Skip to content

almost back to normal…

September 7, 2011

Ready for some La Liga action?  Things are slowly heading back to normal now that international week has wound down, and the focus is now on this weekend’s game against Getafe.


Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe, Fábio Coentrão and a very tan (Cris has some competition!) Mesut Özil (rockin’ a new headband, which despite being manufactured by Nike, matched perfectly with his Adidas training shirt) returned to the fold yesterday, but all eyes were on Enzo Fernández, who joined the first team in training for the first time.

Enzo, who is 16 and plays for Juvenil C, greeted José Mourinho before the session, walked onto the field talking with Lass and was watched over by his father during the session.  Other canteranos at this session were MFC ABMM, Álex, Carvajal, Joselu, Iván González and Jesús.  Meanwhile, Esteban Granero worked out in the gym, and Marcelo had a recovery session.

Madrid’s web site highlighted Enzo’s presence by dedicating an entire article to him.  I wish they wouldn’t pay so much attention to him, as it can’t be easy being Zidane’s son, with all the pressure that entails, and the last thing he needs is media attention.  After all, that’s why he’s registered with the club as Enzo Fernández, and not Enzo Zidane.  On the other hand, Madrid’s web site needs to give us more pictures of the club’s sporting director!  He’s amazing, no?  Hopefully the Zidane boys won’t take after their father in terms of hair, because all of them have such lovely, full heads of hair (especially Luca).  However, I much prefer papá Zidane with a shaved head than with hair.

We also got a player press conference for the first time in a long time, when José Callejón appeared in the press room.  Here’s what he said:

on Carvalho vs. Pepe:  there’s nothing there, they get along fine.  Ricardo must have had his reasons for doing what he did.  From my first day here, he’s shown great professionalism to me, from head to toe.

on his personal situation: I don’t want what happened to Pedro León and Canales to happen to me, although I’m conscious that on this team, the best play and it’s difficult to play, but I have confidence in my possibilities.  I want to show why I was signed in each training session and each game.  I know that I have to give everything to make the fans happy and bring titles to the club.

Love the dimple!!

on being in Madrid: there is a good atmosphere, the players have so much quality, the coach is a good person, very happy both on and off the field, and I also like the fans.  When you’re in the lower categories, it’s not the same.  The stadium is full, people are always waiting for you in Valdebebas… last year, I saw these players on TV.  I have to take advantage of being here.

on Enzo Fernández:  he looked great, it’s important for a 16-year-old player to train and learn from the older players.  The canteranos have to realize that they’re given a great opportunity, they have to give 100 percent in order for the míster and us to congratulate them.  Enzo has inherited some things from his father, like how he controls the ball…

International results:  Spain beat Liechtenstein 6-0 in their Euro qualifier, with all five of the madridistas starting the game.  Everyone except Sergio played the entire game, but Sergio did score a goal, Spain’s fourth one (sadly though, he didn’t celebrate with any backflips).  Meanwhile, Pipita Higuaín scored twice and Angelito once as Argentina defeated Nigeria 3-1 in Bangladesh, and Karim Benzema started France’s game against Romania, which ended 0-0.  I’m loving France’s very tight shirts, and happy that Karim looks great in them!

On Monday, Brazil had beaten Ghana 1-0 in London.  Marcelo’s hair looked fantastic.

Also on Monday, Portugal’s U-21 team (with Pedro Mendes) beat the French U-21 team (with Rafa Varane) 1-0 in a match-up of what could be Madrid’s two future centerbacks.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 7, 2011 12:37

    Una stop reading my thoughts hahaha! Same thing I been saying about Enzo’s hair!!..I think the fact he was a world wide TT on twitter is scary!!..I dont want pressure the KID!!..
    Btw, bring Enzo to training feels like “bring your kid” day of work, although NONE of former ( which is very sad! ) was presented, would have been nice if Iker was there, no?

  2. September 7, 2011 12:43

    im totally with you Una regarding Enzo. Dont like the media hype around him. Its not good. H will have it tough enough the comming years to always be compared with his dad.

    Btw, yesterday Denis scored with his Russia sub21 team for the 2-0 win against Poland in their Euro qualifier. =)

  3. endlessinfinity permalink
    September 7, 2011 13:00

    I was at the Argentina-Nigeria game! It was brilliant! Sadly I couldn’t get Pipita or Angel’s aurographs.

  4. cisarovna permalink
    September 7, 2011 13:30

    International week has been fun but I am ready for some La Liga action!! Thanks for explaining Enzo’s last name, was a bit confused at first. And Ozil is quite the fashionista with his varied headbands! There was a German journalist that referred to Sami and Mesut as the German submarines in Spain (to spy on the Spanish team) which is a bit of muckraking I suppose, but I think it is such a funny thing to picture Mesut and Sami riding around in a boat together, kind of like the Copa del Rey bus!?! Haha!

    And now it looks like Sahin is on twitter! Hopefully he verifies his account, but that photo with the hipster glasses is giving Granero some competition for biggest Hipster of Real Madrid!

  5. Didi permalink
    September 7, 2011 16:09

    I also thought that Mesut looked very tanned. But still good looking though…. 🙂

  6. Mike permalink
    September 7, 2011 16:33

    Marcelo with the “6” makes me happy inside. Following in Roberto Carlos’ footsteps.

  7. September 7, 2011 17:12

    Una thats true the Zidane boys all have gorgeous ( lots of ) hair, i like how Luca’s hair is lighter color compared to Enzo’s. And i to wish media did not pay much attention to Enzo right now, the kid just had the opportunity to train w/ the first team. As if the last name wasn’t a big deal to have on his shoulders, soon he is going to start having to deal w/ the press following him around comparing him to his father.

  8. Jenny permalink
    September 7, 2011 17:48

    I love those pictures of Marcelo!

    He’s not a footballer – he’s a ballerina!

    A very smiley ballerina 🙂

  9. Alyssa permalink
    September 7, 2011 23:27

    KARIM LOOKED SO SEXYYYY!!!!!! I’m a giant Spain fan so I was watching the France match before Spain started but even after Spain started, it was so incredibly difficult to look away from Karim! Now I know what color I want next season’s away kit to be, he looks so great in that blue! So sexy, just so so so sexy.

  10. trisha permalink
    September 8, 2011 03:44

    Hi Una, was there ever a rift between Carvalho and Pepe? I was not aware.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      September 8, 2011 15:57

      Read the last couple of posts…

  11. jean permalink
    September 8, 2011 16:46

    Ozil is looking really good and I see that he is tanned:).
    I hope there is not too much pressure on Enzo.I hope the press leaves him alone and I love the fact that he is registered as Enzo Fernandez.Its for the best.
    Good luck to jose:). I hope that what happened to Pedro Leon doesnt happen to him.
    Till this day I still dont know what exactly happened between Pedro Leon and Mou.Maybe they didnt get along or P.Leon didnt like his orders, its the past and I wish Pedro all the best in his new team!

  12. gillianrosh permalink
    September 9, 2011 04:03

    Man, when did Mesut get so HOT? He was adorable/adorkable last season, but now, the boy is a straight up fox!

  13. Diana permalink
    September 9, 2011 16:44

    Ozil looks HOT in that photo!!!!

  14. noim303 permalink
    September 9, 2011 22:33

    This is my first comment ever (of course, I’ve been reading your blog for a while) as I’ve always been happy to read, but this time I just felt an unavoidable supernatural force that made me come straight here and coment that first picture of yours.
    Way to go, girl, you couldn’t have picked a better opening picture! You completely made my day! See? That’s what Özil does to us (or to me, yeah)! Gotta love him!
    Anyways, I suppose you get told this a lot, but your blog is awesome and I always look forward to your posts, you always manage to make me smile! 🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      September 10, 2011 15:41

      Thanks! I appreciate you leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

