Skip to content

blanca Navidad

December 24, 2011

Warning: avoid this post if you’re about to go out and have some fun, because reading it will put you right to sleep. I had to take multiple breaks while translating in order to stay awake (and the video is only seven minutes long). The team’s Christmas greetings video and outtakes video better be good, in order to offset this captains/president/coach video. On the upside, they used all four captains this year, after only using Iker and Sergio last year, probably because they needed that extra Marcelo sunshine and sparkle. I love that Sergio also provided some much needed color with his sweater.

What Gonzalo is thinking: come on Sergio, hurry up with the champagne, filming that was painful.

Here is what is said during the video.

FP: I personally like the Christmas holiday, and for those who celebrate during these days, we believe it’s a time for peace, for generosity and also for a time for hope.

JM: I’ll go to Portugal for several days, to see our families. And then I’ll spend two or three more days with my wife and our children. We’ll do what we hardly ever get a chance to do, which is go to another country, just the four of us. We’ll think together and start preparing for the new year together.

What Iker is thinking: we look like two grandfathers and four grandsons! And good thing I didn’t wear my cardigan, or it would be three grandfathers and three grandsons.

IC: like the president and the míster said, we’ll be with our families, spending both Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve together with our loved ones, which is the tradition, and we’ll say goodbye to this year, which has been a great one in terms of health, and welcome the new one in the best way possible.

JM: what I like most is the significance of this date for Catholics, for a Catholic family like mine. I’ve been living away from my country, my city for more than 10 years, so it’s a moment to return and spend time with the family, to prepare for the new year.

FP: for me, it’s normal to spend time with the people you love during this holiday season, such as your family, and also your friends.

SR: I’ll spend these days in my land, Sevilla, with my family, my friends and my loved ones. I’ll also reflect back on this year, on both the good and bad things that happened, to try and start 2012 off on a good foot. I hope it will be a great year and full of dreams that will be realized at the end of the season.

What Sergio is thinking: don’t drop the champagne bottle. What Mou is thinking: he’s going to drop it. What Marcelo is thinking: come on Sergio, drop it!

GH: I’ll be very happy to meet up once again with those people that I don’t get to see on a daily basis. I’ll spend the time with many people, my loved ones, the ones who are always there for you, so I’m happy I get to do that.

MV: I’ll also be returning to my country, to Brazil, to celebrate with my family, with my son, with my wife. I am eagerly awaiting for that time to come so that I can spend time with them.

FP: the best thing about 2011 was being in good health, which allows all of us to be here together. And in terms of sports, the best thing was without a doubt the Copa del Rey, as it was something that has long been desired by all madridistas. It was a historic final for many people, the best final in the history of the Copa del Rey. I would also like to highlight the sound economic and institutional situation of the club, which makes us stronger.

JM: in this moment of serious economic and social crisis in Europe, I believe madridistas have many reasons to be proud to be madridistas, because this club seems to live in a world apart, since their sound economic situation is something fantastic. As for the Copa del Rey, el madridismo had practically forgotten what it was like to win the Copa del Rey, in a final that was obviously special. And in terms of this season, it’s important that when we look ahead, we do not see anyone in front of us. I think that’s also important.

IC: for me, this year was about winning the Copa del Rey, which all madridistas had been wanting to win for a very long time. It was also about the leap in quality and dedication that this team had in 2011.

What Pipita is thinking: ¿tienes msn? What the photographer is thinking: I’ll use the presents to cover up Iker’s bright white sneakers. What FP is thinking: mine, all mine. What I’m thinking: how does Mou manage to simultaneously smile and frown?

FP: in 2012, for the club, we want, without any doubts, triumphs and titles. As I’ve always said, Madrid is a club that was born to win, and that’s what all our fans wish for. In addition, this sound economic situation allows us peace and independence as an institution, which in turns helps us to add to the legend of Real Madrid. [With the millions that the club obviously has, couldn’t they have come up with a better Christmas video?]

JM: the best present would be titles, but we can’t promise that. What we can promise is to be serious professionals who respect the history of Real Madrid, and who want to construct a future for Real Madrid. During each day, in each training session, during each game and in each minute, we give it our all. This is what we’ve been doing for a long time now. It’s not obligatory, but obviously we want to do this, to have this professionalism, which allowed us to win the Copa del Rey last year, and to add more titles this year.

IC: in 2012, we hope to exceed ourselves, and to get further than we did last season, which is always good. That is our ambition and our top objective. As the míster said, we’ll do it with professionalism and work hard every day to achieve our objectives.

What Marcelo is thinking: I can’t wait to get back to Crís and Pepe!

SR: at the end of the day, football is always about the titles. And the madridistas always want to win, always want titles. As the míster said, we can’t promise that, but what we can promise are the dedication and sacrifice on a daily basis that will lead to that. We’re going to continue working hard along these lines so that those people who go to the Bernabéu will return home happy, knowing that their footballers gave it everything they had, no matter the result, so that they can go home with their heads held high.

GH: we’ll try to continue along these lines. I believe we’re in the right place this year. People come to the Bernabéu and we want them to enjoy themselves. We’re happy to do that, and as was said earlier, we can’t promise any titles, but we can promise pride and professionalism as we try to win titles in the next year.

MV: yes, basically all that, no? [Jajaja!!!] In 2011, it was about the dedication of all the players on the team. If we continue along these lines, we’ll be good, but like any team, we have to improve each day, during each training session and each game.

What everyone is thinking: Merry Christmas!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    December 24, 2011 14:31

    Haha you were right, I just skimmed that. Although there could possibly be a game in there somewhere about finding how many different ways they all say the same thing. Still, fashion blunders aside, seeing these boys all dressed up puts a smile on my face :).

    Can’t wait for the rest of the team and most importantly, the bloopers video! NINININI!

  2. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    December 24, 2011 14:32

    Our capitans look beautiful, I will think postively, with this a video this long and boring, I am pretty sure the bloopers video would be awesome no?, I honestly was focusing on Iker profile the whole way through, listening to Pipita sexy voice.

    Feliz Navidad!!!

  3. Jennifer permalink
    December 24, 2011 14:41

    Wow, it’s a good thing we have such good-looking captains, because that was pretty much the sole redeeming factor of this video…

    Pipita’s jeans, Iker’s sneakers – oy vey. I can’t decide if I like Marcelo’s professorly jacket or not. (But I would very much like a Professor Marcelo. His lectures would be bundles of fun!)

  4. Christine permalink
    December 24, 2011 14:49

    After your warning, I didn’t read the whole text 😀 I only scrolled down to take a look at the pictures and your comments which are just HILARIOUS!!!! And the boys of course look adorable like always 🙂
    feliz navidad una and keep going with your great posts!!!! I hope papa noel is bringing you a lot of presents for all your great work you are doing here!!!

  5. Toks Olugbade permalink
    December 24, 2011 14:56

    hala amdrid…alright video..nt better than last yrs

  6. susie permalink
    December 24, 2011 15:21

    Seriously boring, but your comments made it so much better! Oh gosh, this is my favorite: “What Sergio is thinking: don’t drop the champagne bottle. What Mou is thinking: he’s going to drop it. What Marcelo is thinking: come on Sergio, drop it!” They really do have this expression on their face. I’m actually with Marcelo: come on Sergio drop it!

  7. Ally permalink
    December 24, 2011 15:33

    haha look at those cheesy smiles :)…I love your comments on each photo!
    The team’s greetings and bloopers better be good!
    Merry Christmas to everyone!

  8. December 24, 2011 16:03

    Una, your comments on what they are thinking saved this video from being the most boring thing of the year xD
    And look, I think the photographers get more serious around El Perezidente, because there are no thumbs up in any of the pics!

  9. rojafan permalink
    December 24, 2011 18:24

    A very MerryChristmas to you! Love your insight into their “true thoughts”!

  10. Gilly B permalink
    December 24, 2011 18:40

    Bless ’em. The outfits really weren’t good- maybe Marcelo’s blazer gets a pass, and only because I’m liking the elbow patches on sweaters and blazers at the moment. I notice FP seemed to have the most to say *most of which was zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz dry!* and that obviously set the tone. Shame. Would have been nice to hear some warmth and normalcy- I’m voting for Arbeloa to be in next years one. He’s never dull, that one 🙂

    <Merry Christmas to you Una and all the readers too. To another wonderful year in 2012, and hopefully another league win for Madrid too!

  11. Greta permalink
    December 24, 2011 19:04

    I love your commentaries so much. You can’t imagine how hard I laughed about Gonzo thinking “Tienes msn?” … My god, you’re hilarious!
    A wonderful Christmas to you 🙂
    Love, Greta

  12. manie permalink
    December 24, 2011 19:45

    Happy holidays to you Una, thanks for all that you do with your blog!!!!

  13. raooya permalink
    December 24, 2011 19:56

    This was not chrismas greeting this was chrismas (lecture) yea i hope the video for the footballer is much more fun than this one but with FB… JM here you cant expect any thing funnier ..no?
    mercello was thinking this is the last time i do this… it was so boring….. hhhhh
    we needed Ramos to drop the champagne for some actions…lool

  14. December 25, 2011 00:01

    Oh Una! Your comments are priceless! lol I especially loved the one about the grandpas & grandsons. Iker’s face in that picture is hilarious!

    Marcelo’s wife and child live in Brazil or they are just already there for the holidays? If they live in Brazil…wow! They hardly get to see each other, no? O_o

    Merry Christmas to you Una and all your faithful readers. 🙂

  15. JayR permalink
    December 25, 2011 00:05

    merry christmas, una and thank you so much for another great year of extremely awesome posts!!

    that out of the way and after lots of wine — thanks for your comments in this post as well, because to be honest, the video DID kind of put me to sleep :X (not only because I didn’t understand too much of it after just 3 months of spanish classes this year!) 🙂 I hope for the other one and the outtakes; HIGH hopes there, but they better be met as well, right?

    anyways, thanks again for being wonderful and I hope you’ll stick around for 2012!!

  16. tiare23 permalink
    December 25, 2011 00:11

    Merry Christmas!!

  17. Madrid Fan permalink
    December 25, 2011 00:53

    Thanks for the great post. And Merry Christmas to you too.

  18. December 25, 2011 05:10

    Dear Una, it’s been another year of following your blog. It’s simply a joy to read everyday.

    I wish you lots of love, and happiness, and season’s greetings as 2011 is about to end. Hope 2012 brings you loads of joy and good health. 🙂 take care

  19. warriorprincess permalink
    December 25, 2011 07:55

    Merry Christmas, Una. Wishing you good health, peace and love. Have a great day.=))

  20. superfan permalink
    December 25, 2011 08:23

    Merry Christmas, Una!!!! 🙂 I hope you’re having a wonderful Christmas holiday. I can’t thank you enough for all the things and effort you’ve done for this very amazing blog and to all the Real Madrid fans all over the world! 🙂 So a huge huge thank you to you!!!

    And I cannot believe what shoes Iker wore!! I mean, what. But then again, it’s Iker we’re talking about soooo… Hahaha. And all you comments were so funny! Spot on. Hahaha.

  21. December 25, 2011 09:02

    Merry Christmas Una. MUAH!

  22. Trixie permalink
    December 25, 2011 09:53

    wow thank you for translating all that for us! really appreciate your effort!

  23. December 25, 2011 11:47

    Thank you for the great entry! ♥

    I enjoyed every word, as always!

    Merry Christmas to you, hope you have amazing holidays and a bit rest!

    Woody♥

  24. Arshjot permalink
    December 25, 2011 15:04

    jajajajajajaja, I can’t stop laughing

  25. December 25, 2011 18:31

    oh, una, i’ve just seen the xmas video — our boys are so adorable! *hearts in my eyes* feliz navidad a todos!

  26. December 25, 2011 20:56

    Really not that entertaining X’D But it’s like every year, I look forward to the bloobers from the team christmas video 😉

    And I wish you a merry christmas Una! ❤

  27. jellyace permalink
    December 26, 2011 06:07

    Una, the only bright spots of this post were your deliciously funny photo captions on what were they thinking. Thank you for sharing another year of your wit with us! Wishing you and all your readers all the best this Christmas and through the New Year! May you always find yourselves seated at a table laden with delicious food and surrounded by people you love!

  28. maria permalink
    December 26, 2011 14:16

    though i must confess I’ve kipped almost all the translated dialogue part (it did look boring) from the president, Mou and the players; I must say the comments about what they were thinking were hilarious!!! I love how u’re able of making the most unexciting topic fun to read!! Thank u for this post and happy xmas!!!

  29. December 27, 2011 08:52

    Una just one doubt didnt we use Pepe also as a captain in the CDR match??

    • unamadridista permalink*
      December 27, 2011 15:12

      Yes. That was because everyone ahead of him wasn’t playing in that match.

  30. @ulonghaz permalink
    December 27, 2011 10:11

    just read this post!!!
    jiahahahaha, I cant stop laughing. Love the comment for every photo, especially ‘what Iker’s thinking’

  31. futbolfan permalink
    December 28, 2011 00:03

    Your captions seriously made me laugh!
    There’s just one question Una, as I see you often make jokes about it; what’s msn, and why is Pipita alway related to it?
    I should probably know this, but….

    • Eliza permalink
      January 3, 2012 16:31

      when Gonzelo opened his twitter account, he wasn’t very familiar with twitter, so he made a little mistake….he asked a girl “hola bonita, tienes msn?” (which means:Hello beauty, do you have msn?) PUBLICLY…then all the followers (or I can say – girls) went crazy when they saw it. Of course several minutes late el Pipita deleted that message, but people have kept that forever I think….that’s the story and I think it will last FOREVER jajajajajaja.

Trackbacks

  1. Anonymous

Leave a Reply

