Skip to content

in case you missed it – the today is Sunday edition

April 3, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Es-sporting [2011-04-02, Liga jornada 30, 0-1].

Well, this is a hard ICYMI to write, since I really don’t feel like re-watching the game and reliving the experience to find the moments for the post.  But… I’m an optimistic person by nature, so I’ll try and be optimistic in this wrap-up too.  With that said, we lost yesterday, but at least we did so in the only competition we can afford to.  Better this than the Copa del Rey or the Champions, no?  It’s been far too long since we’ve won either of those.

ONE. One of the best things about the game was seeing Pipita back!  And shirtless!  I love how Jerzy was holding the shirt for him to change into.  Gonzalo came in for Esteban Granero early in the second half.

On his back, you could see the scar left by his surgery.  After the game, Gonzalo said he thought he would be more out of shape or feel pain, but he felt very good, and that he was happy: “it was said that I would be out for the rest of the season and I showed that not everything in life is statistical.  I felt very comfortable out there.”  Pipita added, “the key to the recovery was the fight, to fight for what I love most, which is playing football.  Being able to wear this shirt again in this stadium is the most beautiful thing.  I want to thank the entire coaching staff, the medical team, the fans, my teammates, my family and myself.  I’m very happy to feel like a footballer again, although this wasn’t what I had in mind for the return.”

TWO. Real Madrid legend Ronaldo was honored before the game.  First, we got to watch a video of his best moments with the shirt of Real Madrid.  While the two teams were taking the traditional starting XI photos, Madrid delegate Agustín Herrerín opened the box containing the statue of Machimbarrena and Aranguren.  Then the speaker told the Bernabéu: “this stadium is going to honor one of the most important players in the history of this club.  Let’s receive Ronaldo with all the affection of el madridismo!”  Ronaldo stepped onto the field to a thunderous standing ovation and chants of “Ronaldo, Ronaldo.”  He hugged his former teammates Iker Casillas and David Barral, the two captains, and saluted the crowd.

Lass has hair!!!

While Ronaldo was basking in the affection of the crowd, José Mourinho joked around with FP, trying to get him to sit down on the bench.  Then FP headed onto the field to present the commemorative statue to Ronaldo along with JV.  Then, Ronie took the honorary kick off, and hugged Iker once more before walking off the field.  He watched the rest of the game next to FP in the presidential box.

Afterwards, Ronaldo said, “it was a very emotional moment, and returning brought a lot of memories to my head.  I’m proud to have formed part of the history of Real Madrid because it’s the greatest club in the world and the one I scored the most goals with in my career.”  As for his favorite goals with the Madrid shirt, Ronaldo said, “I like to classify the goals according to their importance, so in that sense, I’ll pick the two I scored against Athletic de Bilbao to win the Liga and the one to win the Intercontinental Cup.”  And as for his best accomplice, he chose “Zidane, the player I most enjoyed playing with.  Seeing the things he did and the elegance with which he did them was a luxury.  He’s a great friend and we had fun playing together.”  And we had so much fun watching the two of you, didn’t we?  ¡Gracias Ronie!

THREE. Ronaldo was not the only Madrid idol honored last night.  Yesterday was the 19th anniversary of the death of Juanito, who was killed in a car accident on April 2, 1992, while returning to Mérida after watching a game at the Bernabéu.  Juanito played for Madrid between 1977 and 1987, scoring 153 goals in 401 games, and winning five Ligas, two Copas del Rey and the Pichichi trophy, among other honors.

He’s remembered during each game when the crowd chants “illa illa illa, Juanito maravilla” in the seventh minute (he wore the number 7), but last night, there were extra banners and posters to honor him.  There is also what’s called the “el espíritu de Juanito,” which is invoked whenever Madrid needs to make a big comeback.  Will this be needed this season?

FOUR. Of note: Sporting had just as many canteranos in their starting line-up as we did (Alberto Rivera, Alberto Lora, David Barral vs. Iker, Esteban Granero, Álvaro Arbeloa), with our last two only there due to injury/suspension.  I don’t like that at all.  And by the way, I barely recognized Alberto Rivera!  Remember when he had that long, frizzy, blondish hair?

FIVE. Iker reacted to the goal with his patented “I am so pissed off right now” expression.  It’s also known as his “you call this a defense?” expression.

SIX. Here starts the healing, courtesy of the two Sergios.  Both Sergios manage to make us focus on a part of their bodies rather than the game and the result.

SEVEN. Meanwhile, Esteban Granero pulled a “Sergio Ramos.”  Close-up here.

EIGHT. It’s a bit painful to see Iker from the front now, due to that hairline, as some of you have pointed out, but I’m happy to report that everything still looks spectacular from the back.

NINE. As you can see, Sergio spent the whole afternoon either fiddling with his hair, or sticking his tongue out.

During the game:

After the game:

No difference, right?

TEN. I loved this moment when Iker helped out David Barral.

ELEVEN. And somehow, Iker ended up with a green jersey after the game, even though no one was wearing one out there.  It came from Sporting’s backup ‘keeper Raúl Domínguez, who came onto the field as the game ended with that shirt, and got Iker to remove his and exchange them.

TWELVE. Why oh why did the cameras not pan down (left) or to the front (right) in these exact moments?

THIRTEEN. I also loved that Iker joined in the attack during the last play of the game.  Once again, spectacular from the back.

FOURTEEN. The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

Well our Xabi was absent from the game, but his teammates have obviously been influenced by him, as they took over his favorite pose.

FIFTEEN. I loved that Mou, for the first time, waited out on the field to high five all his players as they came off the field.  He also saluted Sporting’s players, as well as the referee team.  The first thing that Manolo Preciado said at his press conference was that Mou had come into his team’s locker room to congratulate them for the win and to shake everyone’s hands.  Meanwhile, Miguel de las Cuevas, the man who ruined Mou and Madrid’s night, said, “Mourinho came to congratulate all my teammates, one by one, including Preciado.  This shows that he’s not only a great professional, but also a man with very sporting behavior.”  Take that critics!

SIXTEEN. Speaking of Mou…the Mou corner.

After the game, Mou attributed the defeat to bad luck, the mentality and the defensive play of the rival: “defending, defending, defending… they took one shot at the goal and scored, that’s what Sporting did.  That’s football.  We had five occasions and we didn’t score.  That’s football and tomorrow is Sunday.”

Up to this game, Madrid was the only team that had not lost at home this season, and that stood for all three competitions: 22 games, 22 wins.  José Mourinho had said in Friday’s press conference that, “if we lose tomorrow, we’ll lose the Liga.”  When asked about this last night, Mou said, “as long as the math says no, it’s no.  But, looking at the situation objectively and pragmatically, if the distance with Barça increases from five to eight points, then it’s practically impossible” (he said this before the Barcelona result was out).

I also like that he’s back in the summer suit!  He looks much younger and with more energy when he’s not wearing black.

SEVENTEEN. Looking ahead: the team started focusing on the important match against Tottenham, and trained this morning behind closed doors.

Ángel di María will miss the next game in San Mamés, as he picked up his fifth yellow card, and will have to serve a one-game suspension.

And, to put rest to those rumors, Shakira’s music (concretely, the song “Loca”) was played in the stadium before the game.  She hasn’t been banned from the Bernabéu for her relationship with Gerard Piqué.

EIGHTEEN. To end, more “pomada pá’ tó’ los dolores.”  The picture on the left should work for most of you, and the one on the right is for me.

NINETEEN. Just a note – this was not a good night for me to storm onto the field.  First, I might have knocked Mou over, and I don’t want a cross by my name.  Second, Xabi was missing.  Third, Cris was missing (and you know he’d be impressive).  Fourth, Javi (!!!) was missing.  And fifth, I should wait for summer weather, as that most likely will mean no base layers and therefore just one shirt to rip off!  (Since I have a lot to rip off, this becomes important.)  As a bonus for all my loyal fans, I’ll even try and fluff up Iker’s hair to cover the bald spot before I take a picture!

64 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 17:54

    Una thanks for this. I really needed the cheering up. You totally rock and in case I haven’t said it before, I’m a huge fan of yours.

  2. Debsen permalink
    April 3, 2011 18:03

    Awe Una, thanks for the post even though it was hard to write. Very classy of Mou. I’m glad the Sporting players and Preciado commented on it. As for Iker’s hair, ever since that picture, I definitely see the thinning hair more. Before that I think he did a good job hiding it. I hope it’s not the stress of being capitan that’s causing it to fall out.

    Well, to cheer you up, I hope you win a shirt from Javi (!!!) and underwear (I think his tweet was saying he would give out lots of Soy Underear? – based on level of Spanish knowledge), and better yet, it Javi (!!!) came along in that package.

  3. Kristine permalink
    April 3, 2011 18:12

    Thank you for the post Una.
    It felt like someone stabbed me in the heart when I saw that ball go in our goal. Lady luck was just not on our side yesterday. It was great to see Pipita back, even if we didnt win the game.

    On the bright side, we do have the Copa and Champions in our sites! We don’t have to win everything.

    And.. SERGIOS hair is growing!!!!! I can’t wait to see it flying all over the place again. I have never liked long hair on men, but it just suits him so well.

  4. April 3, 2011 18:21

    Mou is a better person than I am. I would have been really upset. They are the team that broke my record. My heart aches for RM 😦

    • April 4, 2011 09:06

      I really don’t think JM cares about that record.

      • noelle permalink
        April 4, 2011 10:23

        yup, thats what i was thinking too una…. its seems like the press and everyone else makes it a huge deal than he does…. the record was incredible tho, but records r meant to be broken =/…. i’d rather the record be broken by sporting than potentially barca doing it…. RM have won so many liga trophies, the CL is the one that really counts, i hope after all the disappointments the team has suffered this season, the guys can focus and bring home the CL trophy… in the meantime, i’ll ALWAYS be cheering for our boys!!!

  5. April 3, 2011 18:31

    Thanks Una Madridista!

    I could not watch the game, only saw the result later, what can I say…today is Sunday and life goes on. I always think that for every loss there will be a win in the future as by losses the team sees their mistakes and will be able to avoid them in the future. So I am staying optimistic too!

    The summary of the game eases the “pain” a bit, specifically the gifs do. 😉

    I love how the Xabi’s pose is used by others even when he’s not playing! And they really look as if they were specifically copying TheClassy, don’t they?

    I am happy for Pipita, good for him that the recovery process is going well.

    Number NINETEEN of your post: ok, those arguments sound very reasonable to me, indeed there was no point of running to the field with Xabi and Cristiano not playing. It was a wise decision of yours. I also applaud the idea of fluffing up Iker’s hair LOL I love your sense of humour btw!

    Do I remember correctly that the game against Athletic, aka the CLASH OF THE HOTNESS, is next week? If so, I will just buy myself something good to drink and I will stare at the TV for the whole game, desperately trying not to blink to not miss any of the eye-candy!

    That’s a bit optimistic prospective too!

    • April 4, 2011 09:07

      That’s right! Javi (!!!), Fer and co. take on Xabi, Iker and the rest!! Can’t wait! This one needs to be saved in HD!

      • IsaBella permalink
        April 4, 2011 10:30

        I’m all for it! 😀

      • debsen permalink
        April 4, 2011 13:11

        Have fun watching it in HD! I was lucky enough to watch Round 1 at the Bernabeu. Fabulous to watch all of them in person! Unfortunately I was in the nosebleed seats, and wouldn’t have had enough time to run onto the field! My friend kept laughing as I kept squealing with seeing everyone on the field! Let’s say I took a lot of pictures of Iker, Sergio, Xabi, Cristiano, Fer, and Javi.

        • April 4, 2011 15:40

          OMG, so good for you to have seen it live!!! what is breathing!!!

          seriously, the game seems to me like the light at the end of the tunnel that this hectic week is for me in real life;-)

        • IsaBella permalink
          April 4, 2011 20:38

          ooooh, I envy you so much!! I have never seen a game at Bernabeu 😦 but I promised myself that this year I’d do it 😉

  6. PMom_GA permalink
    April 3, 2011 18:33

    #19 – it’s good to make sure you choose the right moment for your attack, er, attempt. you may not get another…

  7. ama permalink
    April 3, 2011 19:01

    I agree, Una–it’s best to be optimistic. There are still lots of important games left in the season, and Liga or no Liga we still love them and love to watch them play. Mou is entirely right–Sporting played defensively the whole match and had one lucky shot, (and Juan Pablo, Sporting’s goalkeeper, had what was probably one of the best games of his life!) and that’s football.

    And in any case, I’m glad we can all come here to be cheered up. Thanks, Una 🙂

  8. Culé! permalink
    April 3, 2011 19:05

    And they say you have more strengh in depth than us! The difference is we have a system while you depend on individual brilliance. And since CR and Alonso weren’t there to provide that brilliance, you were really bad. On the other hand all of our players (including those in the reserves) know our system.

    In short, Barca’s players adapt to Barca’s formation while Madrid’s formation adapts to Madrid’s players!

    • Pam permalink
      April 4, 2011 16:59

      It is not classy to rub in. Teams win and teams lose for any number of reasons. This post was about Madrid vs. Sporting. Not about Barca depth vs. Mardid depth….

      • April 5, 2011 13:38

        Pam – ignore the above ‘cule’. First of all, does that person even know what a cule truly is? Second – there are a few classy ones who come in with constructive commentary. then there are the ones who have virtually nothing new or helpful to say and hide behind the anonimity of the web to make their inoccuous, baseless points.

  9. Lulja permalink
    April 3, 2011 19:11

    Let’s all be postive. In fact, this post this offers various reasons that make me happy. Well done, Unita!
    Esteban doing the Ramos (or the C. Ronaldo, possibly) and the last two points are my highlights here. We’ll forgive you this time. You know what you have to do next week!

  10. Ser permalink
    April 3, 2011 19:51

    Well the Liga might be lost but we still have a shot at the Copa and CL.. We will hope that Marcelo, Cris and Xabi is back until then!

  11. Ange permalink
    April 3, 2011 19:53

    I don’t think the liga is “lost” …. they still have 8 more games … FCB can loose if they are not careful … so I don’t think nobody should say that it’s over… It’s not over until the last game!!!! 🙂

    I’m sorry for your lost UNA!!!!

    I’m soooo happy to see Pipita!!!

  12. Ariadne permalink
    April 3, 2011 20:10

    Una, you’re such a passionate blogger that I’ve started to believe you’ll really end up in the field chasing the squad some mid-April day!

    Anyway, let’s hope Marcelo, Cris and Xabi will be fit on Tuesday.

  13. Ros permalink
    April 3, 2011 20:27

    Because it was a loss, I was not expecting a ICYMI post, but I so glad you did one. There were some good moments, even though the outcome did upset me the rest of the day. I was glad to see Higuain back on the field and I liked Mourinho’s summer suit too. The last few minutes of the game were both incredibly exciting and incredibly painful to watch as they kept getting so close. Weren’t there several goal-line clearances? Thank you again for pulling out the positives!

  14. mar permalink
    April 3, 2011 20:37

    a nice review as always thank you for doing it even though it must not have been exciting…

  15. Andrea permalink
    April 3, 2011 20:42

    Thanks for keeping us in good spirits with your final comments, Una 🙂 Once we have all of the man-candy corralled, I can’t wait to see you take action and storm onto the field!

  16. Erika permalink
    April 3, 2011 20:44

    Just wanna tell you that I love you so much, thank you for letting me feel so much better now
    AND
    Football is football, Mou is right. To be honest, I was so sad for Mou’s record, but I have a feeling that he wouldn’t give a damn himself. Mou is the Mou, strong and special as he claims and is lol
    We will be back, back for everything, always will!

  17. April 3, 2011 21:01

    1. UNA! Have you not gotten the memo? We are IGNORING Iker’s hairline ( the stress he has been through since last season will decrease this summer, aka hair transplant) LALALALA…….
    Our captain shouldn’t worry, we still think he is one hot captain ( hottest club and country captain IMHO)
    2. We are concentrating on the other two competitions which we will hopefully win – knock on wood.
    3. The best thing about the game is the return of Pipita ( he gets extra points for removing his shirt)
    4. It was nice to see Mou high fiving the players and it was classy of him to go congratulate Sporting’s coach and players.
    5- I was so happy to see Ronie get this recognition, my dad is a big fan of his so while watching he started saying”‘Ronaldo, Ronaldo” along with the stadium fans and the rest of my family joined in!
    6- Marca and all the other Madrid based and Catalan papers and rest of the media need to stop putting out ridiculous stories like the Shakira one and then discussing it like its some kind of big news! Oh and btw, they need to get rid of the annoying tendency of putting ‘Waka’ in front of words. They should concentrate on inventing transfer rumors as usual…..

    • April 3, 2011 21:10

      And I forgot to say : My dear Una, regarding the future field storming plan – Haven’t we agreed that I will be your accomplice and that Iker will be left to me , so you won’t fluff Iker’s hair…… ( Javi!!! is all yours after I rip his shirt off….) Cris is all yours!

      • emily permalink
        April 4, 2011 17:21

        Oh silly silly Sara – GOOD LUCK! getting between Una and her recessive-hairlined prey!!! I have a feeling there will be a hearty beat down awaiting you, courtesy of Una, if you get to his Saintliness first!!! o-O

    • noelle permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:49

      “Marca and all the other Madrid based and Catalan papers and rest of the media need to stop putting out ridiculous stories”

      AMEN!!! omg i get so annoyed, my roommate always reads articles on goal.com and i HATE that website, its the absolute worst, they always twist ppls words and cut things out of interviews, its always negative when it comes to madrid…i read thru ppls comments and i swear i was about ready to strangle my computer monitor or throw it out the window or something!!! the ppl commenting r so brain dead and they believe every stupid thing they read…. im tired of the double standard and ppl always accusing madrid of such bullshit and they’re doing it themselves, what a load of shit!! grrrr…. the shakira thing is ridiculous!! the team just wore shirts to support abdial, why the hell would they ban her music…. no one at madrid cares that shes dating pique, it seems like barca is trying to create some kind of attention for themselves and at the same time always try to make madrid out to be so bad… everything from madrid accusing them of doping, madrid being behind that one time when they almost missed that game and players had to travel in all sorts of way just to make it…. its ridiculous and stupid and me being a die hard madridista i would defend my team against anyone who wants to throw that trash around…. grrr…. sigh* ok im done =)

  18. sam permalink
    April 3, 2011 21:06

    In this most awful of results (I may actually feel worse than after the game I refuse to name, thanks for the good moments. Especially Ganero thigh, which as I watched I thought of this site.

    When we tried, we TRIED, but 60 mins of meh + lack of luck means almost certain bye bye Liga, still we have our amazing players, Una’s ICYMI and the CL + Copa to look towards.

  19. sweetubi permalink
    April 3, 2011 21:14

    Thanks for the wonderful post as always.
    I hope this lost make us stronger this Tuesday. Hala Madrid!

    OptaJose fact on this match, not that it matters but the total shot was 4 more than any other previous Madrid match (though most of it must have come toward the last 10min) 😦

  20. Mani Thangadurai permalink
    April 3, 2011 21:20

    Sorry for the loss Una, although IF you guys can beat Barcelona in the Clasico, who knows?!

    Nice to know of Ronaldo being honoured, although one of the things I didn’t really like about his capture was that it effectively forced Fernando Morientes into the background. In my view it was probably Ronaldo’s signing for Madrid and its after-effects that pretty much reflected the decline of Real Madrid trophy-wise. For me, Ronaldo was pretty much in the Raul mould of player, namely a goal-poacher, while Morientes was always the speedier player who would complement either Raul or Ronaldo perfectly. Fernando’s speed and ability in my opinion were wasted while Ronaldo was at the club, and he eventually became disillusioned to the point of leaving the club despite his own fantastic service. I’m sure it must have been a bit of a wrench for you guys to see Morientes’s Monaco defeat you guys en route to the 2004 Champions’ League Final, particularly since he scored in BOTH legs!! Sure, Ronaldo did make a great contribution to Madrid but the silverware did dry up a bit, and in my opinion his best performances really came with PSV Eindhoven, Barcelona and Inter Milan. I’m sorry to say that, but that is my view.

    As for the match, according to reports it was by and large a poor game which only really came to life near the end. It was a little hard to expect a convincing result with the likes of Critiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema out. Adebayor from what I hear had a pretty poor game despite Sporting Gijon’s goalkeeper being arguably the Man of the Match, and as an Arsenal fan who saw the best and worst of him I think it’s important that he is given more and more encouragement, otherwise he will end up becoming more and more disillusioned. In short, handle him with care! And now there is talk about C-Ron probably being risked against Tottenham! It’s at a time like this that I’m sure you wish Raul was still at the club, eh? 🙂

    Great of Mourinho to congratulate the opposition, I think it’s fair to say that he really has matured as a coach and become a better professional. While he was in England he loved courting controversy with his comments, and he certainly knew how to big himself up while riling other people as well. I can never forget his ‘voyeur’ comment about Arsene Wenger!! But more often than not the biggest mouths in the sport often show some of the best personalities. Behind Mourinho’s bravado is certainly a good sportsman for sure, although I think he’ll be the first to acknowledge that he should not have antagonised Preciado with his comments, not that I’m condoning Preciado’s reply or his choice of words!

    With this defeat, I think it is perfectly fair to confirm that the destiny of the title is no longer in Real’s hands. Madrid no needs to look at trying to win the first Clasico, and it will not be easy!

    PS. According to Wikipedia, Gijon captain David Barral was a Canterano at Madrid who only ever played for the C and B teams. Was he ever called up to the first-team squad? You mentioned that he was Ronaldo’s ‘team-mate’.

  21. henry permalink
    April 3, 2011 21:40

    i hope they recover quickly enough for the game against tottenham

  22. IsaBella permalink
    April 3, 2011 21:46

    Una, your recaps are always delicious to read and watch, the result really doesn’t matter then (although yes I was pretty down yesterday because of it). And thank you for the nice words about Jurek.
    Iker’s reaction to the goal was priceless. 🙂
    I was so absorbed by the result (or rather lack of result) that I didn’t notice the absence of Xabi…
    Una I’m volunteering to help you with the ripping off, with the exception of Javi because he’s all yours 😀 you deserve to have him wrapped up and delivered straight to your bed for your great recaps 🙂

  23. faith permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:06

    Oh Unamadridista, all your work is fabulous no matter the result of the match. I do wish it was a different score but your ICYMI has brought a smile to my face as it always does (not mention sometimes (often) outright laughter and giggles).
    #1 – Yay Pipita is back! That poor back though 😦
    #7 – I would have prefered El Pirata pulled a Filipe Luis 😉
    #13 – I was sooooo hoping for a goal from Iker!
    #14 – *sigh* it’s just not the same
    #15 – That is character.
    #18 – (!!!)
    #19 – I’ll volunteer to distract the kit man and steal all the “stupid base layers” for the Athletic match as I’d know that would make you happy (!!!), but please don’t get distracted once you see Javi(!!!) – our boys first and then you can take all your time with (!!!).

    as always Una – LOVE your work!!!!!(extra! to distinguish from (!!!))

  24. mila_casillas permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:25

    Ronaldo Fenomeno. :’)

    Aw Una. I love you for agreeing to fluff up my poor Iker’s hair. Can I give you a vat of Rogaine to dip his head in while you’re at it?… Poor Pipita and Iker must be so jealous of Sergio’s glorious mane.

  25. Cindy permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:26

    Una I know exactly how you feel, as I just wanted to forget that we played this game. After it was over I wish that the strike did happen and we would not have played. Well seeing how it will take a miracle to win La Liga, I really need us to win the CL & Copa del Reye.

  26. Hala_Madrid permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:27

    Thanks for the post.. I’m trying my best to stay optimistic but as Mou said La Liga is practically impossible, WAAAAAA =( But is ok because we have Copa del Rey and Champions. The only thing that worries me is if all the people that were missing agains Gijon are not going to be against Tottenham…I’m sorry but we DO need Cristiano, Marcelo and Benzi the bench is not ready yet to take on the big projects… Many people said that the team played better without Cris and to me that’s BS.. Cristiano makes a big contribution to the team and we sure need him plus i love his face =)… What i like most about your post was the “pomada pa los dolores” jajaja hey UNA but don’t be stingy share with us too.. For more that I love Sergio Ramos…..Javi CAN’T be all yours lol

  27. nicole permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:36

    Lass has hair!!!

    hahahah,that just made me laugh so much..maybe i’m easily amused or you’re really funny.

    • Amy permalink
      April 4, 2011 13:40

      I guess I’m easily amused too:-) But it’s the understatement, no?

  28. nicole permalink
    April 3, 2011 22:43

    also i heart javi! and it’s always nice to see sergio’s arse so thanks:) remember the moving photo of him tuckin his shirt in which post was that in?

  29. Jenny permalink
    April 3, 2011 23:34

    Mourinho = Magnificent.

  30. MEVA permalink
    April 3, 2011 23:52

    I was upset about this result and still am somewhat although our boys did a great job no? but your posts calm me down … Thank you una thank you

  31. Chloe permalink
    April 3, 2011 23:53

    Una, you are so fabulous and cheered me up with 19 :’)
    We could always hope that Barca gets too cocky and loses all of their games from now on, no?
    Too optimistic?

  32. Morgan permalink
    April 4, 2011 01:05

    Thanks una! That game was sad to watch, but your post has really cheered me up! Keep up the great work, its hard to get any updates as thorough as yours are here in the US!

  33. April 4, 2011 01:33

    Oh, Una. I feel your pain. I held off on reading anything about the match for more than a day, because it was just painful, as painful as Iker’s balding spot. It’s just so unlucky, when we had so many shots on target, and they only had one, and they scored.

    This home loss also meant the end to Mou’s amazing nine-year home streak. I would love to have heard what he would’ve answered to a question about it.

    It’s time to focus now on the CL and the Copa. I’m just really worried because we will be missing Cris and Karim for the first game with Tottenham. Time to start praying!

  34. Pammie permalink
    April 4, 2011 01:59

    thanks for the pretty gifs, pics and words to brighten this up for us, UM!

  35. black widow permalink
    April 4, 2011 03:20

    *sigh* i’m crushed for mou and the end of his 9 year unbeaten-at-home-streak, i’m crushed for us pretty much not being able to win la liga for certain now and i’m crushed for the players and the defeat they must feel.

    una, you’re a champ for writing this in spite of the loss — thank you!

    on the bright side … hurrah, pipita! hurrah original-recipe ronaldo! and it was incredibly classy of mou to congratulate the winners.

    PS: pissed off iker? HOT.

  36. April 4, 2011 04:21

    Laughing. Out. Loud!!!!!! Thought this would be a depressing ICYMI, but what a great cheering-up! “Xabi’s” pose section, Mou’s cute smile, Sergio & Javi and the field-storming contemplation…no losers here:-)

  37. emily permalink
    April 4, 2011 04:44

    #19 – Una – Prior Planning Prevents Poor Performance! Glad to know that you are thinking these things thru. We know you won’t disappoint.

  38. LaBlanca permalink
    April 4, 2011 08:05

    ahhh thank you una. i got somehow stuck at the start for quite a while. Just couldnt scroll down 😛

    so bad we lost. Argh this started so perfectly. And Pipas back!!!! YAAAAAAYYYYY

    Oh my, Rivera… didnt he have cute curls? Ouch!

  39. April 4, 2011 09:25

    Thank you so much for this post, totally cheered me up.

    Im holding on to the hopes that La Liga is not over.

    Come on people let’s hope Barfa loses a game and then another one, hopefully one of them is the Classico!

    HALA MADRID

  40. noelle permalink
    April 4, 2011 11:02

    una i was so happy to see mou congratulate the team and the opposition despite losing, when it comes to mou ppl either love him or hate him but u cant deny that he’s one of the best looking coaches out there, he’s brilliant, and he’s just pure entertainment, im glad he’s our coach, i hope he’s here for his entire contract and more… i was really hoping we’d win cuz we beat sporting at their home when their fans acted like absolute savages, and their coach was no better, i know mou made some comments about his coaching decisions but preciado was way out of line and made it personal by calling mou all kinds of bad things… i wanted this to be our win again, but anyways as i watched the game it was just horrible, i didnt even finish it cuz i had a bad feeling, i didnt even see the goal, nor do i want to…. the players looked so sad, i was sad, but ur post always has the ability to shine some light at the end of the tunnel and see the good side of things no matter how bad it seems… thanks una

  41. Laryssa permalink
    April 4, 2011 14:23

    I love to see Pipita back in the field, I miss him so much. But I have a question: if Iker and Pipita enter into a contest to see which one is paler, which one you think would win?

    I just hate losing, but I have to admit that our club always behaves very well in defeat. I’m not speaking only about Mou and his nice gesture toward our and their players, but Preciado celebrated in our field and no sprinkles were mysterious turn on and none of our players tried to kick him out of the field. This is class in the purest state.

  42. superfan permalink
    April 4, 2011 14:48

    I was not expecting an ICYMI post because we lost but thank heavens for this!!! Thank you so so much for this post!! It cheered me up from the horrible result. You’re the best! 🙂

  43. suzanne permalink
    April 4, 2011 14:54

    thank you so much for the icymi. i know it had to be tough to do. you really are our own special saint 🙂 iker’s got nothing on you!
    it was a bad game, just all around, but you managed to pick the gifs and pics that would soothe our pain. when i saw sexy pirata’s thigh action and pipita’s toplessness, i knew they would be here 😉
    i will support and believe that we can win la liga until it is simply mathmatically impossible to do so anymore. Hala Madrid! bring on the spurs!!

    p.s. – of course athletic is next weekend 😦 of course. family reunion in another state 😦 it better be on tv and not just espn3 again so i can record it in all of it’s HD glory! beautiful men all over that pitch 😀

  44. Jill permalink
    April 4, 2011 15:07

    I was so disappointed at the end of this match. I was in a funk for the rest of the day! But I have to say the best part for me was seeing Mou go out and shake the players’ hands as they walked off of the field. I am still trying to form an opinion about this man, but this not only surprised me (doesn’t he always duck down into the locker room immediately after the whistle?) but impressed me. Very admirable. And then to hear that he congratulated the opposition afterward only further impressed me.

    I’m a little worried about Özil lately (he’s my favorite to watch…). He seems to be in a creative slump after he received all of that praise about a month ago. I’m hoping he can get fired up and show his brilliance on Tuesday.

  45. Stella permalink
    April 4, 2011 16:31

    That Lass gif is so sweet and on that game, he was amazing. Love his way to play, always when Lass is around I always gets calm and that Lass has hair is even better. LOL!

    Nice to see Piptita back again and really nice to se Javi Martinez here 0.0

  46. KathyInCA permalink
    April 4, 2011 17:41

    Thanks for the great recap, Una! I especially love your recaps for games like this one when I have to watch on my laptop without pause or rewind. Now I feel like I didn’t miss a thing and I got the bonus of #18!

    • April 5, 2011 13:48

      Kathy – have you been to ESPN3.com? You can watch it on there using a computer or your video game system (WII, Play). And it’s in HD and there’s even a PAUSE button!

Trackbacks

  1. Bits and Bobs: A Booty, A Baby, A Very Big Baby « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…
  2. a season’s worth of Mouisms « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

