Skip to content

ICYMI – the battle of the capital edition

November 27, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Atlético de Madrid [2011-11-26, Liga jornada 14, 4-1].

Madrid’s unbeaten streak against its city rival is now at 12 years and 22 games (20 Liga games, two Copa del Rey games).  Atleti has not beaten Madrid since Oct. 30, 1999, and since then, the balance has been 16 wins and six ties for Real Madrid.  The battle of the capital once again goes to Madrid.

ONE.  Before the game, Iker received a tribute from his club for breaking the most games played record with the Spanish national team.  For his 127 games in the Spain shirt, Iker received a commemorative trophy from FP, and an ovation from his home crowd.  Don’t you think the trophy looks like it’s made of milk chocolate?

I absolutely love that Iker decided to stick his gloves down the back of shorts during the ceremony, in order to free up his hands, instead of giving them to someone to hold or putting them on the ground.  Once he had handed the trophy to Agustín Herrerín after the ceremony, he started making his way back to his goal.  Along the way, he removed the gloves, gave a high-five to Cris and a kiss to Sergio.

How lucky is that pair of gloves?

TWO.  Prior to this game, there were only a few teams in the Spanish league that Cristiano hadn’t scored against in the Liga, and Atleti was one of them.  Now he can cross them off his list.  The first goal saw another coordinated celebration from Marcelo, Cris and Pepe, with Marcelo and Cris waiting for Pepe to join them in order to jump up together.  Maybe they didn’t have time to practice something more elaborate?

Ángel celebrated his goal by blowing kisses to the crowd…

… and of course sending a message to his wife.  I love Ángel and the energy he brings, but really, he spends way too much time on the ground.

Also of note during the celebration for Ángel’s goal: Lass running up to the group and inserting himself in their midst.  Meanwhile Pipita got very exuberant in celebrating his goal.

Was he pretending to be an airplane?

During the celebration for the last goal, Cris made Marcelo laugh, while Pepe was concentrating more on teasing José Callejón than celebrating.

THREE.  The Ultras Sur always unveil a huge banner poking fun at Atleti during the derbies, and they’re always very, very original.  This year was no exception, with this gambling-themed banner of a guy putting all his bets on the white.

During the second half of the game, they held up this sign, which made me laugh: “we’re looking for a worthy rival in order to have a decent derby.  Apply here.”

Here’s what it looked like in the 2009-10 season and the 2010-11 season.

I had mentioned in an earlier post that I wished that Mou wouldn’t publicly support the ultras, and it’s because they have a past history of violence and racist and fascist attitudes which have been directed at the opposition, and I’m against that type of thing.

FOUR.  How adorable is Marcelo?  And how lovely is his hair?

FIVE.  Speaking of hair, thoughts on Cris’ overly-gelled, combover?  I prefer this one to any “fashion” one he has.

SIX.  A couple of random moments: Iker being, well Iker, and Cris being a tumbleweed.

SEVEN.  After the game, Sergio hugged former teammate (with Sevilla, Real Madrid and the Spanish national team) José Antonio Reyes, and then carried out his captainly duties, applauding the home crowd.

EIGHT.  That’s because Iker was busy exchanging his shirt with Salvio, and giving a post-game interview.  I’m sure he said some important things, but who can concentrate when he’s sporting that look we all love, the captain’s armband on his bare arm?

The fact that he kept showing his profile didn’t help matters, so in the end, I heard nothing that was coming out of his mouth, though I did notice his tongue coming out of his mouth several times.

NINE.  Madrid got one yellow card in the game, and it went to Xabi Alonso.  It’s his fifth yellow of a cycle, meaning that he will be suspended for the next game against Sporting.

Pose-wise, Xabi had a pretty busy game.

He looks like he’s modeling in a magazine here!

I adore these two moments.

TEN.  The Mou corner.

José Mourinho was a bit pissed off in the post-game press conference, because no one had asked Gregorio Manzano anything about the excessive fouling at his post-game press conference.  He also had some other things to say.

on the game: my team didn’t want to play an ugly or a rough game.  My team wanted to play and win.  We played and we won.  Luckily, carbon shinguards exist, they’re expensive but they work.”

on what he thought of his team: the team played very well, always with ambition and motivation.  My team did their job.  They had to win and they won.  They played with discipline.  In the 90 minutes, we only received one yellow card.  We maintained our calm and concentration.  We didn’t hide anything.  I would have liked a better game, of course.  And if I were a paying spectator, even more so.  But it was impossible.  What I liked best about my team was the discipline.  We didn’t let ourselves get provoked.  We maintained our calm.  We were kicked and we stayed calm.  I like this control over emotions.

ELEVEN.  Other things: the result of the Getafe-Barcelona game (1-0) means that Madrid has widened their lead to six points.  However, there is a lot of the season left, so it’s best to be cautious, especially when we’re playing Sporting next week (remember what happened at the Bernabéu last season?), and against Barcelona after that.  With that said, a big thank you goes out to Getafe and Juan Valera, no?

The team will be back in training on Tuesday, to begin preparing for the trip to Gijón.

Castilla plays in their own derbi madrileño on Sunday, against Atlético de Madrid B at 17h.  They hope to remain leaders of the group and prolong their winning streak to six games.

And Álvaro Arbeloa tweeted this photo of Pepe “not spending any money and bringing this home to have for dinner.”

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    November 27, 2011 18:02

    Asi, Asi, Asi, gana el Madrid, vamos Getafe, little sarabia did great 😉 😉

    Hala Madrid

  2. November 27, 2011 19:00

    This game was so dirty. I loved our goals and the celebration and all. I did though enjoy the Getafe-Barcelona game a lot more. I haven’t screamed for any other team besides my Real Madrid team as I did for Getafe last night. I was so impressed with them.

    The icing on the top was when Busquets the racist actually got ticketed for diving. Finally. It was really overdue. I’m hoping that he gets ticketed again during his next match so he has to miss meeting us. I can’t stand him. Good for Getafe! And yes, six points. YESSS!!

    I’m not looking forward to the next two matches. Wasn’t it at Sporting that Iker got whacked with so much of stuff and that the ball boys kept acting smart? Ugh. Not looking forward to that at all. And then after that, we meet Barfa. Double ugh.

  3. Gabriela permalink
    November 27, 2011 19:10

    I was about to comment something decent, but the gifs of Iker’s post match interview distracted me and I forgot what I was going to say.
    Now I’m mad that the TV channel here decided to show Barcelona arriving at the Coliseum Afonso Pérez when there was this Iker interview going on!

    Oh, in Ángel’s defense, before his injury he was getting better at staying on his feet. I hope he’ll forget about his love for the ground soon. He’s such an amazing player, I wish he would stop pulling a Busquets.

    Yay, I was hoping you would post the banners from the fondo sur, since they showed it so fast in the TV that I could barely read the “se busca rival digno para derby decente”! jaja I love this one!

  4. November 27, 2011 19:36

    Graet game. Great post. Its a wonderful time for Madridistas.

  5. Alyssa permalink
    November 27, 2011 19:39

    This was such a great win! Made even better by Getafe’s win! Wonderful day!

    Even though he’s almost the same colour as his undershirt, wow Iker is sexy. Thank you so much for sharing those!

    • Ally permalink
      November 28, 2011 16:05

      “Even though he’s almost the same colour as his undershirt”
      LOL

  6. claudia permalink
    November 27, 2011 19:49

    I am glad our players made it out alive. Atleti played a rough game and I have to agree with you on Angel. I wish he won’t go down so easily for every challenge that come his way. I specially hate him when he dives. It reflects badly not only on him, but also on the team. Also, I also liked what Cris did to his hair. He looked very decent. And a big Thank You for keeping your blog alive. It is one of the 5 websites I checked everyday.

  7. November 27, 2011 21:13

    I love it! This was a pretty brutal but gripping game. I understand Mou’s comments and the fouling was ridiculous and really should have been addressed but i all honestly it was a lot more exciting than past derbies have been.
    And your post of course, was class – highlighting my favorite moments of the celebrations, iker’s interview (that armband on his bare arm is is just…beautiful) and my favorite-est…Xabi’s posing 😀
    Once again, thanks for posting this, I don’t know if you’ve gone back to your regular posting schedule but just know that I’m deeply, deeply appreciative and grateful for every single post and it really does brighten my day when I sign on to see a new entry.
    Much love and Hala Madrid! : )

  8. Gillian permalink
    November 27, 2011 23:42

    I love Marcelo’s hair, and I am also digging Cris’ new ‘do!

  9. thediva1983 permalink
    November 27, 2011 23:59

    Yes, it’s overgelled, but I love Cristiano’s hair. He looks more mature with it (some might say too much), and I think there this sort of Hollywood glamour-type thing going on. I don’t know – some people might disagree with me. *lol*

  10. emily permalink
    November 28, 2011 02:41

    Thank you so much, Una! Great post. It was a win on a day with other positive results, as well. Thank You Getafe!!! How did they manage to keep Barca out of the goal? Starting to get the pre Classico jitters already.

  11. AJ Nelson permalink
    November 28, 2011 02:54

    As always, thanks for a great report and for translating and explaining some things. The Twitter translate on Arbeloa’s picture of Pepe did not exactly make sense…and I had no idea about the ultras.

  12. wandering permalink
    November 28, 2011 03:04

    I missed this game since I was away for the weekend and I couldn’t pick up a signal for my mobile broadband. 😦

    This was fantastic too! That pic of Pepe teasing Callejon is <3!

    Thanks for the recap UNa!

  13. superfan permalink
    November 28, 2011 03:49

    CAN WE NOT SCREW UP THE SIX-POINT LEAD?! I know there’s still so many games to play and anything can happen, but pleaseeeee, 6 points is a huge advantage. So, hopefully, we don’t screw this up.

    With that said, the banner made me laugh too. And I agree with what you said about Di Maria. Can he spend less time on the ground rolling?

    And yayyyy for continuing the winning streak against Atlético!! 🙂 And yayy also goes to Getafe!!!! Hahahaha.

    Thank you so much again for doing this post!! 🙂

    Oh, and Una, have you seen a video or gif of Iker and Sergio kissing and Sergio left Iker hanging for a second beso? Haha. How dare Sergio leave Iker like that. He was distracted. I’m sure if it were you, you wouldn’t get distracted with anything/anyone else if a san Iker is there right in front of you leaning in for a kiss. 😉 😉

  14. November 28, 2011 03:49

    We need a better rival, LOL! I actually missed the game, so this ICYMI was great for me 🙂
    And, speaking about “rivals”, now that it’s less than two weeks away, I can’t stop thinking about El Clasico! :/ The 6 points gap means that we cannot lose this opportunity! We need to stay focused and win against Sporting first.
    And then, well… not only we can beat “them”, but we HAVE TO! We have what it takes and this is the chance we’ve been waiting for!
    I love this team! ¡Hala Madrid!

  15. November 28, 2011 04:26

    i really like the comb-over.

  16. arum permalink
    November 28, 2011 04:34

    great post as usual. Yhank you very very much . =D
    We are 6 point ahead over Barca. gotta love it. Let’s enjoy the moment w/ respectfully. We must stay our feet on the ground. Sporting Gijon bring some difficult games for us.

    however, i’m so happy. So much happy. HALA MADRID!!

    *sorry my bad english. It’s not my language.

  17. November 28, 2011 04:57

    I started reading this post and thought I should post a comment asking you to post a picture of the banner. Then I scrolled down and saw not only the banner but also links to banner’s from previous years. They are beautiful. I love the banners, they must take a lot of money to get made. I hope they make a nice one for El Clasico.

  18. November 28, 2011 05:10

    Nice interview and what a great result

  19. November 28, 2011 08:40

    ahhhhhhh, thank you, una. 🙂 i was so hoping you would post this, because it was the first ever game i got to see live on TV and it was totally worth it!

    i cannot tell you how happy it made me to see the iker/sergio kiss LIVE (heh!), but unfortunately it cut away immediately after the match to show the barca game, so i didn’t get to see the shirt exchange (damn base layers, again!) or the post-match interview. which is probably just as well as i think i would have spontaneously combusted. that armband on his arm … mmm … and i love when he’s all shouty during the match, too. heh.

    love the gifs/pics of ronaldo/xabi and pipita plane! 🙂

    i was incredibly proud of our boys for staying so cool, calm and collected under such provocation and pressure, as mou said. that was an incredibly dirty match as far as atletico madrid was concerned (24 fouls! 5 yellows! 2 reds!), but we were the picture of grace under pressure and kept our focus without retaliating. (why can’t that also happen during matches against certain other teams?)

    you’re right, it is still early in the season, and anything can happen, but i’m really encouraged by how strongly we’re playing and how everything is gelling nicely. i’m optimistic!

  20. Ally permalink
    November 28, 2011 08:48

    Thank you for still doing ICYMI’s!! this was another awesome post 🙂 I hope you will continue, because I feel this season is going to be special…

  21. amouria permalink
    November 28, 2011 10:50

    I love the way the 3-adorables celebrate the goal. The Ultras are the most faithful group of RM supporters, they display our pride and happiness.
    I hate the the intentional violence of the atlits, but any way, thanks goodness, none of our players was injured…
    Hala Madrid

  22. Happy permalink
    November 28, 2011 14:23

    Six points!!!! Pls. make it 12 points after the El Clasico!!!
    I really love to see Cris celebrate with Marcelo and Pepe everytime, they’re so adorable!!! And pls. capture more of Pipita next time!!!! Thx

  23. mar permalink
    November 28, 2011 16:15

    wow! it seemed a nice funny match. too bad i couldn’t catch it

  24. November 28, 2011 17:09

    It looks good, it really looks good. The tam I mean. That is why I will not think about what I wanna think about (El Clasico), because I want no dissapointments. We’ll see. But it all looks good.

  25. ama permalink
    November 28, 2011 17:20

    I didn’t get to see this game live, but I’m glad to see that the goal celebrations were as cute as usual. And I laughed out loud at Mou’s comment about carbon shinguards.

    Such good results this weekend! Our team is in such great form right now–I know there’s a lot of the season left to go but I’m in good spirits 🙂 Thanks, as always, Una, for your posts; long or short, they’re much appreciated.

  26. December 2, 2011 01:04

    I would like to point out the Getafe goal was scored off an assist from our very own bb, Pablo Sarabia. Even old Madrid boys never let us down 😉 ❤

Leave a Reply

