Skip to content

quote of the day – Vicente del Bosque

July 11, 2011

Real Madrid’s loss, Spain’s gain.  As today is the one-year anniversary of the Spanish national team – coached by Vicente del Bosque – winning the World Cup, VDB has been in high demand.  In an interview with Marca, he was asked whether he would like to receive a tribute from Real Madrid.  His response showed that he has so much more class and respect than the club has shown towards him.

No, and I’m not trivializing it in any way.  Madrid doesn’t have to think that I’m different from everyone else.  I feel very uncomfortable with this issue.  I don’t want anyone to feel like they have an obligation towards me.  Madrid has given me everything.  I’m a man who is very grateful towards Madrid.  They don’t owe me anything.

I’m still devastated by VDB leaving Madrid, and of course the way he was let go.  But I like to think of it this way, perhaps Spain wouldn’t have won the World Cup if this hadn’t happen.  And by the way, I’ve chosen this picture to accompany the quote because another person who deserves a proper send-off is pictured in it with Vicente del Bosque.  The one and only Raúl.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    July 11, 2011 17:47

    Hello! Didn’t Real Madrid say they were going to honor VDB, Rafa and Domingo? Do you know if that is still happening??

    Sooo excited preseason is here! Thanks for making the summer break go by quickly 🙂

  2. July 11, 2011 18:40

    what a class act!

    and I agree about Raul. I still miss him.

  3. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    July 11, 2011 20:20

    Two words: LOVE & RESPECT.

  4. July 11, 2011 22:12

    What a great man he is! I do think you have a very good point about Spain & VDB. But, yes, the proper thing for Madrid to do would be to honor those who have done so much for the club!

  5. Whiskey permalink
    July 11, 2011 22:32

    Well he is far more diplomatic than I would have been in that situation. But as you say, that is what makes him such a classy individual. And everything does happen for a reason I suppose as he did go on to better things. I cannot believe its been a year since the final! I was in Madrid with my sister the day they won – its a day I will never forget. Thanks for the pic as well Una!

  6. Gillian permalink
    July 12, 2011 02:17

    I really like and have a lot of respect for VDB.

  7. @ulonghaz permalink
    July 12, 2011 03:25

    you forget about Guti, Una…
    Guti also deserves a proper send-off
    Till now, I still cant hold my tears everytime I see his last press conference pictures as Real Madrid player.
    July 25, 2010, the day he said goodbye

  8. kiki permalink
    July 12, 2011 04:35

    Una, I couldn’t agree with you more. What class our Mister has, what class! I am really humbled by him. He sets such a wonderful example! Truly both of the fine men in your article do! They are dear to us! They deserve only the best treatment. I really like your idea about VDB & the World Cup. He sets the example to keep moving forward with quiet strength, dignity & class – no matter what unfair things life may throw at you! Hala! (that Hala represents the true club ideal, not the administration ideal) ❤

  9. superfan permalink
    July 12, 2011 05:13

    The quote just shows just how humble he is!! The more I want Madrid to make a tribute for him. And Raul and Guti. They deserve it so much.

  10. Alaliga permalink
    July 12, 2011 06:12

    Indeed. VDB’s leaving Real Madrid was not all for bad (even though it was bad and I still can’t get over the disappointment of 10 years ago). It turned out that VDB could come back for Spain and make it a formidable squad, improving upon Luis Aragones’ work in the Euros. I am also sure that if VDB was not around, the Madrid-Barca rift would have been greater at the end of last season. The calming presence of the Marquis and his unflappable temperament were Spain’s plus points.

    If Spain continues to play as it does in the Euro Qualifiers and beyond, VDB will be in contention to win COY next year, I am sure. It would be a fitting tribute to Madrid’s prodigal son.

  11. Marie permalink
    July 12, 2011 15:56

    We need more classy men like him in the world of football!!

Leave a Reply

