Skip to content

for the record…

August 21, 2011

I would just like to clarify a misconception that some seem to have of me, that I’m able to exercise mind control over my readers, that whatever I write, they believe, with no hesitation.  For the record, I do not have that kind of power.  If I did have that kind of power, believe me, I’d be working in Real Madrid alongside José Mourinho, combining our mind control powers to make the players into robots who repeat whatever Mou tells them (for Iker, I’d do the tune-ups, as he’s already been brainwashed, according to Barcelona’s VP).  Plus, I haven’t managed to create an army of Javi (!!!) lovers, so I can’t be that good.

With that said, I’d also like to defend the majority of my readers.  I believe they’re perfectly capable of forming their own opinions, that they have level heads and that they have good judgment.  They’ve showed me that in the comments they’ve left on this blog, and in the emails they’ve wrote to me.  Anyone insinuating otherwise is insulting both me and my readers.  And I think we’ve all had enough of this negative energy from the clásicos, no?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    August 21, 2011 16:44

    APPLAUSE APPLAUSE. Thank you Una. Can you also use your powers to make Cristiano stop using hair gel, and stop wearing earrings. 🙂

    • August 21, 2011 16:48

      Jajaja, I’ll do my best. Any other requests?

      • August 21, 2011 16:51

        Please return Canales to Madrid 😀

        • August 21, 2011 16:53

          Hmmm, I think Mou is much more advanced and experienced at this mind control thing than me, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to “persuade” him.

      • maddy permalink
        August 21, 2011 16:56

        you could also convince ozil to lose the earrings and burn the v-necks, i’d be ever so grateful.

        i hope all this negative backlash doesnt prevent you from writing openly about our beloved team. we all love your work, and are very appreciative!

        • Tasha permalink
          August 21, 2011 19:18

          Ohhh and make them realize that just b/c its Louis Vuitton does not mean its fashionable! =)

      • Jenny permalink
        August 21, 2011 17:26

        Sergio needs to take his shirt off in every game.

        Actually – all the boys do – but start with Sergio please.

        Have Madrid sign Adebayor. Have them not sign Neymar.

        I’m sure I’ll have other requests in the future…

        😉

        • Samira permalink
          August 24, 2011 18:46

          But Neymar could bring a bit of ‘Brazilian Brilliance’ to the team. *pouts* No? ^^

      • cisarovna permalink
        August 21, 2011 21:37

        Can you get all the players to wear sleeveless shirts when training?

      • RealLisa permalink
        August 22, 2011 16:57

        Give Iker and Sergio some fashion tips! And do something about the thumbs-up pose. Thanks. :-)))

      • Hazel permalink
        August 23, 2011 14:17

        Iker’s man purse, Una. That horrendous thing!! Please get rid of it. I know you can do it! :))

  2. kdj permalink
    August 21, 2011 16:54

    Oh Una pleeeeease use your power to make FP go buy Raul back! I miss my captain 😥

  3. HermosaChica permalink
    August 21, 2011 17:02

    I’m avoiding the clasico post’s comments, but if that’s what was said, then what absurd nonsense! If Una had these sorts of powers, then Iker would be naked..ALL the time! And as far as I know, that undershirt is freakin’ glued to his torso..

    • jellyace permalink
      August 21, 2011 17:51

      Since it’s sizzling hot in Madrid right now, maybe Una, you can use your mystical powers to make them play shirtless during the Trofeo del Bernabeu match. We’ll all help you paint their numbers on their backs and little escudos on their chests!

    • August 22, 2011 05:44

      I avoided them too. Loved Una’s posts but knew I’d end up getting pissed at some of the comments so opted not to read them at all.

      Mind control? That’s a new one. Insulting indeed…as if we can’t formulate opinions on our own.

      But, Una, if you did have them, I would ask you to please find a way to glue Xavi’s lips together so he couldn’t talk. Oh, and have Sergio exchange shirts after EVERY game, rain, shine or snow. 🙂

  4. August 21, 2011 17:30

    I would vote for the superpower to be a Fashion Police powers, to -to put it gently – modify some of the fashion choices of the players;-))

    But wait, I think I was brainwashed by UnaMadridista, because I do not enjoy some of the clothes they wear, just like she says sometimes. It is all her fault because, apparently, at almost 30, I cannot form opinions on my own.

    please, someone guide me! LOL

    besos!

  5. Dia permalink
    August 21, 2011 17:30

    Has Barcelona taken to insulting Madrid fans now? Personally, the only one capable of mind control on me is a shirtless Sergio Ramos.

  6. August 21, 2011 17:30

    You Rule

  7. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    August 21, 2011 17:41

    Oh I have a request, Una you should direct your power in the direction of Iker and Ramos and tell a) lose the HATE Ramos b) IKER: must get rid of the collection of your man bags.

    Yeah, use your power for good, instead of corrupting the innocent minds of your madridista readers xD

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      August 21, 2011 17:44

      Of course I am kidding about the second part, Una! Being sarcastic.

  8. IsaBella permalink
    August 21, 2011 18:00

    I admire your blog Una, I’m your loyal reader and you’re amazing with all of us.

  9. Lorelei permalink
    August 21, 2011 18:05

    Una, while you’re out brainwashing people, could you get all of the players to stop shopping at Abercrombie & Fitch? Thanks in advance!

    And I’m still laughing at the quote about Iker, the “crazy boy.” Apparently, he only turns into Mr. Hyde when he criticizes Barcelona. Well, if the captain of La Roja cannot criticize Barca, then I think the second captain (Xavi) should also obey the same rule in regards to Madrid.

    • Vanessa G permalink
      August 23, 2011 01:58

      Bravo! Could not agree with you more! Xavi needs to show a little more diplomacy when speaking. Uh ohhh maybe I shouldn’t agree with you, someone might think you have mind control 😉 LOL

  10. Alyssa permalink
    August 21, 2011 18:19

    I’m so sorry you have to deal with all this. Some people just suck hmm? Thanks for sticking it out for us though! Never forget how much we appreciate it 🙂

    But seriously though, you must know what needs to be tackled first with these mind controlling powers: POPPED COLLARS!

  11. michel permalink
    August 21, 2011 18:40

    this is actually the first time i comment on this blog..i read it often as it offers a whole different perspective on RM.
    I love the .gif, the photos,the humor, everything..im a guy and i laugh at the girly things being said or noticed

    i dont comment much because, well its mostly girls commenting and the direction is steered in a way im not really willing to discuss..AND PLEASE no one feel offended, im sure girls can have a very good tactical conversation; actually one of the best people who comment on another great blog is a girl and she has the best things to say; good thing abt her is she always keeps a cool headed approach and i love discussing things with her

    but when i read this, i could feel the negative energy going on after these classicos..i dont know what anyone was insinuating, but there is one thing thats sure to me..with the great quality with which your blog is written, there must be pretty interesting and capable people reading it, and doing so regularly i mean..

    so whatever hateful people are insinuating here, keep doing what you’re doing unamadridista, i can tell you you’re doing a great job and i come here more often than not to checkout your new posts..best of luck

  12. maripili permalink
    August 21, 2011 19:50

    I think your comments were very balanced. Both teams were at fault on the field, but after the game Madrid players were a lot more conciliatory than Barcelona players who just kept adding coals to the fire.

  13. asma permalink
    August 21, 2011 19:59

    Haha..it is absurd, but take that as a compliment Una. This mind control power is a very rare gift, and how lucky that you have it!One thing for sure, you have the power to make us feel good when reading your blog.

  14. Marie permalink
    August 21, 2011 20:18

    Bravo Una, you’re incredibly awesome. My request? Please make sure Iker never uses a hideous purse/bag again. XD

  15. August 21, 2011 21:37

    ugh you are so perfect. and i love whenever you mention Javi(!!!!!!!!!) 😀

  16. Camas permalink
    August 21, 2011 21:50

    All i have to say is that if you dont like it then MOVE ON and DONT read this blog!

    Seriously, no one forces anybody to read this blog. One physcially must switch on the computer, type in the address and click on your website – ALL by themselves, I dont think you magically switch it on for them.

    On a postive – I know I dont comment a lot, but I LOVE this blog, sadly I dont understand spanish at all and you help me tonnes with staying connected with what madrid get up to!
    You do a awesome job and HATERS first need to come up with their own ideas.

    Just remember Una (sorry if thats not your name got it from your blog title)

    H – Hates
    A – Anyone
    T – That
    E – Ever
    R – Reaches
    S – Success

  17. Gilly permalink
    August 22, 2011 01:05

    Ah, look at Una defending ‘our’ honour- you really have that Madrista spirit at your core! 🙂
    Now back to pressing matters, such as your soon to be assembled army of Javi (!!) lovers: count me in! I’m down, his charm and your mind control/pic spam/constant references have won me over (and I suspect plenty more foot soldiers are willing to sign up!)

  18. ebrahim permalink
    August 22, 2011 01:35

    Thank you for a great blog una

  19. ebrahim permalink
    August 22, 2011 01:43

    Its in 3 tough years since our last la liga madrid supporters have found the ture supporters. Una writes a great blog and should be praised for that.

    We are all white and should stand together. The club needs our support :).

  20. Magda permalink
    August 22, 2011 02:04

    I just want to say how much I appreciate your blog and the time and effort that you put into writing it. It’s always something I look forward to reading. I also admire your patience regarding all of those negative comments in response to the “ICYMI – the bad edition” posts and your calm and reasonable, as always, responses to them.

    And regarding your mind control powers, I think you should get the official photographer to stop having everyone pose with their thumbs up in every single picture 😉

  21. August 22, 2011 03:56

    Really sorry to hear you received any negativity…Your postings are always the highlight of my commute in the morning! If you do have some mind control powers, however, I might have a list 🙂

  22. emily permalink
    August 22, 2011 04:01

    Will you please make Iker move to the USA, as my next door neighbor and become my daughter’s soccer coach? Thanks. (understand that you may mind control him to do something comPLETELY different, however, if you end up mind controlling Javi, then you know what to do…)
    Just out of curiosity, which comment led to this? I can’t wait to read it. I haven’t had enough humor in my day yet.

    • emily permalink
      August 22, 2011 05:58

      Were some of the comments from the individual formerly known as ‘culefan’ and a few other Barca-centric names? I wouldn’t doubt it…

  23. rojafan permalink
    August 22, 2011 05:24

    I don’t know about that. You “made” me like Real Madrid, the team, and many players I didn’t know much about before. Just be sure to use your power for good.;)

  24. black widow permalink
    August 22, 2011 05:45

    una, you rock.

    those who are delusional and think your readers are a bunch of lemmings who are incapable of forming opinions of their own are, sadly, likely going to think that no matter what. that’s their problem. obviously, we’re all hear because we all love RM, so i should think it would be equally obvious you and your readers are going to have many (but not all) opinions in common!

    that said, if you are able to use your considerable influence and mind manipulation for anything … d’you reckon you could vanquish a certain female spanish ‘journalist’ that’s been hanging about my iker the past little while to a galaxy far, far away? 😉

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      August 22, 2011 14:00

      “d’you reckon you could vanquish a certain female spanish ‘journalist’ that’s been hanging about my iker the past little while to a galaxy far, far away?”

      Seconded!!

  25. emily permalink
    August 22, 2011 06:28

    Conspiracy theorists, ponder on this:
    FC Barcelona is actually on a not-so clandestine mission to destabilize the Mourinho regime by creating the polemics that they believe will eventually lead to him being fired by the RM upper management. It all makes sense to me now! Jose’s leadership is actually perceived as a significant threat to Barcelona’s reign at the top of La Liga. Hence, they have ascertained that the best way to get rid of the threat is to make it appear that firing Mou is the only answer to ending the recent classico hostilities.
    Look at what the Barca players are doing and saying about him. They are trying to tell us that when they dive, it’s because of Mou. His mere presence is what drives them to jump up off the bench in hysterics over a red card foul, unlike every other team in the known world who stay put and leave the overblown theatrics to the ref. FCB obviously have him firmly in their cross-hairs and will stop at nothing to see him weakened in the eyes of the RM front office. It’s pure Genius. I wish I had thought of it! Sun Tzu wishes he had thought of it!
    Reaction…??!!

  26. August 22, 2011 08:05

    hehe Una, make Sergio buy a pair of orange pants, he doesn’t have that colour yet. =)?

  27. amouria permalink
    August 22, 2011 12:16

    The only power Una has is that she made us addicted to her blog. Personally, I take my afternoon coffee with the tasteful honey of unamadridista.wordpress.com
    Keep it up Una 🙂 🙂 🙂

  28. Con La Leyenda Blanca permalink
    August 22, 2011 19:23

    Enough negative energy indeed. More power to you Una!!!!! Keep filling us Caribbean Madridistas in on the latest. We really appreciate your work. Your meticulousness, your impartiality despite your love for Real Madrid and your sense of humour has us glued!!!

  29. Erika permalink
    August 22, 2011 20:02

    You have converted me into a Javi lover. 🙂

  30. Vanessa G permalink
    August 23, 2011 02:18

    Ohh my some people are quite creative? It never crossed their minds that since we are fellow Real Madrid fans that maybe just maybe we would have similar opinions?!

    You may not have mind control but you do provide the best updates and write it in such a charming and fun way that I love stopping by your blog every day. If that means I’ve been brainwashed I will glady be on team unamadridista 🙂 it doesn’t surprise me that most of my mind control requests have already been suggested so please work your magic on Iker and Ramos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

