Skip to content

this club is my passion

June 9, 2011
Well, Madrid’s new jerseys for the 2011-12 season are out, and they do indeed have gold trim and accents, along with armpit patches (?) and 3D-effect numbers.  And if Iker looked like a carrot (2009-10) and a stalk of celery (2010-11) in the two previous seasons, well this season he’ll look like a corn cob (he’s even got matching gloves already!).  There definitely should be a salad named after Iker in one of the Bernabéu’s restaurants.

The new kits for next season are now on sale, and the club describes the design as “restrained and elegant, with the gold color for all the details, such as the adidas logo, the three stripes, the names and the numbers.”  The escudo is now in three dimensions, which “brings an added value and at the same time, reduces the weight of the shirt.”  Meanwhile, the initials of the club can be found on the back of the collar, the shorts and socks.  And the goalkeeper’s shirt features a long horizontal bar.  I wonder what other colors we can expect to see Iker in?

Madrid got Ángel di María, Sergio Ramos, Xabi Alons0 (of course, since who else represents “restrained and elegant” better than him?), Kaká and Iker to model the new kits for us.  I love how for Iker, the captain’s armband is part of his kit.  Meanwhile, Pepe and Gonzalo show up (very briefly) in the video below.

Some more pictures of our models in the new kit.

What did they do to Cristiano’s face????  Is it because he’s the only one out of the five below not signed to adidas?

And of course, there’s also a video.  Can you tell which of the guys say what lines?  I’ve listened to them so much over the years (especially Iker) that I can.

Beautiful.  This time the marketing guys got it right, as they featured the best side of each boy (literally for Iker): Sergio’s intensity, Iker’s profile and Xabi’s boss-ness.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 13:39

    Haha, Una, did you notice Iker’s socks yellow&black&yellow&black stripes? Just like a bee! So maybe Iker’s not gonna become a corn but a big bee ;D

  2. Felipe permalink
    June 9, 2011 13:45

    I’ve been stalking Iker’s facebook lately. anyone care to tell me WTF he is on about in this status?
    “I like American patriotism. Do not go into political issues, I do not care. If I come in and claim to be from here. I like it.”
    “Me gusta el patriotismo que hay en EEUU. No entro en ideas políticas,no me interesa. Si entro en como presumen de ser de su tierra. Me gusta.”

  3. manie permalink
    June 9, 2011 13:57

    Umm….I’m not really liking these, especially not the 3-D numbers. I’m imagining our boys celebrating with these, which I believe will happen more than a few times next season…so I guess the thought of the 902348309 trophies lessens the meh-ness of the kits. You can’t win them all I guess!

  4. KDJ permalink
    June 9, 2011 13:59

    Can’t. Stop. Staring. At Iker. LOL. He does indeed looks like a corn cob! It could be a new strategy, because I can imagine every forward from our opponent would have a sudden migraine with all the yellow. Hahaha

  5. mar permalink
    June 9, 2011 14:12

    well, when at first read about golden stripes i didn’t want to think of them! but now seeing the boys wearing them, i tottaly love them! Especialy xabi can make me buy it!
    As for iker…i thought of him like a lemon but a corn cob works too!

  6. June 9, 2011 14:34

    What really worries me is that, apparently, Iker moved to Borusia Dortmund and no one notice…

  7. Happy permalink
    June 9, 2011 14:41

    I just want to know why Higuain never appear in the new jersey’s adv???

  8. PepperPots permalink
    June 9, 2011 14:43

    HAHAHA! Cris’s face!

  9. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 9, 2011 14:47

    I LOVE THE AD! BEST AD EVER.

    I know it is started with Ronaldo and ended up with Kaka. Then come in: Iker, Ramos, no idea, Alonso,pepe?! * not even sure, I tried I hope you give the answer Una lol*

    I have mix feeling about Iker’s kit, one time I love it the next will be like no, yellow it is not his colour, but the fit is amazing! Iker is tanned in the picture right?

    P.s: Alonso look alot like Beckham in 0:19! I thought it was him for a second!

  10. IsaBella permalink
    June 9, 2011 14:59

    I love the video of the new kits!!! I can tell that the first one speaking is Sergio, then Iker and then Xabi and Kaka, am I correct? 🙂

  11. mickymacky permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:17

    can i just say, in that third pic (“all real madrid…”) iker looks seriously buffed compared to the other guys. and that captain’s armband made him look 1000x hot 🙂 really draws attention to his bicep… *__*

  12. Diana permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:21

    I guess it’s okay now, I’m still hesitant about ordering one… I don’t like the font, though. 😛

    Una, Iker did an interview, like, ten minutes ago on Mexico’s main morning noticiero, Primero Noticias. He was wearing these awful ripped jeans… The shirt wasn’t up to him, because he was wearing the Fundacion BBVA polo, so he wasn’t wearing plaid. But he talked about his campus. putting rivalries aside for la seleccion, what he thought when Sergio dropped the cup, his career at Madrid, and other typical things like that. It was okay as far as interviews go, but the lovely part was that I had just woken up and they announced it on the upcoming segments, a complete surprise! 😀

  13. emily permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:29

    Well played, Una… well played!
    I can tell Sergio, Iker and Xabi, but a little foggy on Angel and Kaka’s voices.

  14. Suzanne permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:39

    Ugh… Not a fan of the home kit, especially the collar. On their site they show the away kit which is much better. I’d like to get an Özil shirt but they still list his number as 23. What’s the consensus… Is his number going to change next season? I’m fairly new to this, so when do they normally reveal their numbers for the new season? I’d love to have it by the Philadelphia game on July 23rd!

  15. melissa permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:47

    Notice how Iker has bumblebee striped socks in the video but regular plain yellow ones in the photo. Wonder which he will actually go with?

    I have to say actually seeing the kit in motion on the boys as opposed to the leaked photos makes me like it a bit more. Don’t think I’ll be getting one this year since I hate how I look in a collar. Hoping for a nice CL one.

  16. amouria permalink
    June 9, 2011 15:57

    The yellow is marvelous on Iker. But the golden is not my taste, really…I don’t like it.

  17. Buckhum permalink
    June 9, 2011 16:11

    I would love to invest in a Marcelo or Ozil jersey
    Do you know what will be Ozil’s number for next year?

  18. Maddi permalink
    June 9, 2011 16:24

    Eeeeuaagh…. especially Iker’s corncob outfit,,,,
    At least we know that however horrible our’s are they’ll at least be better looking than Barcelona’s.
    Cristiano’s face… HAHAHAHA!!

  19. June 9, 2011 16:35

    I’m gonna be shameless and just go SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

    WOW our team is gorgeous. The uniform is kinda ok too. 🙂

    • June 9, 2011 16:36

      PS: I love the new “leave comment” redo Una.

      Also, thank you for keeping up updated thru summer. MUHA!

  20. Louise permalink
    June 9, 2011 16:40

    Personally, although I like the simple style of his kit, I think Iker looks like a banana.

    The kit generally… meh. Too much gold and I think the font is strange (but not as bad as last year). I like the commercial, though. And Xabi gave his signature pose at the end.

  21. Gilly B permalink
    June 9, 2011 17:11

    Prefer a round neck, but I do likey the new kit design. Not too fussed about the 3d effect for the number on the back, but the gold works and the overall effect is elegant. Look forward to seeing the translucent version when they play n the rain, too 🙂

    Poor Kaka though- looking a lil tubsy in this shoot. Wonder when they shot this? Maybe when he was injured?

  22. PMom_GA permalink
    June 9, 2011 17:27

    Bananas! The yellow is a banana!

    And I know, Una, that you know what to do with a banana, especially an Iker banana – peal it…slowly.

  23. shan permalink
    June 9, 2011 17:40

    yellow’s my favorite color so seeing Iker all decked out in it isn’t sooo bad 🙂 but there’s something about the new jersey’s that I’m not big fan about. I think it’s the collar. especially with the sleeve stripes. and the armpit outline? what’s that about? but it’s definitely better than the new Barca kit. one of my friends owns the new one and it doesn’t look any better in person.

  24. gabriela permalink
    June 9, 2011 17:41

    Iker’s kit actually reminds me of a bee! which I find adorable, I love bee-ish stuff!

    I can only recognize Sergio and Kaká’s voices in the video! Kaká’s mainly because he’s got the typical accent of brazilians speaking spanish (speaking portuñol, actually xD)

  25. Lue permalink
    June 9, 2011 17:50

    I think Nike probably recommended that Cristiano not model the kit since he’s such a big name with them and so Adidas was forced to use a computer generated Ronaldo just to have him there. His face looks remarkably like what you might see in a football video game and you can tell it’s not really him because you can’t see even a little bit of his very prominent Adam’s apple which is always obvious from any angle. LMAO, I know it’s always good to have your big names pictured for marketing reasons, but Adidas was better off just using a “real” player because that really is a poor attempt to try and fool people.

  26. June 9, 2011 18:24

    the ad is beautiful! thank you for the stunning gifs, I could watch them all day!
    as for the actual kit, I’ve come to love the gold, the font (though I do wish the crest in the font was white!), and the collar. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to the weird armpit situation…and I really wish adidas would have kept the embroidered crest. I didn’t like what they did to it this past season and I don’t like this either. it looks cheap, and I think our crest deserves better than that. then, the weird lines on the socks and shorts have me a bit more annoyed with adidas. when it doubt, keep it simple! I’m not asking for much, just a simple clean white kit. no need to try and get fancy! I think Iker’s looks great though, and for all of my complaining no doubt I’ll still be buying this jersey, haha. Bottom line, our players look stunning!

  27. Kirstin permalink
    June 9, 2011 19:07

    Xabier Alonso Olano is so b o s s.

  28. June 9, 2011 19:26

    Really like the font! That armpit patch bothers me so much, though. I gotta be honest, I hated it when I first saw it. But seeing the boys model the kit, I’m starting to love it!

  29. Gillian permalink
    June 10, 2011 00:10

    ::::SWOON::::

    This video is lovely! That is all.

  30. jean permalink
    June 10, 2011 01:55

    I love it:)
    I loooove Iker uniform, it makes him stands out:) He looks HOT! Yellow suits him.

  31. jean permalink
    June 10, 2011 02:04

    I have a question, please anyone who has an answer feel free to answer to my post.
    I bought my RM jersey 3 months ago(Its a Cristiano ronalso jersey:).
    I only wore it 6 or 7 times but the BWIN which is front of the shirt is starting to fade out and its SMEARING the WHITE on the shirt.
    I know there are some people who have their jerseys since 2 or 4 years and its still in good condition.
    So where did you purchase your jerseys?
    I bought mine at worldsoccershop online for 80 dollars (roughly 75 euros) and now I cant wear it:(.

    • June 11, 2011 22:25

      Next time you buy a jersey, hand wash it in cold water with dreft or something similar. Then dry it over you shower rod. 🙂 That will make it last longer.

  32. Iram permalink
    June 10, 2011 02:34

    the kits are okay…(I’m sorry but) Iker looks like a human-highlighter

  33. Ranya permalink
    June 10, 2011 04:26

    The armpit patches are just weird, but other than that, I love the kit. Especially Iker’s bright yellow one 😀

  34. June 10, 2011 04:27

    Poor Cris. Photoshop horrors…

  35. seat permalink
    June 10, 2011 05:11

    Theres bee a lot of talk recently about how RM should unload Kaka to make room for our new kids…particualarly Sahin. So I was a little surprised to see him in the adverts here as well as the overseas games. Think they are making a statemet…something along the lines of “Kaka ain’t going nowhere”?

  36. June 10, 2011 05:28

    I’m not in love with the armpit patches (the shirt would look so much better without it) but I’m glad they improved the font and what not. Waiting for the numbers to be finalized before I buy one =)

  37. real warda permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:14

    WOW! 😀

  38. Sunshine permalink
    June 10, 2011 14:58

    I have to admit I’m not a big fan of the collar. Thank God the goalkeeper’s shirts and the second kit are collar-free! I was madly in love with the violet kit and now it’s gone 😦 Last season’s jerseys were ten times better in my opinion!

  39. June 10, 2011 15:41

    I still don’t like the home kit. The away kit is more acceptable.
    If Iker wears his shirt with black shorts then it would be better but it is a relief that it is not a plaid jersey.

  40. suzanne permalink
    June 10, 2011 16:31

    i LOVE the video. almost makes up for the horrible kits…almost.

    lol, corn on the cob…i saw banana

  41. RealLover permalink
    June 10, 2011 19:45

    Hmm I’m not sure if I like these new kits. In my opinion the old new kit was better than this new one. But at least the away kit looks good. And I really don’t like the collar of the new home kit. But I’ll get used to the home kit…

  42. black widow permalink
    June 12, 2011 03:31

    i really, really don’t like the blinged-out kits. they look tacky to me. and iker looks like a banana! but in that video, they all look fierce and hot, doesn’t matter what they’re wearing. i want the purple kits back! 😦

  43. Hala_Madrid permalink
    June 12, 2011 23:16

    Does naybody know when the second kit it’s going to be available and what color its going to be? I’m talking about the away jersey..any comments will be highly appreciated since i’m debating on whether or not to purchase the white one or wait for the 2nd kit which i hope it’s black. I really hope they’re out before they come to LA

Leave a Reply

