Skip to content

news briefs

October 14, 2011

Update: Ponferradina will be Madrid’s rival in the Copa del Rey round of 32.  The first leg is on Dec. 13 and the second leg on Dec. 21.  Ponfe is a team based in Ponferrada, León.  They play in the second division B, group II (Castilla plays in group I), and their president, José Fernández, is a Real Madrid socio and good friends with Aitor Karanka.

I don’t know about the rest of their bodies, but our boys definitely exercised their thumbs…

Yesterday’s post on Wednesday’s training session was titled “together again” but it wasn’t until Thursday that we were really together, as Cristiano re-joined the team after working out in the gym during the open training session, as did Gonzalo Higuaín, Ángel di María, Marcelo and Rafa Varane, who returned from their national team commitments.

This meant that José Mourinho had all the possible players he can use for this weekend’s game against Betis at his disposal.  Raúl Albiol, Nuri Sahin and Ricardo Carvalho are still injured, but Karim Benzema joined the big group after working out with Nuri on Wednesday.  In addition, canteranos Jesús, Jesé, Nacho, MFC ABMM, Carvajal and Casado trained with the first team.  And can I say how much I absolutely adore and approve of the Gonzalo-José (no, not Mou) bromance?

According to Sportyou, Iker, Álvaro Arbeloa, Raúl Albiol and Sergio Ramos (where’s Xabi?) have signed up to take a course offered by the RFEF on how to become a sporting director, after thinking about it for a long time and trying to find the best time.  The RFEF’s web site says the course runs from Oct. 10 to Dec. 19, and meets on every Monday between those dates, with the exception of Oct. 24, for 3.5 hours in the morning and 3.5 hours in the afternoon.  Students have to attend 75 percent of the sessions in order to get the diploma.  In that respect, they didn’t get off to a good start, as Iker, Álvaro and Sergio (and probably Raúl) missed the first session on Oct. 10 as they were on national team duty.  However, apparently they get to make up the courses with the professors, given that their schedule will definitely have them missing many more sessions.  They’re following in the footsteps of Jorge Valdano and Fernando Hierro, whom have also taken this course (which doesn’t bode well for a future in Real Madrid).  And FYI, yes, it is too late to sign up for the course.  Which of these four do you think will make the best sporting director?  I say Iker.

Madridista news: in an interview with El Mundo’s Metropoli magazine, Noel Gallagher, formerly of Oasis and now of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, spoke about his madridista sentiments.  He will present his new work in Madrid on Nov. 26, and when asked what he expects of the concert there, he replied, “I hope that José Mourinho, Cristiano Ronaldo, Özil and Kaká come.  I fucking love Mourinho.  If you see him, tell him that if I find him, I’m going to give him a kiss.”  And when asked if he was being serious, Noel replied, “absolutely.  I love this man and I want to kiss him.”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Gilly permalink
    October 14, 2011 13:13

    Good for the guys taking that RFEF course. It never hurts to keep your options open. Not sure who would do best as a sporting director – all could really take to it, but Arbeloa and Casillas stand out.

    Xabi’s always said he’s not sure if he’ll stay in football post-retirement. I definitely see potential for coaching with him- he has all the qualities.

  2. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    October 14, 2011 13:35

    Alonso is more likely to be a coach, yeah?!……This ‘thumbs up” pose is starting to grow on me, esp when I see the Jose/pipa doing it!

  3. arum permalink
    October 14, 2011 13:40

    i think arbeloa would be a good sporting director too. Well, if Xabi join, i think he will be the best too.

  4. October 14, 2011 14:15

    hahah, Noel Gallagher! When I think about that, it’s a no surprise to me that he loves Mou!

    and I am sorry, but I cannot picture Sergio or Albiol studying next to Iker and Arbeloa. all due respect to them, I do believe in their intellectual possibilities, but it is adorably funny to iamgine them next to Iker and Alvaro, who seem like the A-students at least. Of course Xabi does not need to take the course, he is the professor already, courses or no courses. Just a born boss as we know.

    Maybe he does not take the course because he teaches there? 😉

  5. amouria permalink
    October 14, 2011 16:18

    “I love this man and I want to kiss him.” Hahaha, apparently he is competing with millions of female madridistas…
    Una, please give me your opinion: my friends say that this artist is a publicly known gay. my ‘research’ on the internet, shows some ambiguity in this regard. So, what is your impression?
    Thanks and I hope you say that he not gay so as to keep Mou to be shared by us, females…

  6. Sadia permalink
    October 14, 2011 18:20

    Haha typical Noel 😛

  7. October 14, 2011 18:22

    Wait in line Noel. Even though I want to throttle Mou at times, I still would love to kiss him even more. He’s just got it and is still smoking at whatever age he is!

  8. Alyssa permalink
    October 14, 2011 19:16

    Ummm can I join that line to hug Iker?

    Hahaha despite his…well…temperament…I knew I always like Noel Gallagher!

  9. October 14, 2011 21:07

    Xabi doesn’t need to take a course to become a boss because Xabi is already a boss.

  10. Cyn permalink
    October 14, 2011 22:28

    Noel’s gonna be heartbroken when Mou eventually coaches Man United then lol

  11. October 14, 2011 22:59

    aww…the Gonzalo-José bromance! How adorable!

    lol @ the thumb comment!

    I think I’d go with Iker too. No offense to the rest of them tho.

    “I fucking love Mourinho” “I love this man and I want to kiss him” Get in line, Noel, get in line.

  12. October 15, 2011 00:34

    dear Mr. Noel Gallagher:

    GET.IN.LINE

  13. emily permalink
    October 15, 2011 04:23

    Yeah, so… Just a couple of questions… Where do I sign up for the next session? Will I need any special paperwork, besides a visa? Will there be ‘hands-on’ training with actual athletes?

  14. black widow permalink
    October 15, 2011 08:45

    it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest that blunt-talking, hot-headed noel gallagher is in love with mou! of COURSE he is!

    i actually think xabi would make a great sporting director (and i’m surprised he didn’t sign up for it, but then again, i remember reading that he possibly was interested in pursuing something more business-oriented post-football career). but i agree, iker would suit it, too. he has the right temperment.

Leave a Reply

