Skip to content

odds and ends

September 2, 2011

There’s not a lot of news coming out of the Madrid camp, so this post is a bit brief (perfect for a cookie break!).

Madrid continued training with Castilla yesterday, due to the thinning in their ranks from international week.  Alberto Toril once again took charge, with José Mourinho also on hand.  As you can see, there was a bit of time for joking around, and at the center of it was none other than Kaká.  The third training session of the week will be this afternoon at 17h.

The real reason why he wanted to leave, so he wouldn’t have to do this again…

Madrid’s web site subsequently published an interview with Kaká, perhaps to make up for the slow news day (after all, they, unlike other media sources, can’t make up stories about the team).  Highlights:

on how he’s feeling after his goal against Zaragoza: very good.  I’m happy to start the Liga in this way.  It’s good for me because last year I started out badly due to the surgery I had to undergo.  Starting this year with a win, scoring a goal and participating during some minutes is great… it’s a goal that gave me a lot of hope because this summer a lot was said about me leaving Real Madrid, and after this goal the speculation stopped… my goal was the fifth one of the game and one more, but my teammates celebrated it together and that makes the group stronger.  And a game like that gives one a lot of confidence.

on his teammates: my teammates are helping me a lot.  They did it during the difficult times and now that things are improving, they’re very happy that things are going well for me… knowing that I have teammates that love me is an extra motivation.

on Mourinho: Mourinho has always given me a lot of confidence and credibility.  He could have said that he didn’t want this player and for him to find a team.  He believed that I could help and contribute to this team.  And not only him, but also the rest of the staff.  Rui Faria, Karanka, Morais, Louro and everyone with him have helped me and given me the strength to continue improving.

on what he would say to the fans: in the first place, I would like to say thank you because when I’m out on the street, everyone encourages me and tells me that they’re waiting to see the best Kaká.  This summer, they told me to stay and that they didn’t want me to leave Real Madrid.  I’d also tell them that I’m doing everything I can to triumph with this team and I know that this team will triumph.

Portuguese national team head coach Paulo Bento yesterday made a statement about the Ricardo Carvalho mystery.  The coach was quite angry, telling reporters at a press conference that “he abandoned his teammates and the country.  My doors are closed to him.  As long as I’m here, he won’t return to the national team.  It’s impossible.  This is not a situation that can be worked out by talking.  It’s a fact that he wasn’t going to start, that he was going to be on the bench, and he sensed the situation.  But he didn’t speak with me.  My door is always open to everyone, but he didn’t come to me.  We were in the breakfast room and we found out that a player had left.”  Bento continued, “he’s turned his back on the national team.  I don’t believe he acted in the heat of the moment, because a bit later he sent out a communique, and that doesn’t seem to be a normal reaction.  He knew what he did and the way in which he did it.  It was a surprise for me and for everyone… he should be punished because his attitude is individualistic, and no one else is responsible for the decision he made.”

Even if Carvalho doesn’t return to the team, I hope eventually everyone can make up, and this drama won’t affect his performance with Madrid or his relationship with the other Portuguese on the team.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 2, 2011 12:48

    Mourinho is not blamed for Ricky too!! Did he change him?!!…:P

    I dont know what actually happened to make Ricky this angry, but anyway I hope for the best for Portugal and his team-mates.

    • September 2, 2011 17:39

      LOL Sarah, I read a lot of comments around the interwebs trying to blame Mou for this incident too. Saying Mou is setting up a revolution in the national team so that he can take over for Bento. He’s going to be one busy coach next year, between Madrid, PSG and the Portuguese national team! 😉

      • Sarah, Madrid permalink
        September 5, 2011 11:55

        Hahaha! He is Harry potter after all, he can be in 3 places in one + his ability to changing his players into mini-me versions of Mourinho;).
        He is a quite the magician isn’t he?

  2. Muhammad permalink
    September 2, 2011 13:00

    Una I have been following your blog for quite a while all the way from South Africa and I absolutely love it.

    Is there any news on Nuri Sahin’s injury? I know Marca is reporting that he will be out for 2 months – is this true?

    Keep up the good work!!

  3. September 2, 2011 15:57

    just following up on muhammad’s comment is there any news on sahins injury as marca reported he might be out for up to two months…thanks and keep up the good work

    • unamadridista permalink*
      September 4, 2011 14:41

      I prefer not to speculate, so I won’t say anything until Madrid makes an official statement.

  4. Jennie Culhane permalink
    September 2, 2011 16:22

    You said not much news for this blog but I really enjoyed all of the pictures and videos of Kaka. Thanks for making my Friday morning.

  5. Alyssa permalink
    September 2, 2011 16:30

    I wish there was this much Kaká everyday! Who is it trying to attack Kaká’s ankles from the back in that first gif? I LOOOOOOVE those photos of him! I miss that smile! I miss him being so happy! I’m so glad he feels so much support from his teammates and that he knows the fans are behind him. Forever behind him, love him so much :).

    It sucks that the feelings of our two Rickys are so different with this week. I’m not sure how I feel about Carvalho’s situation but regardless, I hate that he’s that unhappy and I think he’ll be fine with the Madrid players since Coentrao lent him his car when he left the Portuguese NT.

    • Litta permalink
      September 7, 2011 16:05

      I would also love to know who was trying to attack Kakas ankles! I cant recognize him.

      • unamadridista permalink*
        September 7, 2011 16:16

        It looks like Mandi.

  6. September 2, 2011 20:06

    Glad to see kaka stay. I don’t expect his ld magic but 50% of that would be great for the team.

  7. gerge permalink
    September 2, 2011 21:45

    Another oppurtinity for UEFA to punish Real Madrid:

    The Portuguese football federation wants to punish Carvalho – including in his matches for us(what have we done them?) and there’s a rule in uefa that says the fed can do that.. It’s never actually happened before, as the rule only states they “can ask for it” but not anymore, but knowing UEFA, they’ll make up some bullshit excuse like how Carvalho has been a bad reference for football and this must be severerly punished

  8. September 3, 2011 04:23

    Una i’m so worried for Ricky Carvalho, i dont want him getting in trouble for something that he felt at heart. I’m sure Ricardo Carvalho is not the kind to throw a tantrum just because he was not going to be in the starting eleven. Maybe the way he was told or i dont know but im sure he had powerful enough reasons. I still worry.

  9. Futbolfan permalink
    September 4, 2011 06:16

    MY GOD. KAKAAAAAAAA!!!!
    HE’S SO AMAZING. LOOK AT THAT SMILE!

  10. Futbolfan permalink
    September 5, 2011 05:09

    KAKAAA!!!
    He’s so awesome. He seems to be the type of person who everybody just loves. He has cute pics and is buddies with everyone.

  11. Jennie Culhane permalink
    September 5, 2011 20:08

    Kaka is a basically happy person (even when things are not going so great) and people around him feel that. I am sure his faith, his beautiful wife and children add to his happiness. He is very blessed as am I.

  12. NickiBella permalink
    September 6, 2011 22:58

    Carvalho is one of the best defenders in the game and certainly one of Portugal’s best players. Mabe he didn’t handle the situation maturely, but he has more then earned a starting position on the national team and there is no reason for him to lose his spot. Shame on him for being immature, and shame on the coach for making a poor coaching decision.

Leave a Reply

