Skip to content

weekend update

June 4, 2011

I’m busy writing about La Roja (including our boys, so head over there if interested) so this Madrid update will be brief!

He draws like a little kid (but it’s still adorable): Sergio, in his role as a collaborator with UNICEF, has taken part in their latest initiative to raise funds to build schools in Africa for eight million children.  He and 99 other Spanish celebrities, including chefs, actors, singers, designers, athletes and the like, were all asked to decorate an Ikea table (the Lack model).  The tables will be auctioned off via Ebay from June 6-13.

Sergio drew his hometown of Camas, writing, “this is the neighborhood where I grew up and where I learned to play football.  I will never forget where I came from.”  I love how the football field is the center of the town!  But why are the buildings numbered?

He’s still got it: Zinedine Zidane was looking absolutely gorgeous and elegant during the presentation of a book about him at the Bernabéu yesterday.  The book, entitled “Zidane, la elegancia del héroe sencillo” is a biography written by Enrique Ortego (he also wrote a book about Raúl, and this one on Di Stéfano – what a great job he has, no?  FP, please let ME write the one about Iker!).  Zizou was joined by the author and FP, who said, “the signing of Zidane is one of my greatest satisfactions and it became an obsession and a dream.”  Zidane’s response was, “thank you for bringing me to this club.  It was also a dream for me and I played five years in the best club in the world.  I hope my collaboration here continues for many years.”  I do too!

Perfect teeth!  Perfect smile!  Perfect man!

Meanwhile, Ortego said, “it’s amazing how this extraordinary history began with a napkin.”  Jajaja, indeed!  There are five chapters, because Zidane wore the number five with Madrid.

José Mourinho was there, along with Emilio Butragueño and Miguel Pardeza, to watch his new co-worker.

One more shot, because he’s so photogenic.

Summer movements: Mou told Peter Lion in a meeting yesterday with the player and his representative that he’s not going to count on him.  According to media reports, Pedro León expressed his desire to stay and triumph with Madrid.  We’ll see what happens now, but I think Mou will get his way – he said on “El Larguero” that they want to cede him.  Peter Lion has five years remaining on his contract.  Meanwhile, Sergio Canales’ agent has said that his client will only be loaned out to a Spanish team, meaning he doesn’t want to play abroad.

Some need more practice: Madrid has released several more promotional videos for their summer tours.

In the U.S. version, we have five players saying the following things: Cris: hello LA, see you on July 16.  Marcelo/Pepe: hello San Diego, see you on July 20.  Kaká: hello Philadelphia, see you on July 23.  Iker: hello USA, see you in July.  Cris: three big games you can’t miss.

Iker’s pronunciation has improved!  Remember when he said “Jule” during his English lessons with Pepe Reina for “July”?  And Pepe and Marcelo sound great in English, from what I could tell from the few words they said!

Meanwhile, in the international version, we have the following: Mou: hello USA, see you in July (apparently there was only one script).  Kaká: hello Berlin, see you in July.  Iker: one big game you can’t miss (though it sounds “one big game you can miss”).  Cris: ni hao China, see you in August.

He’s a legend: a video about Chendo coaching a team, I just like it because they refer to Chendo as “the special two” since Mou is “the special one.”

International update: Germany beat Austria 2-1 in Euro qualifying yesterday, with Mesut playing the whole game and Sami recovered and starting.  Meanwhile, France tied 1-1 with Belarus, also in Euro qualifying, with sailor Karim playing the entire game.  And Argentina was trounced by Nigeria 1-4 in a friendly; Eze Garay started and was subbed out in the middle of the second half.

Today, Portugal takes on Norway in a qualifier, and Spain plays the U.S. in a friendly.  Below picture from Madrid’s site.

Okay, it wasn’t so brief, but when there is a whole team of adorable boys (and the club they belong to has elegant men as well) begging for your attention, what can you do?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 18:42

    The biggest mystery question for me is what did Pedro Leon do for Mou to dislike him to this extent? I feel bad for him. 😦

    Gorgeous post Una. Thanks for this!

  2. maddy permalink
    June 4, 2011 18:42

    zizou should have totally played young Charles in the new Xmen movie..(even though james mcavoy is my first love.)

  3. Jean permalink
    June 4, 2011 18:59

    Literally squealed like a little girl when Marcelo said “Hello San Diego.”

    I’m sorry I think I’m too excited but no one ever comes here!!! I’m so happy they decided to give us some love. There are so many football fans here 🙂

  4. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 4, 2011 19:08

    Cristano is really into the chinese character that he even embraced the chinese accent while speaking english :P! I really wonder why is Mourinho not smiling?! Kaka is really adorable, I really want see him too everywhere, hugs lots of hugsss.

    RAMOS, how adorable is his drawing, I love love love it, I love The ramos!

    Btw, I really love France away kit, esp Benz in it, people are making fun of it, BUT I really do love it. Benz did a very nice assist yesterday.

  5. June 4, 2011 20:01

    You forgot to tag Mesut in this post.

    • June 5, 2011 15:23

      That brief mention wasn’t enough for him to be tagged. I didn’t tag Khedira, Garay or Benzema either.

  6. Camas permalink
    June 5, 2011 01:10

    LOL love the promo’s, I agree in the international one Iker sounds like he’s saying: One game you can mis’t.

  7. Reno permalink
    June 5, 2011 01:53

    Sergio’s drawings are so cute!!

    It’s a pity Peter Lion is going to leave us =( he was always one of my favourites! (I wonder who’ll be the new number 21 next season, I’ve got a strange affection for this number >_>”)

    I went to see the Austria-Germany game yesterday, and it was so great!! Aside from the result, which was really bitter for Austria, our boys played their heart out and deserved at least a draw!! And the goal being scored just during the 90th minute left me somewhat devastating…
    Well, seeing Mesut Özil shirtless was quite a good compensation 😉

  8. Clara permalink
    June 5, 2011 03:52

    OMG!♥ Sergio’s drawing is totally adorable! Hahahaha! It looks like it was drawn by a 5-year-old kid. So cuuute! =)

  9. georgia permalink
    June 5, 2011 05:43

    omg the way kaka says berlin is so cute :3

  10. Happy permalink
    June 5, 2011 06:51

    I love Sergio’s drawing!!!! And Zidane is always gorgeous, I’m glad we have you with us!!!!

  11. IsaBella permalink
    June 5, 2011 12:34

    ahh I feel sorry for Pedro Leon… I wish he and Mou could work out their differences…..

  12. Milleca permalink
    June 5, 2011 12:43

    I wonder what made Peter Lion and Mourinho fall out? And at least Canales will be loaned in a Spanish team, still better than him transferring for real!

    And Una, hahahahahaha, please do write the one for Iker! I bet you are going to do more than just great!

  13. June 5, 2011 15:32

    Hola Una Madridista, tengo una pregunta.
    – I’m from Sweden, and I’m in love in Spain, Madrid and specially Real Madrid! I even study spanish in school just because the Real Madrid players speak spanish.

    My question is, if me and my family decide to fly to Madrid, and visit the Valdebebas when the Real Madrid players train, we need a madridista card, right? BUT , if we only buy one Madridista card, does that mean that only one of us can go in, or can me and my family (five persons) go in together with only one card.

    I hope that you can answer my question, and if you don’t know the answer, I hope someone else here does.

    XOXO

    • June 6, 2011 15:30

      I don’t have a carnet madridista, but I believe each person would need to have their own card (can anyone confirm?). Also keep in mind that in general training sessions are no longer open to the public, except on special days (some Spanish/Madrid holidays).

  14. Libby permalink
    June 5, 2011 16:34

    Mourinho lost his trust to Pedro Leon after Pedro Leon had huge fight with Fernando Gago in training. Obviously it was PL who attacked Gago. Mou was furious with PL and their relationship has been cold after that…

    • June 9, 2011 00:40

      I didn’t know that. Guess that makes sense then. But I wish there was a way that Pedro Leon could make up for that. But maybe he doesn’t want to and that’s the problem?

  15. Kyrrdis permalink
    June 5, 2011 19:04

    I still shake my head over myself, it’s so odd – the day my favourite club comes to germany to play in Berlin I am in Munich and watch Barca play … why are my friends all FC Bayern-Fans?! Why did nobody want to go to Berlin with me?! *sighs*

  16. Annette permalink
    June 5, 2011 22:22

    Love the commercial for the USA Tour. I just booked my tickets for Philly!!

    I also just returned from Boston, La Roja played a great game. It was exciting to be there and see all the Real Madrid boys play.

    At the beginning of this post you mentioned you were writing about La Roja. Where do I find that?

    Thanks

  17. kari nordmann permalink
    June 5, 2011 22:29

    Hi! When does the fixtures for the next season get set?
    Greetings from Norway.

    • June 6, 2011 15:34

      In general or specific matchdays?

      • kari nordmann permalink
        June 7, 2011 20:14

        I am planning a trip to Madrid during the fall, so both I guess 🙂

        • June 8, 2011 15:24

          The 2011-12 season goes from Aug. 21 to May 13. The general schedule (who plays whom during which weekend and where) hasn’t been released yet, and specific match-days are only made known about a week or two before the game.

        • kari nordmann permalink
          June 8, 2011 20:50

          Thank you, you’re like a RM-encyclopedia! Do you happen to know when the general schedule will be released?

        • June 9, 2011 13:38

          Probably around mid-July at the earliest – the football federation has to approve it.

  18. SeattleMadridista permalink
    June 6, 2011 03:33

    Linkage for La Roja?

  19. black widow permalink
    June 6, 2011 07:27

    oh, poor peter lion. well, the writing was on the wall for this for quite some time, but like everyone else, i just wonder what happened? so sad. i hope he goes somewhere where he is appreciated and gets more playing time.

    sergio’s drawing is precious, though i, too, am mystified as to why the buildings are numbered …

    “we are your passion” … too bloody right! those videos were great, and bless iker’s little heart, his pronunciation *is* getting better, una, you’re right (although i did giggle when he said “one big game you can miss”). still, his english is a million times better than my spanish, so i have no right to criticise!

  20. June 6, 2011 11:10

    and suddenly I become missing Zidane 😦

  21. June 13, 2011 17:47

    I just wanted to say thank you.

    I won the Ramos table on ebay and if not for you and this wonderful blog I would not have known about it at all.

    Thanks again,
    Craig

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

