Skip to content

all set for Dinamo Zagreb!

November 22, 2011

Mou has spoken, so everything is in place for tonight’s Champions League game against Dinamo Zagreb (20:45)!  Well, except for the players – they’re due to meet up today, as they were allowed to spend last night at home, instead of the team hotel.

Sunday’s session was marked by the teasing that José Callejón received.  As mentioned earlier, he had to return to Motril to fulfill his duties as a citizen of Spain, as he was randomly selected to serve as the substitute president in a voting center in his hometown.  So, as soon as the game against Valencia ended, he headed to Motril by car, where he arrived around six in the morning.  At eight in the morning, José went to the voting center, where he confirmed that the president was present and able to carry out his duties, and that he wasn’t needed.

So he hurried to Granada, where he took a flight at 09:15h in the morning to return to Madrid “for work” as he himself described it.  He arrived only 15 minutes late for the training session, at 11:15h, where his teammates greeted him with applause and teasing, which José took in stride, blowing kisses to his teammates.

José’s platonic love Gonzalo Higuaín led the teasing.

Higuaín: Idol!  Citizen, animal!  Citizen!  It’s about time!  Good morning!  Citizen!  Beast!

Granero: Model citizen, chaval!

Pepe: Have you paid the 60 euros? [Referring to the fine that players who arrive late are subjected to.]

Sergio: Calleji, did you pay it?

Pepe: 60 euros, no?

Iker: everyone, let’s go do our thing, let’s go.  [Of course.]

By the way, Álvaro Arbeloa also fulfilled his duties as an model citizen, as he voted.

As for the rest of the session, it started with the players at the center of the field, listening to Mou’s chat.  Twenty players worked out, divided into three groups: the starters, the substitutes and the goalkeepers (Iker and Antonio, plus Isaac from Castilla).  Ricardo Carvalho trained with the group of subs, while Ángel di María was out on the field doing recovery work.  Arbeloa worked out in the gym along with Kaká.

On Monday, there was good news as Ángel di María rejoined the group, forming part of the 21 players who trained, with Tomás Mejías taking the place of Isaac.  Marcelo, Arbeloa and Kaká didn’t train.

Nineteen footballers were called up for the game, with Fábio Coentrão returning to the fold after missing out on the Valencia game due to injury.  Carvalho, Kaká, Di María, Marcelo and Arbeloa missed out due to injury.

Goalkeepers: Iker, Adán, Mejías.

Defenders: Ramos, Varane, Pepe, Albiol, Coentrão.

Midfielders: Özil, Sahin, Xabi Alonso, Altintop, Callejón, Lass, Granero, Khedira.

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Higuaín, Benzema.

Guess who?

If it wasn’t obvious enough by the tattoos and boots, the answer is the below picture on the left: Pepe, being picked on by Ángel and Pipita (he seems to be enjoying it though).  Meanwhile, Sergio practiced some karate kicks, using Mesut’s back as a target.

In his press conference, Mou had this to say:

on the “controversial” celebration with Callejón: Valencia should be flattered by our celebrations.  The goals wouldn’t be celebrated like this in a normal game and against a normal adversary, if it’s a game where you think you’re going to win easily.  We celebrate like this when it’s a big victory for us, when we have suffered.  We celebrated with emotion and respect.  The critics say that if we don’t celebrate our goals, we’re arrogant and if we do, we’re also arrogant.  We have the right to celebrate goals.

on the upcoming game: I’ll have to make changes to my team not because I think the game is easy, but because I have some very, very tired players.  I have to make the changes, it’s not the question of a choice, it’s compulsory, the players are very tired… I can’t reveal the starters because not even the players know yet, and they’re always the first to know.  Until now, the four players who have come out to speak to the press in the Champions League have started [hinting that Nuri Sahin would start].

on his players: Lass plays very well.  He has a great character and he’s a starter on this team.  Tomorrow, he’ll play once more.  Kaká still has some negative sensations and we don’t want these sensations to turn into anymore more.  Carvalho is fine mentally.  He won’t be ready for the derby, but we do believe he’ll be ready the week after that.  Di María is reintegrating into the team bit by bit.  He might be ready by the derby.  I don’t know if Ramos will return to playing as a fullback, it depends on the situation and the circumstances.  He’s playing phenomenally as a centerback.

We also heard from Nuri Sahin, who explained that although he’s taking Spanish classes, he doesn’t feel ready to give a press conference in castellano yet, so he spoke in English.

on his teammates: the best players in the world [here] are normal people.  From the outside, it appears that they live on another planet, but here everyone has their feet on the ground.

on Mourinho: my first contact with him was through the phone and we spoke about the future.  During my first days here, he helped me a lot and from day one until now I’m part of this group.

on whether he’s ready to play: I don’t feel any pressure.   I’m happy that I can play in this stadium and for this club.  Pressure and afraid are not words in my life, I like to play and I had to wait a very long time to play and now I’m ready, and pressure, no, I don’t have any pressure.

Later that day, Iker, Sergio, Álvaro and Raúl headed to the Ciudad de Fútbol for their Monday sporting director classes, and Sergio helpfully tweeted a photo of the four of them there.  He’s the worst dressed again, although Raúl’s jeans aren’t doing him any favors either.  Meanwhile, Álvaro showed off ANOTHER Muhammad Ali top; how many does he have?  And Iker is completely right – there aren’t many things as pleasurable as having a cup of hot Cola Cao before going to bed (preferably accompanied by a few biscuits, like Iker is doing here).  I think I’m going to go have some Cola Cao right now (it’s actually good at any time of the day)!  I’m much like Iker in that sense, since I also prefer the original Cola Cao!

As for Castilla, they beat Lugo by the bare minimum 1-0 on Sunday, but that was all they needed to become the new leaders of their group!  Both Castilla and Real Madrid are leaders!  Jorge Casado scored in the 85th minutes to bring victory to the Di Stéfano, much to the delight of the 2,800 people there, including Juan Carlos.  The last time Castilla led their group was more than three years ago, and they remain unbeaten at home.

The only negative note came in the form of Álex’s sprained knee.  But he was cheered up by this tweet from MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín: “my last tweet of the day is for a special someone.  He looked sad today and I don’t like to see him like that.  Ánimo Álex!”  They are so cute, and should be kept together forever and ever.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    November 22, 2011 09:53

    Ramos holding iker hand like this awwwwww!! I don’t know if I said this before, but I want hang out with pipa he seems like a joker, I love it, in matter of fact I want spend time with the whole RM squad.

    Sidenote: Nuri eyes beautiful, Mourinho celebration I still don’t get how it is disrespectful in anyway, for me it was one of my fav mou moments so far with us 😛

  2. Alyssa permalink
    November 22, 2011 10:09

    Benzema looks really confused by his foot in that one photo…

  3. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    November 22, 2011 11:18

    why you don’t write about yesterday match?

  4. November 22, 2011 11:46

    SQUEEEEeeeeeeeee you posted! *ahem*

    LOL when it comes to guess who’s ass – I (along with most madridista’s!) can pick Pipa’s ass a mile away. 🙂

    Nuri is gorgeous. He really stands out among our RM modeling agency and that says a lot considering how pretty some of our players are. LOL I’ll try and stop being so shallow now!

    Alvaro probably buys his t shirts in bulk every time he heads to the us. 🙂

  5. November 22, 2011 12:22

    awww at Morata’s tweet

    Thank you so much for all the update
    By reading your blog , I save about an hour LoL
    tbqh, won’t be able to know all these info with out your blog

  6. November 22, 2011 13:28

    I think your blog it’s simply great.so never stop posting. you are among very few(and actually the only one I chek every day) that post real info (interesting info;and things that make sense, because you mix news with fun)about RM and the players.

  7. November 22, 2011 14:22

    I’d really like to try Cola Cao! I find it funny that Iker didn’t put the biscuits on a plate or saucer!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      November 22, 2011 16:52

      We tend to eat many things off the table…

  8. Henrik permalink
    November 22, 2011 15:20

    LOVE IT!

  9. AJ Nelson permalink
    November 22, 2011 15:36

    I say it over and over again, but I love these boys. Even though they are superstars, most of them seem very normal (then again, that could be your impressive writing skills Una Madridista!)

  10. Gabriela permalink
    November 22, 2011 15:39

    Granero’s hair is getting worst as days pass by… I wonder if this is some kind of silent protest because he wants playing time? Mou, please, let him play! He’s suffering – and my eyes too.

    I’m so happy with the news about Angelito 🙂 I hope he’ll be fit for the derby, I miss him so much!

    I love the boys making fun of Callejón!

  11. Pepegirl permalink
    November 22, 2011 16:29

    Thanks for the update, Una. I’m so glad you’re still posting and I hope you feel refreshed after your break. We are not familiar with Cola Cao in the UK. Is it like hot Coke, I wonder?Iker would be most welcome to come and have some hot chocolate (ie cocoa) with us so that he can compare nightcaps of course.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      November 22, 2011 16:53

      Cola Cao is a chocolate powder that you mix with milk to make a chocolate drink.

    • black widow permalink
      November 23, 2011 06:00

      it’s probably closer to ovaltine?

  12. Happy permalink
    November 22, 2011 16:54

    Congrat Castilla, we’re both leaders now!!!And I hope those not have much minutes before can play tonight~

  13. November 22, 2011 19:03

    YAY you’re keeping up the tradition! thanks for updating, love, love, love your posts.

  14. November 22, 2011 22:59

    Callejon looks more and more adorable everyday, and I absolutely love the pic of Iker drinking chocolate milk. He looks like a cute little boy.

  15. November 23, 2011 01:13

    love every thing here ,, thank ya so so much ,, ❤

  16. November 23, 2011 01:15

    I still can’t imagine Iker and Alvaro taking the same classes as Sergio and Raul. All due respect for the latter, but Iker and Arbeloa seem like the nerds (in a positive way) in a class with the joking boys (in a positive way too).

    All I know is that even though I’d love to take sporting director classes I would probably learn nothing if I attended them with those four, I could really not focus myself with them in class (but if I were sitting next to Iker I’d be probably all away in my nerdy-land to impress him). LOL

    I like that Callejon went all the way to his town and back -showing the kids that even though his famous he has the same obligations as other persons in the country. I like that.

    and because I am so into Iker right now (I’ve been always, but in recent weeks I have a total Iker-phase, you know, when the feelings suddenly intensify) I cannot stop thinking about Cola-Cao and drinking it together with him before we go to sleep. Oh a girl can dream right? ;-)))

  17. black widow permalink
    November 23, 2011 06:06

    thanks for the post. 🙂 i giggled when i saw that photo iker posted on his FB … so cute. he’s like a little boy having his cocoa and biscuits before bedtime. heh. when i go to spain next year, i’m going to try cola cao!

    the world would be a much poorer place if we didn’t have sergio ramos and his fashion crimes to chat about. 🙂 i would sell my first born to be a fly on the wall during one of their sporting director classes … i can’t imagine being able to concentrate if you were a fellow student (unless they have private classes?)!

    i love that callejón fulfilled his civic duty — bless! i hope he didn’t have to pay the fine for being late!

  18. November 23, 2011 06:22

    wooo Pirata got some playing time! And I love how the boys tease Callejon. Animal, beast hmm?

Leave a Reply

