Skip to content

ICYMI – the moving on edition

December 12, 2011

In case you missed it – Real Madrid vs. Barcelona [2011-12-10, Liga jornada 16, 1-3].

The actual conversation at work today went a little like this.  My colleague: I really wanted to congratulate us today, but no… Me: I know, I was so excited after the first 30 seconds, thinking ¡por fin!

Well, that about sums it up, no?  But I prefer to look ahead.  I also like what Sergio wrote, “en las buenas y en las malas, Hala Madrid!”  (in good times and bad, Hala Madrid!).  And though this may be a bad time at the moment, I believe there will be good times soon.

I am quite an optimistic person by nature, so I don’t want to dwell on the bad things, or missed opportunities.  I prefer to look forward and think that there is a lot of Liga left, and anything is possible.  However, for this post we have to look back, and so here are some of the lighter moments of the game.

ONE.  The Bernabéu got dressed up for the occasion, with this beautiful mosaic in the south end, and white flags in the rest of the stadium.

Too bad several fans let us down with their stupid lasers and with their stupid chants, including one wishing death on Andrés Iniesta (which was duly reported by the press, the same press that tends to ignore when Cristiano Ronaldo gets this treatment).

TWO.  As the warm-up wound down, it was time for the high fives and mutual encouragement.  I’ll say it again.  Piña.

THREE.  Meanwhile, in the tunnel, we had Cristiano being a tease.

FOUR.  Win or lose, our boys are so pretty, no?  Not every team can say this.  After the photo was taken, the captains went to do the coin toss, which ended with Iker and Carles Puyol giving each other a high five and a tap on the side of the head.  They’re so coordinated that they looked like they practiced this, no?

FIVE.  Karim’s goal, which hit the back of the net at the 22″ mark, was the fastest goal in the history of clásicos.  This picture looks more like it belongs in an advertisement for a video game or for a shoe brand than in real life.

It made me so, so, so happy, I thought I would explode from joy.  Plus, Marcelo’s little jump is adorable!

SIX.  Something caught Álvaro Arbeloa’s attention, and held it for a long time.  Meanwhile, Iker was doing the best to get the attention of his teammates.

SEVEN.  Speaking of Iker, he was very frustrated (he wasn’t the only one) during the game.  But the way he expressed it was just adorable, from kicking the goalpost to lying spread-eagle on the ground after conceding a goal, and the rolling up.

I also loved the head shaking, the arm motions, the muttering to himself, the gestures and the squat.

EIGHT.  Iker showed why he is the captain of his club and country after the game, from applauding the home crowd to giving his hand to his rivals (as the himno goes), including his La Roja teammates Puyol, Iniesta and Villa.  This man, like Xabi, is pure class.

NINE.  After the game, my two captains both said things I liked.  And I love how they’re gracious in defeat.

Iker: we’re a group, and all of us win and lose together.  We all have to be on this ship. 

Sergio: we had a golden opportunity today, but the Liga continues and no one is champion yet.  It’s a shame because if we had won, we would have widened the gap in points, but football is like this and neither Barcelona nor we were going to win the Liga today.  We have to congratulate the rival, which is a great team.

TEN.  The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

ELEVEN.  The Mou corner.

At his press conference, Mou said that the team was “sad and calm.  I said before the game that we were very stable emotionally, and we wouldn’t change with a win or a loss.  If you win, you’re happy, and if you lose, you’re not happy.  But we’re balanced and we’re tied in points.  We have one more game to play, and if we don’t lose, we’ll be first going into the Christmas break.  If we win points in Sevilla, we’re the leaders.”  He said he came out to speak to the press “because my team has lost, you don’t want my assistant to come out if we lose… after a loss, it would be impossible for me not to come out.”  And when asked whether he heard the whistles aimed at Cristiano Ronaldo, Mou responded, “I don’t have time for those things, I have to work.”

Mou also refused to criticize the referee when asked about the foul that could have meant a second yellow card for Messi: “to me, it looked like it should have been an expulsion, but perhaps not, because the referee had a better view, I was 40 meters away and the referee was close and I don’t want to criticize anything without watching it on TV because I could be unjust and I don’t want to be that.”

Prior to the game, Mou had waited around two minutes at the entrance of the tunnel for Pep Guardiola to emerge.  And when Pep finally made an appearance, Mou offered his hand and the two of them greeted each other cordially.  Then, with one minute or so left in the game, Mou headed to the Barcelona bench to extend his hand to Tito Vilanova, and say a few words to him.  He said later that he wished Vilanova “health.  He’s good and I’m happy for that.”  I love this.

TWELVE.  The presidential palco and VIP section were full of, well, VIPs.  Rafa Nadal was in the palco, while Feliciano López and Juan Carlos Ferrero were spotted in the VIP section.

Vicente del Bosque was also in the palco, along with Toni Grande, though they didn’t run into Florentino Pérez.  This was the first time that VDB had returned to the Bernabéu since the controversy over his socio de honor nomination.  Did you know that VDB has a seat reserved for him in all the stadiums, for whenever he wants to attend a game?  Clive Owen was also seen in the palco (one of the things that Alfredo di Stéfano said he liked in his Marca column was meeting Clive); hopefully Nagore had a chance to chat with him as well.  Shakira was also among the 80,000+ souls at the Bernabéu, as was Guti.

I liked what Guti said about Cristiano: “doubting Cristiano is like when Messi is doubted when he plays badly with Argentina.  Football is like that.  We all know that they’re the best in the world, but if they play badly for two games, people start criticizing them.  Football is a roller coaster and when things go well for you, it seems like you’re God and no one can move you from the peak, but you know that in any moment you can fall off and you do fall off.”

50 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 17:56

    Una I love u for this. I was crying after our match was over and was depressed the next day. But you know what, I am convinced that this year we will win the treble and that this is just a bump on the road to that.

    *BIG HUGS* I really, really needed to see a post like this from you. Thank you!

  2. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:05

    a) BOOOO for the fans for wishing that for Andres, like Andres not Andres he is iniesta, whoever was aiming lasers was a bad aimer anyway it was mostly on our players not even barc.

    I am like you Una, I chose to be optimistic, not go over everything in my head, what if situation is so tiring, I love this team, win or lose I still love them, liga is still long, we still have one game in hand, let’s show our mentality in the next game, but suggest if Nadal lay off Bernabeu for a while he is not our best luck charm, no? :p .

    HALA MADRID, HASTA EL FINAL VAMOS REAL.

  3. rojafan permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:16

    I was proud of the players for their professional behavior and especially proud of Sergio. He’s growing up! And Mou with Pep and Tito Vilanova–Sergio isn’t the only one growing up! I thought the fans still loved Andres Iniesta. These death chants are as inexplicable to me as the fans in other stadiums that throw things at Iker, their National team captain.
    In spite of the result, I enjoyed watching this match more than most Clasicos. I think Real Madrid is capable of beating any team in any league, but not on this day.

  4. Linda permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:23

    I always enjoy your pov, always fair and level-headed 🙂 No one really lost their heads this time and though I wasn’t thrilled about some of the decisions by the ref and by our boys I don’t feel like the referee became more of a deciding factor than the players themselves. We had a defecit in Cristiano being off his game and really that’s the only thing that made a difference- which is very good in my opinion!
    So, onward and upward! Hala Madrid!

  5. Pammie permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:25

    hehe, I too hope Nagore could catch up with Clive Owen. 😀 It’s adorable that Don Alfredo was happy about meeting him. Now I wonder which films with him he watched.

    Thanks for this ICYMI, it’s been tough so it’s nice to see the positive things here. Though Xabi killed me with his gesture after that goal. I guess it was obvious that they had given up on that point, when Xabi looks like this. 😦 Here’s hoping that they can overcome that mental blockade in time for the next clásico

    I love that shift in attitude towards the Barsa technical staff Mou has underwent compared to the summer/weeks of clásico craze. I think he’s sending good signals there in terms of sportsmanship (also with his conduct in the presser). This was no time for Mourinhoims and erratic behaviour and he saw that.

  6. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:33

    well i’m definetely devastated. but like arbeloa said, keep your enemies happy. and yes we’re with this team in good and bad

  7. Gabriela permalink
    December 12, 2011 18:49

    Awn Una, your post made me feel a bit better. But I’m still sad, and disappointed. We can’t seem to win against them, no matter what we do. I don’t even know how to explain this match. I was so happy for 30 seconds and then I didn’t even finish watching it. I turned the TV off right after their 3rd goal. I know this should not be the spirit and that I should believe, but you know when you are just tired? I feel like this about clásicos. I just can’t deal with them anymore. They only make me feel bad, or sad, or angry.

    I really hope we don’t have to face them on Copa or CL, because I’ve had enough already.

    The pics and gifs of the boys celebrating Karim’s goal make me so sad 😦
    But I love our captains giving a lesson on class. And Angry-Xabi is such a bamf.

    Una, thank you for Sergio’s thigh pic, it never fails to put a smile in my face jejeje

  8. asma permalink
    December 12, 2011 19:03

    Dearest Una…you’re simply the best! Agreed with everything you say and great ICYMI title. That Sergio pic LOL…I can’t believe I’m laughing..Thank you so so much.

  9. yvette permalink
    December 12, 2011 19:05

    Good post as always… Thanks Una! Now I hope we win our next game while Barca is away at Japan and regain our #1 spot!!

  10. Mani Thangadurai permalink
    December 12, 2011 19:25

    I think the thing is to remember that Madrid can still be Champions of the first half if this seasno since they have a game in hand. All the club has to do is keep winning and not slip up, although it’s no guarantee. The team seems to be an even better unit than last season, but as has been shown it still has weaknesses. However, Barcelona have also been troubled by pangs of complacency which has seen them slip up a few times.

    There is also no doubt that Barcelona was still hurting after Madrid denied them the treble last season!

  11. Ally permalink
    December 12, 2011 19:35

    this was a bit of a disappointment, because I had great expectations this time…but we just have to move on and beat Barça in Camp Nou, which would be a bigger achievement than winning in the Bernabeu 🙂
    jajaja, I like it that you put that random Sergio thigh picture in again! I was starting to miss it 😀

  12. mar permalink
    December 12, 2011 20:08

    the result was disapointing but i liked how the boys in the end exchanged hugs and not kicks/slaps with the barca-boys…it was turning into a cliche of the clasicos

  13. Mariam permalink
    December 12, 2011 20:09

    even though losing was disappointing, seeing Iker hug the barça players made me feel a bit better.. our team handled the defeat well.. Iker was the best, he kept his cool and made some great saves. I didn’t notice him kicking the post or lying on the ground, but that is just adorable! we have the best captain ❤

  14. manie permalink
    December 12, 2011 20:34

    You always know how to cheer us up. Much needed and much appreciated!

  15. Alex permalink
    December 12, 2011 20:38

    What an emotional rollercoaster. When Benzema scored his goal after 22 seconds it felt like this was gonna be the turnover and Madrids turn to dominate. Oh well, there’s always next year. Hopefully Jesé, Morata et al will get some playing time in CdR. Thanks for a great blog una.

  16. December 12, 2011 20:52

    A loss is a loss and of course I’m disappionted because of how we fell apart in the second half.

    But, I have to say, it was much easier to handle it this time around, because it’s not that Barcelona were astronomically better than us, to me it felt more like it came down to bad luck and the fact that we seemed to lack confidence. That’s why I’m not worried, I think we’ll see good times soon because we have the potential.

    Also, I’m really happy with how the players – and Mou! – handled the media afterwards.

    Thank you for this round up, it really cheered me up.

  17. emotionalism permalink
    December 12, 2011 21:07

    wow the stadium looked beautiful, it gives me goosbumps just looking at the picture!!
    I hope I make it there someday…

  18. Gana el Madrid permalink
    December 12, 2011 21:17

    We lost because of Ronaldo. His obsession with scoring goals vs Messi is outrageous that cost us dearly. He could have passed to wide open players but even when he did have a chance to get a goal he flubbed. He never plays in big gamesstarting all the way back to his United days. Never did anything vs Liverpool or Chelsea in those days and never does anything for us vs Barca. Next clasico I hope he doesn’t play.

    • Gabriela permalink
      December 13, 2011 15:35

      Oh, that Cristiano Ronaldo guy, he’s so shitty. He even scored a goal that won us a title last season.

    • Jenny permalink
      December 13, 2011 23:03

      The chances he had were chances because he was in the right place at the right time – as always. He is a tremendous player. He had only one chance to pass instead of shoot and if he had done it and Angel had missed we’d all be criticizing him for not shooting. At any rate – no one is better one on one with a keeper than Cristiano Ronaldo. He’s at a point in his career where he is entitled to take shots when he wants.

      Cris is amazing. We didn’t lose because of him or anyone else. This is a team sport. He was unlucky, that is all – but those were chances that he created for himself.

      Don’t get me wrong – he was unlucky and might have done better and it might have been a different game, but this is a team sport. The team win and lose together.

  19. December 12, 2011 22:44

    What a nice balanced article. Loved the Mourinho moments!

  20. Iris permalink
    December 12, 2011 22:47

    Your posts just make me love Real Madrid more and more. Thank you!

  21. December 12, 2011 22:55

    I liked what Sergio wrote as well, and I love this post.
    The moment we scored that goal was truly beautiful, I want to hang on to that feeling and forget the rest.
    and I’m glad for the maturity our players exhibited in their post-game interviews, even Mou said the right things.

    I also have to say THAT photo of Sergio is always a welcome sight, and especially at times like these!

  22. December 12, 2011 23:45

    This game left me so disappointed; I thought for sure it would be THE game where everything changed. I was really upset with some tactical decisions made by Mourinho. Arbeloa should have been on as right back so Coentrao could have been on the left. I also don’t understand why Cristiano wasn’t subbed out when he was clearly having an off game. Higuain was put on for Benzema too late to make an impact while Benzema had to be taken off even though he was playing great the whole time. I also have no idea why Di Maria was taken off; he was clearly one of the players who stepped up to the intensity this game required.

  23. December 13, 2011 00:46

    I know what you mean about practically exploding with happiness at that first goal. I woke up our ENTIRE house with my screams (the match was on at 5am where I live). It was such a dream start.

    It was hard to not dwell on the missed chances and the what-ifs, but I agree with what you, Iker and Sergio said. Like I said in my post El Classico blog post, it would be silly to dwell on this and consider the league over and done with. The team has been playing well, there are still a ton of games to be played, and if the 2006-2007 season has thought us anything, it’s that A LOT can still happen.

    That being said, I am trying not to even think about the Camp Nou game in May. If the league is still up for grabs at that point, I might just go crazy… MUST. NOT. THINK. ABOUT. IT. Grrrrrrrrrr.

    Anyway, it must be said. Xabi was in top form with his poses in this match!

    • GinaM permalink
      December 13, 2011 17:15

      I agree that first goal had me jumping up and down for like 1 minute. Even though we lost I was still happy and that goal brought me joy!!! And instead of being sad about the game I kept thinking about that goal and it bring a smile on my face 🙂

  24. December 13, 2011 01:13

    It was a disappointing game, but it’s not over yet. The good thing is that RM have improved, and this game wasn’t full of all the diving and fighting of last year. The fact is, Barca is an excellent team, and it was a fair win. No matter what happens, I love all the RM guys the best.

  25. Ana permalink
    December 13, 2011 01:34

    Hopefully this loss will not affect us, hopefully this is just a hint from God meaning that if we are going to La Liga and the Champions League we are gonna have to fight for it and not have it given to us on a silver platter, perhaps we are gonna have to win titles not by Barca playing bad but by us play not good but GREAT. ”In good times and bad, Hala Madrid!”

  26. futbolfan permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:14

    Sigh. I was so optimistic. But you’re right una, it’s just another game, and we’ll move on. Here’s to winning in Seville!

    But I still just want to know why. WHY!?!? Everthing was perfect–at home, winning streak, possibility to go 9 points ahead, goal at 23rd second…WHY!!
    I seriously thought we would even rout them after the first goal.
    After doing SOOOOOOOOOOOOO well in the Super Copa and the first half….WHY?!

    Lol, don’t mean to sound like Mou, but it’s a good question.

    Anyway, you are so right about that pic…WOW it’s amazing. Same with the one of them celebrating.
    The gifs of Casillas….AMAZINGNESS AGAIN.

    Also, I cannot believe people are blaming the whole loss on Cris. I was upset by his misses, but let’s just disregard everything else he’s done for us, geeze! People need to calm down.
    Seeing the pics of Cris and others so frustrated seriously made me almost cry.
    Btw, Kaka also had a great game, he did some amazing things; really wish he had started.

    Also, Xavi’s comments were once again great, with him saying “we were far superior to them.”

    Loved our teams comments though.

    And finally, more than ever HALA MADRID!

  27. Morales permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:16

    I’ll just treasure Benzema’s gol forever and ever. It made me so happy for us and for them.

  28. maria permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:36

    Oh God, what a pity… after such a thrilling start of the game, to lose like that… But you’re absolutely right, it is better to look forward rather than feeling sorry!! and there sure were some highlights: Mourinho’s attitude towards Pep and Tito was flawless. He acted as a real Bernabeu’s host: perfect gentleman!!
    Karim was the real star of the night. Among all Real Madrid players, I think he played the best… And I don’t say that, only because the 22′ goal (witch I kinda think it was a little bit of good luck), but because he really played bravely defending the colors of Madrid and fought ’til the end like a warrior!! God, how far he has come… Many sports journalists here in Brazil, praised him as one of the best of the pitch for his performance, even though he belongs to the losing team… And I just loved how he celebrated his goal, he just looked possessed as if he had that scream stuck inside him for years!! And everyone was so happy in that piña!! of course it is a very big deal to score against barcelona, but Cris looked more excited than when scoring himself… I think that shows how much of a cool group they are, and how much they are committed to score as a team, win as a team, and lose as a team!!

  29. Marie permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:38

    *Sigh* It started so well… It’s impossible to be too sad while looking at that first picture you’ve posted though. 🙂 (The guy Feliciano Lopez is sitting next to is also a tennis player, Milos Raonic. He was supporting Barcelona though, so I understand you leaving him out :P)

  30. Gigi permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:38

    The civility of this game astounded me then and it continues to do so now. I was seriously considering not watching because the last match was so reprehensible. My stomach was in knots! This time though… both teams came to play futbol, and for the most part, did. It was refreshing, it was a relief, the post-game conferences weren’t filled with acrimony or blame-laying and I was so glad it didn’t degenerate into the fiasco of last time. I really wonder what happened for such a turn-around. Not that our concerns weren’t justified last time… I was just glad to see that tempers were held in check and the diving was kept to a minimum. Doesn’t excuse the somewhat questionable calls on the ref’s part, but I was able to hold my head higher this time, and felt the game was lost fairly.

    • Jenny permalink
      December 13, 2011 23:05

      Actually – tempers are normally held in check at the Bernabeu. There is rarely any fighting of any kind on the pitch. There is also less diving.

      The diving becomes out of hand, and the riots normally occur at the Camp Nou. It is something I have noticed.

  31. Jess permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:40

    Hopefully we win the next game so we can lead the table again. Im still proud of my boys!!! Im not appreciating people blaming Cris for this loss, we’re called a team for a reason.Thanks for this post Una, flawless as always. Hala Madrid!!!

  32. wandering permalink
    December 13, 2011 02:43

    My heart broke after this game but I will always love my team. Hala Madrid!

  33. emily permalink
    December 13, 2011 04:39

    Thanks for the poignant post, Una.
    The game started on such a high. I jumped straight up out of my comfy couch and I am sure I scared everyone else in the room. I just wish wish wish it was followed up by more incisive play. The incredible high ended in such a low place.
    What happens in CR’s head that he just goes absent when Barca comes to town?
    I just don’t get it. It’s as if the decision matrix in our front line falls apart and they can’t find each other. Every move looked forced.
    Of course the British media were screaming this morning about Barca being a bunch of cheats.

  34. TexFan permalink
    December 13, 2011 04:55

    It was a dissapointing game, but I’m grateful that the game ended with grace from our boys, especially Iker. We just have to move on, there is still the Liga and they are more than capable to win it all.

  35. December 13, 2011 05:44

    *sigh*

    i never knew it was possible to go from a high like that to a low like that over the span of a couple of hours. but it ain’t over til it’s over, we’re tied on points and we have one extra game to play … we’re only halfway there, and anything can happen. i have faith. hala madrid!

    on the bright side … at least there were no real fights this time around, right? they all mostly behaved like gentlemen, which gives me renewed hope for the national team.

  36. ggairola permalink
    December 13, 2011 06:40

    second goal was not only lucky but also offside. through ball from fabregas to sanchez which was cleared by defender,there sanchaz was offside .so sanchaz influenced play (therefore defender has to clear the ball) from offside position.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_HLbLLTOmk&feature=player_embedded pause at 5:59.

  37. PepperPots permalink
    December 13, 2011 09:39

    I was successfully keeping my tears together after the game (with some tequila shots) but when I saw Real Madrid’s tweet- Ahora mas que nunca: ¡Hala Madrid!, I just lost it! Our time will come. 😀

  38. superfan permalink
    December 13, 2011 15:05

    “Win or lose, our boys are so pretty, no? Not every team can say this” –> HAHAHAHAHA. OMG This had me laughing so hard. SO TRUE. Only our boys, only our boys. 🙂

    But seriously, I also had the same conversation you had with your colleague with my friend. So sad. I was so happy with the 1st goal. How fast was it? I wasn’t even settled yet and BAM! I had so much hope. But we have to move on and be optimistic. It’s just another game.

    Can I also just say that this game had little to no drama at all. And I love what the captains said too. Class right there!

    I’m still sad but I remain optimistic for the rest of the season. And thank you much for this post!!! This is golden. It really made me laugh. And hopefully, we’ll be able to congratulate ourselves come the end of the season!!! 😉

  39. Marie permalink
    December 13, 2011 16:53

    I haven’t had time to comment for the longest time now but I just wanted to remind you that I still love your blog. Thanks for the great work! HALA Madrid!

  40. NickiBella permalink
    December 13, 2011 23:24

    Guti is totally right in what he says. When Messi and Ronaldo have an off day people say they suck, but when they are playing fantastic they flip about how great they are. They are both phenoms and deserve respect. They can not be compared bc they are 2 totally different players. Who are good for different reasons. Neither of them is a complete player, no one is. Even the best players have flaws. At the end of the day if you put both of their names in a hat and picked either one of them I don’t think anyone would complain either way. When it comes to the 2 of them it is a win win situation.

  41. Daniela Dittrich permalink
    December 14, 2011 15:30

    What a game! *sighs* After this fast and precious frist goal I thought I was so a good start and the team would do well. 1-1 at half time was ok. I think both teams are even and a draw would not disappoint me as result. But the second half … ah, poor Marcelo! I think Iker could have caught the ball … and Cris goal-chances, ah, I swear he would have scored in any other match! But I saw Cris yesterday in the copa del reay match and the training-pictures. He’s judging himself too hard! 😦
    But I’m happy we have improved since last year! And if we win this weekend, we’ll still be first in La Liga.
    I’m always proud of our boyes, no matter what!

    But I have one point of critique Una! 😉
    You cut our gorgeous german NT-coach out of the picture with Rafa! I can still see his hair and I know it’s Jogi, because I have the very same picture with both, Rafa & Jogi in my blog. They are two fine men.

  42. December 14, 2011 16:49

    I like this entry and the choice of gifs and pictures;-)

    There is a silver lining -at least Serhio did not slap anyone this time;-))))

    As I said earlier, last series of Clasicos immunised me and even though I still desperately want Real to win, I certainly approach the event like that with more calmness.It is one game. it is a prestiguous one, but still, points-wise it’s the same as any other. One day they will win and the victory will be much sweeter. I sense that now there is more pressure on Barca to win any RM match, because they do it so often, than on RM to win with Barca because it is somehow now usual for them to loose, so any victory will be a huge success rather than a normal thing.

    Anyway, to refer to the first picture Una posted, which is a default cheer-up picture, I have to say that in some way, I follow emotional road of Sergio Ramos in the Clasicos. From anger after the 5:0 match where he slapped people to the calmness of the comment after the last game ;-))

Trackbacks

  1. In all this “down-time” | spainsdaviscup

Leave a Reply

