Skip to content

ICYMI – the back to business edition

September 26, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Rayo Vallecano [2011-09-24, Liga jornada 6, 6-2].

The alegría returned to the Bernabéu on Saturday night, though the game didn’t start out too well.  And judging by the show that Mou was giving on the sidelines, he was quite concerned about this game, as were the players, with these looks of intensity on their faces.  But in the end, it all worked out and hopefully we can take this momentum and this optimism into the Champions League this week.  And per Mou’s words, I wonder if there are some very sad people out there this week.

ONE.  The last three games, we only managed to score one goal, and this game, we scored six.  Cris scored his 10th hat trick with Real Madrid (nine in the Liga, one in the Copa), and his second of the season (the first one was against Zaragoza).  That deserved a kiss (Irina was in the palco).

Our other forwards, Gonzalo Higuaín and Karim Benzema, also chipped in a goal each, and the celebration after Pipita’s goal was my favorite.  First, Ángel di María jumped into Gonzalo’s arms, and then there was a cute hug with Marcelino.

And of course, the newest bromance had to celebrate: Gonzalo and José Callejón.

Some more of the celebrating at the Bernabéu on Saturday night.

TWO.  The goal that Michu scored, 12 seconds into the game (and before many of the spectators had even sat down), was the fastest goal ever scored in the stadium, beating the goal that Cuco Ziganda scored 15 seconds into the game for Athleti on Nov. 22, 1997.

THREE.  Despite being up by four goals, Iker still had the pissed off look on his face.  Prior to the game, he had hugged his old friend and occasional nemesis, Raúl Tamudo.

FOUR.  The substitution of Mesut Özil for Lass changed the game, and Madrid was finally able to play football and score some goals.  I like how Mou went up to Lass after he subbed him out to make sure he understood why he did it.

Thoughts on Ozi’s long hair?

FIVE.  With his goal, Rafa Varane become the youngest foreign footballer to score for Madrid in the Liga, at the age of 18 years and 152 days.  He’s also the fourth youngest foreign player to score in the history of the Liga.  And what a pretty goal he scored, no?  I’m excited about him, and hope he’s given the space and the time to develop what appears to be a lot of potential.

SIX.  After Ángel di María was given a second yellow card/red card, Mou went up to Rayo coach José Ramón Sandoval, shook his hand, and whispered something in his ear.  They would again embrace during the game, and after it.  In his post-game press conference, Sandoval revealed, “he told me I was very smart (laughs), he congratulated me for the expulsion, but he knew that it was an expulsion because (Di María) touched the ball with his hand.”  Side note: Mou needs to sit Ángel down for a little chat.

SEVEN.  I really need to know the secret behind Sergio’s shiny, silky and smooth hair.  It just looks better and better, no?

EIGHT. Thoughts on the Adidas vest that Mou was wearing?  I thought he looked like a priest.

NINE. 

(I didn’t write anything up there, because it’s not like you were going to read it anyway, with the pictures below.)

And while we’re on this certain area, the cameras caught José Morais giving Mou a little pat or two on the ass, and Iker throwing his practice shorts into the crowd.  Why does he insist on wearing so many layers?  ¿Por qué?  ¿Por qué?  Do I sound like Mou?

TEN.  After the game, Raúl Albiol said in the mixed zone (with Cristiano running past him so he wouldn’t have to speak to the press), “I have to congratulate the fans because they were patient and they didn’t stop cheering us on in any moment.”  El Chori also put those rumors that he was going to leave to rest: “I’m only thinking about working hard and helping my team.  No one told me anything about how they’re not counting on me… there’s nothing (to the rumors) about leaving Real Madrid.”

Meanwhile, Kaká told Canal +, “it’s difficult to start the game by giving up a goal, but we showed a lot of character.  It’s an important win, because it helps us recover our confidence.”  I didn’t hear much of what he was saying, because I was thinking that he looked just like Paco Pavón, and I had never thought that the two of them resembled each other before.  What do you think?

ELEVEN.  The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

TWELVE.  The Mou corner.

José Mourinho, in his press conference, said that the fact that Sami Khedira was on the bench had nothing to do with the expulsion from the Levante game, that it really hurt him to sub Lass out for Özil so early on in the game, “but the team needed it.  Lass understood that the first priority is the team and the interests of the team are above all others.”  He also said that “in adversity, you see one’s character and the men and this team have reacted.”

I mentioned his gestures earlier, and I also liked how while Madrid was taking a corner, Mou called Iker over to give him some encouragement.

THIRTEEN.  In the morning, the players left their hotel for Valdebebas to have a training session.  Sergio must know how good his hair looks, he looks like he’s on a runway.  And of course, the A-team was together, while everyone’s best friend Pipita had his arm around Mesut as they walked towards the bus.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 26, 2011 14:34

    I want Pipita to be my best friend too..:(!

    Una how do you make this observation, Kaka-Pavon, actually he does :O.

    Hala Madrid!!, still not 100% on board with the perfomance, still it is more a restore of confidence game, I thought kaka did excellent job, it is a pitty we were down to 10 men ( Gracias Angel :/) – who btw need some serious one-on-one talk with Mou he is getting on my nerves now!.

    Iker FAIL, like seriously does he has a wet-suit under his jersey :p!..Ozil’s hair NO!..I love Varane celebration, I love Cris hug, adorableeee…

  2. Pipita permalink
    September 26, 2011 14:45

    I’m really wondering if Ozil has cut his hair since he came to Madrid, I really don’t think so. Well, I haven’t seen any change anyway. He looks so much better in short hair.

  3. September 26, 2011 15:12

    I have to say I was almost ready to cry for a bit when the match started. I’m so glad that things worked out for us. The pressure on the boys to win constantly is tremendous and constant. I wonder how they put up with it.

  4. emily permalink
    September 26, 2011 15:34

    thanks Una!

  5. Lisa permalink
    September 26, 2011 15:35

    I’m glad Rayo scored early, our guys have lacked urgency lately and some of them have looked distracted too. I know they are capable of beating anyone, and I will support them always, but I have to admit I was a little worried if they would respond, so glad they did, I hope they continue this way. HALA MADRID! Totally agree Mr. Mourinho has to speak with Angel. Una great post as always. 🙂
    There was a point in the match where I laughed so hard tears came… I can’t remember which player fouled Marcelo, but when Marcelco started to sit up in protest he got close-lined by the rayo players crotch and went down like a sack his beautiful locks in tow.. it’s worth having another look, I was hoping you would have a GIF of it. hehe
    CHAMPIONS LEAGUE action tomorrow, my favorite! Enjoy the match everyone, HALA MADRID!! 🙂

  6. ariadne permalink
    September 26, 2011 16:00

    i used to like sergio’s swag. now i think it’s staring to become a bit too much..
    anyway, congrats to our boys, back to business indeed!

  7. Alyssa permalink
    September 26, 2011 17:24

    My absolute favorite thing about this match (aside from the abundance of goals and the great football we played of course haha) was the return of love to the land of Criska!!! These two were so cute and it was obvious that Cris was sooo happy to have celebratory hugs with his best friend again 😀

  8. conflictedinspain permalink
    September 26, 2011 17:36

    I’m not a fan of Ozil’s long hair, personally. I like how it looked when he first came to Madrid. But either way, he just continues to prove his worth to this team… It seemed as though when he came into the game everyone breathed a sigh of relief and everything was right in the world again. It has to be quite flattering to have the coach come to you 15 minutes into the game and essentially say, “Get in there and save this game.” Not that I think he single-handedly did so, but I think everyone seems to play their best when he’s in. And I’ve been wanting to see he and Kaka play alongside each other for so long… It worked out beautifully!

  9. Maria permalink
    September 26, 2011 18:45

    I am addicted to your posts! Very entertaining and great pictures, too. And you always post a lot of pictures of Iker. I loved Varane’s goal, it was really great. And Iker seemed to be pissed during the whole game, but I read somewhere that he hates receiving goals, and to get one so early in the game must have been unbearable 🙂

  10. Jennifer permalink
    September 26, 2011 20:53

    Sergio’s hair is honestly jealousy-inspiring now. I would like to know what amazing miracle conditioning/shine products he and Lara are using, because they both have absolutely fabulous heads of hair. (I am also, perhaps unsurprisingly, a fan of Mesut’s long hair.)

    In actual footballing terms, I was both pleased and relieved at the way this match went after Lass was subbed off – to paraphrase a certain Barcelona midfielder, “we were playing football”. It wasn’t perfect, but it was so, so much better than the past few matches. (And it provided a much-needed injection of happiness after watching Athletic suffer for 90 minutes.) Ángel was also a disappointment, as he has been of late. (Are we ever going to finish a match with 11 men again?!) And Xabi really needs to take more freekicks, because letting Cris take them these days just means a waste of a shot, straight over the larguero… plus it would mean even more material for the Xabi Alonso Pose Section™!

  11. Pammie permalink
    September 26, 2011 21:40

    I’m glad that I only could watch the game from late in the first half, so I didn’t have to suffer too much.
    I like Mesut’s hair, not bad!

    I very much enjoy the camera moving up Xabi’s body. Some camera men are really in love with some player’s bodies. xD

    I hope the person who caught Iker’s training pants is ok.

  12. shan permalink
    September 26, 2011 23:42

    I’ve never been a big Di Maria fan. Mou needs to play him a little less. I think our bench has some others that deserve the play time more than he does. just saying…

  13. manie permalink
    September 27, 2011 01:19

    Mou totally looks ready for a golf tournament in that vest.

    Regarding Varane, I remember there was some resistance to signing him when we could have promoted someone and, while I still think that, I am really happy we signed him (hopefully in addition to some more canteranos). He’s got a good understanding already and works really hard, I’m excited about him too!

    Finally, Xabi Alonso is perfection. I think he should be taking more FKs.

  14. September 27, 2011 01:35

    Love the blog its always well written wit great pics . Keep it up 😉 .

  15. hallreflections permalink
    September 27, 2011 02:12

    Oh Una,
    If only you knew how much it hurts to see any mention of Irina! I have my email notifications set to exclude her so I can live in my fantasy land without her! I LOVE your blog so please don’t put her in it anymore!

    Or, if she would just come out and say “hi” to us and be a real person I might be able to like her as Cristi’s wag… So far she’s just been stuck up and private so much so that I HATE her. ….

    :Mil gracias Una

  16. black widow permalink
    September 27, 2011 03:15

    ozi looks SO young with his hair like that. but i like it, it suits him.

    it’s weird, the transfer rumours i have been hearing don’t concern albiol, but kaka. i really hope they’re wrong. 😦

    i think if i were standing in front of iker in the stands and he just decided to whip off his shorts like that, i’d probably faint. i don’t blame him for not wanting them, though, as they’d remind him of that bad start to the match. i couldn’t believe it when i read that. even though they won, he still must feel a bit like he, personally, lost.

    don’t get me started on di maria. if we’re going to eventually trade anyone, i wish it would be him. i really dislike his style of play.

  17. September 27, 2011 03:16

    “I thought he looked like a priest”
    omg ily Una :333

  18. September 27, 2011 04:27

    My heart sank after Rayo scored that goal. That was a dreadful mistake by Lass and I’m sure he knew it. Lass seems to be a bit distracted which is unfortunate because knowing that he has to take advantage of any playing time he gets (as they all do), I’m sure he really wants to play well. 😦 But Mou did have to sub him out.

    Kaka had a really good game, I thought. I’m sure it must do his confidence a world of good now that he seems to be getting his mojo back. Also the synergy with both him and Ozil on the pitch at the same time has greatly improved.

    Angel, Angel, Angel smh. He’s a really good player but has some bad habits that, hopefully, Mou can help him to change.

    Varane’s goal was fantastic. I’ve really been impressed with him. Although, I think it was the man he was marking that scored the 2nd goal? He’s still young though and I have no doubt he’ll continue to improve.

    My theories on Mesut’s hair…1) since he’s always so preoccupied with tucking his hair into his headband, that he’s decided to grow it out so it’d stay in better and/or 2) he has hair envy of Sergio’s hair and wants to grow his out like Sergio’s. :p

    I have to ask….is there a new fad going around with men & mustaches? Both Iker & Sergio have gone for the mustache look. Both look better without one, imo. A little 5 o’clock shadow’s okay but not a full blown mustache.

    Mou’s antics on the sideline always make me laugh. He’s such a character. lol

  19. Maddi permalink
    September 27, 2011 04:46

    VARANE!!!!!!! Que golazo!!!
    I must say, our former canteranos have been kicking butt lately. Fran Rico scored for Granada against Osasuna, and Juan Carlos scored a double against Betis!

  20. @ulonghaz permalink
    September 27, 2011 05:42

    Haha.. you crack me up with this one..
    Really, how did you read my mind?

  21. September 27, 2011 10:36

    I really dont like Mesut’s long hair, but I cant do nothing because I know who I am. Now, I wish Mesut will cut his hair coz I’m sure he will look soooooooooo much better in a short hair. By the way, the last game make my day brighter :’)

  22. Dani permalink
    September 27, 2011 16:14

    hi all

    so after the game, the team went back to their hotel? I thought they could go home? Were they obligated to stay the night?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      September 28, 2011 15:52

      Where does it say that the team went back to the hotel? If you’re referring to the very end, that was in the morning, before the game.

Leave a Reply

