Skip to content

ICYMI – the euphoria edition (I)

April 23, 2012

In case you missed it – Barcelona vs. Real Madrid [2012-04-21, Liga jornada 35, 1-2].

Since the media coverage of the game was so intense, moments from about two hours before the game to two hours after were captured.  So, the ICYMI post will be in several parts, so that I can share all those moments with all of you!  By the way, I’m still smiling!

For Xabi Alonso fans, this post is like an entire “The Xabi Alonso pose section™, clásico edition!

ONE.  Arrival at the Camp Nou.  For the record, Álvaro Arbeloa walked into the stadium chatting with José Callejón.  As you can see, Gonzalo Higuaín entered between Kaká and Karim Benzema.  No one had custody of Raúl Albiol?

TWO.  Checking out the field.  After dumping their stuff in the locker room, a small group of players – Álvaro Arbeloa, Esteban Granero, Antonio Adán, Tomás Mejías – headed out onto the field to check out the condition of the pitch.  I guess Alvarito was still a bit sleepy from his siesta, because he was caught yawning.  And was there another beautiful girl in the stands that they were checking out?  Judging from their somewhat serious expressions, (unfortunately for them) no.

Shortly after, they were joined by Xabi Alonso.  As always, he had to feel the grass, and have his cup of coffee.

These boys are beautiful!

THREE.  The warm-up.  As soon as the players stepped onto the field, the abuse and the boos started.  Iker didn’t let that faze him.  I liked that he included his tongue in the warm-up, in addition to his arms.

The rest of the players were all looking serious during this period.

FOUR.  Almost game time!  Inside the tunnel, players greeted their national team teammates.  Gonzalo Higuaín and Ángel di María hugged Javier Mascherano, while Iker headed over to the Barcelona side, where he saluted Andrés Iniesta and Sergio Busquets (Busquets surprised Iker with a kiss; as you can see, Iker wasn’t expecting that).  Sergio did the same when he came down, under the watchful eye of The Observer (Francesc Satorra), the man with a mustache almost as famous as that of Vicente del Bosque, hugging Thiago, then Busquets, Iniesta, Xavi and Puyol.

Esteban Granero also gave Andrés Iniesta a big hug.  I’ve noticed him doing this before, I wonder if the two of them have any history together?  And I love Marcelo jumping down the step instead of walking!  And then later, after the coin toss, we had the two captains hugging it out.  VDB’s heart must have been warmed.

More to come…

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Maripipi permalink
    April 23, 2012 16:36

    Our boys and their boys all look so nice together. Im glad there were no fist fights this time.

  2. Rose permalink
    April 23, 2012 16:43

    Una, have I told you lately how much I adore you and both your blogs? You’re a gift to all Real Madrid and La Roja fans. I can’t wait to see the rest of your coverage from Saturday. You promised us lots of Xabi and I will hold you to that!

  3. April 23, 2012 16:53

    as the pictures and gifs were loading, that first gif of Sergio was playing in slow motion. nuff said

    • Jenny permalink
      April 24, 2012 16:37

      I’m having a bad hair day so looking at Sergio makes me feel inadequate!
      😉

  4. April 23, 2012 16:55

    I have been waiting for this post since Sunday!!! 🙂 And yey, multiple parts! 🙂

  5. Pammie permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:01

    I want to inspect the pitch and drink coffee with Xabi one day. 😀 I’m still smiling as well, what a game this was! Thanks for an extended ICYMI, i’m looking forward to the next parts!

  6. Ally permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:02

    Great idea to spend more posts on this game and the important moments before and after 🙂
    thank god there were hardly any conflicts this time between the two sides.
    I’m still smiling too!

  7. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:03

    I am still similing too, what AMAZING GIF you have in your blog now!! I love if there is a granero iniesta bromance! I wonder if xabi or maybe mata brought them together

  8. superfan permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:07

    I CANNOT wait for your entire coverage, Una! 🙂 They’re going to be so glorious just like the game itself! And I noticed the Raul/Cristiano gif on the right side of the blog. Aaaahhhhhh. Perfection. 😀

    And I’m also still smiling. I feel like an idiot for breaking into a silly grin whenever I remember this game. Hahahaha but whatever. I’m still so happy and I hope this continues on after Wednesday’s game. 🙂

  9. Nora permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:15

    I still have a smile on my face every time I think of this game! 🙂 After the hell that was last April, and learning of the controversy that usually surrounds these games, I didn’t think I could ever be so happy from watching an El Classico!

    Also, do you mind if you could explain Raul and Cristiano’s goal celebrations shown in that new gif on the sidebar?

    Thanks Una 🙂

    I hope you had a great time celebrating this win!

  10. justme permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:20

    lol i can’t even wait for the next part.. *checking here every 5 minutes
    anyway,take your time una..a big history should be best documented.. 😉

  11. Lorelei permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:36

    I’m still smiling, too, Una! All the boys looked great in these before-the-game moments. Can’t wait for the other post(s)!

  12. Jenny permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:48

    I’m so glad you are splitting this up so we get more than usual!

    🙂

  13. Stella permalink
    April 23, 2012 17:57

    Oooo I am still smilling. Nothing can bring me down today! So proud over our team!!! Thank you for the amazing start over the amazing game.

  14. Soñando con Dios permalink
    April 23, 2012 18:52

    The man with the mustache!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCAtrOLoUlc
    Una, thank you so much for posting this, and the others to come! I love your take on the games! I have been waiting for this so eagerly.
    Sergio’s head is mesmerizing in that gif where he is warming up, no? And did he hug Xavi? I thought when he came down the stairs he only shook his hand, and I was even thinking about what Xavi said in a post game interview how he was friends with Iker, but didn’t know Sergio that well.
    If I surprised Iker with a kiss, would he kiss me back, too? I wonder. 🙂 And I’m still smiling too.

  15. Sara permalink
    April 23, 2012 18:59

    I’m still smiling too 🙂 This fantastic result has made the beginning of the week tolerable!

    I’m glad that the ref and the players have handled the game better this time ( Alves apart…)

    Nice to see the kisses and hugs( didn’t like Busquets comments afterwards though)

    The two games we won in the Mou era were the ones that we completed with 11 players and no polemics.

  16. Mokia permalink
    April 23, 2012 19:03

    Hala Madrid!!!!

  17. germanmadridista permalink
    April 23, 2012 20:11

    Still smiling as well 🙂 I guess I can’t stop smiling until Wednesday… And hopefully we are all still will smile after!!

  18. April 23, 2012 20:57

    I’ve been grinning ever since too Una. I’m so happy and proud of our boys!!

    HALA MADRID!

  19. April 23, 2012 21:52

    You are simply the best. Thank you co much

  20. maripili permalink
    April 23, 2012 22:06

    Still so happy about the win. Love all the information. Keep it coming!

  21. Sara permalink
    April 23, 2012 23:43

    Cant wait for the rest of the post, Una! Reading this made excited all over again. Thank youu!

  22. shan permalink
    April 24, 2012 00:49

    I also, am still smiling. My students were laughing at me because of how happy I was even though it was first period on a rainy Monday. And then in another class I made them repeat after me in saying “Real Madrid es la leche y Barcelona son paquetes” It was hilarious and like music to my ears 🙂

    • shan permalink
      April 24, 2012 00:51

      and Granero probably hugs Iniesta because he’s Iniesta and everyone loves him. They’re both classy guys 🙂

  23. @ulonghaz permalink
    April 24, 2012 02:51

    More Una, More 😀
    Im sure you’ll have tons to share with us 😀

  24. @ulonghaz permalink
    April 24, 2012 03:01

    I wanna be the grass Xabi touched
    I wanns be the coffee cup Xabi sipped

  25. Morales permalink
    April 24, 2012 05:34

    Xabi is ridiculously handsome and classy :3333

    and who can stop smiling and being gleeful from Saturday??

  26. cisarovna permalink
    April 24, 2012 07:03

    your gifs are sooooo fantastic!! why is xabi’s cup so small?? lol

    • shan permalink
      April 24, 2012 23:51

      that’s a fairly normal size for a cup of coffee in Spain…. especially for a cafe solo which is all espresso.

  27. April 24, 2012 07:32

    the pre-match tunnel greetings always make me happy, especially since so many of them play together on the NT. i’m SO relieved this match went off without any red cards or fights or tantrums. it was hard fought and honestly won, which made it that much sweeter.

    and thank you for the iker tongue! :p

  28. Dia permalink
    April 24, 2012 12:21

    Love the three in the middle of Arbeloa, Alonso and Granero!

  29. jellyace permalink
    April 24, 2012 14:59

    What great gifs, Una! Please, keep them coming! More! More!

  30. kiki permalink
    April 24, 2012 15:13

    So Happy! Beautiful Posts! Hala Madrid!!!

  31. April 25, 2012 13:18

    3 ICYMI Post *-*
    You’re great Una!

Trackbacks

  1. Little League « Blue Eyed Sight

Leave a Reply

