Skip to content

getting back to normal (I hope)

August 20, 2011

I guess I’ll have to make do with my usual Basque trio this weekend, Aitor and Xabi (plus Iker – very cute gifs of him below!!), instead of them plus an entire team.  And Marcelo is the world’s cutest Brazilian bunny, no?

Madrid returned to training yesterday with a session at Valdebebas, preparing for Wednesday’s Trofeo Santiago Bernabéu, as there won’t be any Liga football this weekend.  Nineteen footballers worked out, with the Supercopa starters doing recovery work while the others had a more normal training session.  Meanwhile, Sami Khedira worked out in the gym and Sahin, Altintop and Granero continued working to recover from their respective injuries.  The team will be back in training today at 18h.

Meanwhile, the Real Madrid photographers completed FAILED with this photo.  I mean, you get to work with Iker Casillas and get paid to photograph him and company, and this is the best photo you could come up with?  His side?  Normally, I wouldn’t complain, because I love that profile, but all we get in this picture is the back of his head.  And if they wanted to take a picture of the back of his anything, then it should be his one of his best assets, his actual backside.

Speaking of Iker, we once again got confirmation that he really is a saint.  Onda Cero’s “Al Primer Toque” program reported last night that Iker Casillas called Xavi and Puyol on Thursday, with the aim of calming things down.  They said that Iker took the initiative and called Xavi first, but he did not answer (there were various reasons to explain this, among them that Xavi had a family issue or that Iker didn’t have Xavi’s newest number), so Iker called Puyol and spoke with him, also taking the time to congratulate him for winning the Supercopa and asking him to extend that sentiment to all his teammates.  He also apologized for saying that Cesc had acted (remember, Iker made that comment right after the game, while he was still on the field, before he saw any replays).  When Xavi found out about Iker’s attempt and called back on Friday, Iker was in the midst of the training session, so he missed the call.  Finally, they ended up texting each other.  Journalist Fernando Burgos said, “Iker took a step forward so this issue wouldn’t fester and get worse.”

But even The Saint gets sleepy and flubs up his lines once in a while, as we can see in these outtakes from the Liga BBVA commercial that he did.  Iker is so, so, so adorable.

While there isn’t any first or second division football this weekend, we still have Castilla, who will be in action along with some of our youth teams.  Castilla will start their league campaign against Sporting B at home on Sunday (12h), so here’s a very tiny update of the squad for this season.  In terms of departures, there were eight over the summer.  Three of them were starters: Sarabia (Getafe), Juan Carlos (Zaragoza) and Fran Rico (Granada), and the rest were secondary players: Cristian, Luis Hernández, Juanan, Goni (who returned to Zaragoza) and Rubén Ramos.

As for arrivals, there are two.  One is José Antonio Ríos, who came from Sevilla Atlético.  Pedro Mendes (below) is the other one.  He’s a Portuguese fullback who played for Servette in Switzerland before joining Castilla.  He already knows the right things to say, as he told the club’s web site, “being in Real Madrid is a dream… I’m going to give it all I have and dedicate myself completely.  My teammates have welcomed me and my integration is going perfectly.  I’m very happy here.”

Several players have also been promoted from the lower categories: Lucas and Óscar Plano from RMC, Omar and Jesé from Juvenil A.  They join the likes of MFC ABMM, the Fernández brothers, Denis, Jorge Casado, Joselu, Jesús and Tomás…

Meanwhile, Juanfran has renewed his contract for one more year, linking him to Madrid until 2013, despite having many “suitors” during the summer.  Juanfran made his first team debut when Pellegrini was in charge, two seasons ago.  Last season, he played one game in the Copa del Rey, against Levante.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2011 17:24

    So…I read your blog about Real Madrid now since a lot of months. And I confess, I wanted to write you a comment a lot of times, but I don’t know…somehow I didn’t find time to do it.

    But now I want to tell you, that I LOVE unamadridista.wordpress.com! 😉 my favourite website about Real Madrid. And I guess, it’s a lot of work to handle such a great website. With all the news and background infos you do really a great job. ^.^ You can be proud of it. What I like the most about your website is, that you bring your own opinion in and most of the time I’m the same opinion like you. ^.^ And I really love the gifs that are in every post. These two of Iker in the last post are sooooooo adorable and cute! *_____* I just love him. *lol*
    So, I hope, I find the time to tell you what I think about all your posts in future 🙂 You do a great job! =) Don’t stop with it. ^.^

    greets,
    littleMadridista from Switzerland

    P.S. I’m sorry for my english. xD

  2. August 20, 2011 17:30

    So La Roja is not in danger?

  3. LCMadridista permalink
    August 20, 2011 17:47

    Yes, I hope their spirits are high, good for Iker for taking a step forward to smooth things over, and while I think that’s essential for the National team, I don’t think it’s going to make much change in how the international players are treated, but I have to be optimistic, I’m hoping this long break before they play each other again will do some good. Always great posts Una, Cheers 🙂

  4. cisarovna permalink
    August 20, 2011 17:50

    Marcelo the Brazilian Bunny!! Love that gif Una! Your posts are great, but some of the gifs and photo commentary is just awesome!

  5. andrea permalink
    August 20, 2011 18:28

    i wish fran rico had gone to a team from primera, it would be easier to follow him
    to me he’s another xabi in training

    • August 21, 2011 00:50

      Fran Rico is playing with Granada, who are in primera this season…

  6. Alyssa permalink
    August 20, 2011 18:55

    Marcelo is SO adorable!

    Iker is the best. The absolute best. My love for him just keeps growing, even though I always think it’s not even possible to love him more. What a man.

  7. yakub permalink
    August 20, 2011 20:02

    very good job with the website. If possible, it will even be more intresting for madridistas around the world if we can get to read more of the ‘less popular’ players and new players once in a while. Altintop? Varane? Sahin? Callejon? Otherwise, keep up the good job.

  8. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    August 20, 2011 22:00

    Iker is the apple of our eyes, he is soo nice and all captainy!
    Although I still think xavi doesnt deserve to be called in the first place, but again I am not saint, Iker is!

  9. edgar permalink
    August 21, 2011 00:11

    I been reading that all the Madridista ultras love Mourinho even more now for what he did. He is basically does and says everything they feel about Barcelona.

  10. black widow permalink
    August 21, 2011 01:04

    I LOVE HIM. i feel like a broken record, but i do! on a superficial level, i could stare at his jaw muscles and smile lines in the gif where he’s yawning all day long, but on a serious level, i’m proud of him as a captain, a national team colleague and friend and as a person for ringing puyi and xavi to clear the air. he’s all class. *beams*

  11. emily permalink
    August 21, 2011 06:02

    the ‘Sunshine being a bunny’ gif is mesmerizing… and yet, so is the Iker yawn. I’m absolutely mesmerized… O_O

  12. Linda permalink
    August 21, 2011 17:12

    Do you know that thing where you get all yawny when you see someone else yawning?
    I totally had that when i saw the Iker gif!
    Right, that said i’m going to read the bit you wrote on Castilla

  13. @ulonghaz permalink
    August 22, 2011 06:54

    ouch, yawning Iker is sooo adorable :*

  14. Sayu permalink
    August 23, 2011 18:15

    una!!!!!!!!! that gif of IKER is so adorable!!! i die!!!! OMG 😀

Leave a Reply

