Skip to content

fe-liz na-vi-dad a to-dos

December 26, 2011
tags:

The Christmas greetings video has come out (the outtakes video, however, sadly remains unreleased), and our boys are, as always, adorable.  It looks like the buddy system was used to make this video; who was your favorite pairing?  And where was Mou?  He probably had had enough after filming that boring video with the captains and el presi.

For some reason, Madrid’s web site offered up some quotes from the players that had nothing to do with what was said in the video, so here are the translations…

AA:  Hello, I’m Antonio Adán, and I hope that all your dreams as madridistas, as well as personal dreams, come true in 2012.

JMC:  Hello, I’m José María Callejón, better known as Calleti.  I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a 2012 full of hope and fulfilled dreams.

AA & JC: Happy holidays.

I love how José added the Calleti part!  Sergio was probably watching proudly off-camera.

AK:  Hello, I’m Aitor Karanka, and I want to wish all madridistas a Merry Christmas, and I hope that in 2012, all your dreams come true and that we can enjoy a lot of success.

JM:  Hello, I’m José Morais, and I’m really happy to be here and have the opportunity to wish all madridistas a Happy New Year and Merry Christmas.  I hope the upcoming year will be very, very full of happiness and joy.

Watch out for Aitor’s darting eyes, and for José not noticing the cue.  Could it be more obvious that they were reading from a script?

KB: Merry Christmas to everyone.

RV: Happy 2012.

LD: Happy holidays.

Surprisingly, the player who has been here the least amount of time – Rafa – has the best pronunciation out of the three.  On the other hand, that conclusion is drawn from the three to four words that each of them said, so…  And jajaja, Lass was so enthusiastically waving – yes, Lass – that he almost poked Benz in the eye!  Plus, I think Karim thought he was posing for another one of his Facebook pictures here instead of the Real Madrid web site…

HA: Merry Christmas.

NS: Happy holidays to everyone.

They obviously kept it short and simple for these two, but with Nuri already giving post-game interviews in Spanish, I’m sure he would have been up for something longer and more complicated, no?  P.S. He says “to-do” just like Mesut.

GH:  I’m Gonzalo Higuaín, and I want to wish all madridistas who are supporting us a happy holidays, and we’re very content to be here speaking with all of you.  Now my enemy will say a few words, it’s very difficult to get a Brazilian and an Argentine together…

KK:  It’s true.

GH:  … but today we are united because we are a family.

KK:  Very good, Pipa.

GH:  Really?

KK:  Yes, really.  I want to wish you all the same, Merry Christmas, happy holidays to all the madridistas.

Remember how Raúl Albiol described Gonzalo as “talkative” and “he never stops talking?”  We can totally see that here.  I love the moment where Kaká thought he had finished speaking, and so he started talking, but Pipa wasn’t done yet.  I also love the interaction between Gonzalo and Kaká, and how Gonzalo needed assurance, as well as his expressiveness. I think this was my favorite segment, for Pipa’s stellar turn.

P.S.  Ángel di María had permission to miss out on the Christmas lunch and hospital visit, which is why Kaká is with Pipa and then later on appears with his namesake Ricky Carvalho.  Don’t worry, however, Angelito got his Pipita fix later (don’t you wish you could get one too?) when they flew back to Argentina together later that afternoon.

IC:  Well, we are Esteban Granero and Iker Casillas.  We want to wish all the madridistas a happy holidays, we’re here to wish you the best at the end of this year for the new year and the new season.  We hope 2012 starts off in the best possible way, we hope to bring joy to the fans and the madridistas football-wise.  We want you to know that we are going to make a lot of effort to do this.

EG:  There’s not much else I can add, as our capitán said, I want to wish all the madridista friends a happy holidays, and transmit to everyone that we are very hopeful that we will do things well and bring titles at the end of the season that everyone deserves.

IC:  Happy holidays to everyone.

Everyone just loves saying that they are Esteban Granero, no?  Last year it was Pipita and this year it’s Iker.  Other notes: Iker’s face is twice the size of Esteban’s!  I would have preferred to see a buddy switch between Iker & Esteban and Sergio & Xabi, so that the two captains (and bromance) can be together, as well as the mentor and protégé.  Did Iker feel obligated to speak more due to captain?  He and Esteban clocked in at 52 seconds, compared to Nuri and Hamit’s three seconds.  And I love that Iker used “ustedes” (the formal “you”) to address the fans.

FC: Hello, happy holidays to everyone.

CR: Happy 2012 and Merry Christmas… to all the madridistas.

The Christmas lights shining on Cris’ head (in the video) makes it look weird, no?  And why is Fábio the only one that gets a close-up?  Maybe the cameraperson was sympathetic and didn’t want us to be overexposed to Cris’ belt.

MO: Merry Christmas to all the madridistas.

SK: Happy 2012 to all the madridistas.

I see the scarf twins (seriously, can’t you see them arranging their scarfs together in the restroom before this?) have not improved from last year.  Mesut even got the same line as the year before!  Fe-liz na-vi-dad a to…dos.  I guess this is why there was no fist pump of success from Sami this year.

AA: Hola, how are you all?  We’re here to wish you all a Merry Christmas and happy holidays, and as always, thank you for all your support.  You all are the best, and I send you all a big hug.

RA: Merry Christmas, and thank you very much for the support that you’ve given us during the entire year.  We hope that in 2012, we’ll be able to bring you all more joy.

AA: Merry Christmas!

RA: Merry Christmas!

AA: Bye!

This was definitely the most casual one, from Álvaro using the informal “you” to starting and ending with “hola” and “chao,” respectively.  It’s more like a conversation with a friend, no?  Plus, his booming voice!  And the look he gives El Chori!

MV: Well, I want to wish all the madridistas a happy holidays, Merry Christmas, and I hope that 2012 will be great for all of you and full of health.

PP: I want to say happy holidays to el madridismo, and I hope next year will be full of joy, success and health.

MV & PP: Feliz 2012 para todos los madridistas!

I love the arm movements Marcelo used for emphasis.  Pepe was so serious, which is unlike him.  And I love that they chose to pose for the photo with a hug.

SR: Hello, in the first place, I want to wish all the madridistas a happy holidays, Merry Christmas.  I hope this year has ended very well for you, and that the next one starts off in the same way.  May 2012 be full of titles, love and peace for everyone.

XA: Well, my best wishes, enjoy the holidays, and let the year 2000, no, 2012 be full of celebrations and success for the entire madridista family.  I hope we can enjoy that together.  Regards and a hug for everyone.

I love that Xabi proved he is human by messing up.  That somehow makes him paradoxically even more perfect.

RC: I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas, and I hope the new year is good and full of love and health.

KK: Here I am again, with Ricky Carvalho, to wish you all a lot of health… and for us as well, no?

RC: yes, we need that too.

KK: … in the upcoming year.  I hope that we’ll be free from injuries, and well, Merry Christmas and happy holidays…

RC: … everything good.

KK:   … and everything good.

RC: Thank you.

It was hilarious how Kaká started with, “here I am again!”  And his little laugh that made his eyes disappear when Ricky was speaking Portuguese (it was more Portuguese than Spanish) was adorable!  I love the little exchange between them as well, and how polite is Carvalho, ending with a thank you? 

RF: I wish all madridistas a Merry Christmas and happy holidays.

SL: I hope that 2012 is full of titles for Real Madrid.

What is with the coaches and their shifting eyes?  Did they not get any time to practice?

Anyway, it’s a good thing our boys are so adorable, because the “feliz navidad” intro/outro before and after each segment was so annoying (watch the video here to be annoyed)!  Plus, it wasn’t at the same volume as the rest of the video, which made it all the more grating.  So I edited the video to remove those segments; here it is (the sound is not perfect, but I think it’s still preferable to the original).  Be sure to turn on the snowflake feature!

As for the cantera, the captains of Castilla and RMC were also made to film a video with their holiday greetings for the fans.  For the photographs, they were made to participate in a game too – touch the ornament (very preferable to the thumbs up).

Hello, I’m Nacho Fernández, captain of Castilla.  In the name of the entire cantera, we wish you all a happy holidays, and we hope that 2012 will be full of good health and sporting success.

Hello, I’m Juanfran, captain of Real Madrid Castilla.  I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a happy 2012, I hope it bring success to the two filial teams.

Hello, I’m Dani Carvajal, captain of Real Madrid Castilla.  In the name of the entire cantera, we wish you all a happy holidays, and for 2012, we hope that no Real Madrid canterano will be injured.

Hello, I’m Andy, captain of Real Madrid C.  I wish you all a happy holidays, and I hope this new year will be full of success for La Fábrica.

Hello, I’m Álvaro López, captain of Real Madrid C.  I wish all the madridistas a happy 2012, and may it be full of titles and joy for everyone.

Hello, I’m Kamal, captain of Real Madrid C.  I wish all madridistas a 2012 full of titles.

Watch their video here.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    December 26, 2011 13:26

    Oh my god me2, I was reading higauin part, I was like when did he say injures when when? :p
    I love you Una! For removing the most annoying intro, I love this video, it was like a Xmas gift to us!
    Kaka and Pipita part was my favorite, I so want be meet pipa and spent time with, Kaka is soooooo adorable, I find it hilarious how serious Ramos was, that ‘s what you get from being paired with the classy Alonso, a very serious Ramos, it looks like xabi scared ramos to seriousness :p
    Pipita is gorgeous, cristano hair looked like nest, I was waiting for some baby birds coming out of it any second in the video! Ozil how is that Nuri Spanish is so far better than Ozil :p!

    I just love it, we are one gorgeous club!

  2. Sam permalink
    December 26, 2011 13:33

    Marcelo and Pepe with their synchronized speel at the end were also pretty cute!

  3. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    December 26, 2011 13:39

    just like iker posted video when they had their cart racing. pipa is so talkative! jajaja

  4. amouria permalink
    December 26, 2011 13:56

    This is why your page is the best. Una: I really wish you great days to come…you unite us non-Spanish madridista, and this is great…
    We love our players, our team and our coach and we wish them, in return, health, success and lots of fun..

  5. Stacy permalink
    December 26, 2011 13:58

    UNA you are such a wonderful human being! Thank you for the video edit, because I was certainly annoyed!

    I love our boys! I really wanna watch the bloopers.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  6. December 26, 2011 14:35

    Thank you, thank you for the translations, Una! And Merry Christmas to you! 🙂

    I can’t wait for the outtake reel, but I think this post has enough adorable moments to tide me over until it comes out.

    I love Iker’s giggle when Esteban said that he can’t add that much to what his capitan said. And I love that Pepe had his arm around Marcelo’s waist the entire time. And Kaka being all cute and giggly, too. And Pipita talking so much that Kaka could barely get a word in edgewise.

  7. December 26, 2011 14:36

    Thank you, Una, for providing us with the English translation and the video! Real Madrid should really hire you. You do a much better job than them!

    One of my favorites is Kaká and Carvalho. Kaká’s laugh is just too adorable and cute! And I really wish them both health because I miss seeing them on the pitch! It’s been too long! Marcelo and Pepe comes a close second as my favorite pair. The picture of them hugging and the part where they say their final sentences in unison is so presh! Marcelo’s smile is really as bright as the sunshine.

    They haven’t uploaded this video yet on their official Youtube channel so I doubt they will bother to release the outtakes video. 😦

  8. maria permalink
    December 26, 2011 14:56

    oh God!! that little cartoon intro was so annoying and unnecessary!!! The full video was almost 9 minutes long, and after your editing turned out to be not even 5 minutes… so about 4 minutes of that boring vignette!! The gringos absolutely need to improve their spanish!! Karim who I thought was doing a little better, had the worst accent of the three frenchmen… And even Cris got a little messy on his wishes… I loved Kaka with “Ricky”, how witty of his, when he wished “health – specially for the both of us”… Hahahahahahahah, I just love when people make fun of themselves!! And he was also so laid back and spontaneous!!! =)

  9. December 26, 2011 15:03

    really nice post Una!! Keep it up. Merry Christmas to you too.

  10. superfan permalink
    December 26, 2011 16:00

    ohmygod thank you so much for the edited video!!!!! The intro/outro thing was so annoying!! I don’t get why they put it there in every freakin’ segment. Why can’t they just put in at the very beginning and at the very end of the video? Ugh.

    But because you are beyond awesome, the edited video is amazing!!!! 🙂 I can’t help but laugh at the way Alvaro delivered his lines. Hahaha. So informal. And Xabi and Sergio’s segment was a bit too serious. So unlike Sergio. Hahaha.

    Merry Christmas again, Una. Thank you for the edited video and the translations!!! 🙂

  11. Ally permalink
    December 26, 2011 16:13

    Yes, the intro and ending of each part were very annoying! so thanks for editing the video 🙂
    this video was definitely an improvement compared to the Flo P/Mou/Capi’s one

  12. amouria permalink
    December 26, 2011 16:18

    I loved the witty smile of Ozil…

  13. December 26, 2011 16:50

    Despite the fact that the video was rather boring, I still found it adorable. I couldn’t help but laugh at Benz, Rafa, and Lass. And then Mesut and Sami. They’re all so adorable. And Kaka! He’s adorable too.

    I’m glad I wasn’t going crazy when I listened to Carvalho. My Spanish isn’t great, but my Portuguese is worse. And I was sitting there thinking “Wait… Is he even trying to speak Spanish?” Cristiano speaks most of his Spanish in a Portuguese way too. It’s cute though. I’m sure my Spanish accent is awful too.

    Thanks for the translations! It helped!

  14. Kristen permalink
    December 26, 2011 17:30

    Thanks for translating, Una, so cute!!

  15. bbBenz permalink
    December 26, 2011 17:58

    omg totally agree on the “feliz navidad” intro/outro !!

  16. December 26, 2011 18:35

    ahhh thank you so much. I was wondering what the purpose of that Feliz Navidad intro/outro was. It takes up so much time!! -_-

    Anyway, the Castilla video is nowhere near as fun as the one from last year. 😦

    thanks for the translations as always, and Happy Holidays! 😀

  17. henry permalink
    December 26, 2011 21:03

    A very merry christmas to you Una.

  18. Alyssa permalink
    December 26, 2011 21:11

    Ahhh Calleti! And Adan is so much less awkward than last year! I love it! Aitor is so cute! I wish Benzi spoke more, his Spanish is good enough for him to have spoken more. How funny is it that Varane is sitting and STILL taller than Lass? Hahaha. Omg Pipita is hilarious! I love our captain and every word that comes out of his mouth and Granero is a cutie pie! Oh god, Ozi and Sami’s scarves AND Arbeloa and Chori’s clothes. I loooooove the Pepe and Marcelo photo! I want to save it and show it to every culé who calls Pepe a cold-blooded enforcer…oh and the video of him baking cookies too! There is far too much sexy in the Sergio/Xabi segment. FAR TOO MUCH. I can’t even deal with it. And last but definitely not least, Kaká really is the single most adorable person on the planet. Anyone who disagrees can take it up with me.

    Predictions:
    – Zipi y Zape lost a bet to Sergio and Xabi that made them have to dress like that, of course with Arbeloa and Xabi as the ones who made the bet and Chori and Sergio just had to go along with it.
    – Both Arbeloa and Pipita were not 100% sober.

    With all that said, I LOVE OUR TEAM!!!

  19. Kel permalink
    December 26, 2011 22:30

    Mesut’s nervous side eye and smile at the end of his clip is my favourite bit

  20. December 27, 2011 00:45

    THANK YOU SO MUCH.

    Not only for the translations but also for editing out the annoyingly stupid segments between the players’ messages. ❤ You continue to be amazing. 🙂

  21. Pammie permalink
    December 27, 2011 01:59

    thanks for the translation! You’re a true queen for editing out the annoying feliz navidad animation! THANKS!! what’s the use of that, stretching the video to almost twice its length, testing the patience of basically everyone!
    I hope they’ll release the bloopers, it must be done!

    It was sweet that they left in Xabi’s slip. Men thank Xabi for getting married, so men who are not Xabi get a shot at scoring with women. Maybe he did it to make men feel better about not being as perfect as him. 😛

    It’s kinda funny that they had the three frenchies do their greetings together instead of teaming Benz up with Pipita. But having Kaká featuring twice was fun as well 😀

    Did Sami even give an interview in Spanish already? It slips my mind right now. And he’s supposed to be the one who speaks better than Mesut.

    • Wendy permalink
      December 28, 2011 13:09

      “It was sweet that they left in Xabi’s slip.” THIS ahahahaha.

  22. Morales permalink
    December 27, 2011 02:17

    Thank you for providing the edited-out-music video!! it was driving me nuts as it transitioned between each of the pairs, seriously, don’t they have somebody with better editing skills??

    I agree with about the Xabi thing, why must he be so perfect??? and Kaka was freaking adorable with Carvalho :333333 and Pepe/Marcelo too

  23. @ulonghaz permalink
    December 27, 2011 04:46

    the best pair will be Sergio + Xabi…

  24. JayR permalink
    December 27, 2011 11:23

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!

    The entire time I was painfully watching the video, I was thinking to myself “Hopefully someone will take the time and cut out the stupid trailer that shouldn’t be there for half the video (!!!) in the first place!” – it’s very fitting that you’d be the one to do it, because you are my favorite anyways.

  25. December 27, 2011 16:08

    una, you are a saint for cutting out that annoying intro/extro — what were they thinking, putting it before and after each segment!? so annoying to watch! between that and the thumbs up, i think you’re right and the A/V department at real madrid is made up of amateurs. this was SO much better, thank you!

    there is nothing i can add to this comment that hasn’t already been said before by everyone above me. our boys are ADORABLE. i was grinning so much from watching this, my cheeks hurt! from iker’s giggle (he’s so serious that it’s such a treat to see him crack up) to the double kaka (how adorable is he?! seriously!?) to sergio being on his best boss behaviour because of xabi to pipa’s never-ending commentary to the twins (everything about them, i just adore) to marcelo’s gorgeous sunbeam smile to ozi and sami’s matching scarves … i LOVED it! and the outtakes are even better!

    feliz navidad a todos madridistas y hala madrid!!!!

  26. Zina Tasreen permalink
    December 27, 2011 18:21

    Wow! How dishy is Nuri? I never thought so until this…

  27. futbolfan permalink
    December 28, 2011 00:25

    YAYYYY! Double Kaka!

    Una, thankkkk youuu so much for the translations and edited vid!

  28. December 29, 2011 08:36

    ♥♥♥♥♥♥ this post,,Iker & Granero,,,my fav ♥ Feliz navidad Madridistas and happy new year 🙂

  29. susie permalink
    December 31, 2011 11:13

    Kaká is seriously the most adorable one in this video. So cute and laid back. Thanks for the video, Una.

Leave a Reply

