Skip to content

Raúl Albiol marries & other bits/pieces

June 18, 2011

I’m finally catching up with all the news!!

¡Felicidades! Raúl Albiol and longtime girlfriend Alicia Roig married yesterday in Valencia’s cathedral, and held a reception in the Palau de les Arts, the first time ever an event has been held there.  The other two members of the A-team were there as well, to celebrate the very special day.

The couple’s two girls Azahara (almost two and a half) and Alma (almost one and a half) were the very adorable flower girls.  Azahara looks so timid, and I’ve seen her expression before, on her father.

From Madrid, we had Álvaro Arbeloa with wife Carlota, Xabi Alonso with wife Nagore, David Mateos, Antonio Adán, Miguel Pardeza and Óscar Ribot attending.  There were rumors that Sergio Ramos and Karim Benzema were also going to be there, but none of the public waiting outside the church saw them.  Also in attendance were various officials, employees and former teammates from Valencia and Getafe (some of those from the club Valencia who were invited weren’t able to attend, as one of their teammates, Ángel Dealbert, married on the same day in Castellón).  As usual, both Álvaro & Carlota and Xabi & Nagore looked fantastic.  I love Nagore’s dress, and the fact that the three wives of the A-team were dressed in Madrid’s colors of purple and white.

The fourth member of the A-team, Antonio Adán (by virtue of his name), arrived with his date.  I like her dress too!  She appears to have gone to the same hairdresser as Carlota… And David Mateos was wearing what looks to be a wedding ring!  I remember him talking about his girlfriend (novia) back in May, so I wonder if he got married!  Anyway, it’s great to see him back!

San Bernardino (a good friend of both Álvaro Arbeloa and Raúl Albiol, he went to watch the Monaco Grand Prix with them, he helped Arbeloa prank his grandmother, he spent some time with Albiol in Bolonia earlier this month…) tweeted this photo of the testigos (witnesses).  I can identify four of them, and the fifth looks really familiar, although I can’t place him right now.  From left to right are Madrid’s head press officer Óscar Ribot (the one who does the Real… interviews), mystery man, Álvaro, San Bernardino and Brian Albiol, Raúl’s younger brother.  San Bernardino’s co-worker at ¡Anda Ya!, Raúl Pérez, also attended.  It looks like Álvaro was the equivalent of the best man!  Zipi and Zape!!

Raúl’s brother Miguel, who plays for Murcia, attended despite having recently having a knee operation, which will keep him out for six months.  He tweeted a couple of days ago, “now begins the odyssey of finding a suit that will fit over the cast…” and later on, “because you can’t attend a wedding in shorts, no matter how much you might want to!”  And yesterday, he tweeted this photo of him and Raúl, saying, “at home with my brother, I think he came over to get rid of his nervousness and to prevent me from sleeping.”

I think Alicia was going for a Helen of Troy look, between the Grecian-style gown (by Spanish firm Pronovias) and the golden apple that served as part of the bouquet.

A couple more shots of everyone at the beautiful La Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciències.  Carlota’s gown is very similar in style to the wedding dress, no?

And a video.  My favorite moment was the priest sneakily taking pictures at the altar when Raúl and Alicia weren’t looking.

More nuptials: I can’t resist writing about this.  Rafa and Silvie just renewed their vow in Las Vegas, and Rafa tweeted some photos!  I really, really, really love this couple.  I love how much in love they are.  Plus, they are adorable together, and how cute is it that they dressed up for a Vegas wedding?

All set: Nuri Sahin gave an interview to Deutsche Welle, parts of which were reproduced by AS.  My favorite excerpts below; I predict his Spanish skills will soon be far beyond those of Mesut and Sami.

on his new home of Madrid: I already know the city, I think it’s really beautiful and I’m very happy to be able to live there.  I’ll arrive at the beginning of July, we’ve already found a house and so everything will be ready for my move.  I’ll be surrounded by people that I know [Mesut and Altintop], so that will make things easier.  I’ve spoken about Madrid with Mesut and his information will help me to prepare.

on speaking Spanish: I hope to learn quickly.  I’ve been learning for the last year and a half, but it wasn’t because I was thinking of signing for a Spanish club, but because I was interested in it, along with some teammates in Dortmund.  Our professor, the one who helped us learn to speak and understand things in Spanish, was Lucas Barrios’ translator.  My objective is to speak only in Spanish the next time we talk.

According to Marca, Madrid wants Nuri to start working in Valdebebas on July 2 (nine days before his future teammates are due back) so that his knee can be checked out, and so that he can begin working on his fitness, as he hasn’t played since April.

Meanwhile… the rest of the team has been given specific and individual instructions (designed by – who else – Mou and Rui Faria) on how to keep up their fitness during their vacation time.  They were allowed to relax and rest during the first 12 days.  On June 3, the plan kicked in for those who weren’t playing with their national teams and the new signings: Adán, Marcelo, Carvalho, Kaká, Lass, Granero, Canales, Peter Lion, Sahin, Altintop and Callejón.  Tomorrow, June 19, is when the internationals will begin their summer routine: Iker, Arbeloa, Albiol, Pepe, Sergio Ramos, Cristiano, Benzema, Xabi, Mesut, Khedira.  The four Argentines playing in the Copa América are excused.

The workouts include light jogging and 300 sit-ups a day.  I bet Cris and Robocop will do more.  The players have also been warned to watch what they eat.  I wonder if Raúl will be excused from this on his honeymoon?  And I’m sure that smoking is prohibited as well – I’m looking at you, Mesut Özil.

Speaking of the Copa América: it appears that Iker will have some unexpected competition for the goal next season.  Meanwhile, Gonzalo Higuaín does what we love best from him – show a little tongue.

Laugh of the day: I’ve been writing about La Rojita for the other blog, and I came across this interview between EFE and Thiago Alcántara, who plays for Barcelona.  He told the press agency that “I would be lying if I said my dream was to triumph in Barça.  My dream is to triumph in football.”  Luckily for Thiago, those two things are basically the same, according to his own teammate, Xavi.  It looks like Thiago hasn’t been inculcated by Xavi yet, which is a good thing.  Las malas lenguas are saying that Madrid could make a move for Thiago just to piss Barcelona off, because the arrival of Cesc could push him out of the team’s plans.

Update: since some Barça fans did not like those statements, Thiago had to apologize: “I ask for el barcelonismo for forgiveness because I know that they didn’t like those declarations, but they were misinterpreted.”  Seems like a lot of that has been going on with Thiago recently!

This is so cute: our canteranos even vacation together!  Jorge Casado and Tomás Mejías are currently on vacation in Ibiza together!  And they were hanging out with Jesús Fernández!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. debsen permalink
    June 18, 2011 15:10

    The pictures from Raul’s wedding are gorgeous. His daughters are adorable, and he and his wife look amazing. Of course so does the rest of the A team. Laughed at the priest taking pix.

  2. Année permalink
    June 18, 2011 16:02

    Chori’s little girls look so much like their daddy!

    I knew Oscar RIbot looked familiar but I couldn’t figure out who he was. I was wondering if Alvaro was the best man since his suit is different from the others. Raul and Alvaro’s friendship is so sweet.

    I would love to see who follows through with their off season training assignment and who will cheat a little. 🙂 I agree, I’m sure Cris and Alvaro will be doing extra credit.

  3. Ava Mendez permalink
    June 18, 2011 16:26

    Raul is so cute!! His wedding seemed perfect. His suit pants were not cute though. Arbeloa looked good aswell!

  4. Maddi permalink
    June 18, 2011 17:00

    Felicidades Raul!!! His daughters are so adorable. And I really love the name Azahara. I love both Alicia and Carlota’s dress, especially the grecian theme. And I think Alicia’s dad looks a bit like Jerzy!
    And Alvaro and Xabi… YUM!! Especially Alvaro in those sunglasses and that smile!
    Rafa and Sylvie are so cute and in love! I love her dress and the flowers she has in her hair.
    And I’m already falling in love with Nuri. I love that he seems so commited and responsible. And his blue eyes…

  5. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 18, 2011 17:37

    Congrats Albiol they looks amazing! I need more wedding pix for our players, I wonder why not many Real Madrid players are at the wedding? Ramos really I think he would have tweeted a pic if he attended. Nagore I would like to steal her dress! I LOVE IT.

    Can’t wait for Copa to see my beloved Pipa in action and haha! they surely teach them well in Barcelona academy ;);)

  6. Happy permalink
    June 18, 2011 17:41

    Is Ozil really a smoker??? Hard to believe, then who else????

  7. June 18, 2011 18:24

    Carlota and Nagore looked great! Xabi and Nagore ooze of classiness 🙂 And I always think that Carlota looks like she could be Álvaro’s sister! They look alike a lot! Sometimes I see her as Álvaro’s blonde girl version. I love both of their dresses and shoes.

    Alicia’s wedding dress is nice but has no wow factor or something, I don’t know its just a Grecian gown. Her makeup up makes her look tired ( she looked much better in a photo shoot for Hola) and I wish she didn’t have those strands of hair in front of her face. The girls are very cute and look like their father.
    The groom looked handsome and happy, I wish them all the best 🙂

    Rafa and Sylvie are definitely one of my favorite football couples.
    The players better follow Mou’s instructions, the guy is working hard for next season.( But maybe ringing up Mesut and Karim for further explanation would be better).

  8. IsaBella permalink
    June 18, 2011 18:29

    OMG I hope they keep up with Mou’s instructions 🙂
    Raul’s wedding looked beautiful, all the couples were gorgeous!!

  9. June 18, 2011 19:49

    I’m so happy for Albiol and Nagore’s dress is amazing. LOVE the color. And Rafa and Silvie, absolute freaking cute ❤

    Mesut smoking, so not his look lol

  10. ama permalink
    June 18, 2011 21:43

    Felicidades, Raúl and Alicia! Alicia’s gown was gorgeous, and of course Carlota and Nagore looked stunning (to say nothing of their husbands). All of our married players seem to have such fine taste, but the unmarried ones, not so much. Maybe the A team should teach a seminar…

  11. Henrik permalink
    June 18, 2011 23:01

    I was deeply dissapointed when I saw Ozil smoking. He has this huge talent but if he really wants to be as good when he is 30 as he is now he need to be more like Nuri.

    http://ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com/60310692.html?page=2&cut_expand=1

  12. Henrik permalink
    June 18, 2011 23:16

    And i really dont hope that Mourinho bust him

  13. claudia permalink
    June 19, 2011 00:11

    I like the wedding gown of the bride. It’s simple yet elegant. Thanks for the update, Una.

  14. cisarovna permalink
    June 19, 2011 04:12

    Wow lovely dress and bouquet. Unfortunate her hair was falling, but really still very pretty. They daughters are so cute!

  15. Gillian permalink
    June 19, 2011 04:15

    Bad Baby Mesut!

  16. June 19, 2011 06:04

    wow I don’t know whether I should be more worried over Angel or Sergio Romero being goalkeeper! I love the Grecian style of Alicia’s dress, and the bouquet is quite interesting, no? Nagore is probably one of those people who will look good no matter what she wears, and how cute is Silvie in that short dress? I wonder if Sergio attended the wedding; it feels kind of weird that not all the Musketeers were there.

  17. Pammie permalink
    June 19, 2011 14:34

    I knew that Álvaro and Raúl are good friends, but I had no clue that they are that good friends. I love it! If it weren’t for football, they wouldn’t know each other. aw. They all look great and the girls are so cute.

    What a nice surprise, that Sahin has already been studying Spanish for a bit. That’ll definitely make things easier for him, unless he hangs out with the other german speakers all the time. 😛

    Haha, Angel the goal keeper. He already got the name to go with the job. 😉

    Poor Thiago, he can’t be honest without people getting their panties in their knot.

    Everyone’s at Ibiza, now I want to go too!

    Thanks for making these fun updates to get us over the time until pre-season starts again!

  18. June 19, 2011 15:38

    congratulations Raul Albiol & Alicia 🙂

  19. June 19, 2011 15:41

    Nagore’s dress is by Lanvin which was worn by Natalie Portman already. And Nagore looks gorgeous in it. The color is beautiful against her skin and hair.

  20. June 19, 2011 16:12

    Congrats Raul & Alicia!!!!!!!!

    sooooo cute the girls!!!! awwww
    did you see Alicia has Almas name tatooed on her arm? Azahara is on the other hand I bet.

    I absolutely love Carlotas outfit. Everything is perfect on her. I like the color of Nagores dress but the shape of the dress is somehow strange. Anyway, una did you see they wear the same shoes (in another color) as they wore for the Glamour awards? Do you know which brand it is? I love them as well.

    these pics of Rafa & Silvie are amazing. Congrats to them as well. 🙂

    and absolutely love the canteranos together in holidays. Ahhhhh

  21. June 20, 2011 04:03

    OMG. I must really love Ozi. As soon as I saw this post yesterday, my heart broke (there’s nothing wrong about smokers but T____T). And as soon as I saw that post on ONTD today, my heart was pulverized. So is he dating someone (he really likes his woman’s hair dark, wait I have black hair too!)? After not hearing a thing about him for weeks, this would be it? T____T But I still love Bambi. The power of love. LOL.

    On the bright side, congrats to Mr. & Mrs. Albiol 😀

  22. black widow permalink
    June 20, 2011 05:40

    well, we have a saint in goal, so why not an angel? 😉

    i love, love, love that arbeloa and albiol are so close that he was best man. that’s adorable. the two little ones are so sweet and everyone looks beautiful (especially nagore and arbeloa … dear god, i’ll say it again — that man could model!). congratulations to them!

    speaking of weddings, i have a sick feeling there’s another one in the air and this one won’t make me want to jump for joy. at all.

  23. Jessie permalink
    June 20, 2011 15:05

    beautiful wedding photos, their daughters are adorable, too bad we couldn’t see sergio at the wedding too

  24. Muggle permalink
    June 26, 2011 14:24

    Congrats to Mr & Mrs Albiol and their children are looking so cute ….

    Laugh of the day: Then how about this :Our very own player Gago said that Barcelona is the Greatest team of all time and only our fans are not admitting it.So please dont try to take dig at our rival every time since we are the one who is gonna look like a dumb.Its totally unnecessary and irreverent so please dont this again.

    Forgive me if you feel disrespectful 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. summer plans II « con la roja
  2. Adorbs! « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…

Leave a Reply

