Skip to content

just a short one today…

April 15, 2011

… because it’s Friday, and what little energy I have left was used up at the gym this morning, plus I have to start saving my energy for tomorrow’s game!  Plus, there’s really not much real Real news, since no one is talking (so you can really skip this post since you won’t be missing out on anything), not even Mou – Aitor Karanka will give today’s press conference.

Here’s the answer: it looks like we know who Sergio was aiming his (inadvertent) kissy face at during the game against Tottenham, because Mesut Özil posted this picture on his Facebook yesterday.  Can we talk about the shiny, overly tan face and the unbuttoned denim (please tell me he hasn’t matched it with jeans) shirt?  No and no.  Meanwhile, Gareth Bale told Sergio via twitter that he needs to improve his English.  I wonder if Sergio tried to say anything to him?  Anything about help going on?

Will there be questions about hair gel: Cristiano’s Real… interview will air today at 18h, a perfect appetizer for tomorrow’s clásico, no?

The front line: Madrid’s online magazine for their supporters (you have to be a registered member of their web site to access it) has a mini-report on Madrid’s three forwards, Pipita, Karim and Manolito.  They got them to pose (somewhat cheesily) at Valdebebas and talk about each other.  Manolito speaks in English and Karim in Spanish!  And I’m liking the five o’clock shadow on Gonzalo!

One more to follow: Castilla’s Dani Carvajal has joined twitter, or this “crazy world” as MFC has informed us.

It now stands at four: Cadete A (where Enzo Zidane plays) became the latest Real Madrid team to win their group, after they beat Getafe 4-3 yesterday to become champions of the First Autonomic Division’s Group 1, with four matchdays left.  They join Juvenil A, Cadete B and Juvenil B in the winners’ circle.

Watch and listen: watch Iker and Víctor talk about the upcoming clásicos here.  It looks like this was filmed during their last concentración with the national team.  Once again, I love Iker’s smile lines.  And Míchel Salgado is always a pleasure to listen to; interview with “El Larguero” from last night here.

To finish: an interesting article here (if you can read Spanish) where various Spanish musicians give their opinion on José Mourinho.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    April 15, 2011 11:45

    All I can say is, madre mía, ¡no puede ser! Mesut, please end your bromance with Cris. Or at least stop using his tanning products. (I… don’t really know how to react to the jean jacket. Did he get it from a time machine to the 90s? Was it left behind by Drenthe? We may never know…)

    Bale’s tweet made me snort with laughter. I wonder if Manu’s been teaching Sergio how to trash-talk in English, in addition to his lessons with Marcelo?

  2. IsaBella permalink
    April 15, 2011 11:51

    I’m a fan of Ozi but this picture was really bad….
    Does anyone know anything about Sami Khedira’s Twitter account? is it real or fake?

  3. Stella permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:13

    Im sorry I just love Mesut but last night wenn I saw this it was to mutch. I have learned to handle the Tumbsup posing but kissing poses…. Nooo Nooo Nooo Bambi! Xabi please dooo some work with this lameposing stuff, or its gone kill my eyes.
    But how sweet is Benze, Benze, Benzema on that pic ❤

    Thank you for amazing blogg and ofc HALA MADRIIIIID tomorrow (and always)!

  4. Gonnn permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:39

    Ozil… What the Hell?

  5. LosBlancos permalink
    April 15, 2011 13:06

    Hi Una, just letting you know that Gareth Bale account is a fake 🙂

  6. April 15, 2011 13:09

    Mesut, mein Gott, warum? I almost spit my coffee on the screen when I saw this pic, shocking…;-)

    I can;t wait to see what will Crispy say during his interview. I cannot imagine how I travelled the road from totally disliking him (in his Manchester days) to adoring him, like I do today (not his fashion style though, not his fashion style) 😉

    oh, what will tomorrow bring, I am so nervous!!! any bets about possible red card’s receivers? LOL

  7. superfan permalink
    April 15, 2011 13:39

    That picture of Özil is just epic fail. Why was it the picture he posted in his facebook and not some other decent picture? I cannot. Haha!

    I cannot wait for Cris’ turn in the Real interview series. 🙂 So excited!

    And congratulations to Cadete A for being champions!!!

  8. Emtenan permalink
    April 15, 2011 14:51

    Una…oh I really like your blog
    thanks for every thing ❤

    good luck Real Madrid in el clásico

    lots of love from Saudi Arabia =)

    *I would love to read more about Karim And Sergio

  9. jean permalink
    April 15, 2011 18:06

    I cant wait for Cris interview.
    Ozil warum ,warum?
    I dont even know how Im going to watch that game tomorrow.But I trust our guys , I know that we CAN win this.Even a 0-0 would be better. Wonderful post as usual Una:)

  10. suzanne permalink
    April 15, 2011 18:20

    wow ozi…stop hanging out with cris so much O.o
    Good luck tomorrow my loves!!! HALA MADRID!!!!

  11. Cherrycake permalink
    April 15, 2011 18:33

    Ladies, can you please just stop bitching about Ozi and give the poor little guy a break? Lol.

  12. Ange permalink
    April 15, 2011 19:05

    forget Ozil … look at Pipita …. he looks soooooooooooooo… very … very… very GOODLOOKING!!!! … I’m enjoy that picture…

    Iker & VV …. LOVE IT!!!!

    THANX UNA!!! I can’t wait until 2morrow!!!!

  13. April 15, 2011 19:08

    I’m not even going to comment on Mesut’s photo.

    If not for his facial hair, Karim would look like he’s 15 years old in that photo. And I agree about Pipita’s 5 o’clock shadow.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

  14. April 15, 2011 21:56

    I hope and pray that we win tomorrow. I am edgy, nervous, excited, anxious and a whole lot of other things all at the same time. Which is altogether making me feel really sick! This will be a tremendous psychological boost for us if we win, even if we don’t win the Liga.

    Honestly, the liga is not what’s on my wish list this year. Next year though, I truly believe that the treble is ours. With this team and Mou we can do it. This year all I wish for is La Decima and the Copa. Yeah, I’m not asking for much at all right?;)

    Bambi’s pict. LOL!! I laughed when I saw this yesterday. Someone needs to tell him that taking fashion tips from Cris and Sergio is a BAD idea!!

  15. PMom_GA permalink
    April 15, 2011 21:59

    http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news?slug=ap-octopusoracle

    tiny url link: http://tinyurl.com/6kw9e4t

    With the dearly beloved Paul the Octopus departed from the world, it’s time to find his replacement – at least for the Clasico’s.

    Excerpt:

    With 16 tentacles between them, Iniesta and Iker are in the running— swimming?—to take the place of World Cup prognosticator Paul the Octopus.

    The two tipsters belong to an aquarium in southern Spain. Their first test in the race to become the attraction’s official oracle is Saturday’s Spanish league match between Barcelona and Real Madrid.

    Iniesta, named after Barcelona playmaker Andres Iniesta, picked Madrid to win. The small Mediterranean sea octopus weighing 3.3 pounds nearly immediately snatched a sardine from a plastic tube featuring Madrid’s logo Friday at the Sea Life Aquarium in Benalmadena.

    Iker, a 35-pound Pacific Ocean octopus named after Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas, appeared more enamored by the flashbulbs and the throng of onlookers as he refused to eat either of the sardines after 15 minutes, signaling a draw.

    ****
    Article also states if neither is correct, the search continues. Next octupi in the hot spotlight/water will be Pep and Mou.

    • April 16, 2011 14:16

      LOLOLOL!!! Hey Iker, choose the right team yeah?!!

  16. evita permalink
    April 15, 2011 23:07

    Ok, someone needs to do an intervention with Sergio, Cris, and now Mesut.

    A denim shirt, really? I bet he had on a pair of mom jeans to match…dear god, and Mesut, orange is not your color. Dude you’re TURKISH (well of Turkish decent). I’ve been to Turkey many times, and the people are several things 1)polite 2) nice 3)brown (all hues) and not orange.

    Crispi is Portuguese…so I’m not quite sure why in the hell he wears tanning cream and tans like he’s from Poland…but whatever.

  17. April 16, 2011 02:28

    I’ve heard a rumor that Sergio Canales is on twitter… Just wondering if anyone else has heard it?

  18. SunnyK permalink
    April 16, 2011 09:38

    Hi Una! I read on twitter that there was some controversy at Karanka’s press conference. Any idea what happened?

  19. April 16, 2011 15:03

    Una.. I love your blog and become one of my blog roll..
    I love Iker’s smile line too.. :*

  20. nicole permalink
    April 16, 2011 22:58

    what is the meaning of five o clock shadow-

  21. lym_100 permalink
    April 17, 2011 01:50

    hey una do you know if mesut´s facebook page is really his? I was reading it was a fake. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Girding Our Loins For El Clasico « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…

Leave a Reply

