Skip to content

odds & ends

May 25, 2011

Tuesday/Wednesday was/has been a slow news day…

Such hard work: Iker posted this photo of him at Soccer City today, saying, “Hope you like this photo. Do not know the place? I give you a hint: this field Spain was proclaimed World Champion! A hug for everyone! What feelings come back to me …”  I like it Iker, especially since your purse is not in it, since we all saw you stroll through Barajas with it attached to your shoulder.

Start planning: the 2011-12 season of the Liga will start on Aug. 21, and end on May 13, with four jornadas (Sept. 21, Oct. 26, March 21, April 11) to take place on Wednesdays.  This is the proposal of the LFP, and the RFEF has to approve the dates, though they usually go with whatever the LFP suggests.  The final of the Copa del Rey is scheduled for May 25, although there is the possibility that it will be moved to May 20, if no team qualifies for the Champions League final on May 19 in Munich.  The winter break is between Dec. 19 and Jan. 8, although Copa del Rey games are scheduled for Dec. 21 and Jan. 4.

That’s a lot of jerseys sold: according to a report from sporting intelligence, Real Madrid has the second highest average salary amongst all professional sports teams (American teams included): the average salary is US$7,356,632.  Number one is Barcelona.

Golden boys: yesterday at the Bernabéu, a handful of our players were honored at the sixth Fútbol Draft awards, which honors Spanish canteranos.  Seven of our canteranos won awards, as did Real Madrid as an entity.  Sergio Canales won the “best teammate” award, and was named to the Golden Team, while Nacho and MSFC Juan Carlos made the Silver Team, and Álex, Jesé, Pablo Sarabia and MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín were on the Bronze Team.  Dani Carvajal was included on the team chosen by fans.  Meanwhile, Madrid won the Estella Galicia 0.0% (named after a non-alcoholic beer) award for having the best cantera, which was shared with Espanyol.

The boys looked adorable in their suits, no?  And since almost the entirety of the U-19 team won an award, the whole team attended the ceremony in their Spanish national team clothing!

Pobrecito: at the event, Sergio C. spoke about his future: “Next week, I’ll meet with the club to speak about my future.  Being here is incredible for me, but I need to and I want to play.  It’s been a very complicated year, but there have been very many positive things.  It hasn’t been a lost year, because I’ve learned a lot.  My teammates helped me a lot during those moments when I played and I can tell I’ve learned a lot.  I haven’t left yet.  But if I leave and Madrid wants me to return, I would like to.  But first I have to know what I’m going to do.”

Well worth six minutes of your time:  reader Sanna sent in the link to this gorgeous video of Real Madrid’s season.   The video reaffirms that we have a wonderful team, and that our boys are all so, so pretty.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 15:07

    Sorry for the OT question; but Una I have to ask you this, with Spain currently experiencing crippling unemployment at 20% (is that figure right?) how the hell are the top two highest average salary amongst all professional sports teams from Spain? That doesn’t make sense to me. What am I missing here, because these two facts don’t compute for me at all.

    • sam permalink
      May 26, 2011 17:28

      I’m not Una (obviously) but to me the two are not related at all. Unemployment stats don’t correlate to salary figures.

      As an example the US and UK were recently experiencing record high unemployment rates, however, of those employed at a top level salaries did not decrease as long as the industries or specific companies continued to perform. A country can be undergoing a financial meltdown and still people will be paid millions IF they are worth millions.

      Real Madrid and Barcelona make 100s of millions (the brands are worth billions). They are two of the biggest names in global sports and pull in an astonishing amount of money. Their payrolls (in terms of number of employees) are large but not say in comparison to a similarly sized (turnover wise) company. And of their payrolls the top earners are few.

      When a company or team rakes in 100s of millions and the number of very highly paid people is less than 40 (25 team plus senior management and coaching)… then it is easy to see why the very highly paid, are very highly paid indeed.

      Also with sports starts their salary is commensurate to their earning power for the team. Ronaldo may get paid 12 million a year but he makes far far more for Real Madrid.

      Essentially as long as RM and Barca pull in the money, their salary figures will have nothing to do with the state of the Spanish economy.

  2. May 25, 2011 15:16

    That vid made me cry. I love my team so much!

    Una I’ll be reposting that vid and will def give you and Sanna credit.

  3. Robbynho permalink
    May 25, 2011 15:46

    my first year on UnaMadridista, nothing but simply amazing. looking forward to the next season. ¡HALA MADRID, UnaMadridista!

  4. Farah permalink
    May 25, 2011 16:13

    Ahh our players looking good. Missing them so much. Can the new season just start????

    Here’s Rafa and his beautiful wife Sylvie
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1390725/Rafael-van-der-Vaart-frolicks-stunning-wife-Sylvie-pair-enjoy-St-Tropez-holiday.html

    Just thought it’d be interesting to see them enjoying their time!!! Always a part of Madrid.

  5. DebS permalink
    May 25, 2011 16:25

    Bless you Sanna! OMG that video is fantastic! I love this team!

  6. sam permalink
    May 25, 2011 17:24

    GREAT video!! I have soooo much RM withdrawal already! 😦 Can’t wait for the next season to start!

  7. May 25, 2011 18:47

    That video is so, so beautiful and yes, I agree, they are all so pretty 🙂

  8. Jess permalink
    May 25, 2011 19:03

    wow, that video is amazing! I love it how it contrasts the bad times with the good times! All the bad times are worth the good times they give us!

  9. mar permalink
    May 25, 2011 19:23

    what a great video! i loved it…

  10. emily permalink
    May 25, 2011 21:30

    Nice video. NO NO NO NO! Can’t wait for the new season to begin.

  11. black widow permalink
    May 26, 2011 04:17

    The video reaffirms that we have a wonderful team, and that our boys are all so, so pretty.

    indeed. 🙂

  12. black widow permalink
    May 26, 2011 04:23

    ooooh! i forgot! i forgot!

    i bought a ticket to see RM play the philadelpia union today! so i’ll be seeing the SNT on 4th june and RM on 23rd july! double the iker, xabi, arbeloa and sergio — CAN’T. WAIT.

  13. Happy permalink
    May 26, 2011 14:24

    I’m surprised by the news that Valdano is fired, and if next season no trophies, Mou will be super stressful, hope everything is fine.

  14. IsaBella permalink
    May 26, 2011 17:56

    Thanks Una for presenting us the plans for the new season, I can’t wait! 🙂
    Barca has the richest players in the world…. well, that doesn’t surprise me….
    Speaking of Canales, it will be a pity if he goes but I understand his motives and I’ll wish him all the best.

  15. jaa permalink
    May 27, 2011 18:06

    just wanted to let you know that the norwegian real madrid (realmadrid.no) site posted the video on their webpage and they didnt credit your site. I know for a fact that they found it here.

Trackbacks

  1. Looking Back and Not Looking At All « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…

Leave a Reply

