Skip to content

random bits & pieces for Wednesday

November 30, 2011

A little graphic from Marca detailing the importance of Xabi Alonso to this team (and not just in posing!).  As you can see, without Xabi (top), the team wins and loses the same amount of games.  With Xabi, however, they win 78 percent of the time and only lose 7 percent of the time.  With that said, I have complete confidence in the rest of the team and in Nuri Sahin, if he’s going to be the one to substitute for Xabi.

Soeaking of Xabi, on Wednesday he attended an event promoting “La Gula del Norte” products from Angulas Aguinaga (no relation to Javi (!!!), sadly), which is a company in Gipuzkoa (angulas are baby eels, and gula is a less pricier “imitation” baby eel).  However, it just looked like he was posing for a new edition of the catalog, no?  There, he confirmed that Cristiano had not participated in the day’s training session and that physically, he (Xabi) is feeling fine and doesn’t need a rest.  He also answered questions about el clásico and the rivalry with Barcelona with diplomacy and class, in difference to others who are making grand statements and assumptions.

Here are a couple more moments from Tuesday’s training session, since today’s was a closed one.  How unfair is life that I don’t have the right to grab Pipita’s very delectable ass whenever I want to just like Álvaro Arbeloa?  Judging by Gonzalo’s reaction, the pinch was a painful one (click on the gif, I made it extra large).  And then we have Xabi putting on a sweatshirt and walking, and even making those simple and everyday movements mesmerizing.  Only Xabi Alonso.

Madrid also reports today that Ricardo Carvalho has suffered a sprain to his right knee, without specifying what kind of treatment he is receiving or how long he will be out.  ¡Pobrecito!  Luckily, the pairing of Sergio and Pepe in the defense is working so well that we’re not missing Ricardo too much, although his leadership and experience are always pluses.

Álvaro Arbeloa was a busy man on Tuesday.  After the pinching and the training session, he headed to a Gillette promotional act related to the commercial I wrote about yesterday.  He didn’t say anything too interesting there, but he looked fantastic.

Later that evening, he was at the Palacio de la Bolsa along with teammates Sergio Ramos (hope he got a chance to catch up with Niña Pastori! – update: he did!) and Xabi Alonso, as well as Aitor Karanka, to help present the Chocrón Joyeros’ 2012 charity catalog, in which he appears with his three dogs.

Sergio Ramos appeared in the 2011 edition, while Xabi was one of the stars of the 2010 edition.  As mentioned before, Álvaro agreed to appear in the catalog in return for a donation to the charity of his choice, which was the Fundación Virgen del Pueyo in Zaragoza.

The best dressed out of this group are definitely Xabi and Álvaro.  With regards to Carlota, bandage dresses are so ubiquitous (every reality show “star” has one) now that they’re simply not interesting.  As for Nagore, the color of the dress is just not right for her skin tone, and her face is too pale.  And Sergio overdid it with the Gucci – he looks like Cristiano!  Aitor looks fine, but I prefer Álvaro and Xabi’s suits and ties.

And Iker tells us that on Thursday, there will be the presentation of a book about his career, which will include chapters on “personal matters.”  I can’t wait to read it!  Will he explain things such as why he refuses to take off his base layers and why he’s so attached to his purse and plaid?  Anyway, it’s called Iker Casillas. La humildad del campeón (Iker Casillas. The humility of a champion) and it’s written by Enrique Ortego, the man who previously wrote books about Raúl, Di Stéfano and Zidane, with forwards by FP and Peter Schmeichel, Iker’s idol (he wrote: a team like Real Madrid, a country with as many expectations as Spain, needs captains who are leaders, leaders who are captains, and he is both those things).  The presentation will take place at the Bernabéu at 13h.

A lot has been made of this video of Cris and Atleti president Enrique Cerezo at the AS Awards the other night.  In it, Cris tells Cerezo about the hard tackles he received in the game, to which (the very mature) Cerezo replies, “well, you all do the same.  Pepe, Carvalho, Ramos, that short guy with a lot of hair…” A woman near him then whispers “Marcelo” and Cerezo dutifully repeats “Marcelo.”  Cris responds, “you’re speaking about the best players in the world.”

In response, Fernando Fernández Tapias, Madrid’s vice president and witness to that “incident” (he was sitting next to Cris at the table), explained to COPE that it was “a bit of a joke.  I spoke with Cerezo because this issue has been made into something absurd.  There was no confrontation between Ronaldo and Cerezo, I swear.  Nothing happened.”  I can believe that, but I just want to say that I love how Cris defended his teammates!  And that Cerezo can be an idiot, we’ve seen that before and it’s nothing new.

If anyone is making travel plans to Madrid to watch Real Madrid, the period between Jan. 22 and March 4 will be a very good time, because you can watch Madrid play seven times (7!) without leaving Madrid (the community, not the city).  On Jan. 22, Madrid takes on Athletic at home (game of the year for me!!!) – this game was postponed due to the players’ strike which led to the cancellation of the first jornada of the present season.  Then Madrid plays Zaragoza at home during the weekend of Jan. 28-29.  The third game is at Getafe the weekend of Feb. 4-5, the fourth at home against Levante on either Feb. 11 or 12 and the fifth against Racing at the Bernabéu on Feb. 18 or 19.  Then Madrid travels all the way to Vallecas to take on Rayo Vallecano the weekend of Feb. 25-26, before winding down their two-month stay in the capital against Espanyol on March 3-4.  There is the possibility that Madrid will have to travel outside of Madrid for Copa del Rey games, as these will be played on Wednesdays in January and February, and for the Champions League.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Aniekie permalink
    November 30, 2011 13:42

    Watching RM at the Bernabéu is something every Madridista should make happen for themselves. I watched the Derbi, and my goodness did I have a good time. 🙂
    So people book yourselves a plane ticket for end of January uptill March 🙂

    • November 30, 2011 15:14

      LUCKY YOU! I’m so jealous! Any picts to share with us less unfortunate people?

  2. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    November 30, 2011 13:51

    Arebloa is one lucky man.
    This video made me angry, If this is a joke, then I am not laughing Cerezo, how funny, he remembered caravlho, but failed to remember Marcelo, yes sure!!

    I loved Cris for defending his teammates, no he is not arrogant or disrespectful, if I were him I would have slapped the president to be honest. Marcelo and pepe, how dare he mention them too to Cris!!

    Xabi, Arbeloa Madre Mia, stop torturing us!! Nagore dress looks awful and totally wash her out, she rarely doesn’t make a good fashion choice.

  3. amouria permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:18

    “I just want to say that I love how Cris defended his teammates! And that Cerezo can be an idiot,”
    Excellent remark, yes, I loved Chris’ way of defending his teammates, but that idiot Cerezo? He truly needs some training in basic manners!

    Suits? yes, Alonso’s for me is the best. His wife’s choice was unfortunate. But Ramos? with this stupid short scarf? On Ramos, you also need further training….but we still love you of course…

  4. Lorelei permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:23

    Xabi is an important part of the team because he’s a great player and he’s the boss. But I’m confident that the team can win and play well without him. I think it’s important to note that for the past few seasons the team has been young with many new players so everyone was still learning to work together and to gel together. I think this season they’ve finally accomplished that. Also, I bet Xabi is spending extra time with Nuri and Esteban to make sure they are prepared and comfortable.

    Carlota’s hair looks gorgeous and I like her sheer sleeves, but I too am tired of bandage dresses. And I really don’t like the fabric or color of Nagore’s dress. The guys look good, though (except Sergio, but I guess it could’ve been a lot worse).

  5. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:34

    i really loves carlota. she’s so beautiful. loves arbeloa pinching pipita’s ass jajaja 😀

  6. Daniela Dittrich permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:39

    Oh I envy Álvaro so much …

  7. sweethearthalo permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:49

    Arbeloa looks gorgeous and Xabi of course, too. I would say these two are the best dressed in the team. Sergio .. spends too much time with Cristiano or -even worser- they went shopping together, this would mean we have to expect even more Gucci.

    Cris is so cute. I bet he had a bitchface on, when he said it. I totally understand him, I would do the same for my best friends (and not just for them).

  8. Arshjot permalink
    November 30, 2011 14:52

    I loved Cris for doing that, what a stare that was!

  9. November 30, 2011 15:13

    Ooo my hands are itching to grab Pipita on his amazing ass now! I watched that gif more than a couple of time. All in the interest of research of course. *nods*

    I love Nagore when she doesn’t have so much makeup on. It really does her no favors. Which is a pity really, because she’s so much prettier when she’s not caking the stuff on.

    “I love how Cris defended his teammates!” – THIS SO MUCH! I watched that vid a couple of times just too see Cris giving his best evil side eye. HEE! And yes, Cerezo is an idiot.

    Watching my beloved team play at the Bernabeu and (hopefully) win is on my bucket list. I will achieve this dream of mine one day or the other.

    Lastly, those three gif’s at the bottom… just watching them my heart races a bit. They are just brilliant!

  10. November 30, 2011 15:36

    I am secretly making plans to go and see the game of January 22nd as I totally agree that it will be The Game (since I am still fed up with the clasicos after last year, Athletic is totally fine by me -the perfect dose of sports emotions and beauty on the field).

    However, I do worry, that not being a socio, I will have to wait for the ticket sale until they free it for the public and that will be very late and I can end up having a flight booked but no ticket for the game! That would be awful!
    Does any of you have any advices what is the best solution in that situation (besides just choosing the game with another opponent where maybe there will be bigger chances for the tickets)?

    Anyway, I watched the vid of Crispy – it was kinda cute, you could literally see him controlling his emotions, I liked his reaction;-)

    I do too wonder what would be in Iker’s book. I might want to learn Spanish to read it in original, all for Iker!

    I also agree about Nagore’s dress. She’s a spectacular woman and I really like her, but this combination of dress and make up doesn;t do her justice, it just doesn;t fit. Her hubby, however, looks dreamy as always. Oh gosh, what a man!

  11. manie permalink
    November 30, 2011 15:57

    Xabi always looks effortless. I also like Carlota’s outfit. I don’t mind this dress as much because I feel it’s now just a casual going out look and the sleeves are awesome. I don’t like Nagore’s dress.

    Finally, poor Ricky!! I was looking forward to seeing how Mou would play the team once Carvalho got back. I do value his experience even if we have to play deeper. Anyway, hope he recovers soon.

  12. SeattleMadridista permalink
    November 30, 2011 16:10

    Yummy! Thank you for the ass-grab-gif. Alvaro has a very nice life indeed!

  13. mar permalink
    November 30, 2011 17:12

    ohhhhhh no!!! couldn’t they just play Athletic Bilbao in the february? I would like so much to see this match :(( It doesn’t really matter though as I will be able to catch another one…:))

  14. Happy permalink
    November 30, 2011 17:12

    You are right, Ramos just look like Cris, I guess this outfit would be perfect to wear on Cris too!!!!
    I have to say Nagore is my favourite wag, but this time her look is not good, especially her makeup, what’s going on, that not fits her, and for Carlota, she should wear in light color than the black.
    Hope we can win without Xabi, he really need to take a rest.

  15. maria permalink
    November 30, 2011 17:26

    Oh God, you’re absolutely right… the bandage dress is way overdone!! And that particular one, looks exactly the same as the Hervé Leroux, Megan Fox wore on David Letterman a few years ago (except for the sleeves): http://www.peoplestylewatch.com/people/stylewatch/gallery/0,,20286628_20639115,00.html
    As a couple though, they do look amazing!! love the skinny tie (not so much the striped pattern)…
    Xabi just looks flawless… The man knows how to carry a suit!! Nagore looks like she’s been gift wrapped; but I do love the red lips on her though!!
    No comments about Sergio’s outfit… The worst part is, that I’m kinda getting used to his bad taste… and his horrendous fashion choices don’t surprise me anymore!!
    Karanka played safe with his outfit, but the suit looks a bit loose on him…

  16. Gabriela permalink
    November 30, 2011 17:44

    Sad news about Carvalho 😦 can’t get a break, it seems. Força, Ricardo!

    Sergio’s outfit, why? WHY? I can’t even get started on it.

  17. November 30, 2011 17:45

    I always read your posts and have these random comments pop into my head. Then, by the time I’ve gotten to the bottom, I forget them because it’s just a jumble of absolute love for this team!

    So let’s see if I can make a few comments and not sound like a complete moron:

    As much as I love Xabi and quite honestly don’t ever want him to leave/retire, I love that we have enough depth in the midfield that we don’t miss him too much (other than the obvious classiness).

    Alvaro doesn’t just grab Gonzalo’s ass. He practically sticks his up… Yeah. But I am a little jealous. I would like to be lucky enough to grab Pipita’s ass too! Maybe I should become a physio. They get to grope players all the time. And Chelsea have a female physio… Real Madrid could too. Except I’m not so okay with blood… I’ll stick to coaching and just make my way to Madrid that way.

    I didn’t even notice Carlota’s dress at first. I was stuck on her shoes. I LOVE THEM! Mark my words, I will rock a pair of Louboutins on the sidelines coaching some day. Although the heels might sink into the pitch, making pacing in the technical area a little difficult. Hmm… I may want to rethink this dream.

    I think this is the first time I’ve ever looked at Nagore and not thought she looked fabulous. Perhaps it’s the way the photo was taken, because I know that these events are just a load of photographers crammed into a small place, but her face looks older than usual. I’m not a fan of the dress OR the shoes…

    As for Sergio… I’m just shaking my head. At least the jeans are not red to go with that little bit on his shoes…

    I’m going to Madrid in January, but before that long run of games in the community. We plan on going to the game at home against Granada. I’m so excited!!!

  18. November 30, 2011 19:08

    Iker. Has. A. Book. IKER. HAS. A. BOOK. IKER! HAS! A! BOOK!

    oh una, i will give you my heart, soul, first born and kidney if you could possibly find the time to translate snippets for us! i’m sorely tempted to buy it even though i won’t understand a word … what better way to try and practice my spanish?!

    part of what makes sergio so endearing for me is his utter cluelessness with clothes. he’s almost as bad as iker (though i can’t see iker in green jeans, ever). do the two of them buy these too-short scarves from the same place or something?

    i have said, repeatedly, all there is to say about arbeloa, but here it is again … he’s dreamy and beautiful and perfect and could model! he and xabi are neck-and-neck when it comes to who looks better in a suit! xabi looks like he’d be right at home on the set of “mad men” in that photo. (though i agree, nagore’s dress is too pale and coupled with the red lipstick, it makes her look washed out.)

    and thank you for the gifs. poor pipita! i’m jealous of arbeloa getting to do that, heh.

    finally, i’m really proud of CR7 for defending his teammates. even if it was much ado about nothing, good for him for sticking up for them.

    i wish i were going to madrid soon, but unfortunately it won’t be until next october … *sigh*

  19. November 30, 2011 22:34

    Xabi looks gorgeous *sigh* and I so agree about Nagore, that dress color just isn’t working for her. I love the video with Cristiano not only because he defended his teammates but also because as soon as Cerezo was in his view, he just gave him this side-eye glare that made me laugh.

  20. Alyssa permalink
    November 30, 2011 23:17

    Álvaro Arbeloa is my hero! Think he was singing Purpurina while he did it this time too? Hehe 😉

    I love love love how Cris pointed out that those teammates being mentioned are the best in the world. He stands up for his teammates…why can’t his critics ever pay attention to things like that?

    I never thought I say that I don’t like how Nagore looks but she really didn’t do well this time, did she? Sergio, on the other hand, I’m used to saying this about…

  21. Pammie permalink
    November 30, 2011 23:56

    They bought Sahin to help out in situations like these, so I’ll trust in him to prevent the headless chicken situation they suffered at times last season, whenever Xabi couldn’t start. Good that there’s no midweek game, otherwise Cris would have forced himself into playing today instead of getting some rest.

    Yesterday was Álvaro’s day! So naughty! This team knows no personal space and no one seems to be able to keep his hands off Pipita. 😀
    I’m not so sure about the slim tie, but Álvaro looks great anyway. I like his suit a bit better than the shiny one Xabi is sporting (I only saw your Xabi fashion slideshow today, it was amaysing!!). Unfortunately gorgeous Nagore must watch out to not look like a wax figure on red carpet photos. She always comes off rather stiff on photos but doesn’t come off as a stiff person in interviews. I love Nagore and Carlota’s shoes.
    Sergio is being Sergio. It would be weird if he got someone to dress him properly all of a sudden 😀

  22. Lis permalink
    November 30, 2011 23:57

    ” On Jan. 22, Madrid takes on Athletic at home (game of the year for me!!!) ”

    This is a bit random, but we had a lecture on Basque culture at my uni today and I kept waiting for the topic of football and how he would mention Athletic and have pictures of some players. First player who popped into my mind was Javi and then I was reminded of this blog’s (and especially conlaroja’s) love for him and that just made me smile. 🙂
    And of course when he talked about gastronomy I couldn’t get Xabi’s interview with El País out of my mind.

  23. December 1, 2011 00:37

    Ahaha! I love the Xabi graphic 😀 It encapsulates his boss-ness quite effectively. Having said that though, I like you Una, am very glad we’ve got Coentrao and Sahin who could both fill in for Xabi to give him some rotation and anchor the field for whenever he does decide to retire or leave. Its too easy for me to forget that el jefe isn’t as young as he used to be because of how incredibly attractive and skillful he is 😛

    And the video of Cristiano at the AS gala! It was too funny, and whatever happened, for me the best part was his defense of his teammates. Short, succinct and to the point. A+ His affection and respect for them is really a slap in the face to all those persistent “selfish” comments. Cris really is a fabulous team player and I’m glad he’s on our team.

    ❤ this post!

  24. December 1, 2011 00:50

    Pipita’s ass is so “delectable” (as you put it, Una) that even Alvaro can’t resist giving it a pretty big pinch! Haha.

    Xabi and Alvaro in suits/tuxes… siiiiiigh. Xabi, especially. These two need to give their teammates lessons on how to choose suits that FIT well. I’d be happy with just suits that fit well. We can handle material & color selection and accesorizing in some other lesson.

  25. @ulonghaz permalink
    December 1, 2011 01:51

    Me Me Me!! I’m planning to visit Madrid early next year 😀

  26. Dani permalink
    December 1, 2011 02:56

    nice post thanks!
    just a quick question How old is Nagore? maybe its me but her makeup/hair seems to age her. I’ve herd ppl say nice things about her though? anyone know?
    thanks

  27. December 1, 2011 07:08

    I like Nagore’s dress but it doesn’t look good on her, and the bright coral lipstick and pale makeup doesn’t do anything for me either. Sergio really does look uncannily like Cris, especially with that scarf…Hehe, as a joke, I think they should do a “who gets their butt squeezed the most” survey for Real Madrid, Pipita will win hands down!

  28. Aishah permalink
    December 1, 2011 10:08

    hey Una, do you know if Iker’s biography will be translated or published in english?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      December 1, 2011 16:56

      I don’t think so.

  29. superfan permalink
    December 1, 2011 12:10

    The wives are so perfect. So beautiful. I love Nagore’s dress but the color should have been different.

    I hope for a speedy recovery for Carvalho. I miss him! And Cris defending his teammates is just <3333. 🙂

  30. nina2 permalink
    December 1, 2011 14:13

    Cerezo says there’s more to that argument with Cristiano than the cameras captured.

    Seems as if Cristiano didn’t just start it without some kind of provocation from Cerezo.

  31. jellyace permalink
    December 1, 2011 18:27

    I am so relieved that Iker did not use the same writer that Pepe Reina did for his book. I hope Iker’s book will be an interesting read and that maybe (if you are so inclined, Una) you will share the translation with us…pretty please?

Leave a Reply

