Skip to content

Iker & his anniversary at RMTV

September 13, 2011
tags:

Iker headed to the RMTV studios yesterday, to discuss his 12 years with Madrid’s first team, and his lifetime at Real Madrid.  There’s a lot of footage of baby and young Iker, so it’s definitely worth the half hour or so of your time.  Plus, grown-up Iker isn’t too tough on the eyes either, despite that new mustache.  Watch the video here; highlights below.

on when he decided to become a goalkeeper:  I was already playing with my father at the age of four, in Móstoles, they would put me in the goal, my uncles and my parents gave me gloves, knee pads… I liked it because I liked falling to the ground, I liked returning home with bruises and torn clothing.  My mother would scold me, but I liked it.

on knowing that he would make it by the age of 12: it was a sixth sense that I had, they always had a lot of confidence in me, and I had a lot of confidence in myself as well.  Each year that passed was another challenge for me, I was doing what I liked, so imagine it when you’re 12 or 13…

on his first tryout with Madrid: I had trained with my dad before, and I was playing with kids who were 12 or 13, or five years older than me.  I was eight and a half when I had my first tryout, and I remember that I was still too young to play for Madrid, since there were still six months before the next test, since you had to be nine to join.  During this time, my father had a lot of confidence in me, but my mother was more reserved because she didn’t want to give me any false hope.

We also get to see one of the first interviews Iker ever did, when he was 15, with the local television when they were in Barranquilla, Colombia, and Iker remembered that he said many things because he was nervous.  Iker said during that interview, “I’m with Madrid until death.”  Iker adds that he’s been a madridista since he was four or five, “and still now.”  There is also footage of a game Iker played with RMC, and he says he remembers exactly what happened in that game, and the first interview he did with RMTV (February 1999), with Iker and the camera bullfighting, with a Real Madrid flag as the cape.

on his father saving newspaper clippings: he cut out and saved all the press clippings where my name appeared, regardless of the newspaper or the content of the article.  I have four or five big books full of them, until I made it to the first team.  During the first year, my father continued to do that, in case I wouldn’t be on the team the next year.  He stopped doing it during the second year, but I’m happy my father did this, it was a nice gesture.

on where he sees himself in 10 years time (footage from February 1999): I don’t know, I have no idea.  I hope it’s like this, being on the first team and being one of the best goalkeepers in the world.  I know it’s difficult, but I live in the present, and my present now is having the luck of playing for promotion from the third to the second division.

on where he sees himself in 10 years time (as of September 2011):  I hope I’m still here.  It’s not the same as when you’re 17 or 20, when you have a different outlook on the future.  I plan things so I can enjoy each year.  Playing for Real Madrid is the greatest thing in the world, I want to enjoy each moment, to help those who come here, help my fellow goalkeepers, and make them see that it’s a privilege to be here and be part of this team.

on his debut and subsequent months: it had been a strange summer, I was the third goalkeeper of the first team, after Bizzarri and Illgner, and the goalkeeper of Castilla.  That pre-season, both Bizzarri and Illgner was injured, so I was with the first team during that entire pre-season.  I trained with them every day.  I remember that before San Mamés, Illgner was injured and Bizzarri recovering from a shoulder injury.  The previous day, before we went to Bilbao, Toshack asked me on the bus how I was.  I told him good, happy to travel with the team, and he told me that’s great, because tomorrow you’re going to play.  So I got really nervous, and I told my parents.  I remember that night I was rooming with Fernando Hierro, and he left me alone to sleep so I could calm down.  So, I went from disputing the playoffs of the Segunda B division in front of 2,000 people at the old Ciudad Deportiva to playing in San Mamés in front of 50,000 people.   It wasn’t easy, but I think I did pretty well for the first time.  I would give myself a “notable” (about a seven to eight out of 10).  Then there was a month where people were talking about Madrid’s goalkeepers, and they would joke about Illgner, Bizzarri and me, then I spent a month playing with Castilla, until I was called up to the first team again due to an injury to Illgner.  By November, Toshack had left and had been replaced by Del Bosque, and he had confidence in me.  I began playing from that point on.

They then show a report from May 2000, from the time of La Octava, because they were celebrating Iker’s birthday.  Iker is seen at the old Ciudad Deportiva, driving his father’s “legendary Renault 19.”  Then it’s on to Paris, and we get glimpses of Macca!  Hierro!  Redondo!  “And look, there I am with another character, Aitor Karanka.”  There are also scenes from the bus, where we see the beginnings of the Perfect Profile, and from the celebration in the locker room and Cibeles (I remember those, and I was there!!).  Iker said he had never been to Cibeles as a fan.  We then get some footage from La Novena.

They also discuss which save was Iker’s best, and there are two candidates: the one against Sevilla two seasons ago, and one against Racing in 2004-05, when Iker was playing for two to three months with a broken finger on his right hand, so he was playing much better with his left hand than his right, and “I have a lot of affection for this save.”

His most emotional time at Cibeles was celebrating the “epic comeback” season of 2006-07, and the celebration was for more than a Liga, since it had been a while since Madrid won anything.  They show him celebrating with Miguel Torres (!!!!!!) from the 2007-08 season, and since Iker was saying “this is my fourth league title,” Miguel replied, “he’s showing us what to do!”  Then Miguel talks about how he’s also a canterano, and gives Iker a kiss.  Iker says, “he’s another phenomenon.  I’ve always gotten along really well with Miguel, a boy who was also in the cantera, and I have a fabulous friendship with him that has lasted to today, and I hope for a long time.”  Awwww!!

Then they talk about the current era, and it’s nothing that Iker hasn’t said before.  A great look back at the legendary career of Iker Casillas, no?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 13, 2011 14:12

    I actually would love if there is a series of Iker Life an episode that we can see everyday or every week, maybe?!..
    I wish there is more programs like this one…

    and Miguel!!!!!!……….

  2. September 13, 2011 14:41

    Iker is the only man along with Raúl who will always represent my team to me.

    Iker and Real Madrid will always be linked together in my head and heart no matter what. San Iker. He really deserves that name for now just being an incredible goalkeeper and captain but a fabulous person as well. We’re lucky to have him.

  3. @ulonghaz permalink
    September 14, 2011 02:30

    I am wishing for Iker’s biography :*

  4. thisperson permalink
    September 14, 2011 23:45

    aww
    the best part was with Miguel!!!!!!!!!!! (a billion exclamation marks)

    thanks Una 🙂

  5. Alyssa permalink
    September 15, 2011 00:04

    I love this man so much it’s probably unhealthy.

  6. September 15, 2011 07:26

    Anybody else miss Miguel Torres? Why did we let go of that guy?

Leave a Reply

