Skip to content

ICYMI – the liquid edition

November 13, 2012

In case you missed it – Levante vs. Real Madrid [2012-11-11, Liga jornada 11, 1-2].

I had a bit of free time yesterday, so here is a little ICYMI post.  This game had a bit of everything: lots of rain, a scary amount of blood and perhaps even a couple of tears from me when I saw MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín score the game winner!

ONE.  It had rained continuously throughout the day, including when the team was warming up.  Here, we can see how wet Iker and his gloves got while warming up.  Also notable was Iker shedding his shorts (they just fall off of him, really.  Like they always should) and throwing them into the crowd as he headed towards the tunnel.

More scenes of the rain falling during the warm up, and our very wet players.  I hope no one catches a cold!  The rain completely flattened the hair of José Callejón and Mesut Özil, giving them a different look (or in Mesut’s case, how he used to look).  Meanwhile, Xabi tried to boss the rain around.

TWO.  The boys seemed to have dried off a little prior to the game, but once they came out, it was time to get wet once again.

Here’s a shot of the”piscina” (swimming pool), where the “water polo” match, as Mesut put it, took place.  I adore his sense of humor!

The one good thing about the rain was how clingy it made the kits.  Here’s Álvaro Arbeloa, with his nearly transparent (but not enough) shirt and shorts.

THREE.  Several minutes into the game, Cristiano Ronaldo received an elbow from that thug David Navarro, which resulted in a deep gash above his left eye.  The amount of blood was horrifying!  He had to leave the game for several minutes to receive treatment, and he also had to change his shirt because he got blood all over it.  While he was doing that, some girls sitting in the front row called out “¡guapo, guapo!”  Jajaja!  I would totally have done the same.  It’s nice to see Cris receiving some love instead of hatred.  He didn’t play the second half as he was dizzy and suffered from a loss of vision first in his left eye, then in both eyes.  Cris was subsequently removed from Portugal’s list for its upcoming friendly against Gabon.  Recover quickly Cris!

Thank you rain!

FOUR.  Despite the vision problems, Cris still managed to score the team’s first goal!  That just shows how magnificent he is.

The game winner was scored by MFC Álvaro Borja Morata Martín, who took advantage of the very few minutes that José Mourinho has been giving him to contribute!  He ran over to celebrate the goal with Nacho (though Antonio Adán sort of shoved Nacho out of the way so that he could hug ABMM first), as he revealed after the game that he had been sitting next to Nacho on the bench and Nacho told him he was going to score.  Later on, he said the goal was dedicated to a friend of his, who had just been diagnosed with a tumor and is awaiting an operation.  My favorite headline from this game was “Cristianos y Moratas,” which is a play on this.

I also loved the deluge of congratulatory messages on twitter from current and former Madrid youth players, such as this one.

FIVE.  Speaking of canteranos, José Callejón has “Hermano TQ” (I love you brother) on his boots (at least that’s what it looks like to me)!  Adorable and so sweet!  He also got a visit from Juanmi on Monday!  Sometimes it’s hard to tell who is who, but it’s quite obvious in that photo.

SIX.  Sergio made one fan very happy after the game when he gave her his shirt, and delighted thousands of madridistas in the mixed zone when he said, “if he [Sergio Ballesteros] doesn’t like this sport, if he likes boxing or whatever other one, he should change sports, it’s not my problem, okay?”  Muy bien Sergio Ramos!

That was because there had been some sort of altercation in the area around the locker rooms after the game (you can listen to the sounds of it here, as heard from the mixed zone), and the police were even sent in.  Security employees from both teams were written up in the game act by the referee, and both sides exchanged accusations of what the other team’s players had (allegedly) done.  Real Madrid later sent out an official communique stressing that the behavior of all its players is exemplary, and Levante followed suit.

(DOUBLE O) SEVEN.  The Xabi Alonso pose section.™

I nominate Xabi Alonso to be the next James Bond.

I couldn’t love Xabi more, but look at the side eye he gave to Ballesteros as he walked past him in the mixed zone!  That’s why he is el más jefe.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2012 10:07

    This game should have never been played. The conditions were just horrible.

    I hope that Cris recovers soon, and that now at least he get the credit that is due to him. To score under the circumstances that he did was just amazing.

    I think that it is horrible how much Cris has been playing when he has been hurt. Also, if Messi was injured like this by Ballesteros, Ballesteros would have been drawn and quartered by the press and public.

    Our injury list makes me want to cry. I wonder who all will be fit to play for Sunday’s game.

    • Cosi permalink
      November 14, 2012 11:40

      Completely agree- pobrecito Cris, but magnificent as always. 🙂

      UM pic in #2??? I’m screaming guapo guapo right now. lol!

      “Meanwhile, Xabi tried to boss the rain around.” HAHAHAA!! Amazing.

      I’ve missed your ICYMI posts SO much, Una! This one rocked! THAAAANKS!!!

  2. nadia permalink
    November 13, 2012 10:18

    ”the liquid edition” haha love that

  3. @ulonghaz permalink
    November 13, 2012 10:39

    ugh, the game was sooo ugly. ugly and ugly. But hey, this is Levante. No surprises at all. I was so worrying the boys becoz the rains, the water polo, the thugs that our players must faced, there were too much too handle. It’s good we won the game but not without some sacrifices. Cristiano and Mesut got injured. No more injuries!!

    And when Morata scored, oh my God…it’s been a very long since the last time I shed a tear because Madrid scored. Congratz Morata.

    PS: and I think it’s such a cute Capi posted a candid picture of Morata on the way back to Madrid in his instagram page.

  4. November 13, 2012 10:43

    Again Una, I know how happy you are that Alvaro scored the goal winner, so am I because I also love that kid. Like my son says, rain or shine the game continues. Its bad that they might get sick but uhmm the rain sure have benefits (sexy benefits), lolz.

    I also hope Cris recovers soon, it’s so painful to see him like that. As well as all those in the injury list.

    Lucky girl getting that shirt from Sergio, just look at her face…I guess I would do the same thing if that happens, esp if its from Raul.

    Xabi as 007? It has great possibility!

  5. jen permalink
    November 13, 2012 11:28

    Yay, so glad you did this post, the rain was both a bad and a good thing lol. It was like a live 90 minutes wet t-shirt contest, a delight for our eyes.

    PS: Iker had 3 unreal saves during that game.

  6. Gigi permalink
    November 13, 2012 12:50

    That look from Xabi just made me shiver. Talk about cold-blooded, wow. This whole game was ridiculous! No one should have been made to set foot on that pitch given those conditions, and Navarro should have been hung out to dry for what he did to Cris.

  7. November 13, 2012 13:10

    I love A. Morata’s celebration!!! Is he running and crying out ‘papa’ to Nacho? Jajaja what a nickname!

  8. Madridista14 permalink
    November 13, 2012 13:57

    “Meanwhile, Xabi tried to boss the rain around.” LOL!

  9. Real Meli permalink
    November 13, 2012 14:21

    Ohhh Una, how I love your posts. It is a delight to read them. Creative, informative, fun and absolutely amazing. I can’t explain to you how much I love and enjoy them.

    And I love the Xabi side eye hahahahaha!! Legendary! That Ballesteros is just not right, if you know what I mean.

    I cross my fingers that we will not have more injured players. My heart is bleeding for the team, they really need a break.

    p.s. Morata is AMAZING :D!!!

  10. Eruhin permalink
    November 13, 2012 14:31

    That was a memorable match for sure. I thought it impossible but Cris managed to make me respect, admire and love him even more. What an unbelievable human being he is.

    Little Alvaro’s goal was pure joy! He couldn’t have picked a better moment for his debut goal 😀

    I thought I’d die when Xabi missed that penalty but fortunately he made up for it quickly. And that look he gave Ballesteros was priceless!

  11. vina permalink
    November 13, 2012 14:59

    oh Una! how i miss ICYMII !!!!!!!!! always love it!!! this is a great one! and FYI, until now i still have tears in my eyes everytime i see morata’s goal and celebration :”)

  12. wandering permalink
    November 13, 2012 15:11

    Was not able to see the game but was horrified to see the injury AND that swimming pool they thought was good as football pitch. I’m very happy for Morata though. I really hope Mou gives him more time on the pitch since our strikers are out with injury.

    Still. iHala Madrid!

  13. anna permalink
    November 13, 2012 15:52

    omg if xabi looked at me like he looked at ballesteros i would curl up and cry

  14. Henrik permalink
    November 13, 2012 16:47

    This game was just a stress to watch..

    I love your takes, we get all the ‘inside information’ that would have been hard to find other wise 🙂

  15. Sara permalink
    November 13, 2012 18:15

    It upsets me so much the way people treat Cristiano, it’s getting ridiculous! I’m so proud of the way he reacted to this. He didnt say anything, didnt go running after the ref, didnt whine, he simply got up and did what he does best! He represents the madridismo so well. The conditions of the pitch were terrible but our players managed to get through it. I havent heard that many people talk about this but Callejon was INCREDIBLE! He received kicks and pushes from Levante’s players but got up and kept playing like a warrior! And Morata WOW sooo proud!!

  16. Jenny permalink
    November 13, 2012 20:42

    Finally! A ICYMI – you have completely made my day! I squealed so loudly my lover asked me what was on the computer.

    He does not appreciate Arby’s shorts in quite the way I do though. He has no taste!

  17. Mia permalink
    November 13, 2012 21:43

    Una! God has given you this gift, please never stop writing, You are one of God´s messengers. And I just love the Xabi´s glance at Ballesteros jajjajjajaja.

    Also, I almost cried when I saw the terrible injury on Cris, how awful is that? Not even a yellow card?

    And I cannot believe we have so many injured players…WHAT?!?

  18. Morales permalink
    November 14, 2012 09:30

    Damn, Xabier, that was some serious side-eye. I totally see him as James Bond

  19. Ally permalink
    November 14, 2012 19:51

    Ugh the amount of blood from Cris’ eye makes me feel slightly sick… But how great is that man, scoring a goal in his condition 😀 I also loved Morata’s winner (I immediately thought of you Una), he’s adorable!

  20. November 15, 2012 02:02

    the match really should have been called. it’s awful that it wasn’t, although i’m not complaining about the see-through kits at all.

    that gash looks absolutely nasty. poor CR7. and then to go on and keep playing AND score afterwards? let no one ever question his professionalism or dedication. i’m glad portugal didn’t call him up, i hope he gets some rest.

    and felicidades to OFC! i’m so proud of him! 🙂

    i would not want to be on the end of that side-eye. that is one bad ass dirty look (and well-deserved, by the sounds of it).

    xabi would be a FANTASTIC bond. mmmm. yes, please.

  21. Flora permalink
    November 15, 2012 02:28

    How I’ve missed your ICYMI posts Una :”D

  22. jellyace permalink
    November 15, 2012 14:36

    I am so pleased that Alvarito scored a goal! That is why ABMM is our MFC! I also like Nacho and Jesus and just wish they would get a chance to play!

Leave a Reply

