Skip to content

an end of the year round-up

December 31, 2011

The team is back at work, and preparing for the upcoming marathon of games – four games in 11 days!  The year ended with the Copa del Rey, and the new year will begin with that competition as well.  Madrid will play Málaga on Jan. 3, then the Liga returns, with the Madrid-Granada game on Jan. 7.  Then we have Málaga again on Jan. 10 (during which we’ll hopefully advance to the last eight of the Copa del Rey), and then Mallorca on Jan. 14.

Love how Pipita looks like the waiter!

Madrid returned to training on Thursday afternoon, after eight days of vacation.  At the session, 22 players from the first team, including a recovered Ricardo Carvalho (from a sprained right knee), worked out.  Tomás Mejías joined the first team, while Sergio Ramos is still recovering from his left thigh injury and so he was absent, although he was working out inside in the gym.  And Iker looked to have recovered completely from his allergic reaction.

A mustache???  What are you thinking Marcelino?

Present at the session was madridista and golfer Sergio García, who had played some minutes the previous night in Iker’s charity game.  He watched the session alongside Chendo.

In the first session on Friday, the morning session, the same 23 players participated.  Sergio Ramos remained indoors for another day.  What caught my eye was that Iker’s hair was so flat and combed forward that it looked like he was wearing a cap!  Maybe he was still self conscious about his face?  There was another session in the afternoon, which took place behind closed doors.  The team trained for the last time this year on Saturday morning, and will start off 2012 with a training session on the afternoon of Jan. 1.  The club has also reported that Ángel di María has a tear to his muscles of his right thigh, without stating how much time he would be out.

Mou also gave an interview to RMTV, where he said his vacation was “good, as always, very tranquil.  I spent a bit of time in Portugal, in Paris, with my family, as always.  Very tranquil.  And now I’m more than prepared to start working hard again.”  He also stated they’re not looking for any reinforcements in the winter transfer market, saying, “I don’t want any player, I haven’t asked for anyone and I won’t ask for anyone.”

Mou also took the opportunity to clarify recent declarations he made to BBC which were misinterpreted as meaning that he is looking to leave Real Madrid after “a couple of years.”  Mou explained that “a couple of years” shouldn’t be taken literally, as it can mean many years (“two, three, four, 20”), and that he’s not even thinking about leaving Real Madrid.  And when asked about how Iker said recently that he hopes Mou will be with them for many years, Mou replied, “Iker knows me, Iker knows me, he knows my mentality.  We were in Sevilla the day before the game, and after having dinner, he was with a group of players and he called out to me, ‘míster, we’re having a discussion here, and everyone has their opinion.  How do you see your career?  You’ve been in Italy, in England, with Chelsea, with Inter and now in Madrid.  What are you going to do in the future?  Albiol is saying that after Madrid you’re going to coach the Portuguese national team, Arbeloa and Alonso say no, that you like England, I say this… and I don’t know, what do you think, can you clarify things?’  I told them, for sure, for sure, for sure that in two years no one can make me leave here, unless it’s for some bad results, but it’s 100 percent sure that I’m going to fulfill my contract with Real Madrid.”

My favorite question and answer came when Mou was asked about Mesut Özil (Mou started laughing as soon as he heard Özil’s name mentioned, I guess because he anticipated the question).  The question was about Mesut having said that Mou is like a father to him.  Mou’s response: “he said that, and now the others make fun of him because when we’re together, they say things like ‘look, your father is coming’ or ‘míster, your son is here.’  Others say things like ‘míster, your son is much more handsome than Özil and you’d never have a son as ugly as Mesut.’  This is done affectionately, these are affectionate words, and shows that we have a great relationship that is deeper than one between a player and coach.  There have been many jokes made about Mesut’s declarations.”  Jajajaja!!!!!!!!  I’ll say it again, I love this team!

Other random things: have a look at Karim sending out season’s greetings (he sounds very sexy in French, no?  That’s my opinion as a non-French speaker).  He made this video for Adidas.

Iker, meanwhile, is on the cover of Avenue Illustrated’s November-December 2011 issue.

Inside, he says he tries to lead a very healthy lifestyle, because “I like it and because that’s what my profession requires.  Before, I ate everything, but as an athlete I had to learn how to properly watch what I eat.  Now I eat more salads, fruit and fish.”  As for his appearance, Iker reveals, “I like to take care of myself, but mostly so that I will look presentable.  I am fussy about it, if you want to see it that way, but I’m not that particular about it.  It’s also true that I have my habits.”  As for the future, Iker says that he’s spent his entire life kicking a ball, so he can’t imagine a future unrelated to football, and that he would like to be remembered as a good person.

Sergio spent some time in Italy over the break, visiting Rome and Vatican City.  He tweeted this photo of him posing next to the Trevi Fountain, which promoted a response from Xabi Alonso: “wow, incredible.  The sweet life of the Kaiser de Camas.”  I love it when they tease each other over twitter, and off of twitter as well!  Meanwhile, Esteban Granero tweeted that he can’t wait for the new album of his twin Leiva, and Iker posted a photo on Thursday to show that he has completely recovered: “21:28h Spain time.  This is me with my regular face!  I’ve recovered my face!  It’s nice to be yourself again…”  On Friday, he had dinner at his friend Nikola Loncar’s house… who knew that they were friends?  Nikola Loncar is a retired basketball player; he played for Real Madrid for several years.

And Castilla had their Christmas dinner on Thursday night, including an “amigo invisible” (secret Santa) activity.  Denis tweeted that he had drawn Jorge Casado’s name, and gave him a shirt.  He received a bottle of cologne.  And ABMM tweeted, “at the team dinner.  To mix things up.  Álex and Dani at my side like dogs.”  Speaking of Dani, Denis tweeted this photo of Dani at the dinner with the caption “guapísima” (he used the female form), jajaja!!  Love the bow!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Ally permalink
    December 31, 2011 17:38

    Have I mentioned how much I adore the boys (Casilla-boys too) using twitter?
    anyways, I’m glad the winter break is nearly over! I’ve missed them on the field 🙂

    and Feliz año nuevo, Una and all readers!

  2. mickymacky permalink
    December 31, 2011 17:50

    i am equal parts scandalized and fascinated with The Ramos’ come-hither pose…

    and i really really love how mou makes his players feel:’)

    bytheway, happy new year to you and to all in here!

  3. Pammie permalink
    December 31, 2011 18:17

    “at my side like dogs” lol! They are really inseparable, too bad that their 4th musketeer is in Getafe atm. (lol at guapisima Carva :D)

    Iker looks like his handsome self for the magazine, the cover is a bit odd, but the sweater is quite Iker. (I hope he didn’t take it home :P)

    I wish you a pleasant New Years Eve and Happy New Year!!

  4. December 31, 2011 18:46

    lovely post! happy new year, una 🙂

  5. cisarovna permalink
    December 31, 2011 19:40

    Una – thanks so much for your posts through 2011! I do not always get to comment, but I read every single one! And I really hope you enjoy posting through 2012, so the Madrid boys better stay silly, adorable, and keep scoring/saving some crazy goals!!

  6. Courtney permalink
    December 31, 2011 21:00

    I like how in the first picture, no one has their thumb up!!

  7. January 1, 2012 04:05

    Cristiano Ronaldo once said SAF was like a father to him and I don’t recall anyone ever making fun of him for that statement. Quite the contrary!

    I also find it highly disrespectful to call Mesut ugly, no matter how “affectionately” Mourinho claims it was said. Mourinho used to be famous for defending his players, not humiliating them in public as happened with Mesut several times now. Shame on him!

  8. superfan permalink
    January 1, 2012 08:13

    I’m surprised you didn’t comment on Iker’s powder blue turtle neck! I guess the other 3 photos of him in a suit balances it all out. Hahaha.

    So excited that the boys are back!! And could they get more adorable!!! Especially the Mou and Ozil teasing. 😀

  9. January 1, 2012 10:26

    Hola Una! feliz año nuevo,, “Selamat Tahun Baru 2012” from Indonesia ~~

    nice to see you in this lovely blog 🙂

  10. maripili permalink
    January 1, 2012 14:59

    Those pictures of IIker are so not him.I think I like his regular self better.

  11. January 2, 2012 15:48

    “It’s also true that I have my habits.” – Lovely Iker, we did notice!;-)) anyway, he looks intrigueing in those magazine pictures, great Iker.

    Sergio’s picture from Rome is kinda hilarious;-)

  12. January 2, 2012 23:46

    Ahaha XD~ The boys are so mean to Mesut! I love it! ❤ X'D
    Thanks as always for your translation una ❤

  13. Jean permalink
    January 3, 2012 06:19

    Iker’s jumper is… offensive! Definitely not a fan of cable knit. But the face and hair make up for it =P

  14. AJ Nelson permalink
    January 4, 2012 04:52

    Thanks for posting Karim’s holiday French message…My French is worse than my Spanish so I somehow always miss those types of things…but since I adore Benz (even with his questionable white jacket at the holiday party), I appreciate the posting. Happy New Year!

  15. January 5, 2012 07:14

    seems like mesut is the bullying object of the boys lol i loooove this team. poor mesut 😀 papa mou is hilarious. can’t stop laughing every time i remember about the story.

    anyway happy new year una!

Leave a Reply

