Skip to content

un poquito de todo…

June 22, 2011

… but more on the superficial side in today’s post, due to a lack of serious news.  [By the way, I promise I’ll get around to replying to all the emails you’ve sent, please don’t think I’ll never respond, it’s just that my life and these blogs keep me quite busy!]

She’ll be back!:  Álvaro Arbeloa took advantage of his stay in Valencia (for Raúl Albiol’s wedding) to visit the studios of the radio program ¡Anda Ya!.  They interviewed him, and asked him where he got the idea to play a prank on his grandmother Soledad.  Álvaro said he was talking to San Bernardino while in Monaco for the F1, and they were talking about doing that to someone, and Álvaro had the father of a friend in mind.  But he said it was too complicated, because you don’t know how people are going to react, especially when it’s aired, so he thought about his grandmother, because they’ve played jokes on her before.

He says once, he told her to go to El Corte Inglés (the biggest department store chain in Spain) and buy any jacket that she wants, that he and his brothers would pay, and she was waiting there and they didn’t show up.  Since he and San Bernardino are both going to be testigos in Raúl’s wedding, they suggest playing a prank on the bride, and Álvaro is quick to squash that idea, saying she’s not up for any joking around (I did think Alicia looked very tense the whole time).

He really can’t help himself; he has to pose like this or the world will collapse.

They ask him if he really loves his grandmother, and he says yes.  The other presenters on the show talk about how loyal she is to her grandson (whatever team he goes to, that’s her team), how much she defends him and what a character she is.  Álvaro says she’s seen her Facebook fan page and she loves it, but he’s worried that the fame will go to her head and she’ll forget about him!  They joke about how next season, his jersey is going to read “Soledad’s grandson.”  They also asked about his mother’s reaction (Soledad is his maternal grandmother) and he said she thought it was great.  He also said some of his teammates have heard this joke, and they laughed a lot.

Álvaro also announced a new joke for this week that could “surpass the last one” involving his grandmother, and also his mother.  Yay!!!

Laugh of the day: Shakira, during a meeting with Israeli president Simon Peres in Jerusalem, said “I would like a world that functions like Barça does.  In this way, we can win the game against discrimination.”  I don’t even know where to start with that statement, so I won’t even try.  And I dislike it when women change themselves because of who they’re dating, like Shakira, who’s suddenly become Barcelona’s biggest fan and is pretending she’s always been like that, when everyone knows she was a madridista before she started going out with Gerard Piqué.

Will this take the place of the jogging: Sergio Canales’ girlfriend Cristina tweeted this photo of her boyfriend on bicycle in Santander, calling him “Contador” (as in Alberto Contador, the Spanish Tour de France champion, and also renowned madridista).  I didn’t think it was possible for Sergio C. to look any younger, but he managed to do so.  The orange bike isn’t helping things either.

More consolidation: according to AS, José Mourinho is going to take control over the cantera as well.  The theoretical head of La Fábrica, Ramón Martínez, looks likely to be on his way out, because Mou is making all the decisions now, along with JAS.  It probably doesn’t help that Martínez is a protege of Valdano…  In his first interview with AS after assuming Madrid’s coaching position, Mou said, “I want to make a canterano into a star.”  And it looks like that is exactly what he will be doing.

But it won’t be Mateos: Madrid told David Mateos’ agent that in principle, he isn’t part of Mou’s plans for this season and so he can search for an alternate team.  Madrid has offered to loan him out or to transfer him with an option to buy.  If they loan him out, they prefer for him to go to a Liga team.

We have a rival: Galatasaray will be Madrid’s opponent in the Trofeo Santiago Bernabéu on Aug. 24.

Magazine appearances: Iker and Sara are on the cover of this week’s ¡Hola! magazine, with pictures from their vacation in Brazil inside.  Looking at the cover, we can observe that Iker waxes his chest, and that Sara actually does own a pair of flat shoes.  But I supposed she would have looked a bit silly wearing her usual high heels on the beach.  She’s also about three shades darker than her boyfriend.  I love Iker in his sunglasses, but not Sara in hers.  They do nothing for her.  Inside, there are pictures of Sara and Iker posing on a beach – well pretending to be natural, but in reality posing.  Iker stares at Sara’s (mostly non-existent) ass (her facing the other way would have made much more sense, no?), they play in the water, Sara puts sunblock on Iker… I never thought Iker would consent to posing for a gossip magazine with his girlfriend (that was one of the things I loved about him, his aversion to speaking and showing off his private life).  He’s changed.  [If I’m wrong about the photos, then I do apologize.  Contrary to what you may think, I don’t hate Sara, I merely dislike her, not because she’s with Iker (and Iker does seem to be very happy with her, so how can anyone dislike her in that sense?), but because she seems to lack a bit of tact, which has at times affected Real Madrid, and you know how I feel about the club.]

Back to the cover.  If you care to read the small print all the way at the bottom, you’ll also notice that this issue features pictures from Raúl and Alicia’s wedding.  Speaking of Raúl and Alicia, they make an appearance in GQ Spain’s July-August edition.  They’re interviewed during their bachelor parties, where Raúl presumably wore that pair of very tight pants.  Watch a making of video here.  Raúl says in the video, he was excited to do this photo shoot with his girl, that they’ve been together for a while and have two girls.  He also says everyone on Real Madrid is “normal,” and Mou is with the players to death, which is “fundamental,” so he hopes he continues for many years.  Alicia looks good (but not as good as Nagore did for Vogue), though I hate the blue-gray eye shadow.

I’ll try and post the content of both magazines, or if you see it, send it over, since digital versions are always much clearer than a scanned original.

Juanín will be jealous:  Esteban Granero just tweeted how his friend Edu Vilas got him an autographed copy of Haruki Murakami’s latest novel.  Vintage Granero.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    June 22, 2011 11:49

    Shakira is hilarious, like really barceloene, this must be the cheeiest sentence I heard in a while, must be like Barcelone, I can’t believe she said so, why is she trying to link herself to Barcelone in interview that has nothing to do with them!

    I am sad about Matoes! I though he would stay :(.

    The newly-wedd look AMAZING together! I love their picture and this is Iker tanned right? well, I get it some just can’t be tanned lol.

  2. June 22, 2011 12:22

    two words and I am not even ashamed: IKER SHIRTLESS.

  3. debsen permalink
    June 22, 2011 12:25

    Una, can’t wait for Alvaro’s jok on his mother and grandmother if there is another one. I like Iker in his picture! I don’t know why guys wax their chests, I think some hair is very sexy. Those are some tight pants! Oh and Shakira makes many a cule gag, her new found love of Barca and over the top PDA with Pique makes many want to gag (Apparently in a concert in Poland she changed the line of her lyrics to Hips Don’t Like to, Pique when you talk like that). I don’t know where to begin with her comment either so I just smirked and ignored it!

  4. amouria permalink
    June 22, 2011 12:50

    Why Iker waxes his chest? is it a fashion? well, i prefer him wild…hahaha
    Sara: we don’t like our idols’ girlfriends. Actually not all of them, but this Sara is like… a pain in our neck. 🙂

  5. June 22, 2011 13:15

    iker really needs to go more topless often… no more undershirts for next season, por favor!!

  6. Gilly B permalink
    June 22, 2011 13:31

    You little star! This was a fun and interesting post. I never realised how much Alvaro looks like a friend of mine until seeing those studio pics, probably because of all the stubble- it’s uncanny!

    Will be interesting to see what changes Mou makes with the cantera.

  7. June 22, 2011 14:17

    I love Shakira’s music. I recently even went to a concert of hers. Shakira as a person though, I can not respect. Not because she is dating Pique, but the way she has been behaving ever since she started dating Pique.

    Also to talk about eliminating discrimination and Barca in one sentence is quite frankly a joke. Even Shakira couldn’t be that oblivious to what was all over the papers.

  8. MEVA permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:24

    Haha mateos pobres … Espero que no dejes que esto llegar a él … Shakira es una farsa … Yo realmente no me gusta haha ​​Barcelona … Y ahora no me gusta Shakira tanto como antes … Ella ha cruzado completamente hacia el lado oscuro

  9. jellyace permalink
    June 22, 2011 14:51

    Forget about the ring on Sara’s finger…are those her new boobs?

  10. Pammie permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:07

    woooow, Chori! I am speechless! I’m looking forward to the article with the two.

    Oh Iker, what even. 😦

    Sergio C’s smile is so cute, aw.

    I loved how they kept calling him Alvarito during the interview, because of Soledad. But sending her to a shop to buy something and then not showing up doesn’t sound like a very funny prank. ts ts ts! He can be happy that Soledad just rolls with it. If he were my grand child, he would get no candy from me!

    I thought Mateos will be back. 😦

  11. Jessie permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:09

    sergio c is cute on that bike, but he does look 13.

  12. manie permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:20

    Alvaro is adorable!

    If we lived in a world run like Barca, how great would it be, full of illusions (and denial) and real football! And (free?) Shakira concerts/dance lessons.

  13. fatima permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:25

    Sara needs to eat. GIRL, EAT! Haha.

    Baby Sergio is adorable. He looks like he’s 15.

  14. mar permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:28

    wow! raul looks really good on this photo!
    if iker and sara actually posed for the gossip magazine…bad for him.
    Alvaro is very funny and a total prankster!
    As for Shakira, I don’t like her behaviour, too.

  15. colon permalink
    June 22, 2011 15:34

    alicia looks so much like nagore in that gq photo.

    granero and murakami. too much to handle!

  16. Cindy permalink
    June 22, 2011 16:26

    Your’e right Una Iker has changed. No not David Mateos don’t loan him out, but I guess it’s for the best. SC looks like he’s 12 with that bike..:)

  17. superfan permalink
    June 22, 2011 16:41

    Oh ok, Shakira. Whatever you say.

    And your comments about Iker and Sara’s photos made me laugh!! A+++ for you. Haha. Iker’s embracing being a celebrity now.

    And I am also jealous of Granero. Lucky guy!!!

  18. June 22, 2011 16:42

    Oh, how I love Esteban.

  19. Maddi permalink
    June 22, 2011 17:16

    That first prank was mean Alvaro! I hope he took his grandma on a shopping spree later and bought her tons of jackets to make up for it.
    Oh brother. I’m starting to get used to Barcelona’s shameless self-promotion, but now they’re getting their WAGs to do it too? Don’t worry, when we win the Supercopa, the Copa del Rey, La Liga, and the CL we can get Carol to tweet about how much she loves Mou. 😀
    I hope they bring another canterano up to the first team this year! Preferably ABMM!
    Oh Sara… whatever floats your boat I guess.

  20. June 22, 2011 17:55

    Perfect Alvaro caption, Una!

    Which canterano is going to be Mou’s new star? I wonder what that means for the system, and how much more (or less) aggressively Mou will include canteranos on the first team next season.

    Also, the Hola pics. I can’t. I just can’t. Not that I don’t want to see Iker happy, but you’re right. This doesn’t seem very Iker-like. Gah.

  21. IsaBella permalink
    June 22, 2011 18:15

    Oh Una, you don’t need to apologize for anything, this blog is perfect and I’ve been checkin-in regularly for the past 6 months. Thanks for the little updates, let’s see how Alvaro’s prank will look this time jaja 😉 and I agree about Shakira *sigh*

  22. gabriela permalink
    June 22, 2011 19:56

    I love Haruki Murakami! It makes me so ridiculously happy to know Esteban likes him too 🙂

    Una, can I just say something about the aparently new section “Laugh of the day”? While I think it’s funny, I also think they’re not really that relevant to “Real Madrid news”. It just stir things up between the supporters. I know we all love Real Madrid here, but I don’t want us to be Barça haters and I think it makes the hate grows more, specially after all we’ve been through this season because of them. I would rather you mention them only when it’s really relevant and leave them out of our lives in this lovely summer (well, winter if you live in the south!). I think we already had enough of Barcelona and this blog looks even more beautiful when this name is out of it 🙂
    Well, I’ll keep reading the blog no matter what, these were just my 2 cents~

  23. June 22, 2011 20:07

    My cousin who is in Spain now told me that the pics of Iker and Sara are not a part of a paid agreement with Hola. That except for a couple of photos, the quality is not good and that 4 agencies have those photos which were all bought by Hola because they have the money. They were in a public beach. That is why Iker posted those pics of him and SC on FB and the LOCATION they were in, because he already knew that they were photographed and wanted to devalue Hola’s pics. Yes in some you can see that they know the camera is there but they can’t go and hit the paparazzi, so its an ok we will let you take them but then leave us alone kind of thing IMO.

    I noticed that Alicia was so tense from what I could see from the photos and videos. I think she is the type of bride that worries too much about everything going the way she planned and being in control all the time instead of letting go and enjoying the occasion.

    HARUKI signed book! Lucky Esteban!

    I can’t wait for the new joke, poor grandma 🙂

    • michelle permalink
      June 23, 2011 15:06

      i’m really glad you posted about iker and sara. i didn’t think it looked posed either for those exact reasons, and i think that the criticism of him here is being a bit harsh. :/

  24. nikki permalink
    June 22, 2011 20:39

    I don’t get the sara hate, I like them together!

    And well, people do change…

  25. divine permalink
    June 22, 2011 20:40

    Hi Una! Great post as ususal – especially since its off season.

    R.E: Iker – I think Iker is s agreat guy, one of my faves for his integrity and his articulate nature. but i think he changed with a lot of other footbalelrs, a long time ago or rather I think when you get th PR guru’s in, they just always know how to play the game.

    He strikes me as a type who likes the limelight (but in moderation), the kinda guy who has to be no1, trophy gf etc…but at least has values intact. I would say say its probably the nature of the beast being in the spotlight with all footballers from madrid to barca – a bit of ego, and the public’s consumption for gossip (personal or football wise)

    If you notice with the spanish media, everytime there’s an accusation with people like Barca Boys oMadrid Boys, or Iker, the PR team roll out the staged pics/interviews. Remember when there were accusations of him and sara having problems, and picturesof him and sara visting his Pops’ at a retirement home “magically” appeared, or that interview with la razon that talked about his facebook and john lennon, right after some tabloid published allegations of sara ordering him to delete all the girls off his fb account? Same with pique and shakira and those cringeworthy birthday pics published in colombia or any xavi interview, or this interview: http://ontd-football.livejournal.com/3382514.html – all of its a bit staged. I think it’s just their way of protecting themselves and keeping themselves a head of the pack, With Iker, he knows he’s going to get snapped by the press and have stories made up about him, so publishing pics of him and sara on fb and selling pics of the beach, is maybe a better option than some hack making money off his name or sara’s (like Pique). I suppose he can control the situation and publish the pics he thinks are a bit tasteful keep the PR under cotnrol and make a bit of dosh too .

    One thing I dont like though is this : http://www.diagramconsultores.com/anuncios-ong-videos/cultura/32322-el-campus-fundacion-iker-casillas-bbva-icuanto-cuesta-aprender-los-valores-de-iker
    500 euros per a kid – c’mon!?!

    But besides that, I think I can look past it, actually Iam just going to look at him and those hola pics right now (my God he’s pasty!) lol -Sara’s lost way too much weight, and still missing eva (like really missing eva) and can someone tell me why there aint never pics of him and Unai froclicking on the beach – More UNAI PLEASE! So you see what i mean, public consumption, we can’t help it too. He’s the best GK, a good person, beautiful to look at and someone I respect cause’ he holds it down at madrid and for spain and is very well spoken . Although i would say XABIER ALONSO is the man!

    Thanks once again Una!

  26. Alyssa permalink
    June 22, 2011 21:07

    Shakira was a madridista before Pique?! Seriously?! Ok, now I don’t feel bad about what I thought was newfound irrational dislike for her :P.

    Also, Iker’s changing because of Sara. She’s the one who wants to be in spotlight. I want SO much better for him than that woman. Ugh.

  27. Iram permalink
    June 22, 2011 22:44

    Awesome post! I loved the pic of Raul and his wife for GQ. She is one lucky lady. And I loved it when u wrote “He really can’t help himself; he has to pose like this or the world will collapse”. That is the truth! (and for sergio ramos)
    I hope u r having a great summer Una. U deserve it. Hope it’s not too hot where u live.

  28. Laila permalink
    June 22, 2011 23:22

    Hi Una, can you post a link of the rest of the photo’s from Iker & Sara’s vacation?

    Thank you so much!

  29. June 22, 2011 23:45

    I stared enough at Iker’s photo so I can comment two more things:

    Laugh of the day: oh, Shak; the girl clearly lost it.he whole feminist side of me is just screaming inside. She just changed herself and thats something that pisses me off, because she’s successful enough not to “adapt” herself to the role of footballer’s GF. And taking into account the seriousness of the matter she talked about (discrimination), advising “the world” to follow the methods of a football club is just silly (no matter which club that would be, but here the additional irony if the fate is provided);-) To be fair – I’d say the same think if she dated anyone from RM.

    And now back to RM, because I went out of topic a little: Esteban, what a nerd! Adorable, adorable! I really wish we could see and here more of him. I am sure he will have some words of wisdom to share. I’d love to see it! I also cannot wait to see how he develops his “if anyone could copy Xabi that would be only me” pose!

  30. June 23, 2011 03:04

    i don’t know how to react to Esteban getting an autographed book: spoiled!? haha. Poor Iker looks like he’s sunburned already (and puyi too). More Sunscreen? =)?

  31. Jane permalink
    June 23, 2011 03:15

    Erm, you do know those are paparazzi photos right? I get that you arent a fan of Sara (neither am I) but you shouldn’t jump to conclusions about Iker because of that. There are pictures of them last summer in LA at a pool, with similar PDA-filled photos. There’s nothing to suggest Iker agreed to ”posing” and if you want to draw those suspicions, there are much more likely photograph bunches (in Madrid, kissing and all) that can be said to be for posing.

  32. Louise permalink
    June 23, 2011 04:05

    Sorry Iker, but give me hairy Xabi any day. Speaking of, where is he?

    And Alvaro needs to be nice to his grandma. Isn’t there someone other than a little old lady he can play pranks on?

  33. @ulonghaz permalink
    June 23, 2011 06:08

    Iker was posing? seriously? oh dear, he did change. But I don’t like it at all.

  34. Cyn permalink
    June 23, 2011 07:55

    Oh Shakira…”In this way, we can win the game against discrimination”

    Except when it’s someone from Barca that discriminated against somebody’s race. Then we lose the game.

  35. unclesam permalink
    June 23, 2011 09:12

    LOL, I love how you’re hating on Sara haha. Jealous much? 😉 Haha just kidding, keep the good work up!

  36. Sunny permalink
    June 23, 2011 13:45

    I love Esteban geeking out over getting a Murakami’s autograph.

  37. michelle permalink
    June 23, 2011 15:08

    i love your blog so much, una, but the sara hate is kind of harsh. there is no reason to suspect that these pictures are posed and in the same breath talk about the pictures of albiol and his wife that are CLEARLY posed for their wedding. :/

  38. Beezy permalink
    June 23, 2011 16:07

    Granero is growing on me more and more! Murakami and Granero; it is a fine combination! Also — jailbait but bb Sergio looks adorable. Imagine when he matures as a player and as a person, in terms of looks! He would be deadly, I am inclined to think. Props to Albiol for looking so adorable yet fierce (yes I also agree with that bit about Nagore — she is the standard, really). As for Iker and Sara… I miss Eva Gonzalez. Sara is scary.

  39. PMom_GA permalink
    June 24, 2011 00:13

    Hmm, already a new signing is biting the dust – at least for next 2 months. Altintop having back surgery Monday to “correct” a problem he’s apparently had for a year, if not more.

    So my question is why was he signed if it was known that he had a back problem and therefore, should not have been able to pass the medical? Any news as to how this happened?

    Something tells me, Mourinho will not be happy to discover this problem now, rather than way back when (ok – early May, barely a month ago).

    * * * * * * * * *
    Article:
    “New Real signing Altintop to have surgery on back problem

    5 hours, 13 minutes ago

    MADRID, June 23 (Reuters) – New Real Madrid signing Hamit Altintop is to have surgery on a disc problem in his back, the Spanish club said in a statement on Thursday.

    The Turkish international midfielder will have the operation in Germany next Monday after conservative treatment methods failed to resolve the problem. No time frame was given for the recovery period.

    The 28-year-old struggled with back pain while with his former club Bayern Munich last season.

    *snip* “

  40. emily permalink
    June 25, 2011 05:18

    If the situation with Altintop’s back is somewhat similar to Pipita’s, why aren’t they sending him to Chicago, as well? Just a thought.
    I didn’t think that the beach scene photos were posed, but I am still irritated with Sara, for the same reasons as Una. She’s seems very shallow and uninteresting. She is a trophy. And that’s pretty much it, from what I can see. Now I haven’t sat and discussed politics, current trends in orchid hybridization, or worldwide fishery degradation with her, so I really can’t judge, can I? However, she would probably be very helpful setting up decent lighting for an interview. That’s an asset, you know.

  41. mardia permalink
    June 27, 2011 01:02

    I have to say, I don’t get the hate that Sara and Iker constantly get on this blog. I get that you’re not a fan of hers, and that’s fine, but making nasty comments about her body is going too far in my opinion. There’s no need to go there, imo. As another commentator said, complaining about pictures that might or might not be posed right before the pictures of Raul Albiol and his wife (which are DEFINITELY posed) seems kind of weird to me.

    It’s your blog, you are entitled to your own opinion, and you can write whatever you want. But stuff like this makes me less likely to visit the blog in the future, because it all seems kind of mean-spirited and besides the point.

Leave a Reply

