Skip to content

Iker gets social & other things

May 13, 2011

This profile is perfect, why does he need any others?

Iker presented his personal web site and his Facebook page yesterday, his first venture into the world of social networks.  During the act, Iker wrote his first message on the wall of his FB, welcoming everyone and saying “hola.”  He said, “You have to adapt to new technologies.  I’ve wanted to have my page for a while so that the fans could see photos from my life.  I’m new at this and I hope that people like it.”  At the time of the writing of this post, Iker already had close to 1.7 million “likes.”  As for his web site, it’s evident that Iker is a Real Madrid player because “my name is always linked to Real Madrid and I have to thank the club for all they’ve done for me since I was small.”  We also found out that at the moment, Iker won’t be joining twitter: “you can adapt to everything, but right now, no.”

Iker was looking fantastic, wasn’t he?  And the outfit wasn’t bad either, with no purse in sight!

After the presentation, Iker spoke to the media, and answered all questions.

on Madrid’s season: it has been a very, very good season.  If you told me in the pre-season that we were going to win the Copa, be the runner-ups in the Liga and get to the semifinals of the Champions, without knowing what would happen, I would have gotten on board.  But in this club, we always want more.  We’re sad that we didn’t get to the final in Wembley, but in general we’re content.  I would give the season an 8.

on the Copa del Rey: it took a weight off of our shoulders.  It’s true that in this club there’s no time for patience, but we had a new team and we won a title.

on Mourinho: those who don’t know Mourinho may have some wrong ideas about him.  I had them.  But now that I know what he’s like and now that I’ve spent nine months at his side, I can say that I’ve seen things about him that I’ve never seen in anyone.  He may appear to be one way in front of the media, but on the personal level it’s completely different.  I would stand up for my coach.

on Barcelona: you have to congratulate Barcelona.  They played very well, very seriously throughout the (Liga) championship.  I congratulate them on my behalf and on that of Real Madrid.  There’s no need to look for controversy.  They were respectful when we won the Copa.  And now we are as well.  I am really happy for my friends on Barcelona, and I get along with everyone.  I understand that there have been polemics after the last four clásicos, but everything is forgotten and there’s no need to rehash anything.

on his relationship with Barcelona’s La Roja players: I didn’t congratulate them for winning the Liga.  They didn’t congratulate me for the Copa; but there aren’t any problems with that.  My relationship with them is very good; there’s no need to search for polemics in this.  It’s logical that there was a rise in tensions after four clásicos in 20 days, but with the passing of time, everything will calm down.

on the Champions League final: I’ll cheer for good football, I hope it’s a good game with sportsmanship from both sides.   I have friends on one of the sides, but I’m not leaning towards either of them, but rather for a good final.

The team is back in training today.

More anecdotes from the Copa del Rey celebrations, from this video:  Sergio talking about how someone has the same beer belly as Homer Simpson (who is “El Chueca?”); Kaká being called up on stage as “Ricardo Dixon Do Santos Leite,” people complaining about not being able to see the Copa and so Adán tells Sergio to hold it up and Mou pulls him over; Sergio getting his revenge by telling Iker to pass the microphone to Mou; Marcelo being Marcelo; Marcelo cracking up during the mass; a clergy speaking to Cristiano.

The Real Madrid Foundation presented today a charitable golf tournament, with proceeds to benefit schools that assist in the integration of people with disabilities.  Jerzy Dudek and Manu Adebayor were on hand to support the initiative, with Jerzy giving Manu an impromptu golf lesson!!!  Adorable.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 15:24

    Wow, he is looking exceptionally hot!
    Una, this is serious! He is getting into the social network thing. Have you seen the pics with Mou and Adan?
    Almost 1.7 mil fans already, I knew that so many people love our captain. He is the best!

  2. May 13, 2011 15:32

    Iker looks great in classical stuff. I wonder if he dressed himself? LOL poor guy, I love him but his fashion sense uh… needs a bit of work.

  3. maddy permalink
    May 13, 2011 15:42

    i’m confused. the facebook profile seemed to have existed for a while, cause when i visited it i found out i had already ‘liked’ it and there have been posts from iker for months. was it an unofficial profile that was made official yesterday?

  4. May 13, 2011 16:21

    Flawless Captain. It’s all I can say. I love Iker.

  5. IsaBella permalink
    May 13, 2011 17:52

    I got the same impression abt the Facebook page, it seems to have existed for a while already… and Una thanks for the great video, it’s hilarious! 🙂

  6. May 13, 2011 22:24

    those are really good pictures of Iker! Hm, that guy in the video seems to think that Sergio was referring to him!

  7. Pammie permalink
    May 14, 2011 01:13

    Iker does look very handsome (no big news) and stylish(!!), I wonder who picked the clothes for him! xD
    Thanks for the video link!

  8. black widow permalink
    May 14, 2011 08:24

    iker and social media … my two worlds are colliding! i wish he would update his personal and FB site in english, though … i would be happy to show him how to use translation software that would automatically do that for him!

  9. May 14, 2011 11:15

    LOL FOREVER AT THAT VIDEO! Mou pulls Sergio over to hold the cup! He will never live that down!

  10. Hazel permalink
    May 15, 2011 09:39

    Well, hello nicely dressed Iker! We certainly haven’t seen this in a while (maybe ever?). Maybe Xabi finally decided Iker needed to know he actually was a fashion disaster and decided to offered him help!

Leave a Reply

