Skip to content

ICYMI – the ¡Hala Madrid! edition

November 7, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Osasuna [2011-11-06, Liga jornada 12, 7-1].

What a day it was: for the first time ever, our Madrid was playing at the Bernabéu at noon, on a sunny Sunday.  And what a day it was, with Cristiano’s hat trick (his fourth of the season), proof that Nuri Sahin exists, boss Xabi and seven goals in our favor.

I’ve had this idea for a while, and I really wanted to see if I could come up with a post around this idea, so I decided to go ahead and write this one, despite my earlier confession that my blog is boring me.  There’s a three-day break now with Madrid/La Roja, so I’ll take the time to reflect on what to do, and carefully read all the comments you left and emails you have sent.  (And please don’t feel that you’re obligated to comment on this post.)

Onto the ICYMI:

Real Madrid has a hymn dating back to 1952 (when it turned 50), the one written by Luis Cisneros and sung by José de Aguilar (as opposed to the new version by José Mercé, or the centennial one by Plácido Domingo).  It is one of the unique symbols of the club, and played after each game at the Bernabéu.  The lyrics perfectly describe Sunday’s game.  I won’t translate them because I don’t think I can do an adequate job in transmitting what this song means, but Iker’s second best friend Google Translate (his first best friend is his iPhone, while the third is probably a three-way tie between his underlayers, his purse and his plaid shirts) can give you the gist if you need any help.

De las glorias deportivas que campean por España…

Madrid was on a nine-game winning streak prior to this game, with dominant wins over their rivals, so we were certainly enjoying sporting success both in Spain and in Europe.

… va el Madrid con su bandera limpia y blanca que no empaña.

Prior to this game, Madrid distributed white flags so that the stadium would be festooned in its color during the match.

Club castizo

Who better than club institution Agustín Herrerín to represent the traditions, the authentic, true Madrid?  As the players, both substitutes and starters alike, walked onto the field, they greeted him, and in Karim Benzema’s case, very affectionately.  I can’t remember the Bernabéu without him.

Or if you prefer someone more modern, there is of course Iker Casillas, who has only ever worn one escudo on his chest, and that is that of Real Madrid.

Iker hadn’t been scored on since Oct. 15, and the goal that broke this perfect streak was quite comical.  While Madrid’s players were protesting to the referee and Pepe was on the sidelines waiting to check back into the game after leaving to get medical attention, Osasuna quickly took the free kick and surprised the defense (only Álvaro Arbeloa reacted) and Iker to score their only goal of the game.

… y generoso…

Madrid scored three goals in the first half, with Ángel di María providing the assist for all three of these goals, his eighth, ninth and tenth of the season.  Álvaro Arbeloa chipped in with two assists as well.

… todo nervio

While trying to keep the ball inbounds with his heel, Ángel di María strained his left thigh and had to be taken off the field on a stretcher, in obvious pain.

I love that Álvaro Arbeloa seems to be the one who is responsible for whistling to get the medical team onto the field, and that Iker, Pepe, Álvaro and Xabi all came over to see how Ángel was and to console him.

Tests today confirmed the injury to his left hamstrings, and he’s expected to be out for one month.  ¡Ánimo Ángel!

… y corazón

As soon as Madrid scored their fourth goal and there was some breathing room, José Mourinho sent Nuri Sahin to warm up, helping him to end his personal comeback odyssey, as repeated injuries meant that Nuri hadn’t played since April 17 of this year.  The applause started as soon as the crowd saw him on the sidelines.  I loved how optimistic Nuri was and how much heart he showed during the entire time he was injured.

After the game, Nuri would say, “before going out, I was a bit nervous.  After a few minutes, I felt more secure and happy.  I wasn’t afraid.”  Upon hearing him say those words, I was hoping he would break into song a la Iker with “me siento seguroooooo….”  As you can see, all his teammates were also very happy for him.

Nuri also tweeted, “I am so happy,that i Played my first game for Real Madrid! Such an amazing feeling to play in the Bernabeu Thx everyone for the Support!!!”

… veteranos y noveles, veteranos y noveles…

Cris had things to share with Ángel, while Karim asked Xabi for some advice.

… miran siempre tus laureles con respeto y emoción.

Prior to the game, Cristiano presented his Golden Boot award to the Bernabéu faithful.  Cris was looking ahead to the game, so he posed a bit and then when he tried to put the boot back on the pedestal, he was told to go backwards to where his teammates were, waiting to applaud him.  And it was fitting, because without them, as Cris would say after the game, he wouldn’t have won this award.

And for a while, everything was golden: the sun shining on the stadium, the boot, the accents on the jerseys and Fábio Coentrão’s hair.

Meanwhile, the crowd serenaded Cris with “Bota de Oro, Cristiano, Bota de Oro,” which they would repeat throughout the game.  Pepe also posed with trophy later on, as did Cris and his entourage.

¡Hala Madrid! ¡Hala Madrid! Noble y bélico adalid, caballero del honor. ¡Hala Madrid! ¡Hala Madrid! A triunfar en buena lid, defendiendo tu color. ¡Hala Madrid!, ¡Hala Madrid!, ¡Hala Madrid!

This was Cris’ fourth hat trick of the season, after Zaragoza, Rayo Vallecano and Málaga.  These boys have spoiled me, because I wanted Karim Benzema to get one too.  Both of them contributed greatly to the win.

And I’m sure Marcelo was super sad he missed out on Pepe scoring, because can you imagine the alegría from that for the Pepe/Cris/Marcelo trio?  What would the celebration have been if Marcelino was present?

Enemigo en la contienda, cuando pierde da la mano sin envidias ni rencores…

Well, we didn’t lose, but a member of the rival team did receive a warm welcome from the stadium and from our players.  Former canterano Rubén González (remember him?) got a round of applause when he checked into the game for Osasuna.  As he ran onto the field, he received a high five not from one of his current teammates, but from his former teammate with Real Madrid B (2003-06), Álvaro Arbeloa.  After the game, he hugged Álvaro and Iker (and played with Iker’s ear, how lucky some people are).

… como bueno y fiel hermano.

Madrid’s players came out onto the field wearing shirts that said “Forza Cassano” on the front and the number “19,” which Antonio Cassano wore at Madrid, on the back.  Antonio thanked them, FP and Mou today via a letter published on AC Milan’s web site.

Los domingos por la tarde, caminando a Chamartín, las mocitas madrileñas, las mocitas madrileñas van alegres y risueñas porque hoy juega su Madrid.

The game wasn’t exactly in the afternoon and I didn’t walk there, but I was indeed happy and cheerful because my Madrid was playing today, along with many other female fans.

It was so strange seeing the shadow over the fondo sur and the sun over the fondo norte, and seeing the time “13:43h” at the 87-minute mark.  After all, some days it’s closer to midnight than anything else at that point!

¡Hala Madrid! ¡Hala Madrid! Noble y bélico adalid, caballero del honor.

Who better to represent the fighting spirit, the hunger to win, a champion, than Cristiano Ronaldo?

¡Hala Madrid! ¡Hala Madrid! A triunfar en buena lid, defendiendo tu color. ¡Hala Madrid!, ¡Hala Madrid!, ¡Hala Madrid!

Several of the other goal celebrations.

We did win in a fair game, and these boys did defend their colors, doing this escudo and this shirt proud.  Hala Madrid.

Other things.

ONE.  After the game, Nuri Sahin said, “it was a very good day for me.  Thank you very much to all the people that were in the Santiago Bernabéu, my teammates, the coach and the president.”  He added, “I’m very happy to play my first game with Real Madrid.  It was a difficult time due to the injuries.”  And he said all this and more in Spanish!  ¡Impresionante!  Forget what I said about Mesut Özil making big improvements, Nuri is the standard from now on!  He might even be better than Metze!  But then again, he did have a lot of time to study.  It was also great to see José Callejón get some minutes.

It appears that foreign Real Madrid players learning castellano always learn the following words first: “contento” (also a Sergio Ramos favorite), “difícil,” “temporada,” “partido,” “trabajar,” “afición,” “míster” and of course “gol” (happy, difficult, season, game, work, fans, coach, goal).  That was about the extent of Karim’s vocabulary his second season, and where Mesut and Sami are as well.

As for Cris, he said he was happy to have scored, but the important thing is that the team won and played well.  He also revealed that he prefers to play in the morning rather than the afternoon: “we’re not used to it but I like playing more during the morning.  The experiment turned out well, we played with a good intensity, perhaps we slept well the previous night.”  He also joked about how he tried to tip in the ball that ended as Pepe’s goal, and said that Pepe had told him before the game that he would score.  Do we have another psychic on our hands?  Also of note: in the mixed zone, some Brazilian journalists showed Cris an iPad with a video message for him from Michel Teló, prompting Cris to crack up.

Meanwhile, the ever-cautious and diplomatic Xabi Alonso said the game “was more difficult than it appeared,” and Sergio talked about what a nice gesture it was for Cris to share his award with his teammates: “details such as this make Cristiano a great person.”

TWO.  The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

Muy jefe, as usual.

As the game was so early, Xabi was drinking coffee as he went out to inspect the pitch.

I think this is the bossest moment, when Xabi told Nuri to take the free kick: “Sahin, you.”  Two words and almost a goal.

This is a new one.

THREE.  The Mou corner.  In his post-game press conference, Mou had the following to say.  By the way, that is certainly one of the most unique scarves I’ve seen, I don’t recall any other managers getting their face on bufandas.

on the Cassano shirts: it wasn’t my idea, my idea was to call Cassano and speak with him because I know him well and I like the kid, we had a great relationship in Italy.

on the refereeing: the differences between some and others bother me.  Yesterday I saw Munúa [Levante’s goalkeeper] get a yellow card because he came out 10 meters from his area to protest to the referee.  There are other goalkeepers in the Liga that run 100 meters to protest and don’t get carded [hmmm, I wonder who he’s referring to?].  Against Lyon, we scored a goal after taking a rapid free kick, but the goal was annulled and Alonso received a yellow card.  Today, their rapid goal is legal.  The differences in criteria in identical situations bother me.  Despite this, this referee did a good job.  One month ago, I said ‘one day they’re going to score a goal off a fast free kick against us’ and now it happened, I was right, but I repeat that it’s not the problem of this referee.

The vest reminded me of Zidane’s inflatable body suit.

on the fans: I want to thank those few people who were behind the goal because if it weren’t for them, I would have thought that the stadium was empty [Mou is referring to the Ultra Sur, and I wish he wouldn’t encourage them or praise them].

on the game time: it’s fantastic, now everyone can go home and have all of Sunday left to do things.

The anecdote came when Mou’s mobile phone went off while he was answering a question about Alex Ferguson.  Mou apologized twice (“lo siento”) and said that if this had happened to one of his players or while he was with them, they/he would have to pay a €500 euro fine.

FOUR.  Other notes.

– Kaká and Marcelo have been dropped from Brazil’s call-up for their friendlies during the international week, as the Brazilian Football Confederation said Madrid had sent to their medical staff test results showing the injuries.

– El País went around to to speak with businesses around the Bernabéu and fans about the novel kick-off time.  Here are some of the reactions.

Raúl, who sells shirts and scarves in one of those stands surrounding the stadium on game days: normally you have to be here eight hours before the game.  Today I arrived at 7:30h and I’ll go home at 16h.  I will work four hours less and I have to entire day to be with my kids.  Today I got up at six, yes, but I prefer this to games at 22h at night.  That is an insufferable hour.

Juan, a fan who came from Badajoz: today I woke up at five.  This kick-off time is perfect because it gives me time to go home and we don’t have to spend the night here.

Eegli, a waiter at a cafeteria in the Esquina del Bernabéu: the problem is that at this hour, no one wants (alcoholic) drinks… only coffee and pastries.

– former Spanish president and madridista José María Aznar was sitting in the presidential palco next to FP.  A general election for legislative seats is scheduled for Nov. 20 (next, next Sunday), and the resulting Congreso de los Diputados will choose a new prime minister.  No matter who is chosen, PSOE’s Alfredo Pérez Rubalcaba or the PP’s Mariano Rajoy, the next prime minister will be a madridista as both these men are longtime supporters of Real Madrid.

– and while I loved this game, I just have to say that the Athletic-Barcelona game was a partidazo!  The game itself was super exciting, and add to that Javi (!!!), Piqué’s own goal, wet Javi (!!!), the atmosphere at San Mamés, Javi (!!!), clingy shirts made all the clingier by the rain, Javi’s pout (!!!), Fernando Llorente’s eyes, Javi’s body (!!!), Barcelona only getting one point, Javi (!!!), the adorable Ander Herrera scoring on Valdés, Javi (!!!)… Madrid has now widened its lead at the top of the table to three over Barcelona.

94 Comments leave one →
  1. amouria permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:11

    Thanks Una, as usual, lovely post.
    On Mou: I did not like the vest of Mou. He should have chosen better way to dress. Since the beginning of this season, he is wearing very weird suits.
    On Mou’s comments on the fans. Well, I don’t know what the Ultra Sur represent in Spain, but we, the TV audience always get frustrated with the Bernabue fans. They are so clod and one feels that they are either too old to get crazy or too classy to get involved. In either case, the team suffers. My idea is that if they want the team to give them joy, they should give it support in the first place.

    Una, keep your blog, please 🙂

  2. Louise permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:20

    I enjoyed the concept of the post. You showed well how the anthem still fits Real Madrid today. It was unusual and interesting.

    I also liked your overview of how foreign players learn Spanish. Nuri is very impressive, even if he started lessons before he came to the club.

    And of course my beloved Xabi. I loved that moment when Benzema called him over to ask a question. That, Cristiano’s gesture with his award, and how wonderfully Karim and Pipita got along playing together really shows how the team has come together and is working as one. Excellent omens.

  3. maddy permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:29

    una, this has got to be my favourite icymi. ever. it just made my heart sing for madrid. i love what you do. i hope you know that you are very important to madridistas worldwide.

  4. emily permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:35

    You know, Una, all of these fabulous posts make it hard for us to think about saying goodbye. You are too good to us. You really need to start writing absolute crap. Don’t think things through. Don’t write about the things we want to see. Don’t give us Xabi’s boss poses. Don’t show us Iker’s profile. Stop showing us Sergio’s thigh, for heaven’s sake! All of this great material makes us want more, so if you seriously think you are going to stop posting, you need to make us NOT want to read it. So, you better make some changes!!! And soon!!!

  5. Gabriela permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:42

    Una, I’m so happy ;__; I came here thinking I would find no new post! And such a beautiful and touching one. The himno is a thing of pure beauty, and I love how you organized the sections of the post with the lyrics.

    I can’t really complain about the match time. Even though it was too early (9 AM here!), I had the rest of the Sunday to do other things, such as hanging out with my friends. But I must say it’s strange to watch a match while drinking coffee. My final conclusion is that everything goes well with football, and everything goes well with coffee. So coffee + football is the perfect combination!

  6. oliviaRM permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:46

    Such a joy to read you blog after an amazing game!!! Una, whether or not you keep doing this,I’ll come by and check everyday for sure 🙂 Don’t give too much pressure on yourselves. We know you’re behind the team ~~

  7. kiki permalink
    November 7, 2011 16:50

    Hi Una!

    Well you’ve really outdone yourself with this post (if possible ~ as they are all wonderful), with the theme of that lovely hymn pervading. I agree, it is so suitable.

    As usual, there is so much to comment on, I agree how boss it was when Xabi told Sahin to take the penalty.

    I’m so glad you added the pics & info about the Bilbao match as we were ALL watching it intently. I am very grateful to both Basque clubs for playing Barca so strongly this season and at least getting those draws. Of course, ogling Javi (!!!) & all the other male beauty is equally wonderful! (shallow, but true)

    Jajajaja, Mou will have to pay the fine! At least Iker will feel better about his!

    I feel bad for Angel, he has been so phenomenal, I hope he heals quickly.

    I can’t say enough how Cristiano has matured, it’s lovely to see, he’s adorkable and is adding new dimensions to his play (as provider). I can’t stand to see people judging him by actions he made as a young man, receiving crazy amounts of attention, in a new country. Oh well, haters gonna hate from their jealousy.

    It’s always great to see the fans love for the quarry, when they come home.

    & Oh Iker! ♥♥♥♥

    One more thing Una, I said before, your happiness is the most important thing when it comes to your decision. Just know that many more people respect and enjoy your blog than comment. I always see people sharing on twitter & saying how much they love you. You have a unique style and vision to any other blog. This is my favorite blog.

    I wonder if anyone could come in as a substitute when you need a rest? No one can do it quite like you, but maybe a few of your friends/long time fans could help keep it going – then you, The “Following Real Madrid” maestro, could grace us when you have time or inclination. 😀 Also, perhaps there could be a format where you could have some ads & get some reward for your wonderful work? I would still visit, you are worth it. I don’t know much about this, so it’s just an idea.

    Thank You for ALL THE FANTASTIC MEMORIES! NOBODY DOES IT BETTER THAN YOU! ♥

  8. Serena permalink
    November 7, 2011 17:02

    What’s the problem with the Ultra Sur?

    • Mouah permalink
      November 11, 2011 15:17

      Yeah I was wondering about that too –‘ Una your lightning on the subject please ? 🙂
      btw, I almost cried because of the first part of your post ! So beautiful and moving because our team is perfectly perfect. And I’m sooooo impressed with Sahin ! I’ve been learning Spanish for 5 years and I can’t speak like that !

  9. November 7, 2011 17:04

    I looove the match time at noon! That means finally after 14 years of my time spent watching la liga, having to wake up at 1 or 3 am every week, i get to sit nicely on my couch at 6pm while eating dinner. Perfect! I really hope there are more of times like this.

    But oh man.. after watching my boys won 6-1 in all their glory, The Barca-Bilbao match was up to par in my book. I was on the edge of my seat most of the time. The game started at 3am, my alarm clock went off because i forgot to turn it off. I woke up, already used to be awake at that time, and decided to watch Barca-Bilbao. I didn’t regret it, it was an amazing game. Bilbao brought everything with all their mights. Pique own goal made me laughed like a hyena at around 4 am.

    amazing week… it’ll be hard to wait 2 weeks to see them again. Hoping no one got back injured after international games.

  10. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    November 7, 2011 17:23

    always loves your blog. and super happy because barcelona draw! jajaja

  11. your fan permalink
    November 7, 2011 17:37

    great post as always ;)..BTW what is ultra sur? Is it a bad thing?

  12. November 7, 2011 17:57

    I love reading your blog! Yesterday was my birthday, I was really happy that Madrid gave me 7 goal.

  13. Madridista permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:24

    Just wanted to let you know that I live in Sweden and I am a huge fan of your blog. I’ve been a madridista since I was 10, I didn’t even like football but watching Real Madrid changed that. If it was up to me I’d never have you stop writing blog posts because I really enjoy reading you blog everyday!

  14. Anna permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:29

    brilliant post, i really liked the bit at the start and how you included the real madrid hymn 🙂
    i was so excited that it was sahins debut too, but i feel bad for di maria, especially seeing as he had such a good game, and he seems to be getting better at not diving too!
    i was wondering also, what the Ultra Sur are? i know alot of football clubs have ‘ultras’ but are they just very passionate fans or do they just channel their passion for their club in the wrong way?
    i watched some of the bilbao-barca game too, it was such a good match 😀

  15. Lily permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:42

    Great post!!! Nuri definitely sounds like he knows more Spanish then Ozil!

    When Cristiano got the golden boot, he gave all his team mates a glass boot award right?

    I think I saw the pics somewhere I thought that was very sweet of him!

  16. manie permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:47

    I hope Di Maria is back before December (I saw his name on the Argentina call ups, is he going?). It was really great to see Sahin after so long, and he was all over. Loved.

    Your idea was fantastic, I love the tie-in to the match itself. Thanks for the post; I hope you decide to continue with the blog, but if you do stop, thank you so much!

  17. Rose permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:48

    OMG, the Xabi-Sahin free kick moment! Did not see this angle, and it is damn sexy. You tell him, bossy Xabi! Una can you provide a link of the video?

  18. Alyssa permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:49

    I think it’s a sign that this magical weekend happened just as you were considering stopping the blog. So many things that make us proud of this team, proud of these boys, proud of the words of that hymn. Things that make us feel el madridismo in our bones. There was Cristiano’s hatrick, Ángel’s hatrick of assists in the first half alone, goals from both of our strikers, both of our strikers being on the pitch at the same time, a goal from a defender, 2 assists from another defender, our midfield boss beautifully controlling the midfield, a long awaited debut and so much more. Before I even got to the end of this post and saw that you mentioned it, I planned to mention the Barca-Athletic game. Barca only got one point! Against YOUR Javi! We are three points clear at the top of the table!!! And superficially, Fer’s jersey was ripped yet again! Aside from Di Maria’s injury and Messi’s unfortunate last minute goal, only happy things happened this weekend. Our football world only gave you happy things (VERY happy things) to write about…this MUST be a sign that you’re meant to keep writing. Right?

    Again though, I do understand if you feel like you need to stop…and I know you can’t keep doing this just because we want you to, you have to want to. I just really really really hope you start wanting to again.

  19. RM23 permalink
    November 7, 2011 18:59

    Una,

    Which version of the hymn do you like the best?

  20. Melissa permalink
    November 7, 2011 19:02

    I loooooooooooove your blog and I do not want it to end. EVER^^. But I am sure that it is a lot of work and takes a lot of time, so if you do not want to do it anymore i would understand. I just want to thank you for everything you’ve done so far! It has been a real pleasure to read all of your posts. They enlightened my monday evenings and you never failed to make me laugh 🙂 So thanks again! Hope to read something from you soon and If you choose to keep the blog, I would be the happiest person alive^^

  21. jacimadrisimo permalink
    November 7, 2011 19:08

    Wow. Great post 🙂

    I’m glad Nuri exists. 😀

    Obviously, Osasuna didn’t bring a rope. LOL

    Three points ahead of Barca! YAY. I’ll confess, though, I won’t be comfortable until we’re like 10 points ahead. (lol like that will happen)

    Ah, so that’s who Javi is!

    Tying in our hymn with the post was awesome! I think I try that sometime soon and I’ll be sure to cite you 🙂

  22. Dreamlover225 permalink
    November 7, 2011 19:09

    I really love your blog!!! If you decide to discontinue, I will be sad but its your decision. Honestly, I read it everyday and come here whenever I need some info about Real Madrid.

  23. Con La Leyenda Blanca permalink
    November 7, 2011 19:25

    I love what you did with the Hymn Una, which by the way I prefer to the centennial one. I have little idea what he’s saying but the feeling it transmits is so empowering and it makes me so proud to be supporting the best club in the world! Ialways play it at home before watching a match and sometime try to sing it in the shower 😀 Hala Madrid!

  24. Ros permalink
    November 7, 2011 19:30

    When you mentioned the Athletic/Barcelona game, I was surprised you didn’t mention Llorente’s torn shirt too!

  25. Linda permalink
    November 7, 2011 20:00

    I understand your feelings about the blog una but i just wanted to say i truly liked this new version of the ICYMI based around the hymn.
    Maybe you just need some new creative ideas to give the blog a make over? I personally always really enjoy the different than normal posts like the one about the car deal/kart racing. And as i already said this new ICYMI was wonderful.

    On another note: a €500 fine for a ringing cell phone! that’s quite the heavy prunishment… i’d be broke if i had that rule implemented… Though of course with their salaries they sure can afford it and a €5 fine probably wouldn’t have any effect.

  26. Roxana permalink
    November 7, 2011 20:06

    I love your ICYMI!! I seriously don’t want you to stop. I love how you look at every detail of the games. :’D. The barca-bilbao match was really intense. I enjoyed it so much and everytime I saw Javi I get thinking of you xD. But yeah very intense game, loved every minute :). I love your blog ❤

  27. Christine permalink
    November 7, 2011 20:06

    Great post to a great game!! I hope you don’t quit posting because this would be a great loss to all your readers. Keep going, please!!
    I’m really impressed about Nuri’s spanish! Very good!! And funny and cute how he corrects himself 😀

  28. Kay permalink
    November 7, 2011 20:30

    I love Love LOVE this new layout of icymi posts. Javi (!!!) indeed! xxx

  29. Sanja permalink
    November 7, 2011 20:37

    Madrid is great, we all know that but Athletic Bilbao and Barcelona O.M.G that was FOOTBALL, & I would highlight pretty much everything you said about the game. 🙂 Just that I would pay a bit more attention to Herrera, since I’m like secretly in LOVE with that boy. ❤ ❤ ❤

    On the serious note, I'm glad you will re-consider your decision cuz I truly love both of your blogs, they've become just like youtube or facebook for me. I check them daily and I even read stuff I already went thru… 🙂

  30. Brian permalink
    November 7, 2011 21:08

    I read every post of your blog. It’s so informative, the .gfs are great and I really like what you do, despite others doing similar things, I hope you keep up what your doing.

  31. Мариана Димитрова permalink
    November 7, 2011 21:26

    Hi! I was very disappointed to read that you’re bored with this blog. I found it only recently (with La Roja) and when I have time, I read the archives. It’s not only informative but also wonderfully written with a great sense of humour, interesting observations and the right dose of drooling. 🙂
    So, I’ll miss it very much because it became a very pleasant part of my day. When I take a break from working, it’s wonderful to read it with a cup of good coffee, and afterwards my imagination’s wings are always rested and mighty. Thank you for writing it and I’ll be waiting a bit anxiously for your decision.
    Mariana

  32. Morales permalink
    November 7, 2011 21:35

    I was so impressed by Nuri’s Spanish, DAMN BOY. I think he speaks better Spanish than my own sister…

    So do fans get to keep the flags?

  33. November 7, 2011 22:44

    hahaha! I wondered how we were going to see a comment about Javi(!!!) in either of your blogs! What a fantastic game that was in such dreadful for the players, great for the fans conditions. And once again Llorente ends up with a torn shirt. Thank you Marcheno but next time pull a little harder please. 😉 Well done to Athletic.

    Good to see Nari get some time. I had a really crappy feed broadcast in Spanish so other than a select few words and the players names, I didn’t understand a lot of it. I wondered what had happened to Angel as he did appear in a lot of pain when carried off. Poor kid. He’s been in such great form and not this…. 😦 Arbeloa had a fantastic game. He’s definitely making a case for more playing time in the future.

    I was kind of shocked that Osasuna’s goal was allowed. Osasuna even had a man down in the area when the kick was taken. Well done to Arbeloa for reacting so quickly.

    Loved the game. Love your blog about the game. ❤

  34. November 7, 2011 22:49

    wow, una youve just surpassed yourself. Thats just an exceptional ICYMI edition. Brilliant idea with the anthem. Absolutely enjoyed reading! 🙂

  35. Pammie permalink
    November 7, 2011 23:05

    I like this twist on the icymi, well done!
    I’m not a big fan of ref crowding, so I can’t even complain about how Osasuna took advantage of that. :/

    “The vest reminded me of Zidane’s inflatable body suit.” jajajaja!

    you forgot Llorente’s torn shirt in the Athletic highlights. This makes me look forward to the new tighter shirts of La Roja even more. xD And PK’s look while Javi celebrated his own goal is just priceless, mwahahaha. I hope RM keeps that 3 point advantage until after the clasico. >:D

  36. Jess permalink
    November 7, 2011 23:15

    Ahhh your blog is soo much quality it hurts! And I was soooooo happy for Nuri! That game was amazing, besides Di Maria’s injury. Una!!! Your blog is where I get all my info from and I just love it so much and I look forward to reading it after every game and who am I kidding? even when they dont play I always check you blog. So please dont leave us?:(

  37. November 7, 2011 23:21

    Hala Madrid!
    I love how you analyzed the lyrics of the hymn. Jo, casi que llore!
    Whether or not you continue this blog should be your decision, but it would make me (and others, I’m sure) incredibly sad if you did. You do such a great job and each ICYMI post makes me feel like I was there watching the games.
    Con muchisimo, pero muchisimo, amor.

    -K

  38. November 7, 2011 23:27

    I really enjoyed the moment when Alonso shooed away Cristiano, who wanted to take the free-kick, because he wanted to entrust the responsibility to Sahin. You could tell CR7 wanted to take it but Alonso told him to go away and let the new boy take it. Muy, muy jefe. Would have been fantastic if it went in.

  39. maria permalink
    November 8, 2011 00:01

    that was really one of your best posts (I really mean it)… I’m not sure if it was the lyrics of Madrid’s anthem along with the pictures, or just the thought that it might be one of your last posts; but it was super emotional… I sincerely hope you keep on blogging, as you do it so well: your writing is consistent, easy to read, entertaining and funny. You know what you’re talking about and your passion for madrid really speaks through your words.
    And come on, how can you be bored feeding us news from Real Madrid? Especially in the “Mou era”… Seems to me like you can never be too surprised!! Anyway, hopefully you’ll stay with us, but really do what you think is the best for you =)
    xxx

  40. November 8, 2011 00:21

    I loved, loved how quickly Alvaro zoomed out of the picture when he saw that Osasuna was about to score while they were all complaining to the ref. He covered so much ground in such a small amount of time!!… And yey for his assists, too!!

    And it didn’t occur to me that it was Karim who had a question for Xabi. That moment was right after Karim scored, I think and I remember wondering, “what could Xabi be lecturing Karim about after he just scored?” Haha. He’s just that boss that I immediately assume he’s lecturing his teammates every time he talks to them.

    And, about the blog. I really do hope you continue with it. I personally love your blog, and am so grateful for it since we get very little football coverage (and even much less Madrid-specific coverage) where I live. I also appreciate the way you write and your humor and of course, all the work you put into your blog. You say that there are already other blogs that do what you do here, but I’ve never felt the need to look for another Madrid blog with yours. For what it’s worth, I really, really really hope that you don’t stop blogging but if you do, I will say that your blog will be sorely missed.

  41. Jenny permalink
    November 8, 2011 00:23

    Gorgeous, gorgeous.

    I love the way you structured this post! I love all the details that I wouldn’t be able to read anywhere else.

  42. November 8, 2011 00:26

    Just cool the whole blog… keep up the great work and I love the insights and pictures.. This could be Mou’s year 🙂

  43. @ulonghaz permalink
    November 8, 2011 01:22

    Do you know that Madrid – Osasuna was aired at 6PM Jakarta time?
    I kinda hope they keep playing at this time :p
    Anyway, that was a SUPERB game, not for the amount of goals but for how their play.
    Osasuna’s only goal is so infuriating!! How could that was count as a goal? When our Xabi get booked for the same action? Oh ya, Madrid always has a different policy.

    HALA MADRID!

  44. Rabia permalink
    November 8, 2011 01:49

    I just wanted to say that I really love your blog and I hope that you decide to keep going with it. It’s definitely not boring!

  45. La Pirata permalink
    November 8, 2011 02:39

    I indeed DID miss it – 6:00 on a Sunday was just too difficult. Thank you for the recap! I do wonder if there will be other midday games now since the viewership numbers in Asia seemed to be very high.

  46. Jean permalink
    November 8, 2011 02:46

    HAHAHA! I can’t stop laughing at all the Javi’s!!! I really wanted them to win! I didn’t have the chance to watch it live, but kept checking LiveScore on my phone. I think it was in the 88′ when I checked and saw they were up 2-1, I started screaming and yelling, “Come on you have to win!!” My cousin’s dog who I was babysitting looked at me like I was a psycho =P Oh yeah, don’t forget, someone ripped Llorente’s shirt too lol. I wish I could’ve seen the Madrid match, but unfortunately I couldn’t because I had a race in the morning and I missed the replay on tv later on :\

  47. Real Madrid permalink
    November 8, 2011 03:18

    Hello! I have a confession to make, I use Google chrome, which has a “most visited” home page, and this blog is currently fourth in the list. This post, however, seems a bit different to me and looks like a farewell post. if that is the case, keep in mind that your work is highly appreciated and this blog will be dearly missed. Thank you and… HALA MADRID!

  48. Gillian permalink
    November 8, 2011 03:44

    Thanks for this post (as always).

    My favorite part of the Barca-Bilbao game was when Llorente’s shirt got ripped. YUM!

  49. Jennifer permalink
    November 8, 2011 04:07

    Wow! I absolutely LOVE the way you incorporated the himno into this post. I have to admit that this is quite often on repeat in my car..it gives me the chills just listening to it. Makes me proud to be a madridista!

    As always, your posts are amazing! Ultimately, you should decide what is best for you, but just know that there are so many of us out here that eagerly wait for your posts each and every day. You mentioned that there are many other blogs out there that do this same type of this, but honestly, this blog is TRULY one of a kind. What’s more, this season looks to be shaping into one of the best we’ve had in a while and we need you here along for the ride! There are many great things to come and we all appreciate your hard work!!

    Thank you Una! Hopefully, you’ll be persuaded to stick around a little longer. 🙂

  50. Maddi permalink
    November 8, 2011 04:09

    Nuri is amazing! His Spanish is great! (at least compared to the tiny amount of it that I know) And he is so cute “Como se dice?” haha
    Get well Angel!

  51. November 8, 2011 04:33

    I love your blog, it’s great for me here in America to have all this updated information. I really appreciate all the time you put into it. Football isn’t as popular here, and I don’t know anyone else who watches these games. If it weren’t for you, I wouldn’t be able to have this insight. It means a lot to me, and I love to know so much about my favorite team and the players. Thank you!!!

  52. November 8, 2011 04:42

    Not sure why no comments are appearing.. Re your comments on the Ultra Sur, that’s interesting, would you prefer they weren’t there, is it because they’re the hooligan section?

    As for the blog, you say there are a lot of other blogs that do what you do, please name them as I’m not aware of them! How many readers do you have out of interest? How long does the blog take to do each day? If it’s for time reasons it’s understandable, and a lot of people give up blogs because they get fed up, but I certainly appreciate it loads.

  53. Madridista from Sweden permalink
    November 8, 2011 04:51

    First time reading your blog and I gotta say it is amazing! You can’t stop doing it as I’m already hooked!

    GREAT!

  54. November 8, 2011 05:09

    An idea? hmmm! full transcript of pre and post games press conference?

  55. @ulonghaz permalink
    November 8, 2011 05:28

    Una, your blog is not boring. It’s ADDICTING!!!

  56. black widow permalink
    November 8, 2011 06:29

    argh! i had a whole great big long post about this entry all typed out, and then i clicked the link to nuri’s twitter and came back to this page and it was gone. damnit!

    in short, i really liked this post. i love that you put the hymn in, and i also love that you didn’t translate it, i think it would have been a little lost in translation. i get the gist of what is meant in spanish through your interpretation, which is great.

    speaking of translations, i think nuri is doing really well! i’m always happy to hear ozi and benz get interviewed in spanish because i understand every single word (heh), but nuri did very well for himself. it can’t be easy to learn a new language as an adult, through total immersion in a foreign city, on top of an already physically-demanding career. good for him.

    though i hate seeing iker scored on, good for osasuna for taking advantage of an obvious hole in the defense. sneaky, but effective!

    i love your ranking of iker’s “friends”. jajajaja! if it were up to me, i would rank them 1) iphone 2) murse 3) underarmour 4) plaid shirts 5) google translate (although that could count as part of number one, no?). he’s such a dork. 🙂 🙂

    i can’t believe we’re sitting comfortably on top of the table right now! pinch me, i’m dreaming! i’m trying not to get too used to the idea as it’s still early days yet, but what a nice position to be in going into the international break! anything can happen between now and the rest of the season, ess true, but i believe in them! they can do it! hala madrid, indeed!

  57. November 8, 2011 06:47

    I loved this entry. And yes, I’ll say this again. Please stay with us Una. I will miss you terribly of you stop these lovely posts of yours. *hugs*

    • November 9, 2011 20:52

      Thanks again Una for everything. I love what you have done for us. I hope you keep posting, but at the same time, I do recognise that running this blog must be a huge drain on your time and energy.

      Off the top of my head this is what I came up with – I guess this is my way of trying to help this amazing blog keep going. If there is some way you could make money through this blog by accepting ads would it help? Your readership runs into the hundreds and you have people logging in from all over the world. Surely that would make internet marketing interested. Your viewership must be truly unique that way. 🙂

      Or if running this takes too much of your time, what if you accepted help from any one of us? Not to write the whole blog, because you totally rock at that part; but to help with coding and gif making? Just make a post about it and ask for application for unpaid volunteers, and I bet you would be flooded with applications from Madridistas who would be proud to help you in any way.

      *hugs*

      PS: I’ve lost the password to my email id above. 😦 I’ll have to change to the new one and will miss my old green square id here.

      • info permalink
        November 11, 2011 20:06

        Summary of unamadridista.wordpress.com
        unamadridista.wordpress.com has a global rank of #662,171 which puts itself among the top 1 million most popular websites worldwide. unamadridista.wordpress.com rank has increased 2% over the last 3 months. It reaches roughly 21,600 users and delivers about 47,550 pageviews each month. Its estimated monthly revenue is $133.20. We estimate the value and worth of unamadridista.wordpress.com to be around $1,620.60. The domain unamadridista.wordpress.com uses a Commercial suffix and its server(s) are located in United States with the IP number 72.233.69.6. unamadridista.wordpress.com is not listed on Dmoz.

        http://www.statshow.com/unamadridista.wordpress.com
        i don’t know if this info is reliable, but seeing una popularity with madrid fans around the globe, well…Besides, every blog or tumblr of real madrid i stumbled upon seems to use some of her material.

  58. Hala_Madrid permalink
    November 8, 2011 06:58

    Loved the boys played that game. They’re unstopable right now, i’m loving the way their playing. So happy they’re all ours 😀 Una you’re so funny! Javi Javi Javi hahaha. I actually thought about you while i was watching the game, i said to myself UNa must be having the time of her life right now. So happy for you, that’s just the same way i feel about Cris, too much love for those boys 😉

  59. emir permalink
    November 8, 2011 09:19

    Just wanted to say that you are doing great job. Your blogg si super interesting. Read it all the time. You some up all the importante and interesting info. Thanks and i hope you keep it up.

  60. Charlene permalink
    November 8, 2011 09:54

    The part I really liked about the game was at the ~17 min mark, you could hear the crowd chanting, “Allez, allez, Benzema!”

    Or at least that’s what I thought they were saying…it was a nice gesture to show support for him…especialy after making the Ballon d’Or shortlist.

    Nice update Una!

  61. Marie permalink
    November 8, 2011 12:02

    Surely a highlight of the Athletic game was also Llorente’s shirt being torn again 😉

  62. Diana permalink
    November 8, 2011 13:04

    Wow! Nuri Sahin habla el castellano muy bien! And he definitely ups the hotness factor of RM. Nice. Looking forward to seeing him play more.

    I couldn’t agree more about the Barcelona-Bilbao game. I really wanted Bilbao to win! Llorente in the rain was a nice sight though!!! Did you notice at the start of that game, when all the players were shaking hands how much taller the Bilbao players are? It was almost comical — the Barcelona players looked tiny!

  63. elyanaprior permalink
    November 8, 2011 13:49

    Hey,
    since you talked about Nuri’s progression with the Spanish language, I was wondering if maybe you could put together a list of the most important Spanish expressions in relation to football. Like corner kick and all things like that.
    I’m German myself and usually watch the games in Spanish so it’d be a great help since I am just learning Spanish myself and vocab-wise I am somewhere even below Sami and Karim.

    In any case, please keep up the great work!
    I absolutely love your blog!

  64. warrior_princess permalink
    November 8, 2011 13:53

    Hi Una, good day to you wherever you maybe (i really, or maybe should i say my friends and i would really love to meet you one day). We are a big fan of your blog. it’s been part of our life as a Madrid fan. I do hope that you’ll continue to have this blog ‘coz we really do like it (we have a lot in common, especially in thoughts about a lot f things pertaining to Real Madrid stuff). We’re looking forward to read your blog everyday (i don’t mean to pressure you), but what i’m trying to say is that, we will really be sad if you’ll stop blogging. Hoping for your kind consideration ( i sound like writing an excuse letter). =)
    more powers to you, Una.

  65. November 8, 2011 13:56

    Javi!! Javii!!! Javiiiiiiiii!!! Thanks Piqué :P! Thanks Valdés, por no ser tan bueno como Casillas (I NEED TO SHOUT IT)!!!! HALA MADRI HALA MADRD HALA MADRID!!!!

  66. mickymacky permalink
    November 8, 2011 14:14

    that very last photo! i couldn’t help but laugh outright:)

    [not that my preference has any weight LOL, but as someone from Asia… as an Asian… as a person located in East Asia/SE Asia… as someone who’s timeline is way ahead than most people… um. yeah… i do wish that more of Madrid’s matches are played at an earlier hour.

    in addition, iker needs the sun.]

  67. Charlene permalink
    November 8, 2011 14:40

    Oh something else I forgot to mention:

    One thing that really cemented Xabi’s authority over his teammates/the respect his teammates have for Xabi was when the free kick was awarded, Xabi, Nuri, and Cristiano were all standing over the ball. Xabi pushed Cristiano away, and then delivered those words you posted: Sahin you

    Another Xabi moment I liked, was in a gif you showed: Xabi had only come to congradulate Karim on his goal, but Karim pulled him back for some advice…I love the way Xabi’s arm wraps around his teammate’s waist and delivers his words of wisdom.

  68. Zina Tasreen permalink
    November 8, 2011 16:17

    Please, please Una, continue with the blog. Indeed I sound selfish, but you’re doing such an amazing job, you never know it might lead you to greater things. So you gotta carry on!

  69. Happy permalink
    November 8, 2011 16:33

    Una, hope you will change your idea to keep writing this blog, because yours is from the view of a girl, most other blogs are full of tatical analysis,but I also want to know what happen to our players not only on the field, but off the pitch, also you write about Castilla, which I want to know too.
    And I’m waiting for the Dream Come True edition, hope I can see it!!!

  70. gaelle permalink
    November 8, 2011 19:35

    please please don’t stop the blog, i live in new zealand but i look forward to this everyday. i always check if there is something new so plz don’t go

  71. Henrik permalink
    November 8, 2011 21:12

    There is no way your quiting i don’t think i would be the same madridista if it weren’t for you!

  72. jessica permalink
    November 9, 2011 00:23

    Oh please (don’t make me beg lol) continue writing your blog if you don’t then how will I get my Real Madrid information in such an entertaining/pleasurable way. Please don’t stop the ICYMI section those are my favorite! 🙂

  73. eny permalink
    November 9, 2011 02:16

    please una, don’t quit, i really love your both blogs, and seems i have already become your fan.. i barely everyday visiting your blog..

  74. November 9, 2011 06:46

    Que grande es el espanol de Sahin! He has such a talent with languages! Hehe, Xabi’s poses, even in the air, are boss.

  75. November 9, 2011 17:09

    Una: Javi(!!!)

    xD

  76. November 9, 2011 18:28

    This post is simply beautiful!

    Your blog has been my “go to guide” for all things Real Madrid for a while now and I have loved every word you have written. I completely understand how it could get boring at times but please know that although there are many imitators your blog has heart, creativity and is truly original. I know its selfish of me to ask, even beg you to keep writing so I won’t. At the end of the day you need to be happy and as a fellow madridisita I want nothing more than that for you! I truly thank you for all the time and energy you have put into this blog and if you do decide to stop writing just know you will be truly missed. There is only one way to end this email, Hala una madrdista and Hala Madrid!

  77. November 9, 2011 18:42

    Una – your blogs are my primary source of everything Real Madrid – especially the in-Spain details that are sometimes hard to find here in the States.

    It would be awesome of you got paid doing this – that you can do what you love and get paid for it.

    Hala Madrid and keep the blog alive Una – you have hundreds if not thousands of readers wishing you keep things going strong!

    -Paul

  78. eleni permalink
    November 9, 2011 21:01

    What’s the Ultra Sur?

    • olalla permalink
      November 11, 2011 17:57

      Good question!! I’m also wondering the same thing?Is it a bad thing?

  79. Burt permalink
    November 10, 2011 07:26

    I really enjoy both your blogs! Originally found this through conlaroja..I don’t even read any other football blogs so I wouldn’t know where to go if you closed your blog down 😦 And also love the humour and the screenshots!

  80. November 10, 2011 12:22

    Lovely post ye again. Keep our blog that all i have to say. thanks for everything.

  81. Kristine permalink
    November 10, 2011 15:20

    Una! You are great! I don’t think anyone is getting bored with the blog. I know that my interest in the game and your blog ebbs and flows with my life. Sometimes I have plenty of time to read and comment, other times, I end up reading a couple of weeks posts at one time.
    Even if I don’t have time to read the posts, Following Real Madrid is the first thing I see when I open my homepage.
    It obviously takes a lot of work to do what you do, so if you feel that you want to stop we would understand(sniff sniff) BUT we hope you find new inspiration! Maybe a break??

  82. yuyutein permalink
    November 10, 2011 16:36

    I enjoy what you do, una. one hundred percent! whatever you decide to do with your blogs, i will respect you but like many people say here, you are just a blessing to the Real Madrid fandom. ;’) your posts made me more passionate about our team and gave me directions of how to behave and what to think when hard times. Thank you, really. Un abrazo fuerte!

  83. Gorgio permalink
    November 10, 2011 21:19

    Una, and your blog is one of my favorite things to read every day. Your passion for this team and its players inspires me. Please don’t go. I love reading about the nonfootballing aspects of ours players and I wouldn’t know where to go if you left. 😦 However, if you are truly tired of it then by all means do what is best for yourself.

  84. yasmine permalink
    November 11, 2011 20:17

    I am overseas right now and couldn’t post when I wanted to, but I am pleading with you to NOT stop this blog. You have know idea how much I rely on you…I am addicted and check every day. thank you for all your hard work, it really is appreciated!! But if you ever do decide to stop, I will have to accept, then promptly be admitted to a rehab. 🙂

  85. madridistafromchina permalink
    November 12, 2011 16:37

    Nice to see Rubén again. I remember that a few years ago when Rubén was still in RM, there was one game where Rubén was the starting center-back, but he did horribly and was substituted off early in the 1st half, and he was crying when he was going off the pitch. Poor kids. Just another victim of the policy of “Zidanes y Pavones”. That’s why although I’d like to see more canteranos in the first team game, I do agree with Mou in that he will play them only at the right time.

  86. November 12, 2011 17:47

    Just wanted to say, love you your blog! I’m not even a Real Madrid fan, but now I know the players because of you — since I come here mostly for the Xabi posts <3<3.

    Will you be keeping up with your conlaroja blog? enjoy the england-spain game!!

  87. Laduree permalink
    November 12, 2011 21:06

    None of us would force you to give up your life for this blog, but Una you are a fantastic writer, and you have MANY followers! 🙂 Your commentaries are just as entertaining as the matches! I would scroll through pages of google ads if I had to, just to read an ICYMI post of yours. Please do what you think is best, but know we’ll always love you and the blog! ❤ L.

Trackbacks

  1. The Emergence of Leadership In Madrid
  2. all set for Getafe! « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

