Skip to content

ICYMI – the moments edition (I)

January 12, 2012

In case you missed it – Málaga vs. Real Madrid [2012-01-10, Copa del Rey round of 16 vuelta, 0-1].

We have qualified for the Copa del Rey round of eight, after beating Málaga 4-2 in aggregate in this round.  While this game wasn’t the most entertaining of games (see, even Aitor Karanka was a bit bored), it did leave us with many great moments, in fact too many for one post, so this ICYMI post is split into two!

The angrier they get, the hotter they become moments: at one point or another, most of our players got upset with the refereeing, missed opportunities, themselves, their teammates, their opponents…  While Sergio and Álvaro Arbeloa argued with the referee (and Xabi decided everything could be resolved by posing)…

… Fábio Coentrão and Gonzalo Higuaín lamented missed chances and rough play.  I love Gonzalo using his hands to get his point across (Sergio did the same too, above).

I also love angry and in charge Iker.  On the left, he’s yelling at Karim: “Karim, ven aquí, joder” (Karim, come here) which was followed by “la puta madre” and then “¡Hostia!”  If you need a crash course in (Spain) Spanish swear words, this is it (though I might add coño).

Pepe was also a target of some anger (¡Pepe! ¡PEPE!) [the new Guti, Guti, no?], as was Fábio Coentrão (Fabio, aguanta, joder).

By the way, Álvaro Arbeloa will miss the next Copa del Rey game, after being sent off in this game.

The bromance moment: despite being in different places – Marcelo on the bench and Cris on the field – the two of them did the same thing.  They must have some telepathic connection.  By the way, I think that’s Marcelo’s jersey that he’s smuggling there under his jacket.

The fish lips moment: Sergio’s gesture instantly reminded me of the Iker fish lips moment.  Maybe they practice together?  And who knew Sergio had such full lips?

The Marcelo sunshine moments: Marcelo decided to celebrate Karim Benzema’s goal by imitating him.  Adorable!  I also love the little tap on Fábio’s head from Sergio, and how Marcelo went up to Fábio for an extra hug.  What a great team we have.

Judging by his expression, Karim approved of this goal celebration!  He’s thinking, it’s like looking in a mirror, well if I had hair that is.

The coach knows best moments: Mou was a busy, busy man during this game.  In addition to pacing up and down the sideline, he called various players over to speak with them during the course of the game.  I love how Sergio put his arm around Mou, and how Marcelo seemed to ignore Aitor Karanka’s suggestions.

This moment just makes me laugh.

Meanwhile, Fábio got an earful from Mou, and right after that, Marcelo had even more instructions for poor Fábio.  I hope he remembered everything!

Mou also spoke with Karim, but it seemed like he was using him as a messenger, because Karim then related something to Xabi Alonso, who appears to have responded, “okay…”

The Cris moments: he didn’t have the best game, but he did bring it on in terms of moments, from bringing the ball to the corner…

… to deciding to rest for a second next to the publicity after getting pushed out of bounds.  I also love the moment where the camera panned up his body.

The negative moment: one of the few negative moments on the night came with Sami Khedira’s injury.  He was obviously in a lot of pain as soon as he collapsed to the ground, and when I saw him convulsing, I feared the worst.

Of note: Madrid’s medical staff spoke to him in English, since I’m sure that in his moment of agony, he wouldn’t have understood the Spanish words for ankle, twisted and calm down.  As Sami was carried off the field, past Madrid’s bench, Mou gave him a reassuring pat on the head.  Sami would return to Madrid on crutches.

Sami has been diagnosed with a sprained right ankle, following tests at Sanitas La Moraleja yesterday.  Madrid’s web site did not specify how long he’d be out, but normally this type of injury requires three to four weeks of recovery time.  ¡Ánimo Sami!

The why can’t I have hair that sleek and shiny after a long workout moment: do you need any explanation for this moment?  In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve been jealous of Sergio’s hair for quite some time now.

The mouments: José Mourinho was satisfied with his team, telling the media after the game, “we have scored eight goals in the last two games, but we’ve been accused of defending poorly.  Today we were focused on results and being pragmatic.  We defended well and we didn’t give the rival any possibilities.  Without having a brilliant game, we achieved qualifying for the next round against a team that in my opinion played very well.”

However, he didn’t look to happy during the game, as there were many, many things he didn’t agree with.  I love the 360° turn to show his anger.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. smurf_ette permalink
    January 12, 2012 09:01

    Thanks so much for these ICYMIs – normally I watch every game but of late the world has conspired against me (lol) and I haven’t been able to watch any games. Your ICYMIs make my lack of Madrid…much better!

    Thanks! 🙂

  2. Forlond permalink
    January 12, 2012 09:27

    I think that Mou’s 360° was after some of the boys didn’t capitalize on their chances just outside the penalty box. They didn’t shoot but did this turn and pass back and I remeber my desperation and yelling ‘It doesn’t have to be pretty, just shoot, damnit!’ watching this.

    And that Xabi gif… woof. Let’s just say looong time 😀

  3. Rikee permalink
    January 12, 2012 09:44

    This is such a great blog! I watched the game but i missed some of the moments you mentioned. Thanks for all the details ! 🙂

    But one question: I still have no idea what ICYMI means… “I see you, am i?” Hmm like this?

    Greetings from Germany 🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      January 13, 2012 16:33

      In case you missed it.

  4. Joyce Nyakato permalink
    January 12, 2012 10:07

    haahahahahahahahahaha/…..Una i keep refreshing and refreshing and at last there is sth new. thanks for the work. u r defintely the most creative blogger. the reason why people dont comment alot is because they find enough entertainment on the posts needless to comment

  5. amouria permalink
    January 12, 2012 10:11

    excellent post Una, thank you very much…

  6. noviana noor aisyiah permalink
    January 12, 2012 10:27

    una i loveeeeeeeeeeeee when you made 2 posts! haha made my day! btw what’s the meaning of hostia?

  7. January 12, 2012 11:25

    As much as I enjoyed this game and your ever so excellent ICYMI I’m already lining up my alcohol for the upcoming clasico. It’s going to be a brutal one. And no Sami and Alvaro to boot. As well as no Di Maria and Carvalho too. *sobs* Poor Sami, hope he get’s well soon. We really miss him and need him around.

  8. Pammie permalink
    January 12, 2012 13:00

    animo Sami! I don’t like the thought of the cdr quarter finals without him (and the first leg without Arbeloa, nooo)

    the MouSpin is just one of the funniest things he’s done since jumping on Calleti’s back 😀
    Also the double briefing of Mou and Aitor was rather funny, it’s not often that a broadcast shows Mou giving directions that often during a game.

    I have a very random question- did Granero finish his psychology studies and graduate from university?

  9. Happy permalink
    January 12, 2012 14:50

    I love this post!!!!
    The action of Mou>Karim>Xabi remind me of a game, I wonder could Xabi get the original message from Mou???

  10. Didi permalink
    January 12, 2012 15:49

    It’s a shame that I can’t watch Copa del Rey matches here in Holland. But thank god for Una and her ICYMIs!!

    I love the goal celebration! Marcelo and Karim look really cute doing the goofy dance. And angry Iker is HOT!!

  11. Gabriela permalink
    January 12, 2012 16:49

    oh my, who thought this boring match could bring in so much interesting and funny moments! I’m loving this ICYMI!
    Marcelo copying Benz’s celebration was so cute :3 And I love Mou’s 360º turn.

    I think by now every and each one of us want the secrets of Sergio’s hair. Why aren’t shampoo makers all running around him trying to get him to record a commercial? They would certainly do a lot of money.

  12. January 12, 2012 17:34

    Great recap, thanks! Indeed full of cool moments, with Marcelo and Karim’s celebration being my favourite, I guess. And 360 turn of Mou!

  13. January 12, 2012 17:44

    Mou’s 360 degree turnaround is hilarious!

    And Iker getting angry is the best. He shows true passion!

  14. January 12, 2012 20:49

    I was glad we moven on to quarterfinals but I can’t be happy because of Sami’s injury. I was watching deportes cuatro de mediodia and i saw a video of when Sami got injured and it was from a really close angle. You can actually hear Sami and how much pain he was in. it was just painful to watch.

  15. Alyssa permalink
    January 12, 2012 22:01

    Angry, boss Iker is SO SEXY! Thank you oh so much for those moments!

  16. Zparklemotion permalink
    January 13, 2012 02:40

    Woooooonderful post, I love all these little moments you put together 😀

  17. ama permalink
    January 13, 2012 04:16

    Even though I felt bad about the goal, I am happy we got to see that celebration from Marcelo–the picture with Karim is priceless. Una, you said it best. He is totally our Sunshine.

    Fingers are crossed for Sami’s quick recovery. ¡Ánimo!

    Thanks for double ICYMI enjoyment this time, Una 🙂

  18. flora aquino permalink
    January 13, 2012 04:47

    veeerrrrryy nice post! =) Love it. una, you are so adorable. Glad you are a part of us, as a madridista family. This ICYMI edition makes my day. Hug.

  19. January 13, 2012 04:52

    how spoilt are we, getting TWO match posts out of this?! thank you!

    mou can always be counted on for some for of off-field entertainment. always!

    mmmm, angry iker is hot iker! he’s usually so calm and collected, so it’s funny to see him get so wound up. he’s taught me all the spanish curse words i know. :p

    that is a great shot of sergio with the lips!

    poor sami. i hope he recovers soon. he had such a good game, too!

  20. Courtney permalink
    January 13, 2012 05:52

    Posing solves everything.

  21. January 13, 2012 06:17

    What a great post and I love seeing Mou in full flight…. We are going so well and I hope we have the confidence to give Barcelona and real fright soon.
    Keep up the laughter and the inside info on the boys.

  22. maria permalink
    January 13, 2012 06:52

    una, even being in ny i can’t stop reading your blog!! the icymis posts of the last few games, witch are usually so much fun, this time were fun and useful as I had no idea of what went on in madrid’s world over this past week… i loved how u divided the post highlighting the best parts, and that u also did a two part post!! also love marcelo, he’s like a naughty kid, or the class clown!!! speaking of that, u should definitely go on with that idea of relating the players to superlatives as we do it on yearbooks… =) would be so fun to see what you think of all of them!! thank u for that post, xxx

  23. Morales permalink
    January 13, 2012 09:41

    Una, I don’t blame you at all for being jealous of Sergio’s hair. I’m trying to figure out how he keeps all sleek and shiny when he’s sweating

  24. Soñando con Dios permalink
    January 13, 2012 18:19

    I really like the Fabio gif. Every single hair moved on his head. He must have been angry. I don’t know because I didn’t get to see. And Marcelo mirroring Karim is just too much for my eyes. Very cute. Thanks for the post Una.

  25. January 14, 2012 02:26

    You always manage to capture great moments that I miss during the game, like the Marcelo/Benz celebration. Way too cute. I just love these guys together!

    Poor Sergio! I really wanted him to score. The back heel would have been amazing had it gone in.

    Heal quickly Sami! I feared the worst when I saw how much pain he was in. As bad as sprains are, at least he doesn’t need surgery.

    I was really hoping that Kaka would have a good game. He was doing so well before he missed those couple of games. Although, I didn’t think many of the guys had good games. They just seemed out of sync, particularly with the passing. Sergio was MOM for me and Lass was a close second.

    Hope to see Angel, Sami & Ricky back soon!

Leave a Reply

