Skip to content

problems & responses – part I

October 15, 2012

I’m still enjoying my hiatus very much, but there have been so many things going on in the world of Real Madrid, and as some of you have asked my opinion on several of them, here is my take on them.

The problem/issue: all the speculation about the relationship between Sergio Ramos and José Mourinho, which peaked with the appearance of Mesut Özil’s jersey under that of Sergio Ramos during the second half of the game against Depor (the photo below has been adjusted to make the contrast of the two jerseys greater; it wasn’t that obvious during the game).

The remedies that make you feel the world is full of Marcelo sunshine, Sergio Ramos thighs and Xabi Alonsos: 1. The fact that the umlaut on the letter “Ö” of “ÖZIL” matched up perfectly with the “O” of “SERGIO”!  Or would that be SERGIÖ?  2. The subsequent attention focused on the Sergio-Mesut friendship, allowing us to learn more about it.  3. The calm and rational statements each have made to defuse the situation and the glee of those who want to believe something is terribly wrong with the relationship.  4. The individual qualities that make us like them both so much.  It’s quite obvious that while people can disagree and have different points of view on things, they can still have a good relationship based on mutual respect and communication.

Let’s start with the statements.  During the press conference prior to the Ajax game, Mou said things such as “I agree with you, Sergio is a great professional,” and “my relationship with Ramos is good,” although he admitted that “my relationship with my wife is much better than my relationship with Ramos” (which is hardly surprising).  Much to the disappointment of the anti-Madrid press, Sergio was not “punished” by being benched during the game, and in fact, Mou said afterward that “he played very well… for me, he was perfect, which is what I wanted.”

For his part, after the news came out about his double jersey against Depor (it was reported that Mou had yelled at Mesut during the game and at the half in front of everyone and then had replaced him, so Sergio put on Mesut’s shirt so that he could show it if he scored as a sign of solidarity), Sergio tweeted, “I would like to clear up a few things before more lies and inventions are said and made up.  Mesut is a great friend and I told him a while back that my first goal of the season would be dedicated to him, and taking advantage of him being subbed out, I put on his shirt, believing that I could score my first goal.  Nothing more.  Also, my relationship with Mourinho is good, honest and clear.  I respect his decisions and for me he’s the best coach.”

Their teammates also stressed that nothing was going on.  Álvaro Arbeloa commented during a press conference that “I don’t think Sergio challenged Mourinho.  We know it’s the coach who is in charge.  We have respect, confidence for him and we’re mature enough to go speak with him in private.  We’re intelligent enough not to start fires.  We’ll have more during the course of the year.  We’re not going to be stupid and provoke even more.”

In addition, this episode led to a greater examination of the friendship between Sergio Ramos and Mesut Özil (which is something we would all like to learn more about, no?).  Marca took advantage of the international break to interview Mesut in Germany, and asked him about the whole shirt incident.  Mes replied, laughing, “I think the 4 suits him better than the 10.  We’re ‘superamigos,’ there’s nothing else.  And we had spoken earlier about how he was going to dedicate a goal to me and that’s why he did that.  We’re really good friends… we get along really well and I consider him a great friend.  I’ve been in Madrid for three years and we’ve connected really well.”  As for Madrid, “we’re a small family.  Of course, there are moments where I understand Ramos better than I do others.  That’s normal.  The good thing about Madrid is that in general, we’re a piña.  There’s no envy and we all recognize the merits of our teammates… we’re a marvelous group.”

Such good friends that they even copy each other’s hairstyles!

More tidbits from the interview that don’t have anything to do with the subject of this post, but which I think you all will enjoy: we also find out that Mesut greeted the team from Marca in correct Spanish; that he’s good at cooking, especially Turkish dishes; that he would define himself as “very fun”; that he loves basketball (especially Lebron) and is pretty good at it (see him spinning a basketball at the end of this video here); and that he listens a lot to Turkish singer Tarkan.  He asked to do the interview in German, because although “I know Spanish, the problem is that Spaniards speak very fast.  When I go to a restaurant, I don’t know what to do.  I tell the waiter, ‘slower, please.’  But he repeats it just as fast, so it’s the same to me… and I just say ‘okay.’  I’m still taking classes, but my problem is that when I  go on vacation or I go to play with the national team, I forget.  I lose a lot when I’m not with my Madrid teammates, but I’ve gotten better at it.  I understand almost everything and I can speak fairly well.  I can speak well, but there are moments, such as this interview, where I feel more comfortable speaking in German.”

As for a birthday wish (he turned 24 on Oct. 15), Mes would like “health for my family and my friends and many celebrations with my teammates.  I hope we win many titles.”  When asked about what presents he would like to receive, he replied, “I’ll be the happiest man in the world with an SMS.  I just want the people who love me to remember and to send me a message, that’s what I like best.”  I hope Sergio has sent him a message!

By the way, they might not be neighbors for much longer, because Sergio has put his house up for sale!  Reader NobleSky alerted me to this listing for a chalet in La Moraleja, and as we can deduce from the eagle head (which I still don’t get) in the master bedroom, this is definitely Sergio’s house (how many of you are excited to finally see Sergio Ramos’ BEDROOM?  Is it how you imagined it in your fantasies?  Jajaja!!!)  The asking price is €5.95 million.  And as we can see from the other pictures, the master bath could possibly be bigger than most people’s homes (and please don’t tell me that animal print toiletry bag belongs to Sergio), there’s also a gigantic walk-in closet and a zebra pattern rug.  Muy Sergio.

Going off a (related) tangent, we got to see that Mou is not the dictator that certain sectors of the press portray him to be through the addition of Michael Essien to the squad.  During his first ever press conference with Madrid, the day he signed with the team, he repeatedly referred to Mou as “daddy.”  The first question was about his physical fitness, and Michael surprised everyone when he responded, “I wouldn’t have accepted to play for Real Madrid and my daddy if I weren’t fit.”  That caused a stir in the press room (for those who understood English) and it continued with his response to the second question about where he’d like to play on Madrid: “I’m ready to play anywhere my daddy wants me to play.”

Iker’s English is so great, no?  What an extensive vocabulary!  I was kind of expecting him to call Michael his “crony” and talk about difficult parties but sadly he didn’t.

Essien continued to refer to Mou as “daddy” in subsequent answers, and so it was only inevitable that one journalist should ask him why he refers to Mou as “daddy.”  He replied, “I use the name and regard him as my daddy because he’s the one who brought me to Chelsea and he knows me very well, we have a very good relationship, he understands me really well and I understand him.”  From that point on, the journalists began asking questions referring to “your father Mourinho” and at one point, Essien responded, “Well, Mourinho, daddy, sorry… Daddy knows me very well…,” making everyone crack up including himself.

Days later, in an interview with AS, Mou said, “it’s a sign of affection.  Özil also calls me that.”  And perhaps this father-son relationship is why Mou answered “Essien” when asked which of his players he’d use to watch over his kids during an interview with CNN, adding, “he’s responsible, he’s funny, he smiles all the time.”  Mou also revealed that “Cristiano is a happy boy,” that Albiol is the joker of the team, that the least vain is Higuaín because “he dresses [puts on] the first thing he gets when he wakes up, and he doesn’t come with [wearing] pyjamas because he can’t.”  As for the player he wouldn’t trust with his kids, it’s Antonio Adán because “he would teach my boy things that my boy has to learn when he’s 18, not 12.”

Watch that here (don’t miss Mou’s hilarious anecdote about Mario Balotelli) as well as Mou’s reaction to his best press conference moments (where was the famous ¿por qué? press conference?).

And to end with the Mou coverage, a survey by a matchmaking website, as reported by El Mundo magazine, found that 40 percent of Spanish women believe José Mourinho is the ideal man to have an affair with, in part because his facial features speak of a man who is “sweet and feminine.”  You can’t make this kind of stuff up.

74 Comments leave one →
  1. Manie permalink
    October 15, 2012 14:55

    I’m so glad to get your opinion! I hope you continue to enjoy your break though we certainly wouldn’t mind if you came back 🙂 Thanks Una

  2. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    October 15, 2012 15:03

    UNAAAAAAAAAA WE MISSED YOU SO MUCH!

    There is a lot of drama happening in RM, that I think we nee our own version of reality tv, are you readng the iker criticism, breaking my heart, to see all this about iker :(((((

    Anyway, the Spanish press is nothing but a huge pain, PAIN, GO PICK ON OTHER TEAMS! consistently bashing bashing it is unbelievable

  3. Andrea permalink
    October 15, 2012 15:12

    U’re AMAZING!.

  4. October 15, 2012 15:14

    Oh my, Una, I’ve missed you so much! I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying your break, but do be aware that we miss you a lot!

    I traveled to Madrid for the Deportivo game and I must say I totally didn’t notice the Sergio/Mesut-thing – at all! The day after the game the papers, as you know, were just filled with articles about the victory, but then on tuesday, two days after the game, the Sergio/Mesut-story was all over all the papers and I was so confused because I hadn’t noticed anything at all during the game. But it was a great game – couldn’t have chosen a better one to travel to Spain for (maybe except a Clasico…) 😉 (Loved Madrid, by the way. Beautiful city!)

    I so cracked up at the clip of Iker welcoming Essien. He sounds so confused!

    And.. yeah. Great to hear a bit from you.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 18, 2012 15:04

      I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip, the game and loved Madrid!

  5. lablanca permalink
    October 15, 2012 15:14

    unaaaaa! i really missed you! incredible how much the media makes up!

  6. Henrik permalink
    October 15, 2012 15:27

    oh how i’ve missed you!

  7. October 15, 2012 15:28

    dont worry una, we all saw the photo of you and ramos on twitter….!!

  8. Mariam permalink
    October 15, 2012 16:10

    thank you so much for this post

  9. wandering permalink
    October 15, 2012 16:12

    Exactly what I needed after a rough day. I REALLY MISS THIS BLOG. A LOT. 😦

    iHala Madrid!

  10. October 15, 2012 16:26

    Una! You have no idea how happy I am to see you post again!

  11. Morgan permalink
    October 15, 2012 16:39

    So glad to read your post, we have missed you Una!

  12. anna permalink
    October 15, 2012 18:00

    hey una, i’m glad to see you write!
    i’m surprised gonzalo is the worst dressed of the team, stole the title from sergio and cristiano!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 18, 2012 15:05

      He has worn some questionable things in the past…

  13. Nas permalink
    October 15, 2012 18:03

    Una!!! you have no idea how much I been looking forward to this!!!

    Hope you are doing well, sending a virtual huggggggg to you!

    Nas

  14. October 15, 2012 18:16

    Unaaa!! It’s so good to see a post from you again. I have really missed you so much! It’s so good to have you back in whatever capacity! *big hugs*

    Every time some issues comes up with our beloved club, I think of you first and go ‘I wonder what Una will say about this’! It’s just a habit – lol!

  15. Dia permalink
    October 15, 2012 18:26

    Are Ramos an Ozil still neighbors? I thought that was why the got along so well.

    In any case, I believe Ramos didn’t mean anything against Mou, although I can’t figure out why Ramos would decide to dedicate his first goal to Ozil at the beginning of the season.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 18, 2012 15:05

      I’ve updated the post with the listing for Sergio’s house, as he’s put it on sale!

  16. Mychal permalink
    October 15, 2012 19:41

    YOU’RE BACK!!!! Yayyyy!!!

  17. fats permalink
    October 15, 2012 19:45

    🙂 loved the post… Ecstatic to hear from you again.. Iker sooo adorable in tht clip.. Thanks a tonne for the post!

  18. Peggy permalink
    October 15, 2012 19:47

    good post.. wish you would come back full time..I never see any fun good gifs anymore..but glad you are enjoying your time!

  19. Pat permalink
    October 15, 2012 20:16

    Glad you come back , Una !!!Kiss from Brasil !!

  20. October 15, 2012 21:28

    I’ve missed your pieces so much!!! Thanks for such an excellent summary! It is difficult to follow some of the Spanish press because my Spanish is still poor (feel Mesut’s difficulties there) so I really appreciate your information! Hope to see more articles soon, but hope you are enjoying your break!

  21. Kristen permalink
    October 15, 2012 21:38

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU for the update Una!! I have missed you immensely. I’m glad you are enjoying your hiatus, but thank you for your insight on some of these issues.

  22. futbolfan permalink
    October 15, 2012 21:40

    I literally did a double take when I saw in my email that there was a new post from you! Aaahhh I got so excited!
    I still do miss you, but I must say I have a lot more free time now….hahaah!
    And your post is as great as ever, the last paragraph made me lol, so funny!

  23. Gigi permalink
    October 15, 2012 23:36

    *faints with bliss at your return but is glad you’re enjoying your hiatus so much*

    It has indeed been a busy time since you’ve been gone! I love your recap of everything, especially the Mou/Sergio war. It’s really sadly amazing the lengths some magazines will go to in their attempts to tarnish Madrid’s image. Do they really think they’ll destroy the team from within? No… stuff like this just makes them stronger and more committed to each other, in my ever-so-humble opinion

  24. Jaime permalink
    October 16, 2012 01:38

    This post makes me so insanely happy!

  25. @ulonghaz permalink
    October 16, 2012 02:32

    even it’s only a brief post, but I am sooooo grateful to be able read your unique post again..

    ^^

  26. foxydeltan permalink
    October 16, 2012 03:48

    Hi Una, it’s really good to hear again from you. I was surprised when I opened my email to see an update from following Real Madrid that I started out immediately with it. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying your hiatus but I have to be selfish and say that RM fans will be enjoying ur break from it. Will be waiting to hear more. And thanks, once again. Regarding Sergio wearing Mesut’s jersey….didn’t Raul did it before when he wore Morientes jersey under his own? Our boys are a-okay so there’s really no problem. I think people just want to make it bigger than it actually is.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 18, 2012 15:09

      Yes, Raúl did that in 2002, during the European Super Cup final. Unfortunately, he wasn’t able to score but it was a great gesture, and Fernando deserved that plus a lot more respect from the club.

  27. October 16, 2012 04:46

    So great to hear from you, Una! Thanks for jumping back on and giving us a little booster shot!

  28. Jenny permalink
    October 16, 2012 07:06

    I would shag Jose…I can’t deny it.

    BUT I would give up a night of passion with him if you went on posting, darling Una!

  29. October 16, 2012 09:38

    u’re back!! oh my,i’m going to cry now..and since this is part 1 so i’m expecting more to come..yeay!! thx so much una,u just made my day.. 😀

  30. MissLadya permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:47

    1. OMG. She *DOES* live!
    2. I kinda really loved the whole shirt-gate drama, because while we knew Sergio and Mesut are good friends, this just proved that they’re closer than any of us (… well, those of us who don’t ship Serzil like FedEx) ever imagined. That Sergio intended (probably still does) to dedicate his first goal of the season to Mesut makes my innards melt like butter! Just … Aaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwww!!
    3. Is it just me, or does Mesut copy the hairstyles of those he looks up to? He started growing out his hair and wearing a headband after moving to Real, when he and Sami became very close. Then, after Sergio wore Özil’s shirt, Özil went and got a very Sergio-esque haircut. (Some may argue that Marco Reus has the same look, and he and Özil are also close friends, but the timing seems to support the return-Sergio’s-affection theory.) Was stunned myself by the new look, as I so loved his longer hair, but this also means that, as/if he lets it grow back out, we’ll get my favourite Mesut look: short-ish, curly World Cup 2010 hair!! 😀
    4. Marcelo AND Essien … So much sunshine on one team it is almost blinding to look straight at them. (Though Marcelo’s been injured on international break and will be out for a couple of months … Boo.)
    5. Iker’s English probably cured my infertility. And made me immortal.

  31. HalaMaDrId permalink
    October 16, 2012 13:17

    Hope this means u r back!

  32. Christine permalink
    October 16, 2012 13:55

    It’s great to have you back (even if it is just for a few posts)!! I missed your opinions and funny comments!!!
    btw: I managed to get away tickets for the champions league match in dortmund next week and I have to collect them at game day in the hotel where our boys stay 😀 (well at least I think it will the same hotel)

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 18, 2012 15:11

      Will you be taking your camera? I’ve prepared a post with some of the photos you sent me and I’m sure everyone is going to love them!

      • Christine permalink
        October 18, 2012 19:58

        Of course I will take my camera 😀 and then share my pics with you again 🙂 I’m already super excited to watch the game together with the madridistas as the away crowd. And I still have a little hope to run into one of our lovely boys when I collect the tickets at the hotel 😉

        • unamadridista permalink*
          October 22, 2012 16:38

          ¡Buena suerte!

    • Lulja permalink
      October 18, 2012 17:21

      Lucky you. Dortmund is pretty close to me, so on the day the ticket sale started, I wanted to order some…. but I was 2 hours too late. It was immediately sold out! Sigh.

      • Christine permalink
        October 22, 2012 17:05

        I have to drive about 500 km to Dortmund but it is definitely worth it 😀 And I managed to get tickets for the Real Madrid block because as you said the tickets via Borussia Dortmund were sold out so fast and of course I didn’t want to sit within all those Dortmund fans 😀

  33. Soñando con Dios permalink
    October 16, 2012 19:51

    Dear Una, it’s so good to read a post from you. I don’t know if you miss blogging, but we sure miss you! Can’t wait for part II! I really laughed that 40%!!!! of women think that Mourinho is ideal to have an affair with and that he looks sweet and feminine. LOL. I haven’t heard that one!
    And the CNN interview was a treasure. Loved the story about Balotelli and also the prospect that maybe one day we’ll see Higuain in his pajamas!

  34. October 17, 2012 00:58

    Una, I miss your posts so much. What pure joy it was for me to open this site and there be an update from you. I hope you’re enjoying your time away from writing, but I miss reading it everyday! 🙂 Hope you’re well. Lots of warm wishes from Cali!

  35. Hannah permalink
    October 17, 2012 01:16

    Thank you for the update!! 🙂 We miss you!

  36. October 17, 2012 04:15

    UNA WE MISS YOU!

  37. October 17, 2012 06:30

    UNA!

    Is it sad for me to say that I still come check your blog every day to see if by some chance you’ve updated?! I was very pleasantly surprised to see this post. I hope you are enjoying your hiatus

  38. jessica permalink
    October 17, 2012 16:41

    Omg good to see you back! So glad I decided to check your blog today! 🙂 thanks for all the clarification i was so confused. I love ozils new hair cut makes him look even hotter!

  39. October 17, 2012 23:38

    oh my God una, I’ve missed you so much! it’s wonderful to see that you’re enjoying your hiatus, but seeing this post just makes me so happy 🙂
    I really need something after Portugal and Spain’s draws, and the fact that half our starting line-up is injured.
    why does life hate us 😦

  40. Elizabeth permalink
    October 18, 2012 01:44

    omg i`m super glad you are writing again!!!! and as for the media, well is obvious that they hate Real Madrid and invent every kind of rumors, so it`s not a surprise, fortunately i think they have no problems and they are a united team (:

  41. Cammy permalink
    October 18, 2012 07:17

    Una, nice to see you back and posted about the whole Sergio drama. So many things going on with our team, it was probably hard to stay away, hehehe.

  42. October 18, 2012 12:20

    Welcome back Una. We missed you alot!

  43. October 18, 2012 16:13

    It’s great to see you post again, Una.

    No blog matches yours. We missed you and I hope you’re going to stay!

  44. Mia permalink
    October 18, 2012 18:30

    WELCOME BACK UNA MADRIDISTA!

    I swear I am not lying. I am actually crying at this very moment….

    THANK YOU MY DEAR! Thank you so much!

    You are a GOD in writing and please do not stop.

  45. October 18, 2012 19:07

    Oh my. With that many mirrors in Sergio’s closet, there really is no excuse!!

  46. October 18, 2012 19:32

    I’m confused.

    People say that this house is the same that Ronaldo Nazario used to live. But, I saw some photos and video from the inside and outside the house when Ronaldo was still living there.

    The front of the house looks the same. But the interior seems a complete different home. And the description is different too.

    I was wondering if he is going to move because he thinks that the house is too big OR because he thinks that is too small.

    Since that have people with a lot time in their hands to do detective work, I ask: When you guys discovered where he is going to live now, tell us!

  47. October 18, 2012 20:17

    nice house, but why on earth is there an eagle in his room? Is there any significance? I Love his master closet!

  48. cisarovna permalink
    October 19, 2012 04:47

    Love reading your posts. The drama is… well it is what it is. The season is long and I am still full of hope. At the very least I expect these guys will keep us well entertained. My only question is – is that big yellow thing in Sergio’s bathroom a tanning bed? That would explain so much!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 22, 2012 16:39

      That’s what I thought too!

  49. October 19, 2012 06:25

    una is back.. una is back… Jumps around insane……
    now give me some time to calm round, read what you are written and write a sane legible coment
    P.S ❤ u

  50. Jess permalink
    October 19, 2012 19:21

    I am so very happy you are back, i’m pinching myself. My sister texted me saying, “The bible is backkkk!!!” (As we refer to this blog as the bible.) This literally made my week after a grueling midterm week. GRACIAS!

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 22, 2012 16:40

      Jajaja, thanks!

  51. Keira permalink
    October 19, 2012 20:18

    Yeahhh!! I`m so glad you´re back again!! Cant say how much I missed your posts!!!!!! I checked nearly everyday your website, because I´m so addicted to your posts;)
    What would we do without your weekly topless Sergio pictures??? 😀 😀
    I missed you a lot & it´s great to have you back Una 🙂
    I hope you won´t leave us again soon :*

  52. Keira permalink
    October 19, 2012 20:32

    It´s funny when you listen to Mes in German, because always he´s speaks very quietly and has a little accent 🙂 He always uses “sh” instead of “ch” in German. 😉

  53. Stella permalink
    October 19, 2012 22:20

    YOU BACK!!!! Best thing ever, thanks for amazing work! SO HAPPY!!!

  54. superfan permalink
    October 20, 2012 04:23

    UNAAAAA!!!

    Welcome back! You have no idea how much you’ve been missed!!!! 😀

  55. Sia permalink
    October 20, 2012 05:55

    Oh darling Una! You are not only Una Madridista but the Una blogger for everything Madrid. I became a fan of Madrid thanks to me stumbling upon your Con La Roja blog in the 2010 World Cup when I was rooting for Spain like crazy. I give you the credit for introducing me to club football and the love of my life- Madrid. Anywhoo, gotta say, its been 2 years following Madrid- but ever since you left, I don’t feel the same fangirlism in me. Don’t get me wrong, I still love Madrid to pieces…but now that your brilliant take on EVERYTHING under the Madrid sun is missing, everything is so much bleaker. Being a Madrid fan is not AS fun as it used to be when you were around. There are no blogs on Madrid which could ever be as cool as yours. Awww, Una…I hope you are enjoying your hiatus and do seriously consider coming back! Also, a big thank you for all the hard work you put behind this. Especially considering its a one woman show. Hats off to you darling. We miss you! xoxo

  56. aqui_kai permalink
    October 20, 2012 06:07

    Hi una.. I’m so happy… I just checked if you have posted and you did.. I hope you’ll enjoy whatever you are doing right now.. I miss you!

  57. October 21, 2012 03:54

    YOU’RE BACK!!!!! OH HEAVENS! THANK THE LORD!!!! Thank you so much for coming back. I’ve really missed you and your amazing updates. You don’t know how much this blog means to me. Please don’t ever leave us again! Hehehe I LOVE UNAMADRIDISTA!!!

  58. Sophie permalink
    October 21, 2012 23:13

    Hey your back!! I just got home from vacay to Tahiti and was so happy to find a new post!! I miss reading your summaries( not sure what else to call them) and opinions about things happening with Real. Also happy to hear your enjoying your break from the blog although many of us do miss you terribly 🙂

  59. Yanna permalink
    October 27, 2012 23:21

    Una, I’m really HAPPY that you’re back. I really cried in my office when my friend send me an SMS that you’re back. Can’t wait to read, laugh, cry and a lot more. I really miss you. Hope to see you one day in the streets of Madrid and watch the game live with my friends. Thank you so much, Una. =))

Trackbacks

  1. problems & responses – part II « following Real Madrid…
  2. #15 with 14 days to go… « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

