Skip to content

thank you

August 20, 2012

 

I have just read through all of the comments that you all left on my last post, and I feel very humbled that my little blog has been a big part of your madridista experience, and in some cases, daily lives.  This does give me the encouragement to start writing again, at some point in the future.  So thank you, and here’s a little token of my appreciation that I put together this morning for all of you.

  

96 Comments leave one →
  1. Madridista4evaa permalink
    August 20, 2012 14:24

    Love ya una❤

  2. August 20, 2012 14:57

    Looks like you want to come back already.

    Are you teasing us? we want a full ICYM edition!

    Enjoy your break wherever you are!

  3. Mariam permalink
    August 20, 2012 15:39

    Thank you! this post makes me feel better. Yesterday, while watching Sergio, Iker and Pepe get injured, all I could think was, will this inspire UM to write a post titled “Pobrecitos!!!”?

  4. hurdlenataly1485@gmail.com permalink
    August 20, 2012 15:58

    You are most welcome
    Sent from my BlackBerry® device from Digicel

  5. Hugh Belmont permalink
    August 20, 2012 17:25

    Thanks to you, this is a great real madrid’s blog

  6. August 20, 2012 18:17

    Your fantastic blog has long been a part of daily RM update ritual – Thank you so much, and we hope you are back soon!

  7. Pammie permalink
    August 20, 2012 18:38

    Thanks for the mini-icymi, that’s something I could get used to 😉

    Have a great start into the week!

  8. AJ Nelson permalink
    August 20, 2012 19:14

    Thanks for this! The US broadcasts of La Liga switched and I missed my first game in nearly 2 years because my company doesn’t provide it. Worse, I went to a bar and the satellite was broken! It was a rough day, but this made my morning! Gracias!

  9. Lola permalink
    August 20, 2012 19:52

    Yay Una! You posted something!!! Last night, during the match, at certain points I kept wondering ‘what would Una say about this?’ Like when I saw Mou wearing his suit again! Maybe you could start a tumblr or a twitter, something completely non-committal where you can just post your thoughts/fave gifworthy moments/pics of Iker’s inevitable atrocious outfits whenever you feel like it?

    Anyways, no worries, just do whatever makes you happy. Love you ❤

    • Kristen permalink
      August 26, 2012 16:39

      I love the idea of an Una tumblr/twitter! Something is better than nothing 🙂

  10. Arshjot permalink
    August 20, 2012 20:12

    When I saw Mou in the suit, you were the one I thought about

  11. Sheh permalink
    August 20, 2012 20:23

    Do post more. Been reading your blog for 2 seasons. Love it, a daily habit of mine to check this site before going to bed.

  12. Suse permalink
    August 20, 2012 22:16

    I couldn’t bring myself to comment before, because I would have been all “NOOOOO don’t leave us” and would have felt selfish, because dammit it’s your decision…. and now I’m so happy to hear you plan to write again some day! Hooray! I’ve loved your blog, and now I’m going to start at the beginning and read it again – all the In Case You Missed Its and Mou Corners and Xabi Alonso Pose Sections, all over again, slowly. [Mou wearing suits again is a good omen, I think!]

    Take care and have a good break, and thank you so much,

    Suse

  13. mia permalink
    August 20, 2012 22:23

    Oh Una!
    I will miss you so much. If you only knew how much this blog means to me. You actually introduced me to Real Madrid. And the way you give life to the “numbers” that run on the pitch is amazing. It feels like I know these players like my own family. I love every single player in Real Madrid thanks to you, even Mou and his coaching staff. And I am forever thankful to you. Take a well-needed rest my dear and be back soon.

    Until then, I am going to go through all the posts one more time…

    Love and hugs
    Mia

    Hala Madrid!

  14. August 20, 2012 23:41

    Gosh Una –
    I have followed you almost since you first started this blog. I am going to miss your wit, candor, and creativity. You have shown us an unwavering commitment to a team that is not only beautiful, but highly skilled and passionately followed by so many around the world. Just like our favorite team, you have weathered small episodes of conflict, and delivered amazing displays of craft and skill to bring us your product. You have helped us feel good about this team in times of duress and shown us how fun it can be to be a fan in both good times and bad. You are a saint to have tolerated us, your opinionated readers, for so long. You have moderated and mediated much the same way that our beloved San Iker does with his teammates.
    I hope you enjoy your sabbatical. Because, certainly, that is what we are talking about here… There will be something out there, some event that leads you to a thought, that sends you scrambling for the keyboard (or voice recognition software, eye blink reader, secretary, etc…), eager to disseminate the concept… We wait for that day. Very very impatiently 😉 But don’t let me pressure you into anything…
    Thank you so very much for all of your time and energy.
    I am now going to retreat into a corner, where I will whither to a babbling heap of goo, because Al Jazeera/beinsport has made it impossible for me to watch La Liga anymore, and now my only salvation, Una, is taking a break… guess I can take up knitting or something… or drug dealing…

    • Lulja permalink
      August 25, 2012 23:00

      Very well-said. Especially the first part.
      But why does Al Jazeera make you stop watching football? I’m a subscriber and I love their somewhat unprofessional and hence hilarious analysis & COMMENTARY (the arabic ones though). Always prepared for a good laugh with them.

      • August 27, 2012 02:12

        al Jazeera owns Beinsport, which owns La Liga broadcasting rights in America. Up until a few days ago, only two providers, Direct TV and Dish network, had bought into BeinSport. Evidently, Comcast, the largest cable TV provider in America, finally announced that they would be buying into Beinsport, so, soon we should be able to watch La Liga again without having to buy satellite service. These last few weeks have been the first time I have been without La Liga in years. Didn’t realize how much I would miss it!

  15. Sarah, NYC permalink
    August 21, 2012 00:32

    Una, I can’t begin to tell you how heartbroken I am, but in if there was ever any person who deserved a break, it is you. I hope that Madrid kicks into to full gear during the supercopa and the second league match, and that Sergio’s gorgeousness and Mou in a suit goes a long way in persuading you to come back. ‘Til then, you will be sorely missed ❤

  16. gaelle permalink
    August 21, 2012 00:36

    awww una plz come back. who is going to give us the run down of spanish interviews? or the fashion break down plz plz come back i am suffering withdrawal

  17. Gigi permalink
    August 21, 2012 00:37

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving so much of your time and effort in this blog. It was always appreciated, and I honestly can’t imagine not having it to read but I can understand the need to step back from a thing and take a breather. You are amazing and it’s been a fantastic blessing to have your insights to read!!

  18. futbolfan permalink
    August 21, 2012 01:54

    I’m glad una! Your blog really is a part of my daily life. This icymi was perfect as well!

  19. Shahzeen suleman permalink
    August 21, 2012 03:05

    Una u r vvvv gud.. Apk hr postx bre ache han

  20. August 21, 2012 03:37

    NOOOOOOOO dont leave. Ganna miss your posts alot!!. Could you give us the links u used to pull the pics off from.. or something which could compensate a little. Please!

  21. August 21, 2012 03:48

    I love all of your posts! Keep on going this way! Please don´t leave us! Because the best part of my day is when I open my mail and find a notification of one of your posts! Even though I love to read about the boys and Real Madrid in general, I especially like to read your posts! This is because of the special way you have to relate the daily activities of the boys! The way you write is wonderful! For me is the best way to find out about what is going on with the team! Congratulations, and I hope to be reading more from you pretty soon! Regards!

  22. Morales permalink
    August 21, 2012 08:00

    :DDDDD Thanks for taking the time to post this!! Xabi, as always, looks delectable as ever. I swear, I cheered when I saw Mou finally in his suits. dios mio, I love our team

  23. eruhin permalink
    August 21, 2012 19:25

    Oh yes I missed it… not the match, the ICYMI posts;) I thank you for this little gift and still hope you’ll be back soon!:) It feels strange to begin the new season without your blog…

  24. Trixie permalink
    August 22, 2012 01:18

    Una, you have the best blog and I will always cherish every post! I look forward to your posts in the future 🙂

  25. maria permalink
    August 22, 2012 02:36

    Una, see??? Mou is back on his stylish suits, Sergio is rocking his new hair (and bandaids), Pipa’s ass is looking better then ever, and Marcelo, well, is being Marcelo (with instagram!!). You have to come back!! Keeping us updated with your fun and hilarious posts (love the “fashion police” you embrace every once in a while).You’re so endeared by all of us!! Just this sample of a post made my day!! Really hope you come back with your writing on Madrid, I’ll be checking every now and then to see if you changed your mind!!
    Take care!! =)
    XXx

  26. kweyork permalink
    August 22, 2012 08:51

    could you at least tweet during you hiatus?

  27. tim permalink
    August 22, 2012 10:36

    waiting for your come back!

  28. Ally permalink
    August 22, 2012 13:37

    Thank you for this short ICYMI. I will continue to check your blog every day, waiting for your return 🙂 Enjoy your well-deserved break!

  29. August 22, 2012 18:04

    You’ve been my sole source of all the goings-on of el club di mis amores — can’t thank you enough for that. Checking out your blog for new posts has become a daily habit, will continue to do so… 🙂

  30. Mokia permalink
    August 22, 2012 18:37

    This picture describes my emotions right now Una

  31. August 22, 2012 19:57

    Una, I miss you so much.

  32. hornbeam permalink
    August 22, 2012 23:37

    Thank you for everything! Hope to see (read :)) you soon! Have a nice break. 🙂

  33. @ulonghaz permalink
    August 23, 2012 02:32

    You are the best Una. I am the one who should say thank you.
    Thank you for bringing Real Madrid to me :*

  34. August 23, 2012 03:46

    i will take what i can get! 🙂 this is great! although, i must say, between la liga no longer being available in canada and your hiatus, my real madrid match viewing, recaps and general enjoyment has taken a deep nose dive this season. 😦

    enjoy your hiatus — you more than deserve it — and thank you for everything you’ve done. hope to see you sooner rather than later. xo

  35. nadia permalink
    August 23, 2012 07:06

    We’ll miss you so much! You blog has always been highlight of my boring everyday life. Good luck with everything.xo

  36. colon permalink
    August 23, 2012 14:26

    I hope you get your groove back, in time for the upcoming games 🙂

  37. Jenny permalink
    August 23, 2012 17:24

    Una – this is utterly gorgeous!

  38. yojo permalink
    August 23, 2012 19:18

    Now that my cable company has lost La Liga, your blog is more important than ever! 🙂 Surely a post for the Supercopa is on the works?

  39. Real Oro permalink
    August 24, 2012 02:51

    I love you Una

  40. lover_iker permalink
    August 24, 2012 10:56

    woooow when i read you come back i feld the God gave me all of the world
    you became us soooooooo soooooooo sooooooooooo happy thank you Dear Una

  41. August 24, 2012 22:30

    Thank you! Love you Una!

  42. Asma permalink
    August 25, 2012 02:15

    Love this post! Thanks so much Una.

    Now I don’t know how to go through a loss (God forbid, and I hope I don’t ever have to) without you 😦

  43. Soñando con Dios permalink
    August 25, 2012 15:39

    Dear Una! I just wanted to tell you that you did a great great job these past years reporting on RM! I actually came to love the team and the players through your blog. I loved reading your ICYMIs, your fresh take on the game, especially before and after game moments. Things I would have missed otherwise. And all your other posts! I hope you’ll come back to writing, even if you’ll report on Justin Bieber next. 🙂 I just think you have such a creative and unique voice and loved reading your posts. And I really appreciated your optimism and kindness even when general media outlets were telling us completely different stuff. So a big thank you and keep us posted if you’ll start anything new! I’m sure, most of us would like to read that, too!

  44. Lulja permalink
    August 25, 2012 23:05

    Seriously, Una. I usually don’t like fangirling around (okay except for our boys) but your writing is such an incredible inspiration for us. There’s no other thing on the internet (or elsewhere) rudimentary comparable to these two blogs you have. It’s the unconventional football-details you cover, which no one else (except for, perhaps, your readership) notices or puts it down into words.

    A huge gracias y abrazos for you, querida Madridista.

  45. aqui_kai permalink
    August 26, 2012 08:55

    just read this one una, you made me *wide smile* .. i do hope you’ll write again
    thank you so much!!
    what if, you’ll have sponsors/ads on you page.. anyone knows how to do that???

    -kai

  46. Jay permalink
    August 26, 2012 09:55

    Neva knew i cud miss ur post so much!doe am a mou fan,u cant help lovin d players!he tends 2 bring out d best in dem,n pple tend 2 appreciate deir collective efforts.tanx 4 evrytin.more power 2 u.

  47. mia permalink
    August 26, 2012 23:05

    Una I miss you…we lost tonight…and I miss you badly…

  48. MissLadya permalink
    August 26, 2012 23:12

    One draw, two losses, already five points behind Barca. Season is off to a rocky start, and now we don’t even have your entertaining posts to lift our spirits 😦

    (But I can relate to your situation. I do a lot of writing myself, both as a hobby and for my work, and there comes a time when you do tire of a project, no matter how dear it is to you. You just find yourself, dare I say, bored with it. Am sure you’re still a diehard Spain/Madrid supporter, but after three years I can understand you growing weary of having to document/blog about it the whole time. It does reach a point where it becomes less of a hobby and more of a chore, and that does not make for inspired writing. Of course, am hoping that this might be just a case of temporary writer’s block, but it certainly is a pointless affair to try and force yourself to keep writing: it usually ends up being counter-productive. Whatever you decide, thanks for giving us all this wonderful material! Am gonna go reread some of them now, to cheer myself up ^_^)

  49. August 28, 2012 14:05

    the beginning of the season is dissapointing so far, I hope it gets better. Until than I feel like I am left with the Sergio’s thigh picture and Iker’s profile, now when there are no posts… LOL

    take care Una!

  50. Samuca permalink
    August 28, 2012 16:29

    Thanks so much for writing, not only have you made me love this club more (which i didnt think was possible) but you made me get to know the who the players are as people, not just footballers. Best of luck in whatever plans you continue to do, and hopefully we’ll see some blogs from you in the future!

  51. Ida permalink
    August 28, 2012 20:48

    come back! there’s no question I tell you that now is the time to come back! missing all the lovely texts, do not know what to do now 😦 I always looked forward to a new post, so now is the time that it comes one!

    Love!

  52. LAL permalink
    August 30, 2012 03:17

    Just a little note to say I have missed you and your blog today at lunch time! I read Marca from top to bottom but it wasn’t same. I looked everywhere on the internet for a RM blog as funny, creative and detailed as yours but I haven’t found one yet. Thanks for all you do! Bicosss!!! (:

  53. gaelle permalink
    August 30, 2012 08:51

    una we just won a title. come back so we can laugh at xavi “the best team doesn’t always win”

  54. gaelle permalink
    August 30, 2012 08:52

    see things like that first paragraph are hilarious!!!
    http://www.managingmadrid.com/2012/8/30/3276022/real-madrid-barcelona-supercup-2012-press

  55. August 30, 2012 09:24

    Una, I don’t know if you’re ever going to post again.

    But I did want to say Congrats to Real Madrid for winning Supercopa. This is such a wonderful way to start off the season. I hope u had a fun time watching and that you’re able to enjoy the victory too! 🙂

  56. August 30, 2012 15:31

    COULD WE PLEASE GET A SUPERCOPA POST.. for old time sakes

  57. black widow permalink
    August 30, 2012 20:44

    una, i wish you were around to share your thoughts on the supercopa / modric / kaka / granero 😦 😦 😦 / champions league draw / javi (!!!) to germany sagas …

  58. jessica permalink
    August 31, 2012 01:20

    awww I miss your blog posts! I still check the website everyday hoping I would get lucky and a new post will be up! You are truely missed! The season is not the same without your ICYMI

  59. Cosi permalink
    August 31, 2012 22:07

    UNAAAAAAAA TELL ME I READ THE TRANSFER NEWS WRONG………. YOUR JAVI (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) IS HEADING TO GERMANY?!?!?!?!?!?!!? noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  60. Jinx permalink
    August 31, 2012 23:46

    Just wanted to say that after we won the Supercopa I was looking forward to my email alert telling me you’d done a post…it never came 😦
    Hope you enjoy your time away & really hope you find the time to start posting again because you, without exception, the best Madrid blog I know.
    x

  61. Suri permalink
    September 3, 2012 15:53

    Nooooo! 😦 what happened?! I’m so late. Oh well thanks for everything! Memorable 3 years reading your blog. Will miss it a lot!

  62. MissLadya permalink
    September 3, 2012 21:36

    OMG OMG OMG, UNAAAAAAAAAAA!! Ronaldo said he’s sad and the media is saying he’s leaving and people are saying he’s angry with Marcelo sunshine and San Iker and I don’t know who to believe anymore (okay, so I know not to believe the media) and everything’s so confusing now and I cannot understand what the Spanish articles have to say about the whole matter!! What do we do? What do we do?? Would that we had your guiding light to show us the way out of this dark cesspit of a controversy!!

    (On the bright side, woo-hoo! 3-0! Kinda on the right track ^_^)

    • Cosi permalink
      September 20, 2012 18:10

      ugh yeah, and now Sergio’s gone and had some sort of row with Mou, and was benched for the Champions League game. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THERE”S NO UNA!!!!

  63. Sarah, NYC permalink
    September 3, 2012 21:53

    What is this all of this abut CR7 being sad at the club and all of the news about him possibly leaving?!!!!!!

  64. September 4, 2012 01:40

    Oh please come back. I miss the posts so badly. I still come and check the blog every three days in hope for a new post. 😦

  65. September 4, 2012 17:44

    Una, please start blogging again. So much happening in our Madridista world — we need you!!

  66. Moose9t9 permalink
    September 5, 2012 04:15

    Una……..Cheers to you, the person who ran (still runs?) the best Real Madrid Fan site on the planet. I come here to make sense of things. Right now, things don’t quite make sense for Madridistas and we hope you regain your energy and enthusiasm and help the rest of us make sense of it all.. Hala Madrid!!!!!!!!!

  67. Nas permalink
    September 5, 2012 22:06

    Come back come back come back come back….

    Please? 🙂

  68. far east madridista permalink
    September 6, 2012 19:40

    Hi Una,

    I’ve been following your blog for the past few years, through ups n downs..and enjoy your holiday una 😉
    thank you for everything, and please write again later..we missed u!

    Hala Madrid

  69. Abbe permalink
    September 7, 2012 01:53

    Where are you?!?!?!? We need you! Give as picture and information plz!!! MISS YOU

  70. September 7, 2012 05:52

    Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, we (and in particular ME!) miss your blogs, your writing, your viewpoint, and your enthusiasm.

    I anxiously await your return, and I hope we can see more of your inputs this year, on our way to LA DECIMA! 🙂

    HALA UNA!
    HALA MADRID!!!!

  71. Maddi permalink
    September 9, 2012 16:21

    Una I miss you so much 😦

  72. September 9, 2012 21:19

    I miss your posts so much Una. Every time something comes up with my beloved club, I find myself thinking ‘what would Una say about this. *hugs* I’m not trying to guilt you here, I just wanted to say that I miss you. :\

  73. grace permalink
    September 10, 2012 04:29

    i misss your blog so much i check everyday to see if you have nay new posts. come back so much has happened with our team!!

  74. September 10, 2012 16:09

    I predict that Una will be back after the International break.

    Come on Una, prove me right!

  75. Jessie permalink
    September 10, 2012 17:46

    please come back, how else are us american girls gonna catch up on real madrid now? 😦

    • TexFan permalink
      September 14, 2012 05:33

      Agreed Jessie. Una seriously, we’re suffering without you. How about you take a nice long Christmas break then come back for the New Year? We miss you. *Sadface*

  76. Ida permalink
    September 16, 2012 17:55

    we miss you ❤ are you coming back soon? pleas, big love to you and your work whit this blog!

  77. September 18, 2012 15:10

    No blog and no cheer up posts in this weird time for the team! No readers’ group of support in the time of Crispy’s “sadness”gossips about Mou, the drama in the press and all those things! I miss you Una and I miss reading the comments of other readers!
    On the other hand I feel as if it would not be the most pleasant thing to write about the team at the beginning of this season when it comes to the playing results.Let’s be honest, they play weird but I hope it will change soon, for good. But at least we could have cheered ourselves up with the fashion news or views of certain thighs. Oh!

    Anyways, just dropping in to check if anything changed here and to leave my few word to let you know I miss the blog;-))
    I hope you are having a nice time UnaMadridista and you enjoy the freedom from the blog;-), but I hope one day you will be back!;-))

    cheers to all the readers too!

  78. September 19, 2012 02:02

    hi una, (r we still allowed to post here even if u have ended ur blog?)

    anyway, i just wanted to say how happy i was with RM’s win over ManCity. It was such a fun game, esp in the sec half. I loved how Jose celebrated, it brought out the young kid in him.

    hope u had a great summer. we all truly miss ur posts. 🙂 take care.

  79. Ray permalink
    September 19, 2012 07:59

    hey una, just wanna say I miss your posts so badly. and things are kinda rough right now, and I guess we could really use some news and interviews well basically anything you write!

    I can understand that your hiatus is necessary and reasonable, though, so good luck una, and come back really soon! you are missed.

  80. September 22, 2012 03:52

    Everyday I come and check…

  81. Ane Pierce permalink
    September 26, 2012 17:39

    sometimes i still come back here forgetting its done now, i hope one day when i come back i get a pleasant surprise and see that’s its still here, thank you soo much Una, you made supporting real madrid and La roja a blessing 🙂

  82. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    September 28, 2012 15:51

    I think timed your leave Una, the past weeks drama in RM was ridiculous!

    Anyway miss you still and xabi pose section is dearly missed

  83. Migga permalink
    September 28, 2012 17:19

    Hey Una, could you please update us, are you thinking of coming back, or is it the end of this blog? Because I still visit the blog everyday, and hoping for a new post!!

  84. September 30, 2012 02:39

    I still feel this withdrawal! There’s no place like this was and all I am left with are either strictly serious news from websites or tumblr achievements;-) it’s not the same! and it feels as there’s too much going on with the team!

    It’s like the season is not complete without this blog to follow, but I hope you are having a good time UnaMadridista, whatever you’re doing at the moment. I think I will leave messages like that here regularly for some time in the future;-)

    Aren’t you in Germany following Javi’s(!!!!!!) adventures? LOL (Okay, I still cannot believe he moved, but the silver lining is that he is now closer to me, distance-wise;-))

    Cheers!

  85. Mariam permalink
    October 3, 2012 13:06

    I think I speak on behalf of the entire madridismo when I say we miss you and your unique perspective on our team. Hope you are doing well, and I look forward to the day that you regain your enthusiasm for the blog and writing.
    Un saludo

  86. Mia permalink
    October 4, 2012 00:44

    Every single day Una, I come in and check…
    Every day…

    I still have this page on my bookmarks.

    I seriously want to cry, I am desperate.

  87. October 4, 2012 12:07

    I am tired of checking your blog dear Una. When will we see your happy face? miss you a lot 🙂 amouria

  88. October 9, 2012 06:40

    After last night’s Clasico finished, I couldn’t help but come back here and wish you were still posting. Hope you are doing well Una, we miss you and your posts. *hugs* Come back soon!

  89. Elizabeth permalink
    October 9, 2012 09:56

    Una come back!! i miss your posts and your thoughts about everything!! ):
    please ):

  90. moe permalink
    October 14, 2012 16:47

    you back yet 😦

Leave a Reply

