Skip to content

ICYMI – the ‘pobre, feo, malo’ edition

September 20, 2011

In case you missed it – Levante vs. Real Madrid [2011-09-18, Liga jornada 4, 1-0].

José Mourinho was onto something there (see, he just wasn’t being ironic or sarcastic) because our goal really does appear to be to get to 40 points, especially now that we know it won’t be easy.  As Sergio Ramos said, “on these fields, Ligas are won and lost.”  This game was characterized by a lot of flopping and bad acting from both sides that would have done a certain team proud.  That, plus some ineffective play from our boys, is why the name of this post perfectly sums up the game.  That’s how I see it, I’m tired of hearing excuses.

ONE.  A sampling of the frustration that our boys and us fans felt while watching the game.  By the way, since Mourinho arrived, on average someone has been sent off once every four games.

TWO.  It had all started out so well.  In the tunnel, while Iker was tying his shoelace, his former national team teammate Juanfran came up to him.  They hugged and proceeded to chat and laugh for a long while.

THREE.  Prior to the game, a moment of silence was held for Vicente Esteve, the chaplain of the team who had passed away earlier in the week.  I love Marcelo Sunshine’s eyelashes!  Look at the natural curl on them!  I’m jealous…

FOUR.  The game was of course characterized by the “trampa” (trap) that Sami Khedira fell into.  By the way, Sergio Ballesteros weighs 93 kilos.  It would take a lot more than a shove to knock him over.

Sami applauded Sergio Ballesteros sarcastically twice as he left the field.

FIVE.  It was also one of those games where the cameras focused on the bench a lot, due to the presence of (so far) habitual starters Cristiano Ronaldo and Mesut Özil.  The other five who rounded out the bench were Adán, Lass, Arbeloa, Callejón and Pipita.  The new bromance of Callejón and Higuaín sat together…

… though Cris and Mesut also showed that theirs needs to be considered too.

SIX.  The way Sergio fell down + the camera angle = one of the few good things about this game.

SEVEN.  Kaká was so frustrated that his hair rebelled.

EIGHT.  Cris was quite the active spectator, jumping up each time Madrid had a chance, only to deflate and sit down in disappointment when they missed, or were offside.  You have to love his enthusiasm.  And how he rolls up his shorts.

NINE.  Iker started out the game in yellow, with black socks.  But after the halftime, he reappeared wearing yellow socks.  It might be because he looked too much like a referee.  And when are we going to get to see the striped socks?  I’m really looking forward to that.

TEN.  Fábio looks quite different when his hair is deflated, no?  I loved how he got so angry and started shouting things.

ELEVEN.  Prior to the game, the boys were all looking quite boss on the bench, led by the head boss himself, Xabi Alonso.  While Mejías, Coentrão and Varane checked out what Cris had in his hands, Pipita bit his nails and the Spaniards had a conversation.

Later on, Álvaro showed Pipita something on his mobile, which prompted quite a strange reaction from Gonzalo, Lass and Rafa.  Gonzalo was stymied and not too happy, Lass was in disbelief and Rafa thought it was kind of funny.

TWELVE.  Well, it looks like the rest of Iker’s facial hair is catching up to the mustache.  That’s a good thing.

THIRTEEN.  More scenes from the bench, including Pipita sticking his foot up and chatting with Mesut, and whispering sweet nothings into the ear of José Callejón.  I like José’s response of semi-sarcastic nodding.

FOURTEEN.  The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

FIFTEEN.  Poor Marcelo, things weren’t so sunshine-y.

SIXTEEN.  Mesut needs to take a lesson from Pipita on how to wear the shirt – look at how Pipita’s is perfectly arranged to highlight one of his best assets, and how Mesut’s just hangs there and doesn’t highlight anything.

SEVENTEEN.  Sergio said after the game that everyone was to blame for the loss.  He commented, “it was quite a complicated game.  It’s clear than when you’re playing with one less, it’s important to create occasions.  There’s no reason to blame this on any teammate.  We’re all guilty for the loss today.”

How does his hair look so good after running around and sweating for 90 minutes?  My hair never looks this good after the gym.

Meanwhile, Pepe said, “the referees are there to do their job and they didn’t do it.  Before Khedira was sent off, there was a foul on Di María, with the line judge on the scene.  The referee has to be fair to both sides.  We played good football and many times they didn’t let us play.”  He added, “it’s clear that this year, they’re going for Cristiano Ronaldo.”

EIGHTEEN.  The Mou corner.  He went from slouching to note taking.

on the defeat: while we played 11 against 11, we played well, they didn’t advance the ball past the center and Casillas didn’t touch the ball.  We had good chances, two of them without the goalkeeper.  On a difficult field, because it’s bad, and because they defended a lot, we managed to dominate and start the game well.  When we were left with 10, the game was balanced.  Then they scored and the game was almost over, although we still reacted and in the end, there was a clear penalty that would also have been a second yellow.  It could have had a great influence on the game.  If we scored, then 10 on 10 is a different story…

on Levante and Khedira: I don’t want to take any merits away from Levante.  Here at home, they’re allowed to do what they want and they do it very well.  I congratulate them for being smart, because they knew how to provoke, simulate and get extra time, they knew how to do all this, which is also football.  We don’t like being in this type of game and they know it.  Last year, we took them apart in the Copa but we’re not comfortable in this habitat that they know how to create better than anyone else in the Liga.  My team has good players that play well in great stadiums but they’re not capable of adapting to the situation, the dirty part of football, the provocations, the simulations, the wasting of time… Madrid is not comfortable like that.  For me, it was the fault of my player, who should have known better because we’ve spoken about these types of situations.  And Khedira fell into their – I don’t know how to say this in Spanish, when you put out this thing to catch an animal… – trap.   He knew perfectly and I place part of the responsibility for the defeat on him, I don’t have any problems in doing so.  The referee is also at fault because he didn’t call a penalty and the sending off was too much.  I’m also at fault, along with the other players that were on the field.

Mou added that he had spent a large portion of the pre-game chat at the hotel warning the players about what could happen, listing situations similar to the one that led to Khedira’s red card.  He also said that at two in the afternoon, Cris told him that he wasn’t completely healed, that his evolution hadn’t gone well in the last day, but he wanted to put himself at the disposition of the team to help.  Mou also praised Kaká, saying that he was one of the best in the first half and played very well.

I don’t like that Mou called out Khedira.  We win as a team, we lose as a a team.  And didn’t Mou also say something like, when we win, it’s due to the players, and when we lose, I’ll take the blame?  He can yell at Khedira in private (and he probably did) but airing it like this… I don’t like it.

Who knew the back of Mou and Rui’s iPad would be covered in stickers?

NINETEEN.  Other notes:

– Madrid was back in training on Monday, as there is a midweek Liga match this week, on Wednesday at 20h against Racing in El Sardinero.

– congratulations to Spain, champions of Europe in basketball, and to our Real Madrid champions, Felipe Reyes and Sergio Llull and our newest addition, Rudy Fernández.  And what a detallazo by tournament MVP and captain Juan Carlos Navarro to allow “Felipón” to accept the trophy on behalf of the team.  Navarro (and the team) had come up with this idea to cheer up Felipe, as his father passed away suddenly just days before the tournament started and so of course he was very sad.

– there were many signs at the Ciutat de València playing off of Cris’ comment.  He was also serenaded with “guapo, guapo,” while the team heard the singing of “a segunda, oé, a segunda oé…”

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:30

    Let me take a guess on Pipa reaction, Atletico scoring 4-0?…..

    x_x!!!…..This game leave with a “shock” feeling, I was this close to tear-up, everything that can possibly go wrong in a game went, we dived, we went physical, we allowed a goal, we came up with lame excuses.
    WE SHOULD GET OUR ACT TOGETHER….

    and Btw Una!! I hope I actually missed this one, you caputre the best moments of the game, I kind hope I saw what you post..

    The fact that we are getting 4 cards every game, I dont know who to blame? Mourinho, players, referee ( ironically)..

    anyway first lost shake it up and think about the next..I love Le Ramos comment amazing….

    • Sarah, Madrid permalink
      September 20, 2011 11:47

      I forget to add, what about Mourinho forgeting about the ” Di Maria ” dive and pulling a busquets, focused on Khedira who was helping a team-mate, Khedira is not a fan fav from the first place ( which I think is very unfair), throwing him under the bus like that, it doesnt seem like something that Mourinho would do..

      I dont get Mourinho in this statement, blaming his own player!!

  2. Moonzi permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:46

    Blaming Khdeira for the defeat was a bit too harsh ! I blame the game plan and the tactics i wished Mou would’ve admitted he made a mistake ! and not blame his own players ! What would he expect from them seeing one of their own on the ground ! Thanks to DI Maria’s skills in exaggerating ! This game seriously frustrated me ! Seeing our boys so Down and can’t do anything about what’s happening was TRAGIC !

  3. September 20, 2011 12:07

    It was really horrible to watch that game, but thank you so much Una for some sweet stuff.

    As always, I like your blog 🙂

  4. cisarovna permalink
    September 20, 2011 12:26

    Maybe I am over reacting, but I am becoming concerned with the mentality of the team under Mou. Mou did not apologize for his behaviour in the Supercopa, but is willing to blame Khedira for this loss as a result of some poor, but not nearly as ridiculous behaviour? I realize no two situations are exactly the same, but something about these reactions do not seem consistent to me.

    I am also worried that Mou may wind the players up too much, but with that I do not mean to say the players are not responsible for their own actions. Still we have now seen red cards for both Germans, not for tackles gone awry, but physical altercations which is not what you would expect from either of them. It is strange and suspicious to me. I suspect Sami was fighting for his spot in the starting 11 on Sunday, and while I understand the importance of having competition in the squad to keep players sharp, if you wind them too tight, it would logically make them more susceptible to these kinds of things.

    I am also not really convinced that Kaka was any better than Mesut over the past few games, which is to say not horrible but not great, yet Mou singled him out as great. I think it is obvious Mou is trying to make Mesut fight harder for his spot, to motivate him, but I am not sure every player reacts the same to this. I guess we will find out. I also hope Sami does not end up like Peter Lion, with Pepe and Coentrao both injured (per Marca) then maybe he will get at least one more start in two games.

    • Kristen permalink
      September 21, 2011 18:34

      Cisa, I couldn’t agree more with your observations. I am very, very concerned about what I am seeing. Red cards, fights, irrational behaviour, hot heads, etc. It is sad and not what Real is about. I don’t know if Mou is worth this…

  5. Cindy permalink
    September 20, 2011 12:55

    I want to forget about this game.

  6. Meera permalink
    September 20, 2011 13:16

    More than anyone else, Pepe was the worst on the field. The manner he tripped, stepped on and eventually kicked the head of Xavi Torres was utterly shameful and violent. And he has done this in the past as well, behaving like a deranged animal on the field. I am surprised that the Madrid fans – you in particular – never call this into question. It is like, as long as he is ours, he can be as criminal as possible. Shame!

  7. Real Madrid permalink
    September 20, 2011 13:53

    I have a feeling that Arbeloa’s video is Lucio’s kick to Stekelenberg.

    • cisarovna permalink
      September 21, 2011 12:14

      I was thinking the same thing. That looked painful!!

    • Kristen permalink
      September 21, 2011 18:35

      I thought the video might be of Torres missing a wide open net in the United/Chelsea match!

  8. manie permalink
    September 20, 2011 13:54

    And didn’t Mou also say something like, when we win, it’s due to the players, and when we lose, I’ll take the blame?

    I forgot he said that. In that case, yea, I agree with you. I can understand why he’s upset with Sami though; I would also hope that he gave Di Maria a very stern talking-to. Shrugging my shoulders at his propensity to fall over and dismissing it…well, we paid the price.

    I was also really disappointed with the changes to the team that Mou made after the halftime incident. I can’t understand why he kept Di Maria on. Anyways, onto the next match. Hala madrid!!!

    • September 21, 2011 14:15

      Yeah, I remember Mou saying that too. I was horrified when he blamed Sami for this bs. This is just wrong.

      Also, I just want to forget this match and our disgraceful behaviour.

  9. September 20, 2011 14:32

    Thanks for this nice summary of the match, I love it as always.

    And I totally agree with you, I did not like that Mou blamed Sami for the lost match…
    Sure it was a serious point in the match when he got the second yellow card, but other players of our team annoyed me much more, for example Di Maria with his constant diving and falling…

    Woody 🙂

  10. September 20, 2011 15:03

    “Later on, Álvaro showed Pipita something on his mobile, which prompted quite a strange reaction from Gonzalo, Lass and Rafa. Gonzalo was stymied and not too happy, Lass was in disbelief and Rafa thought it was kind of funny.”

    I don’t really know *why* but the first thing that came to my mind when I read this and looked at the pictures was: He shows them Torres missing the goals! X’D
    I’m not a Chelsea-fan but at this day Torres-missing-the-goal was over all football blogs, forums etc. I follow and my reaction was a mixture of Gonzalo, Lass and Rafa, something like “Oh no!” & disbelief & amusement …

    • September 21, 2011 14:14

      I realised just how football obsessed I am when I saw this and thought of the same thing. My reactions where kinda similar, and I don’t even follow the EPL.

  11. Laura permalink
    September 20, 2011 15:07

    I agree with you on the way Mourinho spoke about Khedira in the public. There was absolutely no need to discuss this in public.
    Since I couldn’t watch the game, I can’t talk about the situation. I think it takes more then being 11 men on the pitch to win a game. You have to be a team. And as a team you can win matches even if you are down to 10. But at least there must be a reaction as a team.
    What I’m trying to say it’s that I think it’s a bit unfair from Mourinho to say the red card was the most reason why they lost. (Maybe he didn’t meant it, but for me it sounds like that)

    Hopefully Sami will not be the next Pedro Léon.

  12. Kristine permalink
    September 20, 2011 15:12

    Grrrrrrrrr. Booooooo. Hissssssss.

    I wasn’t able to watch the game and I still haven’t watched it, but I followed along on my phone. I am still pretty cranky over the loss. So much hope that this would be our year!!!
    So hoping that this was just a bump in the road. Come on guys! get it together!!!!

    Anyway, Frustrated and In pain Sergio are still doing it for me. Thanks Una!

  13. KathyInCA permalink
    September 20, 2011 15:46

    I bet the video on the phone was Torres missing his open goal shot. I think it got the same mixed reaction all over the world. And, I agree, Mou shouldn’t place public blame on one player. It is a team sport.

  14. September 20, 2011 16:53

    I love how Cristiano lives the game, even when he’s on the bench.

    I am extremely disappointed at Di Maria’s play-acting. He’s such a good player and him pulling a “Busquets” (not for the first time, or the last) is just the worst thing ever. He’s a cheat, plain and simple. It pains me to talk about a Madrid player this way, but it’s the truth, and look what his cheating has resulted to. His flopping about directly resulted in a teammate of his being sent off and, maybe in our team losing. So for me, if there’s anyone to blame, it’s Angel.

    I agree though, that Mou shouldn’t have called out Sami (or any other player, even Angel) that way. That was uncalled for, and I can only imagine what it must feel like for Sami. His sending off (which was a tad unfair to begin with) probably contributed to his team losing, then his coach confirms to the press that he thinks that, too. He must be crushed…

  15. Elizabeth permalink
    September 20, 2011 19:11

    I’d say that, judging from the don’t-know-whether-to-laugh-or-cry reactions, Arbeloa was probably showing Higuain, Lass, and Rafa, a video of his former teammate Torres’ miss against ManU. It should have happened just a few hours before Madrid played, and I know that’s always the reaction I have when I see a miss like that.

  16. September 20, 2011 19:56

    After reading Mou’s post-match presser, I think that Mou is the one who is encouraging Di Maria to dive. He’s blaming Sami and the ref for our loss, and also saying that Levante are best when it comes to simulating and provoking, but Mr.Mourinho failed to see that Di Maria was the one who made that vicious challenge on the Levante player and then over-exaggerated the tap on his face which lead to Sami’s dismissal.

    And I think that Mou still doesn’t have faith in Benzema. When Ronaldo has a terrible game, he doesn’t sub him off, but for Benzema, he did. We were down to ten-men and Mou opted to play without a striker. Those 15 mins were the most dreadful period of the game.

    Kaka became clueless in the second half. We were playing Stoke City’s ‘launch long balls from back and pray them to reach our attackers’ style. And I won’t blame our players for that, I’ll blame Mou because when you don’t have a natural forward up front, your players will be clueless of what to do.

    Mou should’ve subbed off Kaka for Oezil and Coentrao for Ronaldo and played with a 4-1-3-1 which would’ve kept our attack in shape. Xabi had a great game defensively and he alone would’ve been enough to keep out Levante’s attackers as our attack would have had its previous shape; thus their pressing would’ve kept Levante at bay.

    The season is still fresh and nothing has gone wrong yet. But if Mou keeps blaming the wrong person, and doesn’t accept his mistakes, then some of our players will continue behaving on the field like thugs and that will make many Madridistas unhappy.

    • cisarovna permalink
      September 21, 2011 12:11

      I agree that the substitutions did not make the most sense. I had a hard time figuring out what the formation was, I am not sure the players exactly knew either. It was “just score a goal, anyone please”

  17. Mouah permalink
    September 20, 2011 20:43

    I think Alvaro showed the massive goal miss from Fernando Torres during the match ManU-Chelsea. The guy’s reactions fit and the time of the match too. Actually, I’m pretty sure that was it !

  18. September 20, 2011 21:16

    you should’ve named it ” the party was not easy” as iker said on facebook :d

  19. Sunny permalink
    September 20, 2011 21:41

    It’s nice that you found some positive moments during the game, because I couldn’t think of any. Terrible display all around.

  20. Stella permalink
    September 20, 2011 22:58

    Thanks for a good post and this is exactly my feelings. I feel bad for Sami that he end up like the black sheep and all he wanted to do was protect Di(ving) Maria. Don’t like it at all, and I am so over all the diving things about Di Maria, he is a good player and he don’t need to act this way. Karma is a bitch and sometime is payback time this time was ours. Im sick off all this drama things and I hope to see more about football and less about cheating in all different ways.

    Naaw. I beet Arbeloa shows Lass, Pipita and Raffa the huge miss Fernando Torres did against Man United because all of my friend had the same reaction when we saw it.

  21. September 21, 2011 00:29

    I couldn’t watch the match again, so ICYMI save me these days, really, so thanks UnaMadridista for your report!

    While I am waiting for all the gifs to load, I am left speechless looking at the one that is loaded already – in part ONE, right top corner: IKER. He looks amazing there, I remain in awe. Nothing really matters.

    On to the topic- it’s a pity they lost, but on the other hand – if there was ever a good time to lose with Levant 😉 or anyone else, it’s now, not later on.

    I am a bit tired of excuses too, they just need to play, that is all. They are Real Madrid, there will be always controversial situations with them (and I agree that there are many, but underlining them leaves the taste of frustration that they cannot win because there is a “plot” against them anyway). The best way to overcome them is just to play so the team has such an advance that cannot be minimised even with the controversial behaviour of either the opponents or the referees.

    I like Jose, I said it many times, and I believe when people say that he is a nicer person in the backstage, on the trainings, in the team. But my latest feeling is that there’s a bit too much passive agressiveness, fierceness -whatever is the best word to call it – there’s a bit of lack of calmness from him and I think that maybe that is what the team would need now. I don;t know.

    In the meantime the gifs loaded – brilliant choices;-)

  22. Gina permalink
    September 21, 2011 03:54

    As much as I love Mou, I don’t like what he publicly said about Khedira either. If he HAD to call out our players, it’d be fair he said something about Di Maria too. I like that kid as a player but his diving is getting more embarassing. I hope Mou or other coaching members have had a good talk to him about this.

  23. asma permalink
    September 21, 2011 05:08

    How I wish to know what Alvaro showed to Pipita, Lass and Rafa!!!

    Una, doesn’t Iker have an away colour? Like last season it was light blue. So far he has been in yellow all the time. I agree the colour is very eye-catching and too bright, and makes it easier for the opponent to spot him. I think it was Di Stefano who said this.

    And thanks very much for this lovely post.

  24. September 21, 2011 05:55

    Perhaps they’d just seen Torres miss his chance at United over the weekend? That’s kind of how I reacted too. My laughter was more disbelief than any sort of “haha” because I hate to see someone struggle like that…

    As for the game. This is one to forget and move on… This was NOT the team we saw in the preseason or the team that could have beat Barcelona in the Supercopa. It was frustrating but as I said to a bunch of Barca fans I know.

    At least I still support Real Madrid, win or lose

  25. Mandy permalink
    September 21, 2011 06:04

    I also don’t like that Mou called out Khedira. It seems that he has favouritism in Di Maria. Why doesnt he blame Di Maria for over-reaction??? Mou feels it was a trap, but, i think that trap was set by Di Maria. If Mou dislikes that, he should blame both of them. I believe Sami must feel very sad about that.

    Sergio’s comment is more fair. I think everyone has responsibility on the loss. There’s no reason to blame this on any teammate.

  26. Didi permalink
    September 21, 2011 12:10

    WE WIN AS A TEAM AND WE LOSE AS A TEAM

Leave a Reply

