Skip to content

ICYMI – the pre-season edition

July 25, 2012

I’m still very much in pre-season mode, and I think the Olympics will be taking up quite a bit of my time in the next few weeks (and not just La Rojita, I absolutely love watching the Olympics!) so this ICYMI post is kind of just a collection of my random observations and thoughts from the game, plus some game things and statistics.

Random thought number one: I was glad to see Gonzalo Higuaín and José Callejón carry on from where they left off last season, together!  Many hearts would have been broken had Pipita gone elsewhere, including Calleti’s, I’m sure. 

Random thought number two/game thing number one:  I absolutely adored the line-up that José Mourinho fielded for the game, though it was probably more out of necessity than any other reason.  All 11 of the players were canteranos.  Two of them – Antonio Adán and Esteban Granero – play for the first team, and the other nine for Castilla, though MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín, and Jesús, are expected to get fichas with the first team.  In fact, during the game, both of them wore first team numbers: Jesús had the 25, while ABMM wore the 23.  In addition, they both now have lockers in the first team locker room at Valdebebas.  Anyway, the average age of the starting XI was 22.6 years.

Game thing number two: Lucas, Denis, El Pirata and Ángel di María on two occasions scored for Madrid as they beat Oviedo 5-1.  Denis became the first ever Russian player to wear the shirt of Real Madrid, and of course the first ever Russian to score a goal for Real Madrid (keeping in mind that this was a friendly).  After the game, he tweeted, “at home!  Time to rest!  Today could be one of the happiest days in my career!  Without all of you, it wouldn’t have been possible!  Thank you.”  Congratulations Denis!

Random thought number three: what do you think about the two color numbers?  I like the concept, but I’m not sure it translates too well onto football shirts.  Maybe it will grow on me, just like Sergio Ramos’ short hair.  Plus, did you notice the goalkeepers in the striped socks?  I can’t wait to see Iker in them, yay!

Game thing number three/random thought number four: after the game, Esteban Granero said he was proud to have been the captain of Madrid (and I was proud to see him be the captain; the armband suits him!), although it was just for a pre-season game.  And though it was just a pre-season game, Esteban said that the team was upset they had allowed a goal, but were satisfied with their level.  As for the canterahis thoughts were that “the Castilla boys are helping us a lot and they’re showing that they have many things to bring to the team.  I am trying to help them in whatever they ask of me.”  I really do love our Pirata!  And I really do hope the club has more confidence in its youth system!  Plus, I loved seeing a female linesperson!

Random thought number five: I just like this picture because Ángel di María looks like the cartoon Tasmanian Devil, or at least in the moment before he begins spinning.

Random thought number six: the kids in the Tartiare really love our team!

Game thing number four: Aitor Karanka spoke to the press after the game, seemingly confirming that Kaká will be leaving.  He said, “we’re looking for the best solution for Kaká, and it was the míster’s decision that he not play tonight.  He’s one of our players and we hope that between all of us we can find a solution.”  He also lauded his players and the fans at the Tartiere.

I wonder when Mou will give his first press conference?

Game thing number five: prior to the game, gaiteros played a tribute to Slovakian footballer Peter Dubovsky, who had played for both teams and who had passed away in 2000.  Madrid’s team also wore black armbands to mourn the passing of Gregorio Peces-Barba, a politician, academic and socio of Real Madrid (he would have become a Madrid director had Lorenzo Sanz beaten FP in the 2000 presidential election).  He had passed away earlier that day at the age of 74 in Oviedo, although he was a madrileño in addition to being a madridista.

And now we await the arrival of some of the other international players, as we start preparations for the Eusébio Cup!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Pammie permalink
    July 25, 2012 15:05

    finally an ICYMI again, I missed those, so thank you! Wow, the hints that Jesus and Morata get promoted are really getting more and more. It would be lovely.

    jot down magazine tweeted that they’re interviewing the pirate, this is the best news of the day so far xD
    https://twitter.com/JotDownSpain/status/228098102639357952 It looks like they’re doing the interview in a library, which is oh so fitting!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 26, 2012 15:41

      Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Erika permalink
    July 25, 2012 15:08

    I love watching the Olympics, too! Best of luck to Spain. I will be rooting for them in soccer/football, and I hope they get second in basketball. 🙂 Of course, my USA comes before Spain, but I love seeing Spain win!

  3. Dia permalink
    July 25, 2012 15:16

    I’ve never been a fan of Kaka’s (nor his wife) so this is not heartbreaking for me. I’d bet he’s going back to Italy.

    I love me some Pirata too and glad he scored! I didn’t get to watch the game….

  4. mumblo permalink
    July 25, 2012 17:29

    I’m so happy pre-season has started. Can’t wait to see all of our boys together again! And more photos in sleeveless training jerseys when they get to California.. (I’m far away at the other end of the state, but it always makes me happy knowing they’re much closer than usual!)

  5. Derrick permalink
    July 25, 2012 20:32

    I’m so happy to see Real Madrid play again after a long break, the only sad thing was that Kaka was left out. I love the fact the two canteranos have been promoted, I hope they live up to their promise.

  6. gaelle permalink
    July 25, 2012 23:12

    una what is this i hear about joselu going to germany… plz tell me it is not true 😥

  7. kbear83 permalink
    July 26, 2012 03:19

    Hey Una,

    Do you think we’ll start to see more lineswomen in the Primera Liga? I know the EPL used a couple last season. Wasn’t sure if that was something we’ll start to see more of in other top flight leagues. Also, where do you normally vacation? I have a friend from Madrid (her name is Mafalda) who usually goes to Palma de Mallorca. 😉

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 26, 2012 15:45

      I hope so, that would be great to see more lineswomen!

      I love to travel, so when I have vacation, I like to go everywhere! But when there’s just a few days, I love going to the San Sebastián area. If I want to go to the beach, Palma is a good option but Menorca is more my style.

  8. July 26, 2012 04:08

    The striped socks looked really funny, jaja. Though I failed to find any photo of our goalkeepers (or their legs). 😦

  9. inHighbury permalink
    July 26, 2012 07:24

    The two-toned numbers…will that be used only for Champions League/non-league matches or does La Liga allow those?

  10. J Landa permalink
    July 26, 2012 08:15

    Una, do you have any of the details about their time in LA? Arrival time at the airport? Practice schedules? You were so helpful last year. We discovered your blog last summer trying to find team details. Thanks!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 26, 2012 15:46

      I’ll post whatever I know, to help all of you in LA out.

  11. Marie permalink
    July 26, 2012 12:37

    Nooo I don’t want Kaka to go! I need his smiles in my life. Do you know what’s happening with Adan at the moment? Any news on whether he’s going?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 26, 2012 15:46

      Looks like Mou has convinced him to stay.

  12. inHighbury permalink
    July 26, 2012 21:50

    Odd question and don’t know if I should ask it here, but what is the news in Spain about Cazorla to Arsenal? Didn’t know where else to get some news that wasn’t just bullshit English tabloids.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 27, 2012 14:54

      The Spanish press has just repeated the rumors published in the English papers.

      • inHighbury permalink
        July 27, 2012 20:01

        Now what about this Marca rumor? http://i.imgur.com/6Nijd.png I know they have since changed the Sahin thing to say he’s not going to Arsenal, but somewhere in the EPL. Do you think it has any merit?

Leave a Reply

