Skip to content

not to be…

April 25, 2012

What a disappointment… nevertheless, I’m proud of this team and La Décima will come.  ¡Hala Madrid!

56 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 23:53

    HALA MADRID.

    I wanted La Decima so bad, but you know what Una, I rather we beat Barca and win the La Liga tbh.

  2. Jennifer permalink
    April 25, 2012 23:53

    They fought so hard, and I’m still so proud of them, and happy to have suffered with them. For some reason, all this suffering only makes me love this team more. ❤ ¡Hala Madrid, ahora y siempre!

  3. Gigi permalink
    April 25, 2012 23:56

    Amen. Hala Madrid, forever!

  4. Мариана Димитрова permalink
    April 25, 2012 23:59

    Great match but what a lack of luck… Hala Madrid!

  5. Caballero_zero permalink
    April 26, 2012 00:02

    Que triste. Por que no puso a Higuain mejor que a Ramos para tirar el penal?

  6. April 26, 2012 00:06

    Going out on penalty shoot outs is the worse way to go, but hala Madrid!

  7. April 26, 2012 00:13

    And as much as I love Manuel Neuer and hated the way Chelsea played the game against Barca, I’m hoping and praying that Chelsea win the Champions League so I can see Mata and Torres all happy as champions.

    • April 26, 2012 20:37

      Me too! It will be an uphill battle without their suspended players but then no one expected them to beat Barca, especially after going down a man.

      Team Mata & Torres, all the way. 🙂

  8. April 26, 2012 00:16

    I’m so disappointed, but they really did their best. They’re not to blame.

    ¡Hala Madrid! Ahora mas que nunca…

  9. rojafan permalink
    April 26, 2012 00:24

    I am completely emotionally drained!

  10. Cosi permalink
    April 26, 2012 00:26

    Heartbreaking… but great show by the boys. ❤ ¡Hala Madrid!

  11. CMK permalink
    April 26, 2012 00:46

    heartbroken… 😥

  12. Mokia permalink
    April 26, 2012 01:25

    Im crushed… Absolutely crushed…..

    Hala Madrid!! Until the very end!!!

  13. Jen permalink
    April 26, 2012 01:48

    We’ll come back even stronger next year..so proud of our boys tonight!! Now..a por la Liga!

  14. Claire permalink
    April 26, 2012 01:50

    It is a disappointment but honestly Madrid was outplayed.
    On the bright side, the Spanish players will have plenty of rest for the Euro…. It would be a nightmare if both these teams are in the finals. Now La Roja has a genuine chance of defending their title.

  15. camila permalink
    April 26, 2012 01:50

    so so so sad 😦

  16. April 26, 2012 02:20

    they went out with their heads held high, and they fought to the bitter end. i’m proud of them. it wasn’t for lack of effort, or lack of opportunities, or skill, or even lack of goals. it was just the rotten luck that is a penalty shoot out. it kills me … NO match at that level should ever be decided on penalties. my heart just broke for iker. he took it like a champ, but i was crushed that the entire weight of the team, the fans, mou and the finals rested on his (beautiful) shoulders.

    oh well. at least we can focus on la liga now! chelsea for the win in the final! HALA MADRID!!!!!!!!!

  17. April 26, 2012 02:20

    PS: una, your “times bumblebee socks worn: 0” note is killing me! jajajajajajaja!

  18. April 26, 2012 02:48

    Win or lose, it’s the escudo we choose. iHala Madrid!

  19. noelle permalink
    April 26, 2012 03:07

    i agree una…. i just had a bad feeling =(… of course if we went through to the final i would’ve been cheering for us, but since it wasnt meant to be… i’ll cheer for chelsea cuz fernando and mata deserve to win one

  20. April 26, 2012 04:17

    In some ways the loss hurt even more since we gave everything we had. The players were understandably less vigorous after WINNING A DAMN CLASICO while Bayern had rested players in their last Bundesliga game. We were so clearly outplayed, outran, and outwitted; it was a miracle that we managed to hang on to the 2-1 lead. During the penalty shoot-out the image of Mou kneeling, begging for a miracle pretty much embodied all of my feelings and more. I’m not trying to take away anything from Bayern (Neuer and Schweini deserve a huge gold star tbh), but I have this nagging feeling that the outcome would be different if we were fitter.

    All in all I’ve never been prouder of our boys. Last year’s exit was filled with all kinds of shenanigans; if anything I am proud that this time the boys proved to the world what being a Madridista is all about. DAMMIT UNA NOW I’M CRYING AGAIN WHY

    PS: I promised my Cule officemates quiches if we’d gotten thru (and they don’t LOL). Their loss.

    PS2: Was Sergio’s quote about “I kicked the ball to Munich” or something the real deal?

  21. April 26, 2012 04:35

    Next year, Una. Next year…
    Next up, Sevilla.
    Hala Madrid, Hala Madrid
    sin envidias ni rencores,
    como bueno y fiel hermano

  22. Jenny permalink
    April 26, 2012 04:43

    The boys played an exciting game – and they won it too.

    Losing to a German team on penalties is just one of those things!

    Proud of the boys & Hala Madrid

  23. Madrid Fan permalink
    April 26, 2012 06:05

    Hala Madrid

  24. Ellie permalink
    April 26, 2012 06:10

    This seriously hurts SO bad. I don’t know why, but this loss particularly stung… very deeply. There are sports teams I’ve been following for much longer than Real Madrid, and when they’ve lost big games (like, say, the Superbowl) it never ever felt this bad, not even close. I feel like someone ripped something out of me. But you know what? I can’t say that I’m angry or disappointed. I’m SO proud of this team. They gave it their all for 120 some-odd minutes. If it came down to it, I know each and every single of them would’ve (figuratively) died on that pitch. There’s not a single player I’d place any blame on…. none of them. Could not be any more proud to be a madridista. We still have the La Liga title (god willing) to look forward to. HALA MADRID.

    • jean permalink
      April 28, 2012 04:31

      totally agree with your comment, well said 😉 :)!

  25. Morales permalink
    April 26, 2012 08:13

    😦 I know, I went sobbing to work.

  26. Marie permalink
    April 26, 2012 08:22

    I’m so sad! But so, so proud, too. Our boys are amazing.

  27. April 26, 2012 08:29

    So proud of our boys, PKs are just luck

  28. April 26, 2012 09:43

    Still sad today 😥 But I’m proud of our boys too! It was a though game!
    We have improved a lot since last year. If we continue like this, La Decima will be ours soon! ¡Hala Madrid!

  29. April 26, 2012 11:17

    a dissapointment, but what a game!!! For a football fan in genereal- a great show! I am proud too, and hey, there will be next year;-))

  30. Dia permalink
    April 26, 2012 12:32

    Damn, I was so hoping to out-trophy the cules. We’re still leading in La Liga!

  31. Suse permalink
    April 26, 2012 13:16

    Absolutely. Our team fought bravely, and were gracious and dignified in defeat. Meanwhile, there’s another cup to win!

  32. Didi permalink
    April 26, 2012 13:56

    The huge smile that I had for days is now gone 😦 It’s really sad….but no matter what people say or think, I am still proud of them!!

  33. kiki permalink
    April 26, 2012 14:28

    Agreed! Our fatigue was evident, wish outcome was different, but it will come. Hala Madrid!

  34. Sara permalink
    April 26, 2012 14:57

    I feel heartbroken , that penalty shoot out was painful. Don’t want to think about the game now. I’m proud of the players, bless San Iker and stop blaming Ramos.Next year will be the year of La Décima.
    ¡Hala Madrid!

  35. Marie permalink
    April 26, 2012 15:42

    HALA MADRID HALA MADRID HALA MADRID
    Ahora mas que nunca.
    I’m just waking up and they are the first thing that has come to mind. I wish they could read your blog because I’m sure there will be countless other comments of support and I’m sure they could use them. I’m so proud of this team, it is a young team that continues to progress. Last year we won the Copa, this year we have the Liga in our hands and hopefully next year will be the year for the champions. All in due time. Perhaps it’s for the best that way. Having everything at once does things to you. I want to see a team that works hard for results to the very end like yesterday, a team that bleeds for the escudo on their shirts, not a team that starts to believe that they’re superior to everyone else.
    As for those of you that have chosen to criticize Cristiano, Kaka, and Sergio– how dare you? We wouldn’t have been all the way into the penalties if Cristiano hadn’t scored those two goals or if Sergio hadn’t defended like a beast or if Kaka hadn’t been creating opportunities to keep the Bayern players on their toes. It’s easy to point fingers when you’re sitting comfortably at home in front of your tv. If you’re a real madridista then you must really understand why they say Vamos Real! Hasta el final! We should be with them to very end even if they don’t win. Cheer up madridistas this team is knocking on the door of the champions league and soon they’ll be let in, after all they are Real Madrid. Como no los voy a querer?

    And of course congratulations to Bayern and to any Bayern fan stumbling upon this site. But rest assured we’ll get you next time! 😉

    • April 26, 2012 20:42

      Well said Marie! Unfortunately, people seem to want a scapegoat.

      I am so proud of these guys. I’m totally gutted by the loss because these guys worked so hard and gave it their all. I’m disappointed FOR them, not IN them. But sometimes football is cruel like that. 😥

    • john permalink
      April 26, 2012 21:08

      great comment, keep your heads high Madridistas.. it was so close that Casillas reached Robbens 2-1 penalty, and we would have gone 2-0 all they way… but thats football for you, hala madrid!! 2013 for the Sextruple !!

  36. eruhin permalink
    April 26, 2012 17:57

    It hurts all the more because we were sooo close… I’m sad but also very proud of the boys and I don’t doubt we will be even stronger next season!

  37. mumblo permalink
    April 26, 2012 18:23

    Gutted we didn’t get through, but the way our boys played left me with pride and even more love for our club. Hala Madrid!

  38. kiki permalink
    April 26, 2012 18:30

    & not to make excuses, as Bayern is a great opponent:

    BUT, there really should be some kind of new “el Clásico” rule made – that it cannot be sandwiched between important Champions League draws. I mean el Clásico is arguably the most hotly contested match-up (bar the WC, perhaps) of all. The rivalry & intensity is unmatched & I can’t help but think it affected both semis adversely – both Barca & Real Madrid were exhausted…. ok, now I will stop whinging. :/

    On a better note, Mou says he’s staying to complete the mission of total dominance. I’m enjoying the general respect between clubs exhibited this season & I’m proud of our players.

    HALA MADRID!

  39. yojo permalink
    April 26, 2012 19:52

    I was hoping. But at the back of my mind, it felt that it would be too good to be true, a fairytale ending. They were victims of circumstance: having a hard-fought El Classico days before that. When Neuer saved both Cristiano’s and Kaka’s shots, I knew it wasnt going to be our day.

  40. Mani Thangadurai permalink
    April 26, 2012 20:02

    Any defeat in a penalty shoot-out is always a heart-breaker, and one can only feel for the likes of Ricardo Izecson dos Santos Leite. He hasn’t really had an easy time in the Spanish Capital by his standards, what with injuries and hardly enough playing time coupled with terribly high expectations. I firmly believe that just as much as CR7, the number 8 really should be counted on a lot more and this could have been his chance to leave a great impact on the world stage. Not that he already hasn’t, but you know what I mean! I do hope that the Merengues show more faith in him and let him stay on, he still has a lot to offer! There should be no talk of him being offloaded!

    Bayern Munich were full value for their win, and I look forward to seeing them play in the final on their home turf. And as an Arsenal fan who retches at any mention of Chelsea, I am absolutely delighted that John Terry WILL NOT be playing a part in the final. I also feel that if Chelsea win he should not be given the honour of lifting the trophy first, although all this kerfluffle from UEFA is a little uncalled for. For instance, do not all the winning squad members of the World Cup, EURO, Copa America, etc. come up to collect medals and share in the euphoria even if they were suspended? As long as Terry is not handed the trophy first then there should really be no more arguments. Nobody can forget his disgusting, self-centred behaviour in the 2008 final!

    I will obviously be going for Bayern to win, and I personally think a little more support should be shown for ex-madridistas Arjen Robben and manager Jupp Heynckes.

    Also, I’m surprised that this has not been discussed as of yet, but there was an incident five minutes before the end of extra time when Manuel Neuer clearly grabbed the shirt of Esteban Granero in the penalty area, and yet no penalty was awarded. Surely given that Neuer’s actions were deliberate with an attempt to deny a clear goal-scoring opportunity he should have at least been booked and a clear penalty given! Another ‘what-might-have-been’ moment, and it further takes Neuer down a notch after that ‘goal’ he conceded against England in the World Cup!

  41. hbwm permalink
    April 26, 2012 22:40

    ALL THE BOYS PLAYED VERY WELL~ BOTH OF THE TEAMS ARE GREAT~ HALA MADRID!!

  42. April 26, 2012 22:58

    Of course the loss left me gutted. I really wasn’t expecting them to lose. They played so well. Props to Bayern for pulling through in the end. Real Madrid has improved so much within a year, and who’s to say…maybe next year they will be in the final?!!! 🙂

  43. Manong permalink
    April 27, 2012 01:07

    After seeing how everyone at the club spoke after being eliminated, I’m even more proud of
    the team as persons, not just as players. Mou had a point, playing so soon after a very
    high pressure clasico took its’ toll on both teams involved. Now it’s time to win the league !

  44. April 27, 2012 11:54

    Hey Madridistas! Does anyone know the team’s training schedule for the 5th and 6th of May? I’ll be visiting Madrid on those dates and will do the Bernabeu stadium tour probably on the 5th. I know they have an away game vs. Granada on the 6th. Is there a chance I’ll still get to see them train at the Bernabeu?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      April 30, 2012 15:31

      Madrid is playing on the 5th in Granada, so they won’t be training that day. In general, they do not train at the Bernabéu, and if they do train at the Bernabéu, they won’t hold tours simultaneously. In addition, training sessions (at Valdebebas) are closed to the general public except on several public holdiays.

  45. Happy permalink
    April 27, 2012 12:56

    I love this team, our dream is so close but I don’t want anyone to be blamed, they tried their best.
    I dislike Bayern and Neuer more after that, and Chelsea deserve a UCL long time before, hope they could succeed.
    Hope our team, coach, players could grow , I believe we will win UCL soon.

  46. Zack permalink
    April 27, 2012 17:20

    dont mind a post about the game against Bayern. man still feeling like shit.

  47. April 27, 2012 19:10

    Congratulations to Bayern! Just like everyone is, I’m still downcast. The boys gave their all – Cant fault a single player…I blame it on luck. La Decima is surely around the corner. HalaMadrid to all Madridistas around the world. Let the countdown to #32 begin

  48. justme permalink
    April 27, 2012 23:59

    will be there next year..i wouldn’t lie, this is hurting..so much tbh..but this never gonna punch the proudness out of me..we still have Liga ahead of us,hala madrid!!!

  49. jean permalink
    April 28, 2012 04:28

    For once Im glad there are not recaps of the game ;). It would have been heartbreaking for me;Im still trying to get over it lol.
    This game made me loooooove my team even more. I just wanted to reach the telly and give a big bear hug to Cris :(.Poor Cris:(, Poor Mou:( on his knees, Poor San Iker :(, my Poor team but you know what this is going to make us even stronger and it will make our win of a CL even MORE SWEETER.
    Now lets focus on la Liga and break more records !
    Hala Madrid :):):)!
    This might not be the place to say this but I want to wish Pep good luck with his career;he is a gent;).

  50. jean permalink
    April 28, 2012 04:35

    Btw, Una I love the gif of Cris on the corner of the site(Calm down I have got this;):).
    That image will stay with me for a long time:):)

Leave a Reply

