Skip to content

un poquito de “news”

June 14, 2011

I know, I have some catching up to do…

Almost like a rock star: the next stop on Iker’s summer world tour is Santiago, Chile, and that’s where is right now, once again delighting both children and adults, just as he had done in Mexico.

More from Mexico: according to Mexican journalist Gaby Elizalde, Sara Carbonero prevented her from interviewing Iker!  For those that don’t have time to read further, just google her and you’ll see why.  For everyone else, here’s her explanation.  Iker was being interviewed by many journalists in a hotel suite, and each one had their time slot (this reminds me of Notting Hill which is of course our (me and Iker) favorite movie) to go in and see Iker.  Right before it was Gaby’s turn, this happened: “it was my turn.  While I was waiting for the other journalist to come out, his girlfriend Sara and I saw each other.  She then went into the room, and a few minutes later, they came out to tell me that I wasn’t going to get my interview.  As I left, I received an apologetic message from the person who had brought Iker to Mexico.  It was Sara Carbonero who had a jealousy attack.  She told Iker that she didn’t want me to interview him, and that’s the way it was, I had to leave.” 

A couple of hours later, Gaby tweeted, “women should not be jealous when it comes to their boyfriends.  They should have self-confidence.”  Later on, she re-tweeted a tweet from one of her co-workers, which said, “yesterday Gaby Elizalde didn’t not interview Iker Casillas.  Why?  Ask Sara Carbonero.”

If this is true (and the organizers are saying it’s not, because Gaby showed up without an invitation, turning this into a he said, she said thing), I would like Iker to show some backbone when it comes to Sara.  When she said Cristiano was individualistic and egotistic, Iker agreed with her, saying Cris was like that “in a good way.”  When she refused to greet Cristiano and Irina, Iker didn’t do anything.  And now this.

More talk: Iker also gave an interview to ESPN in Spanish during his trip (watch it here).  Favorite parts:

on life with Madrid: I started with Madrid at the age of nine, I never had a school team, a neighborhood team or a university team.  None.  I’ve only belonged to Madrid, and I would like to live and die in Real Madrid.

on his future: I would be an awful coach.  I see myself more as a director, but not one involved with coaching.  I understand football, I like football, but I don’t think I can direct a team.  But perhaps in a couple of years I’ll start liking it and I’ll become a coach, but it’s not something I’m considering now.

on Real Madrid: Real Madrid is a universal sentiment, it’s known everywhere in the world.

And one not-so-favorite part, because it’s going to start a whole new set of rumors.

on Cristiano Ronaldo: you have to be very, very good to score 40 goals, and he’s done it several times.  He’s a friend and a teammate, a teammate and a friend, and also an enemy, because we argue a lot (smiles).

A couple of videos for your Tuesday morning/afternoon/evening:

ONE.  Madrid’s Spanish tourism promo.  It’s a very cute video, despite some of the fashion – Cris’ Gucci jacket, Sergio’s familiar huge belt buckle, and Karim’s huge belt buckle and LV shirt.

Who knew that Marcelo would like all the touristy places?  Meanwhile, everyone knew that Cris would recommend Calle Serrano (it’s the main shopping street of Madrid, where all the designer shops are.   Less well-known is Calle Ortega y Gasset, where I’m sure Cris and his teammates also spend a lot of time, because that’s where Louis Vuitton, Armani, Dolce & Gabbana and many other stores can be found.  Gucci is on the corner of Serrano and Ortega y Gasset).  I love that Mesut recommends the museums and theaters, and that Ángel (what’s with the hip movement?) is another fan of La Latina (Iker is, and I am too!).  And who wouldn’t want to have tapas with Karim and dinner with Xabi?  And Chinchón!  I’d love to go there and find Sami!  And good for Marcelo for speaking Spanish!  But why was Sergio’s “olé” so timid and unenthusiastic?

TWO.  Roberto Carlos being himself:  he celebrated a goal by singing Exaltasamba’s “Viver sem ti” along with his teammate Diego Tardelli, while on the plane.  Acting and dancing included!  My favorite part is when Roberto pretends to cry into the tissue, but he’s really laughing.  I miss his humor.  And Tardelli’s not bad either!  My second favorite part is when they form a heart with their hands.  Watch the crazy Brazilian antics here.

THREE.  From reader LaBlanca, Gonzalo Higuaín and Álvaro Arbeloa’s video to enlist your help to fight hunger in the world.  Álvaro’s powers of persuasion are very strong indeed.  All he has to do is smile.

FOUR.  Cuatro’s hilarious take on Mou and the game show “Pasapalabra.”  It helps to know Spanish for this one.

Another man who looks great in sunglasses: Raúl Albiol recently spent some time with San Bernardino in Cádiz.  San Bernardino is of course the man who sounds like a woman, according to Álvaro Arbeloa’s grandmother.

Guti this year, Raúl in 2012: it appears that Raúl’s Schalke will not be the rival in August’s Trofeo Santiago Bernabéu.  According to AS, Schalke has a Europa League game on Aug. 25, which is too close to the scheduled Aug. 23 date of the game in Madrid.  However, the teams have agreed to dispute this friendly next year, in 2012.  Madrid is now negotiating with Guti’s Besiktas, the other obvious alternative.  The Turkish club has expressed their willingness to play against Madrid.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. manie permalink
    June 14, 2011 15:33

    That Iker interview with ESPN and the “we are enemies” quote…I would think Iker would know better. Sara sounds annoying.

    But the “Visit Spain, Visit Madrid” video makes up…I have watched it a ridiculous number of times and love it, especially how Mesut doesn’t look at the camera and needs to be doing something with his hands and when Kaka does the ham bit. So cute.

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      June 14, 2011 18:45

      I think his “enemy” comment is to describe the situation when he argues with Cristano! It is not the best word choice, but it is not something out of the ordinary that would cause a talk, I think!

  2. Chloe permalink
    June 14, 2011 15:41

    Hurrah! You updated! 😀
    And oh my. I googled Gaby Elizalde and my mum came in my room! hahaha!
    ” When she refused to greet Cristiano and Irina, Iker didn’t do anything.”
    Was this at the Madrid Open? or-

  3. fatima permalink
    June 14, 2011 15:55

    I really wanted to come to Madrid for the Schalke match, but well hopefully next year. Really miss Raul!!!:S

  4. Sunny permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:03

    When did Sara refuse to greet Cristiano and Irina?

    • Gilly B permalink
      June 14, 2011 18:41

      Both couples attended the Madrid Open final with Nadal and Djokovic. Cris and Irina were already seated when Iker and Sara arrived and sat next to them, same row. You can see Cris actually wait to catch Sara’s eye to say hello, but she resolutely wasn’t bothered! She side-eyed Irina pretty badly too.

  5. amouria permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:04

    Oh Sara, why you do this? you should be more secure< But who could be secure when the issue comes to Iker…

  6. Milleca permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:11

    Una, I saw this on tumblr which I think clears the rumor about Sara’s supposed jealousy:

    http://www.elmundo.es/elmundo/2011/06/14/television/1308016594.html

    🙂

    And I googled Gaby Elizalde… well then. I found her twitter, and I can’t seem to find her tweets about the issue?

    And the tourism promo is so amazing and cute! Haha! Thanks for the post! 🙂

    • June 14, 2011 23:04

      “And I googled Gaby Elizalde… well then. ”

      I know, right? Seeing those, I find it hard to believe she is a “journalist”. O_o

  7. DanDan permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:14

    Sara is CRAZY. I saw some pictures of this Gaby Elizalde girl, on the internet with photoshop she looks amazing. But when I go to the google and I saw some interviews made by her… she is not that great.

    And why Sara had to go with Iker in everywhere that he goes? She is on vacation too? Or she has a special treatment from the TV station that she works?

  8. June 14, 2011 16:23

    I’ve kept an open mind when it comes to Sara, even though the ‘Cris is selfish’ thing really, really put me off her.

    “If this is true, I would like Iker to show some backbone when it comes to Sara.” Seconded!!

  9. June 14, 2011 16:27

    Oh, Iker. Geeeeez. You need PR lessons, stat. It’s one thing to be honest and candid in interviews, it’s another to be thoughtless about starting new rumors and controversy. He should know better than this by now! This is frustrating because I love the man, and it’s annoying when he says things like this. It all creates some unnecessary drama!

    Aaaaack! I indeed Googled Gaby, and got very unsuitable photos as a result! I didn’t even Google for photos, just the web! Why would Sara be jealous of her? She’s looks rather trashy, IMO. If the story is indeed true, then, geeez, Sara is even more unlikeable than I initially thought! And that’s saying a lot!

  10. Emily permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:42

    Ah, another reason to not like Sara Carbonero. Iker needs to stand up for himself! I love the “Visit Spain. Visit Madrid” video, gave me a lot of great ideas of where to go when I (eventually) visit.

    Great post, Una!

  11. Hermosa permalink
    June 14, 2011 16:59

    Ya en Chile, y sin tanta presión de la prensa, Casillas comentó que poco le importa lo que hablen de su vida privada, sobre todo porque su novia, quien lo acompañó hasta nuestro país, es periodista.

    “En el mundo del periodismo deportivo parece que todo vale para conseguir la noticia, y todo el morbo que se pueda vender gusta mucho más. Yo tomé una decisión (de hacer pública su relación con la periodista Sara Carbonero) y lo hice asumiendo todas las consecuencias, pero si hay gente que piensa que por meterse en mi vida personal va a dar más que hablar, conmigo se equivoca, pues soy bastante frío para eso y sólo me dedico a lo que sé. Lo demás me importa poco”, explicó Casillas algo tenso, aunque después todo terminó entre risas al asegurar que “Sara está por aquí, pero no me quiso acompañar ahora (en la conferencia)”.

  12. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 14, 2011 17:27

    Wow! insecure much Sara? I just can’t get my head around this, how unprofessional is this and esp since she is a journalist! I just can’t believe she would it, really?

    Who else think that Granero should been the one speaking about musuems in the video!

    • June 14, 2011 23:02

      “Who else think that Granero should been the one speaking about musuems in the video!”

      Seconded!

      I wonder if the reason Ozi spoke about the theatres, etc. was because of his limited Spanish? When I took French, those were some of the first words we learned. I remember reading that he was having a more difficult time with the language than Sami. Granted my Spanish is extremely limited but it seemed as if Sami has learned it quite well…at least he was quite confident during the video.

      • Maddi permalink
        June 16, 2011 03:27

        Wait were they all speaking Spanish? I thought that Mesut and Sami were speaking German –but probably because my Spanish is so awful I can’t even tell it apart from German. 😦

        • June 17, 2011 04:04

          Sami and Mesut were speaking German.

  13. mar permalink
    June 14, 2011 17:41

    gonzalo has such a nice voice…

    • Lulja permalink
      June 14, 2011 21:19

      Exactly my thoughts. Oh and his face, his body… madre mía.

  14. Gilly B permalink
    June 14, 2011 18:33

    Re the Sara C veto on that pretty journo, I think that’s a case of ‘takes one to know one’. Sara isn’t trusting any woman looking like that around her man! What does seem odd is that Iker seems completely sprung on her; does she really think he’d be interested? IMO, I believe she did block that interview. It’s pretty logical, plus Gaby works with a large enough news channel (Fox) to have been scheduled an interview slot.

    That Visit Madrid ad totally worked on me- bet I’m not alone? lol. Sergio’s ‘Ole!’ delivery was so husky and seductive…WHY R U SO HOT, MAN??! Some mysteries will never be solved…:-)

  15. IsaBella permalink
    June 14, 2011 18:43

    I’m a fan of La Latina, too Una, so that makes three of us 😉
    Thanks for the great video of Alvaro and Gonzalo, I really appreciate their charity work.

  16. June 14, 2011 18:52

    Uh, why is Sara around when Iker is giving interviews? I’m sure they want to spend time together, but should she really be there when Iker is doing his job? I don’t see other WAGs doing that.

  17. mema permalink
    June 14, 2011 18:58

    well maybe sara felt that this gaby lady is out for some gossip about real madrid or sara being a reporter has better info than us about her.

    honestly i don’t have a opinion on sara other than she is too skinny and needs to eat. also, please go easy on the eye liner. it hurts my eyes to see her like that.

    i honestly wouldn’t mind if cris and irina are not friends with sara. as long as iker and cris get along its all good.

  18. June 14, 2011 19:21

    1-The whole Sara- Gaby issue is totally false and that is clear for anyone who would think about it. Why would one of the people responsible for the event send a message to this ‘reporter’ saying that Sara Carbonero prevented the interview because she was jealous! That is laughable- the guy would loose his job! ( Iker has given a previously arranged interview to Foxsports- same channel this woman works for)

    2- Plus I have read her twitter timeline yesterday ( she deleted it now) – First she was saying I’m off to a press conference where I will meet my ‘novio’ Iker Casillas. Then she said something about bringing him presents. Then she eluded to something by saying women shouldn’t be insecure bla bla bla. After that her friend said Sara Carbonero prevented you… She replied: jejeje ‘The story belongs to TVnotas'( if im not mistaken- trashy magazine).
    Her friends at the trashy magazine published it- In no time, sites all over latin america and Spain!

    3-Further proof Paco’s twitter :

    Paco García Caridad
    @GabyElizalde envía DM y le digo que miente sobre Sara. Aprenda de periodistas como @CarolinaPadron. Use inteligencia.

    4- I have said before that I am not really fond of Sara but there are lots of times where I think she is being treated unjustly by the media.

    5- She did smile and nod to Irina, she just didn’t greet Cristiano ( that’s from what I could see from Cuatro’s video, they might have met before entering the seating area for all we know)

    6- Sorry for writing this much!!!!! It’s just that in this case I feel bad for Sara and like I said before I don’t think we can judge her as a girlfriend but from the outside they really look in love and I wish that Iker is happy even though its with her.

    • Ally permalink
      June 15, 2011 18:23

      I agree with you! People are judging Sara, but we don’t even know if this rumour is true. that Gaby person is just making up some story to get attention 😦

    • Maddi permalink
      June 16, 2011 03:33

      Agree. The whole story seemed kind of fishy to me. I don’t think an interview that lasts only a couple of minutes is that big of a deal, no matter how gorgeous the reporter may be. And besides, Iker doesn’t seem like the kind of man who would cheat on his girlfriend with some reporter he’s only talked to for a couple of minutes (I hope) so it doesn’t make sense that Sara was supposedly so jealous. It just sounded made-up and attention seeking to me.

    • June 17, 2011 06:11

      This is actually the most sensible comment regarding this matter I’ve seen in this post. But anyway, when you hate someone, everything they do disappoint you, whether or not it’s true and whether or not they are really out of the matter, sad to say. Which for Sara’s case, where people are already put off with her, they are just going to go, “I knew it!” and try not to be critical.

  19. Pipita permalink
    June 14, 2011 20:03

    http://www.marca.com/2011/06/14/futbol/equipos/real_madrid/1308061178.html?a=b1cbd18ef4ffbacf3c27ee3344cfaebe&t=1308074514

    Una, check this out!

    I never tought that Garay was like that.

  20. Jane permalink
    June 15, 2011 03:56

    As for the Madrid Open mess, I personally blame her along with Cris and Irina. Sure it was Iker and Sara who came in second but that doesn’t change the fact that Cris and Irina didn’t make an effort either. Anyway, this Mexican reporter issue has been refuted but overall, Sara is disappointing

  21. @ulonghaz permalink
    June 15, 2011 04:29

    I have my finger crossed for Guti’s team for Trofeo Santiago Bernabéu
    Please God, let him back..

  22. June 15, 2011 04:49

    ole

  23. cisarovna permalink
    June 15, 2011 05:22

    That video is so cute. Sami has a nice speaking voice and Ozil is too funny lost in the postcards.

    As for Iker, when is he going to learn. You would think his media savvy would increase while dating a tv journalist, however that does not seem to be the case.

  24. June 15, 2011 05:23

    So pity that Iker didn’t show up in the tourism promo…I’d very much like him recommending his favorites! Una, would you please write something about his favorites or yours? Just like La Latina? Thanks so much!

  25. Cammy permalink
    June 15, 2011 05:38

    Sara needs to chill and Iker needs to get a backbone. I was disappointed in Iker over the Cris vs Sara issue. He should have reprimanded her for dishing out stuff that was private.

    But I guess when you are in love, things like that just goes out the window.

  26. June 15, 2011 06:40

    That “Visit Madrid, visit Spain” video just reminds me of how long it’s been since I’ve traveled somewhere for summer vacation =( lol at Sergio’s awkward “ole” and we meet again, vuvuzela! cute video.

  27. The Swede permalink
    June 15, 2011 11:31

    It’s fun to see how Iker signs autographs in front of the cameras, but once you take your ass to Madrid he just drives away with his car…

    Yeah I was in Madrid before, camping outside Valdebebas and managed to get some autographs, but I was very dissapointed when he just drove away, come on he is the club captain.

  28. SunnyK permalink
    June 15, 2011 22:54

    I so badly miss Roberto Carlos! Not only for his free kicks, but that smile and his crazy antics on & off the pitch never failed to entertain me. I often look up his videos on youtube and reminisce of the good ol’ days!

  29. Jessie permalink
    June 16, 2011 17:33

    I loved the video and sergio saying ole,lol. as far as sara and iker she has been dating him for one and half year so she should stop being insecure because he obviously loves her. there will always be another woman who looks prettier,younger, taller, skinnier, etc… and i wouldn’t want to drive myself crazy like that. be secure in your relationship and let other female journalists do their jobs.

  30. ochide permalink
    June 16, 2011 21:18

    do anyone agrred with me?? about the kiss? i think was her plan on Tv..you can se when she open her hair for get more room and body langues..that kiss wasn;t bf and gf.. something missing..

Trackbacks

  1. the pre-season continues… « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

