Skip to content

and I thought that summer meant no news…

June 6, 2011

… and that I could get a break of sorts.

One big Madrid family: Madrid held their annual peñas meeting yesterday in Valdebebas, at the Alfredo di Stéfano.  More than 4,000 peñistas attended the meeting, which included a tribute to the cantera and speeches by FP and special guests Aitor Karanka and Esteban Granero.  There were also a diverse range of activities and food for all those present.

I never noticed this, but Aitor Karanka and Esteban Granero kind of look alike!  Since they were basically wearing the same outfit yesterday – and both look great, no?  This is also a very Xabi-esque outfit – the similarities really came out, such as the full head of luscious and unruly hair that poor Iker can only dream about.  And both of them wear the clothes, instead of the clothes wearing them (that would be Sergio at times, Mesut as well, Cris, Drenthe…)

El Buitre was responsible for presenting the tribute, in which all the teams in the cantera, from the Benjamines all the way up to Castilla, came out on the field with the trophies they had won this past season (the Copa del Rey was carried out by the younger players).  Each team also formed a pasillo for their coaches, and unfurled a huge sign thanking the fans.  How cute are they all in their little kits???  The other sign out on the field should be familiar to all of you, since we often saw it at the Bernabéu towards the end of last season.

Then came the speeches.  Aitor was up first, and he started off by sending his regards to José Mourinho and the rest of the coaching staff.  He went on to say, “it’s been an intense season in which we noted all your support.  You all are one of the biggest reasons why we work every day to make the history of this club even greater.”  Esteban Granero, the model canterano, said, “for me, it’s an honor to be here as a canterano.  The players know the importance of the fans and the peñas; you all are a basic pillar of this club.  We want to thank all of you for all the support you’ve given us during this year.  Next year, we’re going to fight in order to continue bringing joy to you all, as well as the successes you deserve.  You all should feel as if you’re part of this Copa del Rey, because it also belongs to all of you.”

The poor little ones had to stand there in the sun while the men droned on.

Nostalgia overload: a lot of the fans went on to the Bernabéu to watch the Corazón Classic Match 2011, and the stadium was almost entirely full (73,104 was the final tally), which is really good for a post-season, veterans game.  Real Madrid ended up winning the match 8-3, but the best part was seeing so many of those familiar and missed faces once again wearing the white jersey…

… such as Zidane (though we do get to see him a lot, just not on the field), Figo, Helguera, El Moro (Fernando Morientes), Redondo, Karanka, Suker (who got a bit pudgy, no?), Fernando Sanz (Míchel Salgado’s brother in law)…  I’m just mentioning the ones from the last decade or so, because if you’re a new fan, you probably haven’t heard of any of the more veteran ones, although there are exceptions such as Butragueño, Santillana or Buyo.  Chendo also got in on the action – I hope Edu was watching!

Rubén de la Red received a tribute as he was named captain for the Real Madrid side, despite being the youngest player out there (by several years).  It was also his 26th birthday yesterday!  He received a huge ovation when he came onto the field, rivaled only by the one given to Zidane.  Rubén scored the first goal, off of a penalty.  The rest of the goalscorers for Madrid were Butragueño, Redondo, Alfonso, Robert Kovac (two own goals), Fernando Sanz, Suker (penalty).

Mou was also there, alongside his son José Jr., aka the luckiest kid in the world.

Proceeds from this game will benefit the creation of socio-sports schools in Africa by the Realmadrid Foundation.  And of note: one of the sideline officials was Rafa Guerrero.  After the game, Rubén said, “I’m touched and I keep my feelings on the inside, but that’s normal after playing next to some of the illustrious players in the history of this club.  I was also very lucky to play alongside Fernando Redondo, who has been one of my references.”  Other declarations:

A couple of these guys still look like they could earn a place on the current team, no?  I think in the end I was most excited to see Fernando Redondo.  He looks exactly the same!  The hair is still exactly the same!!!  It was always straight, parted down the middle, and there was never one hair out of place.  ¡Cómo te echo de menos Fernando!

Adios Manu: Madrid has decided not to execute the purchasing option for Emmanuel Adebayor, meaning he’ll return to City.  So, Madrid is now on the market for another forward.  I hope it’s someone I like (which does not include a certain someone with the initials S.”K.”A.).

International update: Portugal beat Norway 1-0 in Euro qualifying, with Cris and Pepe playing the entire game.  That was the only game Portugal had, so they and Ricky Carvalho are now officially on vacation!  According to Portuguese magazine Vidas, Cris will be baptizing Cristiano Jr. and his nephew/godson Dinis on June 17 in Alcochete, Lisbon.  José Mourinho is apparently invited to the ceremony.

Meanwhile, France plays Ukraine tonight, and injury forced Sami Khedira to leave Germany’s training camp, meaning he won’t be playing in his country’s next game tomorrow against Azerbaijan.  The German seleccionador said that there aren’t any serious problems (good!) and that the muscle Sami injured is doing well (yay!), but they don’t want to run any risks, so they came to the conclusion to give Sami a rest.

Laugh of the day: selected quotes from an interview Xavi did with Sport (they both just feed off of each other’s sometime delusions, don’t they?  And they have no idea what “irony” means).  Highlights in italics.  (The pictures are to break up the drivel, and because while reading this I can only stomach Xavi when Iker and preferably another madridista are near him.)

on Madrid’s press: I don’t like to talk about these things.  They made us stronger… We were victorious in everything except the Copa – the Liga, the semifinal of the Champions, playing football.  Barcelona is stronger today thanks to what Madrid did.

on the “manita game”: it was a marvel of game.  We were so superior.  They didn’t play.

on the “manita” ad: they can think what they want, we are respectful of everyone.

on the CL semifinal: we won 2-0 in the Bernabéu against all the cheating in the world.  I hope they continue next year, they can do what they want.  We’ll continue playing football.

on Barcelona knowing how to lose: Barcelona also knows how to lose.  In the final of the Copa, we congratulated Madrid [so you consider refusing to shake the hands of certain players “congratulating?”].  We aren’t sore losers.  We saw who were the sore losers.

on the Copa del Rey final: in the first half, we didn’t play well due to the tension of the final, but in the second half, we could have won the game 2-0… on the field, I had the sensation that we won.  I had the ball and I thought we were going to win the game [and he just said they know how to lose.  Oh my.]

To his credit, Xavi did say that he spoke with Iker after the Copa to congratulate him and to tell him to enjoy it, although he says, “I haven’t spoken personally with him since then.  We will speak.  We’ve gotten along our entire lives.  We will try to move on.”

Player news:

– this is how Guti showed up for the Shakira concert in Madrid last weekend.  He really seems to be loving green at the moment, doesn’t he?  In a green pants face-off, Sergio would win, because I like the darker shade of his green jeans much better.

Hamit Altintop was in Madrid on Saturday to look for a house.  He’s currently on vacation, as he has been excused from the Turkish national team due to back problems.  He visited several zones that the club recommended to him, including two which should be no surprise to all of you: La Moraleja and La Finca de Pozuelo.  He left late in the afternoon for Germany, but might be back soon to continue the search, as he didn’t make any decisions yet.

– Alicia Roig, Raúl Albiol’s soon-to-be wife (the wedding is on June 17), told Hola magazine that Pronovias is indeed making her dress, and that she was looking for something elegant and exclusive.  As for the proposal, Alicia says, “it was very beautiful, and also funny, because things didn’t turn out as he had prepared.  It was also a surprise.”  Now I really want to know how Raúl messed up (I assume that’s what happened since I can totally see that happening to him).  We also find out that Raúl is involved with the planning of the wedding, that they haven’t decided on a honeymoon destination yet, that Alicia doesn’t like football and only goes to “the most important games.”

39 Comments leave one →
  1. Sanny permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:22

    I think you meant Portugal beat Norway 1-0, Una, not the reverse.

  2. mar permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:30

    goodbye manu! (who is the one with the initials mentioned?)
    i saw part of the match yesterday…it was so nice! i wish i could be there…
    guti’s outfit is…distusting and not for the green pants only!
    and xavi is xavi, we are sure by these comments that he wasn’t kissedby dementors and his place was taken by a deatheater with polyjuice potion!!
    (Sorry can’t wait for the last harry potter film)

    • Ally permalink
      June 6, 2011 16:58

      I think she means Sergio “Kun” Agüero…
      I also don’t want him to come 😦

    • maddy permalink
      June 6, 2011 17:04

      sergio kun aguero. its scandalous that he’s even being linked with us. i dont know how the idiot media can do this!!!

      • danile ikemba permalink
        June 7, 2011 23:07

        Mourinho has asked the club for Aguero and baring any unforseen collapse, Aguero will be a Real Madrid player next season

    • June 6, 2011 22:06

      S “K” A? I think that’s Sergio “Kun” Aguero. I agree with Una; he’s a good player and I love him when he plays for Argentina, but other than that, I’ll prefer it if he doesn’t join Real Madrid.

    • DebS permalink
      June 7, 2011 01:12

      I believe it’s Sergio “Kun” Aguero 🙂

  3. superfan permalink
    June 6, 2011 13:08

    Xavi can just shut up. Jesus Christ. The words that come out of his mouth are unbelievable. “We’ll continue playing football.” —-> And what was Real Madrid doing the entire time? I must have missed something then if Barcelona was the only team playing then.

    The Corazon Classic Match was delightful! Nostalgia overload indeed!! 😀

    Thanks for this post, Una.

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      June 6, 2011 18:14

      He actually said in another interview, that (barcelona) played football, but real madrid wanted to destroy the game, praised United for not trying to do so. So if a team put up a tactic to win over barcelona, it means they destory the game, but if they didn’t it means they played football.

      Again it is a foot-lona! not football anymore!

  4. June 6, 2011 13:09

    I am really intrigued by the rumour of Kun moving from Atletico, I read they don’t wanna let him go to RM, but his buyout clause is so high that at the moment only RM and Barca could afford him. I wonder how this would end, especially knowign his history with Sergio and their epic (a little hot) fights on the field…LOL

    Having said all that I have to say that I have one weakness about Kun and that is his son Benji, who is one of the cutest babies I have ever seen. If RM indeed signs Kun, no matter what I think of him as a player, the silver lining would be seeing Benji in little RM kit. ;-))))

    • Happy permalink
      June 7, 2011 18:05

      Me 2, I love Benji, he is the cutiest kid I ever saw, as a player, I love to see he play for Agertina or other club, but not Madrid, but I really want to see little Benji wear in little white kit!!!

  5. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 6, 2011 13:32

    Ohh una thank you! thank you!
    Although he is a great midfielder, he plays for Spain, every time I try to forget about his statements, he just create new ways to make me disrespect him even more, Xavi: take a hint or two on how players should address their rivarly hint: Iker!, even Jose didn’t disrespect Barc in his interview in any means.

    Morientes El moro! The moment I saw him in the white jersey, it just hit me on how much I miss him, also Redondo oh my god! it is like seeing him as same in 12 years ago, he is the same guy, it was freaky, even the way he moves, freakyyyy! Zizo is just zizo, the best midfielder ever, Buyo, Butragueño esp him! I use to hear about him from my dad on much of class striker is he I finally saw a glance yesterday :P! He doesnt look that much aged, but SUKER! I didnt even recoginze him, I thought he was someone else! lol. De le red, he deserved more! love!
    Mourinho do you know for whom he was cheering that much he looked so happy doing it, Una?

    About games, I just one comment, I dont know if anyone of you guys watched Brazil vs Netherlands game (friendly), I want mention it because something caught my attention. Alves actually did it again in order to get a player booked lol, this time he was looking at the referee to see what his reaction be lol!

    Cristano started to get his tan on I see!

    and Guti never disappiont, WE MISS YOU!

  6. June 6, 2011 13:33

    I really don’t want SKA either, Una. I just think it’s a foul taste in the mouth, to Madridistas and to Rojiblanco fans most.

  7. haha! permalink
    June 6, 2011 13:41

    xavi needs to be muzzled.

  8. June 6, 2011 14:27

    Adios Manu </3

  9. GlamGisele permalink
    June 6, 2011 15:20

    And Barça fans really believe that Xavi is a humble guy… Yeah, right!

  10. June 6, 2011 15:27

    Onoes Manu isn’t staying. 😦 I will miss him and also his celebrations. It’s a pity and I wonder why we didn’t keep him but ah well.

    Xavi, Xavi… you trollmaster. He just opens his mouth and garbage comes out. He may be one of the most talented footballers around, but I absolutely loath him and his douchbaggery. If we kick Barca’s ass next season I wonder if it will be a loss for football.

    Picts of Mou grinning make me grin. I hope to see loads of this next season.

    • Gillian permalink
      June 6, 2011 20:16

      Una, I want to take a minute to say thank you for all you do with this site. It’s a joy to come here and read about the team, and you really do a comprehensive job of covering all the players. So, again – THANK YOU!

    • Gillian permalink
      June 6, 2011 20:17

      Sorry, my initial reply is in the wrong place. I wanted to respond to M here by agreeing that Mou smiling is nice to see.

  11. playachica3 permalink
    June 6, 2011 15:31

    great post! thanks for posting every day even though the players are on break. can i view more photos of the “penas meeting”…it looks awesome!

  12. Happy permalink
    June 6, 2011 15:55

    Thanks, Una, I know you won’t miss this match!!!
    I’m so happy to see Redondo playing in Bernabéu again after several years, he looks exactly the same, still elegant, still class. Could he come back so we could see him more???
    Actually I’m pleased that we won’t buy Ade, as he is really not fit to us, so let see who will come in the summer.

  13. Forlond permalink
    June 6, 2011 16:18

    Mou was probably cheering and making fun of Aitor or Chendo. He was also there with his daughter (on the right) but she looked bored. Damn, I would sell my kidney to just be there a watch all these legends play again.

    I have to say I’ll miss Manu. Looks like he had great rapport with others. I wonder if we’ll buy someone new or promote one of the youngsters, but having only 2 strikers is risky.

    And Xavi is becoming my favorite troll, one day he’ll surpass Ibra 😀

  14. anonymous permalink
    June 6, 2011 17:24

    Were did you find this “Adios Manu: Madrid has decided not to execute the purchasing option for Emmanuel Adebayor, meaning he’ll return to City. So, Madrid is now on the market for another forward. I hope it’s someone I like (which does not include a certain someone with the initials S.”K.”A.). ” ???????????????

  15. Cris permalink
    June 6, 2011 17:28

    Redondo is my idol. Great to see he’s plays still as elegantly as he did 10 years ago. And still looks like a prince.

  16. Maddi permalink
    June 6, 2011 17:33

    I’m sad about Manu. I actually really liked him. He brought a lot to the team, and also to the atmosphere of the group, and wasn’t sensitive about being on the bench. In the end, I guess he was just too expensive. And I agree about Aguero, he’s not really my kind of guy.

    El Moro… ❤

    Xavi… bleagh. I agree with haha! I used to somewhat like him, now I've lost all respect for him

  17. maddy permalink
    June 6, 2011 18:04

    http://www.espnstar.com/football/primera-liga/news/detail/item629484/Xavi:-United-play-better-than-Madrid/

    xavi is delusional. that’s all i have to say.

    thanks for your dedication, una!

  18. Happy permalink
    June 6, 2011 19:02

    So the only person I respect in Barca is Inestia, poor Xavi, a real giant never step on the loser, and no team could win forever, and that is football.I found Barca players just exactly the same as their fans, so disgusting!!!!!

  19. June 6, 2011 20:26

    “La Moraleja and La Finca de Pozuelo” Who currently lives there from our team? Ozil? I forget D:

  20. ebrahim permalink
    June 6, 2011 20:34

    I think we should just remember that the hala madrid song says we should shake the hands without envy or resentment.

    Xavi is behaving stupidly but he’s not a madrid player.

    We shall have our chance at the super cup. And I belive mourinho is doing everything he can to ensure we are prepared.

    Let’s leave the talking for the field well done barca see you soon.
    Its a 4 years after 1 year you have us on your tails.

    Forever madrid till I die this season hurt! The 5-0. The 2-0.

    But when we win its going to be those actions that will make us cherish it.

  21. Marie permalink
    June 6, 2011 21:20

    Xavi is an utter cunt, that’s all i have to say on this

  22. camille permalink
    June 7, 2011 00:32

    Ugh, I knew I shouldn’t have read what new nonsense Xavi was spouting but I did and so now I have a question about his use of the word cheating. Is it as bad as I think or does it have different connotations in Spanish? From my American-English speaking point of view, that is the worst thing you could ever say about an opponent. “Cheating” is a way beyond something like “played dirty” or “influenced the referee.” In all the years I’ve watched American sports, I’ve never heard anyone accuse someone else of cheating.

  23. DebS permalink
    June 7, 2011 01:24

    Granero… Definitely a Xabi in training. hmmm…wonder if his clothes are from A&F? 😉 Speaking of which, notice the boy on the bottom left hand corner of the pic right above “The poor little ones had to stand there in the sun while the men droned on.”. He’s totally working on the Xabi posing. hahaha

    I’d really wanted to watch the Madrid v Munich match but all the streams were cancelled due to copyright infringement. I just love the pic of Mou & his son. Mou is so happy…it makes me smile.

    Sad about Manu but I kind of felt like they weren’t going to keep him. Will definitely miss his celebrations and antics in training/on the bench. :{

    “Alicia doesn’t like football and only goes to “the most important games.” ‘ I don’t think I will ever understand how the WAGs of professional athletes don’t like the sports their husbands/bfs play. It’s been such a big part and passion of the guys lives for so long, how can they not enjoy something that means so much to them? O_o

    Xavi, Xavi, Xavi….I really need to find out where he bought his rose colored glasses. Maybe then I could see things they way he does. Fantastic player but he really is a tool.

  24. ChristinaLFP permalink
    June 7, 2011 02:19

    Alicia Y U No like football? anyway i’m excited for that wedding ( lol like if i was invited) i better see pictures of the wedding somewhere online.

  25. black widow permalink
    June 7, 2011 04:56

    i missed puyi and i missed navas and i missed cesc in massachusetts this weekend but i didn’t miss xavi AT ALL. i’ve heard of sore losers before, but he’s a sore winner …

    oh, guti. you could give kermit the frog a run for his money in those jeans!

    i have a soft spot for de la red after what happened to him, so i thought it very touching that he received an ovation. bless!

    all those little ones in their RM kits … eeee! how adorable! they’re so earnest and serious and model themselves after the older players, it is absolutely precious!

    una, do you watch the vampire diaries, by chance? for ages, i’ve been trying to figure out who OFC reminds me of and it struck me tonight: steven r. mcqueen, who plays jeremy. http://bit.ly/mmuwVi what do you think? for me, it’s his eyes and hair and sometimes the way he smiles.

    and finally, i’m sorry to see manu go, too. he did well whilst he was in madrid and fit in rather well. i wish him the best.

  26. @ulonghaz permalink
    June 7, 2011 05:14

    oh, such an irony..
    Xavi, what you are doing is making me dislike you even more

  27. danile ikemba permalink
    June 7, 2011 05:16

    As soon as I saw Xavi’s face, my fist clenched itself. I am not a violent person. truely, I am not. 😥

  28. Madridista 4 ever permalink
    February 12, 2012 17:39

    Bye Bye Manu…..='( I’ll miss you soooooooooooo much! I hope he can come back to us ='(

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

