Skip to content

some updates for you…

August 17, 2011

Madrid held a light training/stretching session this morning in Espanyol’s stadium, the Cornellà-El Prat, which must have brought back some good memories for José Callejón and bad memories for Iker Casillas, as last season, he was expelled before the clock hit the two-minute mark (thanks to the efforts of… José C.).  Anyway, the session was supervised by Aitor Karanka and Rui Faria, as José Mourinho didn’t travel with the team.  The team returned to their hotel after, where Mou was most likely plotting anti-Barça strategies.

Emotional Iker, posing Xabi, peacemaker Sami, Álvaro pulling at his shirt… this moment had it all.

And an update on that situation which threatens to ruin my Sunday: there will be a strike.  Despite a 90-minute meeting between the LFP and AFE this morning, the two sides were unable to reach an agreement, so the strike called for the first two jornadas will continue as scheduled.  There definitely won’t be any football this weekend, as the two sides will not meet again until Friday, during which a second division game is scheduled to be played.

The president of the LFP, José Luis Astiazarán, told the press after the meeting that “there’s no agreement.  The AFE has maintained the strike for this matchday.  We’ll meet again on Friday and if it’s necessary, during the entire weekend.”  AFE president Luis Rubiales was absent, as his wife gave birth to his third child today.

As to when the first jornada will be played, the options are to push back all the matchdays by one week, meaning the Liga will start with the first matchday next weekend, or to start on the second matchday and play the first one later.  The LFP prefers the former option, but the RFEF needs to agree.

I need to know right now, because I have to prepare myself for seeing Javi (!!!) and Iker on the same field!!!!!!  Having them in the same room is not enough.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabriela permalink
    August 17, 2011 18:33

    For some reason, I always mentally read “LFP” as “Luis Florentino Perez”.

  2. Erika permalink
    August 17, 2011 22:42

    I think you’ll appreciate that my mom knows Javi Martinez as “Hottie Martinez” because she misunderstood me when I said Javi. Still fits, though! 😉

  3. August 18, 2011 02:27

    Oh my. I watched the game.What did just happen there??? I have to comment even before the ICYMI, I am so moved!

    I liked it until 87th minute. Between 88th and 92 minute I started to not like it, but still was happy about the style of playing. After Marcelo’s “great” idea it all became kind of weird and I don’t get it. (not because I am intellectually incapable of getting it, but I don’t get it from the logical and reasonable point of view;-))) I am sure some media will analyse it in details so I will read it tomorrow.

    However, Mourinho’s “gesture” towards Villanova is what saddens me the most. I cannot see exactly where he punches the guy, I would say -ear?(wishful thinking?))- but from what I read now, he touched guy’s eye and if that’s true, it is absolutely disgraceful. Eyes are a sanctity and that is unexcusable. “TSO” nickname will be not used my me, it seems, for some good time, if that turns out to be true.

    besides that, the game was fine, I was a bit happy and except of the last minutes – it gave hope for a great season. However, the end – such a dissapointment. stupid men. they always have to destroy what’s nice.

    the only positive I see is that Sergio did not slap anyone.this time.

    Oh. I hope I will be in a better mood tomorrow.

    for now, the only way to cheer up – though – is to leave the world of El Clasicos and go to Una’s other blog to play the videos with Javi Martinez. shirtless.

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      August 18, 2011 16:16

      Jose smh! that’s what I can say, why would he do so! The fight was out of no-where. Villa did the slapping this time!
      Anyway, the good thing is: Real Madrid look 10 time better than last season.

    • jean permalink
      August 18, 2011 19:00

      I agree with you.Situation like this just make me sad and angry.Both parties here are both to blame.But seriously why did Villa felt the need to slap Ozil(I have never seen him so angry)?.Poor Ozil:(. Hope hes okay.
      This game just reminded me of the 5 0 of last season(This is a game I would like to forget ).
      Our guys have to learn to control their tempers.They dont always have to react stupidly at whatever Barca does.
      I just hope this will make them grow in attitude.I am not even looking forward to Classicos anymore.Scenes like that tarnish the game. Urghhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    • RealLisa permalink
      August 19, 2011 12:07

      I suggest you to watch this video, if you understand Spanish, of course. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJvNlOq7Os4

      Wait, on second thought, watch it either way, after all, a picture is worth a thousand words.

      I’ll just wait for the ICYMI post to express myself. Until then, I must say that I missed the pre-season, I wasn’t able to watch it, but I’m glad I was back in time for the Clasicos. I also missed reading your blog Una, which means I have a lot of catch up to do (and I’m looking forward to it!). I hope you enjoyed your summer vacation and did get some rest though.

  4. Sara permalink
    August 18, 2011 16:08

    Oh God!!!!!! I don’t know how you are going to be able to do the ICYMI post Una. If I were you I wouldn’t want to be reminded of the game and all the shit that happened and all the talk about Mou…

  5. almu permalink
    August 19, 2011 02:52

    I’m not a madridista and I read some posts in this blog because I love la Roja and all the players that play, and have played for La Roja at any time, including the RM players, of course. I never comment here because I usually beleive its out of place, but not this time as I think clásicos and their “tanganas” are going too far, and as Guardiola said, they are really going to hurt each other one of these days that’s why I beleive this has to stop, and soon.

    It saddens me seeing Iker leave without congratulating any of his “friends” and even discussing with Xavi, it saddens me seeing Xabi leaving without even extending his hand to any of his teammates in La Roja, they have always been gentlemen, always, and I don’t understand how Mourinho, because I beleive it’s all his fault, is changing them so badly.

    I think RM is a great club and I respect it a lot, it’s history alone tells you how huge it is, and it’s because of that greatness that it shouldn’t allow Mou to destroy it’s image so badly. I even beleive they played an exellent game yesterday and they could have won, they played an even greater game on sunday and they tied because of bad luck (coming from a huge culé).

    I’m afraid Mourinho is even destroying the NT. I recognize that some Barcelona players had their bad attitudes too, Villa for example, and I usually don’t agree with Pique’s declarations, however, this time I have to agree with him as I think Mou is destroying spanish football and that makes me really sad.

  6. larojacule permalink
    August 19, 2011 02:53

    Una, I have loved your sites, both this and conlaroja especially for all the great translations of some of the best interviews about Spain’s footballers. However I was disappointed with your staunch defense of Jose Mourinho and had said then that Mourinho was destroying the amity in Spanish football. You scoffed at this – as did other Madridistas – but look at what he did yesterday and the world reaction. He is such a cancer to the image of Madrid and for Spanish football. I am glad that the entire Madrid press, for a change, and the international press agree with me now.

  7. August 19, 2011 14:43

    Sunday… Officially RUINED. \-{

  8. WangFengLei permalink
    August 19, 2011 16:40

    hi i’m a mourinho fan. it seems that mou2 was PROVOCATED 1st.
    i got this vidz from good guys from RMFB.

    I don’t care if coach should wear his angelic face like that BALD MAN.
    Mou just being HIM. either love or hate him.

  9. evita permalink
    August 20, 2011 06:17

    Mou was wrong. Period. However, he’s not tarnishing Spanish football anymore than Pep and Barca. Considering that they dive, and apparently approve of their players using racial epithets. They have never owned up to the diving inicident by Alves, or Busi’s racist ass comments. Until they do, they are ihe leaders in tarnishing the image of Spain and Spanish football.

    Though I can’t stand Alves, and Keita…I often wonder how at ‘home’ they feel with a teammate that calls other players monkey’s and then smiles in their face. Yes, Cule’s, I’m not letting it die. It should never die, especially as hard as Barca tries to blame all their horseshit antics on RM and Mou. For a team that has won the major trophies they sure seem content on playing the victim. That’s got to have some psychological toll on a person…when you constantly win but are haunted by feelings of somewhow being second best. Sad.

    Marcello got carded, as he should have. He was wrong as all get out. Pepe should’ve got carded about three different times with some of those sketchy challenges. Hell, RM know, that the refs do not card Barca. It’s not in them, especially at the Camp Nou. It’s old hat. We know this. Quit complaining about it. It won’t change until the general public, sports casters and sportsmen alike quit sucking Messi’s dick. Once they get sick of blowing him they’ll finally open their eyes and see the other horseshit that goes on. As for Messi. The guy is just good. Peiod. He doesn’t thik he just does. I respect that.. Now, you know that Messi also dives (not as much as the others), talks shit and instigates just like the rest of Barca. However, he’s applauded for his horseshit. RM have to learn to accept that’s the way it is, and they’re going to have to find a way to come out on top despite the clear favoritsm that is granted to Barca.

    One thing I can say…I”d much rather see them go out with a loss standing on their feet like men, then rolling around like some 13 year old girl faking cramps to get out of gym class.

    Great game. RM did wonderfully, Barca converted on their great opportunities. RM were taxing VV’s ass…they just need to convert more often.

Leave a Reply

