Skip to content

#29 with 22 days to go…

December 3, 2012
tags:

https://i2.wp.com/i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx268/unamadridista/unamadridista3/2010-12-22morata04.jpg

I love his full name – Álvaro Borja Morata Martín – so much that I refuse to call him anything else, and I also adore his mumbly little voice and big Bambi eyes.  It’s no secret that Álvaro Borja Morata Martín is one of my favorite; he became that the day he revealed this, during Madrid’s 2010-11 pre-season in Los Angeles.

During a practice game where the losing team had to pay for the winning team’s drinks, I became so impressed by Cristiano Ronaldo’s legs that I kept staring, fascinated, and didn’t see when Drenthe passed me the ball so that I could score and win the game.  I continued looking at Cristiano until everyone, even those on the other team, began shouting at me, “Morata, Morata…” and I turned around going, “what happened?”

If that’s not enough to make you love him, then how about his hilarious sister Marta?  Or this quote from his former coach with Getafe’s Cadete A team: “even though he’s from a well-off family, he was as humble a boy as you could find, an ideal player to build a group around.  As a substitute, he would celebrate the goals of the other forward from the bench.  The most unforgettable memory I have of Álvaro is him giving boots as gifts to those teammates who couldn’t afford to buy new ones.”  And there’s also his game-winning goal against Levante just a couple of weeks ago!

What are your favorite ABMM moments and anecdotes?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. anna permalink
    December 3, 2012 18:53

    i love his moments with pepe, he’s so sweet to the canteranos :3

  2. Flora permalink
    December 3, 2012 23:41

    Morata is so cute :”D

  3. black widow permalink
    December 4, 2012 04:49

    eeee! he’s one of my favourites, too. i’m telling you — future captain, right here. mark my words. 🙂

    PS: una, in that photo up top, don’t you think he looks a little bit like unai?

  4. December 4, 2012 05:33

    Jaja mumbly little voice and big Bambi eyes. Exactly! Wonder when could he raise his voice jajaja

  5. December 4, 2012 08:58

    Definitely scoring the winning goal against Levante; if anyone deserves it, it’s him! I hope we see a lot more of him in the future playing for Madrid! Also, that .gif I remember seeing of a fan trying to hide that they’re taking a picture of him in the stands, but he realized and smiled for the camera!

  6. Ally permalink
    December 4, 2012 10:08

    He’s a cutie! I’ll never not love that quote about Cris’ thighs 🙂

  7. December 4, 2012 19:48

    I usually watch Cris’s feet…but I’m glad I’m not the only one preoccupied by the legular area!!

  8. Lulja permalink
    December 4, 2012 19:52

    Cristiano’s thighs really are an astonishing piece of art for everybody, no? That’s why he never fails to grant us a glimpse of them whenever and wherever possible.

  9. December 4, 2012 21:15

    He really is so adorable and talented. Looking forward to many more years of success with him on the team!

  10. December 4, 2012 21:19

    Great little tidbits.

    Looks like this is our Christmas gift from you.

    I think we should all get Una something.

  11. maria permalink
    December 12, 2012 01:44

    he’s just so adroable!! love him too

Leave a Reply

