Skip to content

pomada pa’ to’ los dolores…

October 17, 2012

I had another post prepared for all of you, but given the rash of injuries to our players during this most recent international break, I thought this post would help.  I had originally planned to post it after discussing a series of the problems facing Madrid (which I had started doing with the previous post), but now I think we all need this more.

For everything else, there’s The Xabi Alonso Pose Section.™  Including Xabi posing intentionally!

These are images from the new Emidio Tucci campaign, which started appearing on television, in the print media, online and on outdoor advertising today.  Xabi also presented Emidio Tucci’s “Black Collection” line, after having been chosen to front the campaign by El Corte Inglés for his values, his leadership, his ambition and humility, his elegant style, his down to earth and urban image, his love for fashion and art…  It sounds like something I would have come up with!  Watch the spot here.  The music is by Russian Red.

During the presentation, when asked about Cristiano and his style, Xabi diplomatically responded that “each one has his own style and ours are different.”  He also revealed that he hasn’t thought about what he’s going to do after he retires, but he doesn’t think it will be related to fashion.

Xabi looks so handsome both in photographs and in real life!  I can see myself heading into every El Corte Inglés department store I pass by from now on just to get a glimpse of Xabi looking gorgeous… hopefully they’ll be good to me and put his images in the windows so I won’t have to waste time.

Here are some images from the campaign, along with the first ad that I spotted in El Mundo today.  I’ve now seen outdoor advertising too!

And here is some behind the scenes footage.  Xabi is so good at this modeling thing that even the “making of” images could be used as the finished products!

I like how the hair stylist was all, your hair is perfect (like the rest of you), there’s nothing I can do to improve it or make it better.  That’s Xabi in a nutshell!

Thai Yamaha Motor obviously thought along the same lines as El Corte Inglés, as they named Xabi Alonso a brand ambassador, with the COO explaining Xabi was chosen because of his “looks” – is that the most obvious statement of the year? – and skills, and because the Nouvo SX fuel injection system which Xabi will promote “features excellent performance, power, precision and strength like Xabi’s style of play.”  Thai Yamaha Motor signed a three-year sponsorship deal with Madrid in August, becoming the second Thai company to do so after Thai Beverage.  Xabi revealed that he has a history with Yamaha: “I used to have a motorcycle that I rode in my city.  It was a Yamaha and this was 15 years ago and so I’m really happy that we’re back together again.”

Here are some of the other great Xabi poses from the past two months.

Xabi has taken over from where he left off last season, so once again we have been treated to the sight of Xabi being muy jefe all over the place, from training sessions…

… to photo sessions where he was actually, really posing…

… to games, which included lots of instructions for his teammates, and gestures.

However, Xabi was on the receiving end of some instructions too.  It’s hard to believe he was out of position!

A couple more Xabi poses for your viewing pleasure.

Some moments from his time with La Roja…

… including something we don’t see too often.  Xabi doing something ungraceful!

I loved how Álvaro Arbeloa tweeted that “a Xabi le flipa” the musical choices of Gonzalo and Marcelinho.  It’s so completely expected, no?

And if all that is not enough to overcome the pain, here’s some bonus thigh, courtesy of Pipita, and of course, Sergio Ramos.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Kin permalink
    October 17, 2012 15:20

    Hi Una! It’s lovely to have you back. I was very excited to receive that email that you had posted again.

    Hope you’re enjoying your hiatus 🙂

  2. October 17, 2012 16:49

    I didn’t think anything could begin to make me feel better today, but Xabi–and you–did it. That man. So many feels. And I had actually loved seeing him and Cris come back onto the field in the match vs Ajax talking together, although I don’t speak Spanish and have no idea what that means. I also could not believe Iker yelling at him liked that. It’s one of my favorite gifs ever.

    In summation, Xabier, never change.

  3. October 17, 2012 17:01

    Xabi is perfect. And I’ve missed you, Una!

  4. October 17, 2012 17:09

    You’re too good to us Una!
    I know this is just a temporary thing, but it’s great to see you back. I’m glad to know that you’re enjoying your hiatus.

  5. October 17, 2012 18:03

    MUAH – I have missed you so much!!

  6. Eruhin permalink
    October 17, 2012 18:47

    Oh Una, how I have missed your posts! This one is pure perfection. Gracias, I’m going back to drooling now. Injuries? What injuries? 😉

  7. Soñando con Dios permalink
    October 17, 2012 19:11

    Una, you know what we all hungered for!!!! And I have an obsession with gifs of Iker yelling out to his team mates. I could watch them over and over.
    And this international break really killed us, didn’t it? Half the team fell out. I hope Benzema and Arbeloa will be ok though.

  8. Fernanda permalink
    October 17, 2012 19:27

    Can´t believe you are back!!!! Soooo happy!!!! You´re sooooo much better than the other real-madrid blog I am following…

  9. Morales permalink
    October 17, 2012 19:50

    Thank you for posting this!! Xabi can do no wrong. the perfect pomada indeed!~ Does this mean you’re coming back?

  10. MissLadya permalink
    October 17, 2012 21:01

    Admit it, Una. You can’t stay away. Blogging’s in your soul You want to come back. You long to come back. You NEED to come back! >:)
    In the meantime, thanks for the gratuitous Xabi spam (with bonus sexy angry Iker). Never can get enough of him, nor Pipita’s thighs. And, not gonna lie: Sergio pic made me tear up a bit. It was like seeing an old friend again.

  11. Sara permalink
    October 17, 2012 22:14

    Sooooo glad that you´re back Una! The two comeback posts you´ve made so far have been just as brilliant as I hoped and wished for… Todays revival of the Xabi Alonso Pose totally made my day =)

    And your comments on Ikers English skills the other day… Just hillarious! (I guess it would have been even better if you actually could´ve heard him greet Essien as well. “You happy?”)

  12. Jenny permalink
    October 18, 2012 00:28

    Thighs make everything better ❤

  13. October 18, 2012 01:40

    I love you. It’s just as simple as that. The best blog out there, and this may be one of the best posts. 😀 Thank you for all the Xabi pics/clips. He’s beyond gorgeous.

  14. October 18, 2012 12:23

    There are many websites/blogs dedicated to RM, but none is as rich, inspiring, respectful like yours. Una, keep it and don’t disappear again please!

  15. kiki permalink
    October 18, 2012 18:04

    OH Lawdy…hyperventilating here, thank you for the loss of my breath Xabi & Una! 😀

  16. October 18, 2012 19:18

    So glad you’ve started posting again! And a Xabi post is exactly what we needed with all the goings on at Madrid, especially with the injuries from international break…
    Thanks!

  17. Mia permalink
    October 18, 2012 19:40

    LOVING THIS!!! And enjoying every single word…

  18. Pammie permalink
    October 18, 2012 19:50

    oh Xabi…. *_*
    That presentation really came at the right time with the FIFA virus striking down on our poor guys. The extended Xabi pose section is wonderful.

  19. Michelle permalink
    October 19, 2012 04:54

    Oh, Madridista. No one can showcase an Alonso like you can. ❤ (Missed you!)

    • unamadridista permalink*
      October 22, 2012 16:39

      Missed you too!

  20. Happy permalink
    October 21, 2012 12:58

    Una, so glad to hear you back. You’re right, I’m very sad and worried about our team after the FIFA diseater, but we have to be positive and believe in our team. Xabi is always a great man, I miss your Xiba posting part, and the interview you translated for us. Welcome back~

  21. Jessie permalink
    October 22, 2012 17:15

    love xabi’s effortless style, welcome back btw Una!

  22. Flora permalink
    October 23, 2012 15:22

    I cannot explain how much I’ve missed you and your amazing posts!

  23. Kelsey permalink
    October 24, 2012 20:10

    THIS. This right here is why I missed you.

  24. October 30, 2012 00:44

    Xabi Alonso is now the best thing about the Madrid metro. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. problems & responses – part II « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

