Skip to content

reasons 943 to 961 why I love this team

December 1, 2011

Mohican Pepe?  Xabi setting a table and cooking?  Half-naked Sergio?  Álvaro and his dogs?  The Profile?  All this and more in this post, which features multiple moments of adorableness from our boys, the kind of adorableness that only they can provide.

Let’s start with these photos of Pepe rocking a Mohawk (Álvaro Arbeloa tweeted, “I only want warriors on my team… I present The Last Mohican”).  Sergio says they tried to convince him to keep it, but Pepe wasn’t up to it, and in the end, he shaved his head.  If that wasn’t amusing enough (ignore the thumbs up), I love the glimpses we get into the locker room.  They are messy, aren’t they?  Plus, there is the added bonus of a half-naked Sergio reflected in the mirror taking the picture!  Oh who am I kidding, he takes the focus away completely from Pepe.  We also see what looks to be Rafa Varane wrapped in a towel, and the back of a half-naked someone else who appears to be Mesut Özil.

More from Xabi Alonso and La Gula del Norte.  He’s part of their new Christmas campaign, which will air starting on Dec. 8 until Christmas Eve or Three Kings Day, depending on its success.  It’s also centered around the clásico, due to the two main protagonists – Xabi and Carles Puyol – and the slogan “many times the important things happen around good food.”  According to Angulas Aguinaga’s director of marketing, “the relationship with Xabi comes from way back, since the workshop of his father was next to that of Aguinaga in San Sebastián, and he saw how the company grew.  We also sent Xabi gulas while he was playing in Liverpool.”

In the ad (the gifs below are from the making of video), we have Xabi preparing his house and doing the cooking, because he’s expecting a visit from Carles Puyol.

Xabi said he accepted to promote La Gula del Norte because “I have a special affection for the brand due to its relationship with my entire family.  I’ve always consumed their products both here and when I was abroad, when I played in Liverpool.  And it’s always good to sit down at a table to eat with a friend such as Puyol.”  On the subject of Puyol, Xabi said, “Puyi and I get along very well, he’s a great guy, and what happens on the field is completely distinct from what happens here (indicating at the table, meaning off the field).”  He also said that he likes the product itself, that he often uses it when he cooks, and that he likes to cook for his family and friends.

The set was made to look like Xabi’s house, complete with personal photos hanging on the walls.  How adorable is little Xabi in a txapela?

I also love the bowl haircut!

Watch the full making of video here.

As for Álvaro Arbeloa, here’s the image with Mulder, Sawyer and Bauer that is appearing in the Chocrón catalog.

And a couple more scenes from the photocall of the presentation on Tuesday night.  Sergio’s hair looks quite horrible.  Yesterday, Carlota had to deny rumors that she was pregnant after someone tweeted “with the other dress [at the GQ awards] it was a possibility, but with the one yesterday (Tuesday), it seems apparent that Carlota is pregnant.”  Carlota’s response was, “seriously?  Jolín, I’m not pregnant, but thanks for reminding me that I have to go to the gym.”  ¡Pobrecita!

The team trained on Thursday morning (can’t believe it’s December already!), with Cristiano rejoining his teammates after missing out on the two previous sessions.  Also on hand were Tomás Mejías and Pedro Mendes from Castilla, bringing the number of men out on the practice field to 23.  Ricardo Carvalho and Álvaro Arbeloa were the absences, as both are still recovering from injuries.

Kaká was being a bit of a dork, but he also gave us this lovely moment with Fábio Coentrão.

Meanwhile, Marcelo sported a headband, giving him an entirely new look, while Cristiano hid his hair under a large hat (he probably just didn’t feel like doing it).  Speaking of hair, it looks like Raúl Albiol ran out of gel this morning.  And Pipita’s ass is just begging to be grabbed, isn’t it?

Esteban Granero tweeted this photo of him doing XIT exercises (okay, not the last part).

Ten of our boys (men) have been named as the finalists for the FIFA/FIFPro World XI 2011 honor for this year.  They are: Iker, Carvalho, Marcelo, Pepe, Sergio Ramos, Xabi Alonso, Kaká, Özil, Cristiano and Benzema.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Laduree permalink
    December 1, 2011 16:33

    Nagore looks AMAZING in that gif with Xabi. It really IS just unbelievable how perfect those two are… and sentimental Iker! :’) Adorbs. Love this whole post!!

    Your awesome blog really makes the boys come to life, Una!! Thank you!!!

  2. maddy permalink
    December 1, 2011 16:34

    i love ostrich xabi in the first gif.

    also, una..

    for that pic of mesut, i would forever be grateful to you. FOREVER

    • jellyace permalink
      December 1, 2011 19:03

      @Maddy, I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Xabi has an unusually long neck…but like all the parts of his body, it’s a good-looking one!

    • Buckhum permalink
      December 2, 2011 05:34

      hahahaha Ostrich Xabi!
      also, it looks like Ozil has 10 pairs of shoes in the locker room.

  3. Pammie permalink
    December 1, 2011 16:58

    poor Carlota and the wrong pregnancy rumour. People shouldn’t make her feel fat, when she isn’t. 😀

    Oh Iker, I too hope there’ll be many more books to write about this great man.

    Pepe should have kept the mohawk for a little while.

    Xabi’s ad is perfect, how wonderful it would be to get invited to dinner by him. *sigh*

  4. Zparklemotion permalink
    December 1, 2011 16:59

    Oh Iker :’) I loved the part about remembering team mates who didn’t make it. *sigh*

  5. rojafan permalink
    December 1, 2011 17:10

    Bonus! Puyol and Xabi, wow!
    Is Granero trying to look like he’s from the 70’s? I love him! He looks like he’s preparing for a movie role or something.

  6. colon permalink
    December 1, 2011 17:16

    um, nagore looks scary!

  7. Shiffy permalink
    December 1, 2011 17:25

    As soon as I saw the picture that Ramos tweeted of Pepe, I knew you would comment on Ramos’s 6 pack and I couldn’t wait to read about it! Jajaja! Great post as usual! xx

  8. Gabriela permalink
    December 1, 2011 18:19

    Aw, this post put a huge smile on my face =)
    From naked Madrid to Xabi and Puyi being adorable, sentimental Iker and lovely training pics!

    and would you think me crazy if I said I love Sergio’s hair in the gif you said it looks quite horrible? haha, I know, I’m strange.

    I wonder what gods should I pray to so that Granero will cut his hair… it’s reaching “looks like homeless” levels of hideous.

  9. December 1, 2011 18:36

    CARLOTA IS PERFECT OMG IM DYING

  10. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    December 1, 2011 18:39

    I just love this post. I feel it capture everything I love about our player. Kaka dorkiness, RAMOS hotness and iker emotional want hug now personality, higuain bump too :p

  11. Lorelei permalink
    December 1, 2011 18:43

    I actually like Pepe with the mohawk. And I love how Carlota handled the pregnancy rumors.

    I’m looking forward to the completed Xabi/Puyol commercial. I like how they got two of the most respected and respectful players to be in it.

    And someone needs to make a coffee-table book of just photos of Iker’s profile. I would buy it (but then someone would probably steal it)!

  12. December 1, 2011 18:53

    Poor Carlota. As a woman, it really sucks when ppl bitch like that.

    Iker. He is truly perfect. In every way. Was pastasauce there too? I can’t see her in the picts.=

  13. Stella permalink
    December 1, 2011 18:55

    Unai Casillas … Pretty boy I must say. Never notice but he looks like Yoann Gourcuff in profile. If Iker have some Unai pics in that book I definitely want it for X-mas.

    Mes back, looking good! I love the networking thing our player is addicted to. More of this please and It is nice to see how the dressing room look in Valdebas (I think it is) and of shirtless players.

  14. Alyssa permalink
    December 1, 2011 19:02

    I love Pepe. I swear, I really really do. But it is physically impossible for me to stare at anything but Sergio in that photo. I can’t even deal with that body…wow.

    I watched the Xabi+Puyi video 5x (plus the pausing and replaying my favourite parts in between) when I read your Con La Roja post and I just watched it AGAIN here! Thank you so much for sharing the perfection that is Xabi Alonso with us!

    OMG IKER! So many things about that but most of all, I’m glad he doesn’t mind everyone seeing him get emotional. I would hate if he held his tears back. They’re a very big part of what makes him such a beautiful soul. As much as I make fun of little things he does sometimes, there’s nothing I’d change about that man. I love all of it.

    Unai on the other hand looks like he’s thinking “Ugh, he’s crying AGAIN?!” haha.

    Kakaaaaaaa!!!!!!!! I love every tiny bit of his dorkiness! And Xabi being playful with Callejon! And Graneroooo!

    I love this entire team (obviously) but it’s like you gathered all my favourites and put them in this post.

  15. December 1, 2011 19:16

    ay caramba!
    Those locker-room pictures my oh my oh MY! Shirtless Pepe and Sergio, yummy Rafa in a towel and Mesut! O_O too much hottness 😛
    Also, I love love love sentimental Iker…he’s so sweet and thanks so much for translating those anecdotes and his little speech I love his mom’s little story
    OH! and the baby Xabi pictures! Toooo adorable, as always though, I can’t get over what a chubby little redhead he was 😛
    Adorkable Kaka also made my day, he’s currently my wallpaper because that big smiles just ensures that I absolutely can’t be sad when I look at it : )
    So really, every single bit of this post made me very, very VERY happy. I’ve read it like five times already and I’m probably going to come back before the day’s out and it’s just quality. Seriously, these boy + your top notch reporting and gif/picture selection = a MUY CONTENTO little old me 😀
    ❤ ❤ ❤

  16. amouria permalink
    December 1, 2011 20:30

    I also find it awkward to write a book about Iker in the middle of his career. I want him to stay with us for at least the next 10 years!

    Pepe? hahaha, I agree with him, this looks much better, our lovely Pepe…and I loved Masud’s pic. Any one help us to get a bit closer?

  17. Kyrrdis permalink
    December 1, 2011 20:40

    Oh I wish Pepe would have kept the Mohawk! I think he lookes really nice with it! And yeah, what a mess X’D~ But Mesuts Back ❤
    Oh and Xabi! Ah, what a wonderful man he is!
    And Iker getting emotional, ah, he's right, we already saw that, but it's always nice again ❤

  18. December 1, 2011 21:47

    I never get sick of Ike tears:) And of course Xabi knows his way around the kitchen. Is there anything he’s NOT good at?

  19. December 1, 2011 22:32

    So, so, sooooo many reasons to love this team!

    – Thank you, Sergio, for the pictures! We can now get a glimpse (albeit only a tiny bit) of the boys in the locker room. I wonder if it stinks or if it smells weird whatswith the different kinds of cologne these boys are using.

    – Looking at Xabi and Puyol eating kinda make me hungry. And it’s really sweet seeing him setting up the table. I can totally see him doing that in his house. He seems to be the kind of guy who helps around the house.

    – Aww, poor Carlota! She looks gorgeous! Why would people think she looks pregnant?! I love Nagore’s dress but her red lipstick is too bright on her. Hehehe Sergio’s putting his hair in a small bun is so cute!

    – Emotional Iker is just the best! He always shows his emotions which is lovely. Love you, Capi! Oh, and I also read that Di Stefano called him ‘nene’ during the presentation to get his attention! 🙂

    – Kakááááááááááááááááááááá! Sooooooo great to see him back! And OMG Xabi and Callejon seem to be dancing in that picture! I hope Grandpather will be back soon 😦

  20. ThatPerson permalink
    December 1, 2011 22:39

    i love everything about this team :):):):)
    these guys are made of cuteness
    Nagore’s shoes… i want them too

  21. Sanja permalink
    December 1, 2011 22:57

    Unaaa, I really hope you watched Athletic Bilbao – Slovan Bratislava,well worth it 😛

    all I can say is GRANDE IKER
    guapisimo Arbeloa….. y Xabi Alonso! Alonso looks very comfortable setting up the table and all. perfect is perfect!

  22. kiki permalink
    December 1, 2011 23:06

    Una! Are you trying to kill me with this post! It’s too much adorable/wonderfulness! I forgot to breathe!!!!!

    1.Álvaro saying “I only want warriors” & with his puppies! & their names! he is such a… BOY! I love it!
    2. NAKEDNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh sweet footballer panties! holy moley!!!!

    3. I think Carlota & Nagore (my perfect Queen) look beautiful. I don’t know as much about fashion, but I do like that gif of Nagore very much. I feel bad that people would say that to our beautiful Carlota, she is so slender that it’s ridiculous. But she is strong like her Spartan & handled her business very well 😉

    4. Oh Iker is just beautiful inside and out. He, his perfect profile,his facebook page, his grandpa sweaters and everything about him is a heavenly gift (even that nasty sim business, as it gave me LOLZ for days!

    5. I love the training pics, they look so happy & look at that big playful grin from Xabi, the Papa, he looks like one of the boys there…

    6. Oh UNA…XABI being domestic & preparing for my visit…oops I mean Puyi’s visit! It’s too much! I’m overwhelmed! His back & backside in that gif! His utter perfection! Where are the men like him? WHERE!!!!???!!!!?????

    HIS.BABY.PICTURES.I.MAY.SPONTANEOUSLY.COMBUST………someone hold me….GAHHHHHHHH….. those pictures are incredibly adorable. He is SUCH a boy! Utterly adorable and sweet & spunky ~ A good boy..but as he said, “he bites”. Jontxu really reminds me of him & Mikel is adorable,too. It’s just not fair, this commercial & they are so naughty to put up the YNWA scarf (but I’m sure it will help sell the product across the lands). I think it’s telling that this commercial has Puyi & Xabi who tend to be universally liked across “Club lines” more than many other players, hopefully the media will try to tone down their craziness this year as the whole world was side-eyeing last year.

    That is all I can contribute as I am so happy & overwhelmed I must stop & just soak it all in again. Thank you UNA, you beauty!!!!!!!

  23. December 1, 2011 23:14

    This post is full of so many precious gems, I don’t even know what to specifically point out besides the obvious squealing over Xabi and Jose Callejon. LOVE this post!

  24. Louise permalink
    December 1, 2011 23:45

    I hope all of Sergio’s followers are encouraging him to take more dressing room pictures.

    Love the Xabi commercial (well, making of). Chubby cheeked baby Xabi is irresistible!

    • kiki permalink
      December 2, 2011 16:15

      yes about the pictures, because you know, sooner or later we will get some “Germany” moments & hopefully more like that Cesc in la Roja locker room one… 😉

  25. jessica permalink
    December 2, 2011 01:49

    Oh my goodness what would life be without twitter? Pepe looks good but i think ozil is the star of the pic!

  26. @ulonghaz permalink
    December 2, 2011 02:20

    Where’s Sara?

  27. December 2, 2011 03:28

    eeee! where to even BEGIN!?

    oh, iker. how i love you and your unashamed-ness at being all emotional (and the fact that he even makes a self-deprecating little joke about it … sigh). the only thing missing from his presentation is WHERE you can buy the book and WHEN you can get it! i’ve spent all day refreshing amazon but there’s nothing there. 😦 i’ve already told all my friends to be on the lookout for it. una, would you happen to know where we can actually buy it?

    i adore how proud his parents and brother are of him. iker’s the perfect mix of his parents, i think (and unai’s no slouch, either! muy guapo!). i’m surprised more of his teammates weren’t at the presentation.

    the xabi/puyi advert is FANTASTIC. thank you so much for posting that, otherwise i never would have known it existed! i love the two of them, i love the set decorated to look like his home (the baby pix! eeee!), i love the gifs of him cooking and the two of them eating and clowning around … this is great! most of all, i love that their friendship prevails, despite playing for rival clubs. great, great advert. 🙂 🙂

    arbeloa is beautiful. he’s so often overlooked, but he truly is something special. and poor carlota with the pregnancy speculation … i think she looks terrific as she is!

    the kaka/coentrao hug is adorable. speaking of kaka, have you seen the fifa 12 advert with him very determinedly attempting to play the banjo? CLASSIC. it also has pique (in his barca uniform) and rooney and jack wilshire and tim cahill … it’s hilarious.

    and congrats to our boys for making the FIFA/FIFPro world XI 2011 finalists. i’d say i’m surprised, but i’m not — they deserve it!

    finally … great pix of pepe (i like the mohawk!) and great bonus pix of shirtless sergio, heh! nice one!

    fabulous post, una! gracias!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      December 2, 2011 11:11

      You can check the official online store, they sell Zidane and Cris’ books, so they’ll probably sell Iker’s as well.

      • December 4, 2011 02:51

        i have already sent them an email politely demanding to know if/when it will be in stock. 😉 gracias!

  28. ama permalink
    December 2, 2011 03:43

    I kind of love that this wondrousness ranges from the NSFW (not that I don’t appreciate the locker room pics, especially the background figures) to the completely and totally adorable–Alvarito and his dogs are the CUTEST! Little Xabi! Crying Iker! (Iker, it’s not just Spain but the whole world that knows you’re a little sentimental, and we love it.) Our team is the best.

  29. Jess permalink
    December 2, 2011 05:32

    Özil!!! Im going to have to come back and reread this post because my mind is full of Özil half-naked right now and I cant think straight.

  30. December 2, 2011 07:55

    OMG Esteban, I can’t with your facial hair.

  31. December 2, 2011 08:48

    I tweeted almost the exact same thing about Sergio’s picture of Pepe. Forget Pepe, my eyes went straight to Sergio’s abs!

    I love that Xabi still looks classy & elegant, even when he’s setting the table. That takes skill!

    And, gosh. Iker is such a crier, it’s adorable. He really wears his heart on his sleeve, no? And Unai is gorgeous! Not as gorgeous as his big brother, but really, really handsome as well! Their parents have good genes!

  32. Helina permalink
    December 2, 2011 14:28

    Mesut is so hot, I can’t stop staring at his back. Can’t believe I’ve fallen in love with him like this, I don’t usually drool over players, I’m more interested in the game itself and their skills. But I just love everything about this guy ❤ But I would like to see some (half) naked Cristiano too, Pepe you should definitely invite him next time you take pics like this!

    Alvaro and the dogs is too cute!

    And Xabi as a kid too 🙂

  33. kiki permalink
    December 2, 2011 16:01

    Una, a bit off topic, I wonder if people saw the analysis of Xabi by Michael Robinson & what did they think? http://www.lascosasderobin.com/el-analisis-de-michael-robinson-xabi-alonso.html You don’t have to put this through through to comments, as it’s OT a bit, I was just curious. Thanks 🙂

  34. December 2, 2011 16:47

    The pics of Pepe are rockin, especially the one when we can see Serhio’s abs. But I am still waiting for someone to have the Forlan moment (he tweeted the vid of himself after the Copa America final, with the copa and naked Caceres in the background, by accident;-) I know my hopes are a bit teenagerish, but whatever;-)

    anyway, Alvaro with the dogs -cute, Xabi preparing food – cute and sexy, dooooh,

    and how not to love Kaka, absolute sweetheart!!!!

  35. JCF permalink
    December 2, 2011 22:45

    Personally, I think Alvaro and Carlota looked really good for that event! And shame on whatever idiot said she was pregnant, glad she was able to take it well though.

  36. AJ Nelson permalink
    December 3, 2011 03:11

    Lots of goodness, and are you sure that you are only up to 961 reasons? I am pretty sure the abs of several of the players count for several thousand!

    As for Carlota – she is stunningly beautiful and natural looking. My theory on the pregnancy rumors is that she and Alvaro are so adorable together (as is their daughter) that everyone is hoping that they continue to procreate. Because seriously, she is gorgeous and no way looks pregnant.

Leave a Reply

