Skip to content

when Cristiano met Rafa

March 30, 2012
tags:

Remember how Rafa Nadal and Cristiano got together a couple of weeks ago in Mallorca to film a top secret Nike spot?  Well, it’s finally out, and it is adorable!  Rafa also interviewed Cristiano during their time in Mallorca, and this is how it went (via Marca).

RN: well, we’ve finished with the shooting and I had a great time.  I had fun, did you?

CR: it was a pleasure to shoot this spot with you because you’re my favorite tennis player, and shooting with you is special.  Me with my football and you with tennis… it has been a pleasure and I had a great time.

RN: for me, it was also an honor.

CR: thank you very much.

RN: so, how are you?  Do you like tennis?

CR: yes, I like tennis a lot and part of my family also likes it, for example my brother, who usually travels with me.  It’s a sport that I like a lot in addition to football, and of course, when I have time I watch matches because it’s one of my favorite sports.

RN: do you like sports in general?

CR: yes, I usually watch basketball and futsal.  I like sports a lot.

RN: me too, I’m always watching sports.  Well, I like all sports, but my favorite has always been football.  I watch many games, and in fact, I always watch you play [meaning he always watches his beloved Madrid!] and I enjoy seeing your goals.  My uncle played as a defender with Barça and Mallorca.  I tried out the new boots, they’re very light.  What are your thoughts on the new boots?

CR: they’re great.  the truth is that I’m not sure your uncle would have liked these boots, because I’m sure his only had studs, and these ones are mixed.  I’ve played with these Mercurial boots since 2006 and I feel great with them, I like them.  I’m having good results with them.

RN: I’ve seen that the material supports the foot well, and they’re also very comfortable.

CR: yes, the material is very comfortable and I believe that’s the most important element of a boot.  It adapts wonderfully to the feet.

RN: off the field, do you follow fashion, do you like to dress well?

CR: the truth is yes.  I’ve always liked fashion [too bad fashion hasn’t always liked him], knowing what’s in style, what are the latest trends… but it’s not an obsession.  I like to present a good image, dress well, and in the same way I take care of my hair.  To me, it’s normal for people like you and I to pay attention to these things.  We always try to look good.  In addition, my two sisters own several clothing stores, so it’s not hard for me to know about fashion.  It’s true that fashion is quite important to me, and I’m a big fan of fashion.

RN: lately, you’ve been playing at a very impressive level and you’ve scored several hat tricks, not to mention the total number of goals you’ve scored up to now, which is a very difficult thing to do in a league as tough as the Liga.  Where do you keep the balls?

CR: my professional life has always been good, including this past year and this year, but there are still many things I want to achieve.  As for the balls, it’s simple: in the beginning, I kept all of them, but not anymore.  Now I give them to the friends who ask for them.  If they ask for one, I’ll give it to them.

RN: in my case, the people around me have been very important in helping me to get to where I have.  For me, my family has been fundamental.  What about you?  Who has helped you to become who you are?

CR: it’s like what you said, I think the family is the base for professional success.  And of course, there have been many people who have helped me throughout my career, not only in Portugal, but also in Manchester and here, in Madrid.  If you surround yourself with good people, you can get further.  In my case, everyone has given me good advice, they have helped me to become better, and of course I always try to listen to those who know more, such as coaches or people from the world of football that I know, because that’s the only way you can grow as a person and as a player.

RN: this summer, you’ll have the opportunity to play for your country.  How do you feel about that?  Are you excited?

CR: I’m always motivated to play football because it’s my life.

RN: what things do you like to do in your spare time?

CR: I like to spend time with my friends, go out to eat, play tennis… but I really don’t have much spare time.  I like to beat my friends!  I like to do things that have nothing to do with football.  I like to do things with my friends.

RN: well, I wish you the best for the rest of the season and for the summer.  Good luck with Portugal, I hope everything goes well for you, but take it easy, no?

CR: thanks Rafa, it’s been a pleasure to have you interview me.

Rafa’s a pretty good interviewer, no?  I too would have asked Cris about his fashion…  And I would like to see Cris interview Rafa!


Here’s the spot.

And here’s the interview.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Gilly B permalink
    March 30, 2012 13:12

    Fantastic! Two of my fav sports men, finally together. Well done Nike 🙂

  2. Alyssa permalink
    March 30, 2012 14:05

    Cuties!

    “too bad fashion hasn’t always liked him” hahahaha right?

  3. cisarovna permalink
    March 30, 2012 14:07

    Oh my goodness!! Such an adorable video! At first I was wondering why Nadal was on grass as I thought he preferred clay, but it soon was clear what they were up too. Thanks for the interview!

  4. March 30, 2012 14:26

    Tennis was my first love before I discovered football so I love seeing the relationship between the footballers and tennis players. Nike does an excellent job with their commercials I think… very creative, and always showcasing the technical as well as the charismatic side of their athletes. Thanks for the translated interview!

  5. Ally permalink
    March 30, 2012 14:50

    Adorable! And Rafa is a great interviewer

  6. March 30, 2012 15:02

    “I’ve always liked fashion [too bad fashion hasn’t always liked him]” – I burst out laughing at this part. Ahhh Cris, no matter how hard you try, you’ll always be challenged when it comes to fashion, but hey, we still love you!

  7. Courtney permalink
    March 30, 2012 16:38

    Cristiano has the most beautiful smile.

  8. March 30, 2012 17:41

    Delightful. Thanks Una!

  9. Jenny permalink
    March 31, 2012 01:18

    Cris play tennis all the time but he cheats when he plays, apparently!

    (From minute 5:27)

  10. March 31, 2012 15:36

    haha amazing! una thanx for the translations and additions with marca. CR actually calls that fashion? XD

    P.S. I sent you an email una plz check 🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      March 31, 2012 16:38

      Okay, I’ll try and do that this weekend!

  11. March 31, 2012 16:02

    love them both……. seriously……
    n love u toooooo 🙂 ❤

  12. Cleopatra permalink
    May 4, 2012 20:59

    I agree with Courteney. Cristiano has world’s most gorgeous smile 😉

Leave a Reply

