Skip to content

all set for Sporting & Pipita’s back!

April 1, 2011

The weather has finally taken a turn for the good, as it was sunny in Madrid this morning and the players wore short sleeves and shorts for the first time in a long time!  Let’s hope they break out the sleeveless shirts soon!  And in real life, that means no more scarves (that’s aimed at Sergio, Pepe and Iker)!

How come they don’t give the Castilla players first team training clothes?

And the other fantastic news out of today is that Gonzalo Higuaín is back!

Madrid held their last training session before tomorrow night’s game against Sporting (18h) this morning, with the 19 healthy players from the first team, plus three canteranos: MSFC Juan Carlos, Juanfran and Álex.  Marcelo, Kaká, Cris, Benzema and Gago were the absences, as they stayed inside.  And Sergio Canales needs a haircut.

The A-team really is inseparable, aren’t they?  I wonder if Antonio Adán might one day join if they allow him, since his name does work?

More on Gonzalo: after 124 days, he’s returned to a call-up list (Nov. 28 was the last one).  It’s also been about three months since he underwent surgery for his herniated disc (Jan. 11).  Nineteen players were called up along with Pipita, including the three canteranos.  Peter Lion was the only player left out due to the coach’s decision.  The players are to arrive at the stadium at 21h tonight.

Goalkeepers: Iker, Adán, Dudek.

Defenders: Garay, Albiol, Ramos, Carvalho, Pepe, Arbeloa.

Midfielders: Lass, Khedira, Granero, Álex, Juanfran, Canales, Özil, Di María, Juan Carlos.

Forwards: Adebayor, Higuaín.

I wonder why only two forwards were called up, and one of them hasn’t played for four months?  That’s a bit risky, no?

In José Mourinho’s press conference later on, he said that Higuaín’s return was “a positive surprise” that should be credited to “the dedication of the doctors, the work of Carlos Lalín (the readaptor), the efforts of the player himself… I hope the Bernabéu shows their support for him tomorrow.”  Meanwhile, we found out that Cris, Benzema and Marcelo probably won’t make it to the Tottenham game: “the information I have is that Cristiano, Benzema and Marcelo will be ready for the game in Bilbao.”

[Collecting my thoughts and returning to the subject at hand after the mention of Bilbao made me start fantasizing about Javi Martínez (!!!).]

As for Sandro Rosell’s declarations that he expects Barcelona to beat Madrid 5-0 in the Copa del Rey final, Mou said, “I read them and they’re normal.  If he thinks that, why wouldn’t he say it?  I don’t think he’s disrespecting anyone.  I don’t think he said anything out of the ordinary.  But if I said it, I would be going straight to jail, but I think it’s normal for him to have said it.”  You have to LOVE Mou, no?  But he is right about there being a bit of a double standard; I thought about addressing it in the previous post but didn’t want to get into it.  He continued, “it could motivate Barcelona’s players.  Madrid’s have their own motivation, they want to win each game and they don’t need words from anyone else.”  You tell them Mou!

We also didn’t find out about the starting eleven, which Mou knew but “I can’t say.  I don’t want to.”  Vintage Mou.

Over in Barcelona, Pep Guardiola showed more restraint than his president.  He said in his press conference – and this is one of the reasons I love Pep – that “the president explained to me yesterday why he made that prediction, because it was during a charity event and the higher he predicted, the more funds they would collect.  In my opinion, if you ask me, he could have avoided doing so.  If it was to collect funds, I would have said 60-0.”

Meanwhile, original Ronaldo, who will be honored before tomorrow night’s game, arrived in Madrid this morning from Brazil.  He then headed to his house and met up with some friends.  Of the tribute, he said, “it’s a big honor because I’m a madridista.  I have a lot of desire to see my teammates [very few are left!] and feel close to the fans, and I always have Madrid in my heart.”  And you’re still in the hearts of madridistas too Ronie!

He’ll do the honorary kick off before the game, and he will also receive a replica of the Machimbarrena and Aranguren statue (the one in front of the locker room).

For their April Fool’s joke, the British newspaper “The Independent” wrote that Portugal had decided to sell Cristiano Ronaldo to Spain for €160 million so that he could play with La Roja.  The country did that to reduce their debt, with Cris deciding to be “patriotic” and accepting the deal.  The paper then added that the English were prepared to counteroffer €230 million.  Jajaja!!

Meanwhile, Madrid’s photographers haven’t gotten my memo.  They’ve even got the coaches doing it now, groan.

Over in Castilla, they play Sunday against Guadalajara (17h), and hopefully the team will be able to consolidate their current second place standing!  Denis and Goni spoke about the game, but they didn’t say anything we don’t know already (the game will be complicated, we’re working to move to first place, they will be a difficult rival, etc.) but I’m including this because Castilla rocks and because these boys are cute.

And… Sergio has pink pants!  What colors are we still missing from his wardrobe?  You know what?  If he doesn’t sleep naked, then he might like some of those things that Javi (!!!) was modeling, jajaja!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 15:16

    oh dear, casillas is balding 😦

    • ich permalink
      April 1, 2011 16:11

      I realize he’s balding, but that’s the most clear evidence i’ve ever seen ::goosebump::
      My.. I don’t know my feeling right now..

      Get positive, maybe soon Spain NT will finally have a baldy goalie trio ?!
      Yay for smexy baldy trio!! 😀

    • melissa permalink
      April 1, 2011 16:52

      omg iker! and to think his hair had been looking better in recent photos to me and now this! i’m blocking this out of my mind…. it isn’t happening. *lalalal alalalalal*

    • Ally permalink
      April 1, 2011 18:09

      mte. When I saw the pic of him, I thought ‘No!’ o.O
      Maybe he will look amazing without any hair, who knows…

      But it’s great to have Pipita back and that the sun starts to shine more 🙂

    • April 1, 2011 23:22

      DON’T SAY IT! Just ignore and his hair will get better like Carvalho’s did! What is making me feel optimisic is that his dad still has hair and if things get worse he could either join the two other NT goalies ( sexy baldness) or he can get a hair transplant ( why not? Sara C. got herself some enhancements 😀 )

    • Mandy permalink
      April 2, 2011 09:45

      omg…..I cant even recognise the man is Iker.
      Maybe he wants to change his style……but……i dont know how to say…..:(

  2. browneyedgirl permalink
    April 1, 2011 15:18

    I wonder why Morata wasn’t call up?
    I hope the game doesn’t get complicated
    Hala Madrid 😀

  3. browneyedgirl permalink
    April 1, 2011 15:19

    and oh yeah
    Pipita is back
    YeaHHHH!!!

  4. superfan permalink
    April 1, 2011 15:39

    Oh my gosh I cannot believe Pipita’s back!!! So excited to see him play and hopefully, he really is fit already. 🙂 Una, I don’t really blame you for fantasizing about Javi whenever Bilbao is mentioned. I mean, with that body and face? 😉 Anyway, thank you very much for this round up! Oh and Mou was so right about everything he said.

  5. Barcelonista! permalink
    April 1, 2011 16:13

    Hey Una, great great blog! I’m a culé but I visit this site to see what’s going on in Madrid. I’m kinda disapointed with El Presi coz it’s not one of Pep’s ways to predict scores, especially scores that will NOT happen. Yes, Barca will not defeat Madrid 5-0 again. Not with Mou anyway!

    I’m kinda worried to be honest. Playing Villareal away after the international break and having so many injuries is suicidal. Abi, Puyi, Xavi and possibly Pedro, Bojan and Messi will all be out. But the good thing about this is, if we win. It will be the biggest confidence-booster for us and surely the biggest smash-in-the-face psychologically for you. Coz like you know, this is our hardest match left (besides the clasico).

    I know you have CR7, Marcelo and Xabi out. I hope they’ll be fit asap so that we can have an exciting end to the season.

    Visca el Madrid y Viva el Barca!!!

    • DebS permalink
      April 2, 2011 03:46

      that was really a nice post, especially compared to some of the previous posts made by Cule’s on Una’s blog. thank you 😉

      It would be nice if all the guys were able to play in the upcoming matches between Madrid & Barca. That way, regardless of who wins, no one can say, “if only so & so were fit, we would have won.” Personally, I’m just hoping for a much more competitive games between the two and the end of the season not decided until the last game is played. I still want Madrid to be the last team standing tho. 😉

  6. suzanne permalink
    April 1, 2011 16:19

    PIPITA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i am soooooooooooooooo excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    rosell keep on thinking that. charity my a$$.

    i’m a little devestated right now….marcelo, cris, and benz ALL out v the spurs?! 😥 i now hate international breaks 😥

  7. April 1, 2011 16:36

    i’m about to be a huge debbie downer, sorry! 😦 but it’s all I can focus on…

    as eager as I am to see pipita back on the pitch, I find it really worrying that he’s being called up this early after his surgery. I was reserved to the idea that he’d be out for all or most of the season and I really wish they would let him continue to recover. it’s so easy to relapse and I just want him to stay healthy. I know mou will be careful as to the amount of time he lets him play but I just hope he won’t end up paying for this “early recovery” later. I really don’t think we’d be seeing him on the call-up list if not for the benzema and cristiano injuries, so I hope everyone knows what they’re doing.

  8. Pammie permalink
    April 1, 2011 16:55

    great prank from The independent, jajajaja!

    Pipa is baaaaaaaaaaack!!!

    I’m surprised why no striker from Castilla got called up, it’d be safer. Also 3 canteranos and no Pedro Leon, gotta feel bad for the tomato :/

    the hungarian Real Madrid site also made a prank about Xabi being out for several days with alcohol poisoning:
    http://iker-casillas.tumblr.com/post/4254151766

    can Xabi and Alvaro get any more perfect? they are ambassador of vencer el cancer ♥_♥
    http://www.hoymujer.com/Corazon/Paparazzi/Xavi-Alonso-campana-Vencer-622659032011.html
    http://www.hoymujer.com/Corazon/Paparazzi/Arbeloa-campana-Vencer-cancer-622665032011.html
    http://www.hoymujer.com/Corazon/Paparazzi/Luis-Figo-campana-Vencer-622660032011.html

    • IsaBella permalink
      April 1, 2011 19:41

      thank you for these photos!! they’re amazing! 😀

  9. mar permalink
    April 1, 2011 17:56

    PIPITA is back! I really want to see him play, but i’d rather not of this is going to have a bad impact at his health…
    The Indepent has a good sense of humour.

    And una, i think you introduce in the posts ICYMI a section called “the rival’s hotties” or sth like this so you will be amble to include Javi (!!!) some day in it

  10. April 1, 2011 18:10

    I like that first picture!

    And, yey! for Pipita being back. I hope they didn’t rush his callback though, just because Karim is injured. But I suppose we had no other choice.

  11. Priscilla permalink
    April 1, 2011 18:18

    Yey, Pipita’s the house! Love to see he’s recovering so fast. Love to see the players welcoming him back. So cute! Mou still being awesome, Sergio always surprising me with his fashion choices (I’m new around here, haven’t seen that many looks, but I’m starting to see it’s a really big deal)… Excited about Ronaldo’s thing this weekend, not just because I’m brazilian, but because, you know, he’s amazing.

    “Meanwhile, Madrid’s photographers haven’t gotten my memo”. – I don’t know if I should thank you or the photographers for always making me laugh. Both, I guess. xD

  12. Vanessa G permalink
    April 1, 2011 18:27

    Pink Pants…is must be an April Fools joke! 🙂

  13. Kai permalink
    April 1, 2011 18:59

    Higauin !!!! omg .. cant wait to see him play .. but still a bit worried for his recovery though

  14. IsaBella permalink
    April 1, 2011 19:54

    I’m happy Gonzalo is back in the team, it’s been a while, no?
    I’m also hoping the injured Karim, Cristiano and Marcelo will recover soon.
    Una, you’re gently caressing my fantasy about Sergio sleeping naked (although that small bed of his may be uncomfortable for two people :p ) but those pants and the hairstyle *facepalm*
    I also must admit that I was absolutely left speechless when I saw Una’s Javi Martinez’ underwear campaign, wow 😉

  15. April 1, 2011 20:20

    I can’t be more happier!!! YAYYY!!! Still sad about Benz, Kaka, Cristiano and Marcelo’s (that’s a lot!) injury. Oh, Mou, I love him for always being so cheeky! And everything he says is true! Btw, love the first and the last picture!

  16. Mel permalink
    April 1, 2011 20:21

    I don’t like the pink boots

  17. Cat permalink
    April 1, 2011 20:23

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay PIPITA!! Didn’t realise he and Ozi were so close. So looking forward to tomorrow now!!!

  18. HermosaChica permalink
    April 1, 2011 22:10

    Umm, Iker? Your..hair, or whatever you want to call that. It looks like he glued a hunk of fur on his forehead with his own saliva…You’re still gorgeous though! 😕

    Sergio should be fined for those pants. *facepalm* Why oh why does he have to have a life size version of the “ever-so dashing” Ken doll’s wardrobe?!

    PIPITA! 😀 Sorry, but the skeptic in me is a tad bit worried about how early he’s been called up.. Just saying.. But gosh do I miss that smile of his!

    • IsaBella permalink
      April 2, 2011 15:54

      @Hermosa Chica: welcome back 🙂 I missed your comments 🙂

    • noelle permalink
      April 3, 2011 07:49

      the ken doll character in toy story 3 was amazing! lol sergio does have kens wardrobe hehehe only he could pull it off tho….. sergio is just so hot it overrides whatever horrible clothing he might have on and his super sweet personality makes it impossible to not like him =)

      • nicole permalink
        April 3, 2011 22:11

        hahah yea he does dress like a man barbie doll but is too hot for me to be bothered:)

        una i’m so happy you have an obsession with javi cause i do too i also love iker muniain so if you can pls include a moving picture(i do not know what it is called) of them in your ICYMI post for the bilbao game. i do however realize that this is a madrid blog so as long as there is a sergio corner i’ll be more than happy:) i’m going to browse the javi soy underwear post for the 15th billionth time today! it gets better each time:)

  19. ChristinaLFP permalink
    April 2, 2011 02:09

    awwwww!!!!! is that Mesut with Pipita? after Sami

  20. DebS permalink
    April 2, 2011 03:40

    I’m glad that Pipita is back. I too am concerned that it may be too early but I expect that Mou is giving him a chance to get back in to game fitness before the CL game, particularly with Benz, Marcelo & CR7 probably not being able to play. Sorry to the Spurs fans, but I’m really hoping that Bale is out too.

    “But if I said it, I would be going straight to jail, but I think it’s normal for him to have said it.”
    I love Mou! Never one to be afraid to say what he thinks. That’s probably also why he said it was “normal” for Sandro Rosell to say that. Gotta love Mou for not being a hypocite!

    Poor Pepe! His other 2 partners in crime aren’t outside practicing or called up for the game. Bet he feels a bit lost!

    Una, I swear these guys (or maybe their WAGS?) read your blog and do the thumbs up just to annoy us. sigh… lol

    Sergio, love, pink pants?! I guess it takes a man who’s confident in his masculinity to pull off wearing pink but Serg…the pants? No, no & no!

  21. Sayu permalink
    April 2, 2011 05:25

    i love the first pic una 🙂 looks like they are really having fun during their training 🙂 such happy faces! 🙂

  22. Hala_Madrid permalink
    April 2, 2011 06:19

    I Love Cris and Sergio so much that even if they wore Cheetah pants i wouldn’t care. They look good in everything they wear =)

  23. amouria permalink
    April 2, 2011 09:10

    i appreciate your LOVE to Mou and another love to pepe…degrees aree clear, i share it.

  24. DebS permalink
    April 3, 2011 03:30

    absolutely gutted today :'{

Leave a Reply

