2011 08:39

      The tweet says “de Lithuania” which means “from Lithuania.” And as for the “hermanos,” if you want to talk about a “hermano” (brother) and an “hermana” (sister), together they become “hermanos,” so in this case Sergio means his brother and his sister. That’s the way it is in Spanish. You can have one “chico” (boy) and 10 “chicas” (girls) but they would become “los chicos” if you talk about them as a group.

      • DebS permalink
        April 1, 2011 08:53

        ty for the explanation Una. Now I can say that “help is going on” with my learning of Spanish. 😉

  42. March 31, 2011 17:12

    Ok. First things first. Pipita’s ass! How come no one’s noticed that yet? It deserves mention, no?

    Who knows, maybe the other walls of Sergio’s bedroom are bright green (to match his favorite pants!). It does seem a little subdued but maybe he thinks his wardrobe is colorful enough.

    And Una, not to be repetitive, but you are doing a brilliant job on your blog. And while I wasn’t personally offended by what was said, it is understandable that others were. I suppose as much as you don’t want to edit people’s submissions, there might be a need for it in cases like these. In any case, hopefully the fans have already learned their lesson in terms of what could be offensive to others, if not to them. I hope it doesn’t stop you from doing more of the fan submission posts.

  43. Lily permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:39

    UNA You don’t need to apologize for anything!!!

    We love your blog, I mean if you want to get my attention some more I won’t stop you 😛

    Have a great day and Keep going with all your great work!!!!

    Lily

  44. KathyInCA permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:43

    Well, I did think we might get the random picture of Sergio’s thigh/bum in honor of his birthday, but other than that I think your blog is perfect, Una!

    Also, I hope you saw this so you don’t have to wait for the match to watch Javi Martinez: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehOJschaL4o

  45. Sheila permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:48

    Lass boots are Nike CTR360 Maestri

  46. Rosalina permalink
    March 31, 2011 17:53

    I really love this blog and I truly appreciate all the work you do especially when it comes to translating video interviews for us and the long ones at that! Even if I don’t post it I am always grateful. Maybe those comments got a bit out of hand but you know NONE of that was directed towards you myself and i’m sure other readers on here understood you were just trying to entertain and i’ll admit it was a fun read but one to take it lightly.

  47. March 31, 2011 18:51

    Thanks or all the news!

    1) Now to Sexio’s bedroom: oh, the horror! What is this eagle and why only a head of him, it is dramatic. But, let’s be honest, we only can notice this because Sergio is not in the picture, i he was (and in bed) the eagle would be unnoticeable LOL

    2) Guuuuuuuuuuuuuuti, Guuuuuuuuuuuuti!!!!

    3) Last sentence of your blog entry UnaMadridista: OMG, I love the way your mind goes, that sounds like a plan, totally;-) Seriously – you are wondrful UnaMadridista, thanks for all the work you are giving to this blog. I think it is my favourite blog, together with the other one of yours when we can see shirtless Javi Martinez! (I had to mention that;-)))

  48. Vanessa G permalink
    March 31, 2011 19:56

    Totally hoping for that lovely leg shot in honor of Sergio’s birthday, it’s one of my favorite picture of him 🙂 The first thing I noticed in his TwicPic was that Eagle, interesting piece. Then I was wondering if any of his girlfriend’s ever freaked out with the eagle head watching while they…..anyways you get the idea! Haha I have to admit I never thought about what his bedroom would look like but this is not at all what Iwould have expected, I guess I was expecting some Flamenco inspired décor.

    I didn’t realize there was so much commotion about the readers submissions so I went back to take a peek. The comments were quite entertaining to read. 🙂 I stop by both your blogs daily and i really enjoying reading what you write. I find myself laughing every time I read once of your posts and people around me just give me weird looks. I’m from San Francisco so there are not as many fans around here. To me, you are a true madridista! There are other RM blogs who quote you and its clear everyone has the upmost respect for you since you do an amazing job!!

  49. gabriela permalink
    March 31, 2011 20:04

    By all means, you should do what you just wrote on the 12 xD

    I hope Benzema’s injury is not serious enough to rule him out of the CL clash next weekend!
    get well soon, Monsieur!

    I was expecting more from Sergio’s room, to be quiet honest. At least some leopard print sheets.

  50. nicole permalink
    March 31, 2011 20:12

    awesome! i thought it was his hotelroom..hahah

  51. emma permalink
    March 31, 2011 20:12

    JUST ONE THING………..JOSE OH!!!!! JOSE………..OH JOSE… HE IS SO HOT!!!!!!!!!!
    WISH HE WAS FOOTBALLER………DAMN HE”S MIGHTY FINE………MAKES ME WANNA FORGET THE WHOLE TEAM.LOLZZZZZZZZ 😉
    OH AND HAPPY B.DAY TO SERGIO………goodluck

  52. Mel permalink
    March 31, 2011 20:47

    I’m sooo in that bedroom doing ……. stuff. I imagened a larger bed, in fact I imagened a bed so big, the wall were built around it.

    Sergio’s sister is really pretty. LOVE her blouse.

    I actually thought he would be hanging out with Lara. But I’m kind of glad there are no pictures of her. Guess they’re not THAT serious. I like ❤

    I think Arbeloa has the exact same shirt!

    • Mel permalink
      March 31, 2011 21:05

      And I LOVE this blog, I read it every day. Even during NT breaks 😉
      I’m coming to Madrid in the fall, so if you need help riping shirts off, I’m game 😉

      I promise you I will comment more. Even if it’s just a thumbs up or a smiley I have to ad to a post.

      • DebS permalink
        April 1, 2011 08:58

        “Even if it’s just a thumbs up”

        noooo…not that! lol

  53. Laura permalink
    March 31, 2011 21:44

    I guess we all appreciate your work, Una. You do a great job with your blog and I would have responded to your posts, but my life’s a bit busy at the moment. So I just read your nice posts.

    Well, and I have to say something to Sergios bed. I thought it was the bed in his hotelroom, but okay it’s his bedroom at home.
    It’s pretty tiny, isn’t it? My bed is tiny and it looks much bigger than his one. 😀

  54. far east madridista permalink
    March 31, 2011 22:10

    hi una, good job on ur blog, i really loooooooove it!
    unamadridista is my favourite blog cuz i read it everyday =)

    more update please and thank you *thumbs up*
    please keep this blog alive, love it love it =)

    btw sandro rossel very cocky huh? talking bout another 5-0 in copa del rey final..

  55. Jessica permalink
    March 31, 2011 22:37

    yes please run out on the field. that is the only form of apology i will except. 🙂 I wouldn’t worry about apologizing. You did a great job and continue to do so with this blog. Keep up the good work!

  56. Kelsey Polo permalink
    March 31, 2011 23:02

    “What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos?”

    YES. YES YOU DO.

  57. mar permalink
    March 31, 2011 23:04

    Ohhhh una don’t feel bad! I love your posts so much that i look forward for them! (as everybody else i duspect) even though ripping off their shirts is not a bad idea at all…
    Thank you for all! 🙂

  58. Lily permalink
    March 31, 2011 23:35

    You are awesome!!!!

  59. Ranya permalink
    March 31, 2011 23:52

    I don’t always comment, but I do always enjoy your blog. You seem very excited (!!!) lately, although that’s a natural reaction to Javi Martinez 😉

    And yes, for some reason if I imagine the players’ houses/bedrooms in my mind, they are colourful… I wonder why that is!

  60. April 1, 2011 00:13

    I’m disappointed in anyone who had problems with YOU! This blog is great!! You shouldn’t apologize for a nutty girl who submits things! I’m always excited to read new posts 🙂

  61. Camas permalink
    April 1, 2011 00:29

    I dont understand why people thought the readers submit was offensive?? It was clearly her observation of things and she didnt just fill the whole thing with – he’s stupid and such & such is a stuck up slut…..

    Was nice to see also a ‘behind’ the scenes of it, most of the interaction the fans get to see is interviews or quick 5 second autographs.

  62. Ange permalink
    April 1, 2011 00:42

    Una…If u rip of their shirts & shorts … can I ask for the Bilbao game or when they play against FC Barcelona…because cause if your ripping of shirts & shorts from the boys from Madrid you can rip off the shorts/shirts … off the boys from Bilbao & Barca … I would help you but I don’t live in Spain… 😦 ….

    & sorry I haven’t visted in awhile… but you kept me busy with La Roja…. 😀 ….

    & Thanx 4 another great post!!!

    & Sergio Ramos room… i never imagen his room … but that not what I would have thought he would have as his room…but HEY!!! it’s as SPECIAL as his sense of style!!!! I ❤ U SERGIO!!!! but I can remodel your room!!!!

    & Sergio Ramos… can I know more information on your cousing … age .. # … his single … cause … his very good looking…. I'm liking the genes in that family … *lol* … even though I only want one guy …. (Xavi Hernandez) …

    i'm soooooo happy to see Gonzalo better!!!! 🙂 … hopefully he can play against Barcelona!!!

  63. Natalie permalink
    April 1, 2011 01:36

    I literally have read your blog every day for the past year now, and so it is kind of pathetic the first time I commented was about that reader submission thing. Your blog is great! I don’t know how you get such great insider information, but thank you for sharing it all!

  64. suzanne permalink
    April 1, 2011 04:08

    una, i know i speak for many of us here when i say you don’t need to do a thing differently. i think there were so many responses because people were upset. i didn’t comment, b/c while i appreciate the input of others, i come here for you and rm info!! i adore you!! keep up the fantastic work. i’ve been reading since almost the beginning, i’ll try to comment more 🙂

    april is going to be hell on my nerves. stressful matches, stressful school

  65. April 1, 2011 05:32

    “What do I have to do, run onto the field of the Bernabéu at the next game, simultaneously avoiding security, ripping off the shirts and shorts off of Iker, Sergio, Xabi and co., and taking photos? ”
    Whereas that would be quite amusing, oh Una! I’m sure I’m not the only one who reads every single one of your posts (ever since I found your blogs last June anyway), but I don’t usually comment unless I have something to say…
    On another note, I was wondering about the eagle too, and how small the bed is (DON’T TAKE THIS THE WRONG WAY). but I bet you would anyway 😉

    • noelle permalink
      April 1, 2011 09:34

      his bed does look small, lol, i dunno if thats a good or bad thing, i guess u can say good in the sense that it should only fit one person, but bad cuz if there was anyone else in that bed, the only place for them would be on top and yeah it just stops right there lol

  66. sayu permalink
    April 1, 2011 05:49

    Una, u are the best! I dont know how to start my day without reading ur blogs first. Keep them coming!

  67. Bethany permalink
    April 1, 2011 06:32

    You have a fantastic blog and should apologize to no one
    its your blog, so you put on whatever you want, not just stuff everyone agrees with

  68. April 1, 2011 09:18

    Well, see Una all it needs is a little encouragement and the idea of ripping shirts for getting lots of comments! – I would be glad to help you on that ( I will go after Iker) if you go ahead with it 😀
    Sergio’s bed lacks color and is small….. I wouldn’t have imagined it like this!

    • April 1, 2011 15:10

      “I will go after Iker…” you will have to trample Una in the process, ‘cuz one can imagine that’s where she’s going first!!! Just be careful, ladies… o-O

  69. noelle permalink
    April 1, 2011 09:29

    Una ur the best!! i love this blog and i visit this site whenever im near a computer, i live in california and its great being kept up to date with all the real madrid news!!! it seems like u have fans every where that appreciate all ur hard work…. ur very entertaining and funny and post quality material…. no need to apologize for the readers post, it was just someones account with the players and it rubbed off in a bad way to majority of the readers including myself but its all in the past and im sure isabella has been attacked enough and even tho ppl dont agree with her, its nice knowing that u una welcome everyone to this fantastic blog… its really a joy to read =) im so glad i found this site

  70. Jill permalink
    April 1, 2011 14:30

    I only recently discovered the world of European “futbol” and La Liga in particular a few months ago. My husband has been watching for years and I always left the room. But this January I began watching with him… and now I am SO hooked! Somehow I’ve fallen in love with both Barcelona and Real Madrid which makes things very difficult for me emotionally. I live in the US where I have NO women to talk about this with… But thankfully I found your blog which has brought me so much joy! I love your female perspective 😉 on the players, but also your true knowledge of the game and the behind the scenes of the sport. Thanks for being my pretend “friend” who I can go to talk shop with! 😉

  71. Michelle permalink
    April 1, 2011 19:07

    Hey Madridista, if you really don’t want to censor anything/anyone, then why not take comments off moderation and save yourself the approval workload? ;-D

    I am also fully in support of your Bernabeu-storming plan. I think you should pants Sergio, take a picture posing next to Xabi, lick Iker’s profile, and touch Marcelo’s hair. That should do it nicely.

    • April 2, 2011 15:24

      Because sometimes spam gets in, and because this way it’s easier for me to respond to comments.

Leave a Reply

