Skip to content

(MFC) Álvaro (B) Morata (M) at Marca

July 6, 2011

MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín is currently focused on the national team, as he’s on duty with the U-19 team (and suffering from a fever, el pobre), but in this interview, he spoke his contract renewal, life in Madrid, and his expectations for the future.

Your contract was extended until 2015.  What does this renewal mean to you?

For me, everything that has happened this year is a dream.  And re-signing with Madrid as well.  If playing for Madrid was not my dream, I would have found an exit, but what I want is to triumph here.  I have to continue improving in Castilla and taking advantage of the opportunities that I can have with the first team.  I’m not going to let the opportunity to play and triumph in Madrid go by.  I’m going to give it my all.

Do you feel with this renewal, the club is showing confidence in you?

Yes, that’s why I’m staying.  This renewal is a big step, but I know I have to learn a lot.  We could see during the playoffs that I still lack some experience in important games and I have to continue working hard.

You’re now tied to Madrid until you’re 22.  What do you have to learn during this time?

I have to learn how to fight more with defenders, and above all, to get used to things I haven’t experienced yet, such as learning to co-exist with great players.  I’m going to be a sponge and I’m going to keep in mind all the good things there are in Madrid.

After this renewal, is it clear that your team is Castilla?

Yes, but I know that the first team is counting on me too, to train and for whatever they need, but I know I’m going to play with Castilla.

What advice did José Mourinho give you this last season?

Mourinho always tells us that we’re still children, not only on the field, but also off of it, and this, when you’re a Real Madrid player, is something you have to improve.  The Spaniards have also been great with me.  Granero is the one who takes care of me the most and he’s told me the difficult thing is not to debut with Madrid, but to stay.

Has your life changed a lot in this last year?

A bit, yes.  I’m still the same person, but people know more about you, and that’s an added responsibility.  I already feel that I don’t only wear the escudo of Real Madrid when I step onto the field, but also when I’m off of it.  Madrid demands a certain type of behavior from you.  [His status as my current favorite has been cemented.]

Is the media pressure affecting you?

I don’t feel pressured.  I’m proud to be in Madrid and on the national team and to see myself in the media.  I will learn from it.  Other players in the first division have taken different roads and aren’t so often featured in newspapers, but my situation is this one.  Sometimes I feel that what other people say may hurt me, but it also helps me to learn how to ignore that and not to allow what others think to affect me.

Do you see yourself getting playing time with Mourinho?

They know that each time I play with the first team, I’m going to give it my all.  Being able to change next to Cristiano, Kaká or Casillas is priceless [he really did say change, not play], and I will take advantage of all the opportunities I get.  Millions of people want to be in my place.  I’m very young and I know that I have to wait for my moment in Castilla, but if I didn’t believe I would get there, I would have given up already.

Getafe would like to sign you.  Is this option ruled out?

I will always be grateful to Getafe, which was my home.  But I’m only thinking about playing for Madrid.

Sarabia, Juan Carlos, Juanan… many Castilla players are leaving.  Do you feel that will weaken the team?

They’re players that are in their third season with Castilla and they want to have experience in the first division.  I’m sure that they will succeed and that Madrid will consider bringing all of them back.

The signing of Varane is not a negative message for the cantera?

It gives me an even greater desire to work, and it means that the coaching staff want young players and will have confidence in us.  I’ve been given the opportunity to train with the first team and I will always be grateful.  In addition, in Real Madrid you have to be used to a top player coming in each year.  You have to learn to live with that.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    July 6, 2011 12:32

    “Being able to change next to Cristiano, Kaká or Casillas is priceless [he really did say change, not play], and I will take advantage of all the opportunities I get. Millions of people want to be in my place”
    This is sooooo adorable, Alvaro believe me I am one of THESE people, I hope he stays in Real Madrid and he got his chances too.

    He is definitely the poster Child for our cantera, isn’t he? I really hope he got his chances, he does something amazing and he start for us, com’on Morata, I am personally cheering.

  2. manie permalink
    July 6, 2011 13:15

    I really hope he makes it and stays with Madrid for his entire playing career. What a great kid.

    My favorite part was – “Being able to change next to Cristiano, Kaká or Casillas is priceless [he really did say change, not play]”… I would be thinking the same thing too!!

  3. cisarovna permalink
    July 6, 2011 13:35

    Awww Granero….

    Changing with the first team… Yes I think quite a lot of us would like that too.

    Last picture is adorable!

  4. Ros permalink
    July 6, 2011 14:12

    Great interview! Thanks. I really hope he does succeed in Real Madrid.

  5. Cindy permalink
    July 6, 2011 14:48

    I LOVE HIM.

  6. July 6, 2011 14:57

    Best wishes for the Canteta! And hope that Alvaro getting better soon…
    Excuse me Una, I know this will be a stupid question, but could you please explain the “MFC”? Thanks a lot.

  7. Sarah Nikolich permalink
    July 6, 2011 20:46

    I really like him. He is a great player and a great person! 🙂
    LOVE IT
    Wish RM would pay for attention to his players in RM Castilla, cuz I have watched some matches and they are really awesome!

  8. Tash permalink
    July 6, 2011 21:04

    Love that last picture-he’s such a cutie and apparently very sweet 😉

  9. July 6, 2011 23:48

    How adorable is he?! For being so young he is very adept at speaking to the press. I am impressed!

    And Granero ❤ It is great that he is such a big help to Morata. It seems as if he has taken the younger guys under his wing almost like a big brother. I am sure he is able to encourage them having gone through the same thing. I love the picture of the 2 of them.

  10. July 7, 2011 04:52

    OMG THAT LAST PICTURE IS PRICELESSLY BEAUTIFUL.

    YES I AM SCREAMING IN REAL LIFE

  11. black widow permalink
    July 7, 2011 06:07

    una, i still say you should call him OFC, because he’s my favourite (and a lot of others, too, i’m sure!), too!

    so precious!

    • ane anna pierce permalink
      July 7, 2011 19:52

      You are so right!!!
      I love the two alvaro’s a lot
      So one for the senior team and one for the castilla…its an amazing coincidence
      But back to you comment…he really is precious ❤ I'm a huge fan

  12. @ulonghaz permalink
    July 7, 2011 06:33

    hwaaaa, he’s so mature instead his age.
    long live Morata!!

  13. July 10, 2011 06:40

    Oh he’s my favorite too ;D
    And I do love Alex’s and his tweets these days! So sweet!

Leave a Reply

