Skip to content

#13 with 12 days to go…

December 13, 2012
tags:

Today’s featured player is Antonio Adán, or “el gordito,” as José Mourinho calls him!  This is because there is a “famous” video of Antonio’s younger days with Madrid (he joined the club at the tender age of 10) when he was much chubbier, and Mou’s reaction was, “that can’t be you!”  And from that time on, he has called Antonio “el gordito.”

One of my favorite things about Antonio is the team and tournament he founded for his hometown.  The Torneo Benjamín Mejorada del Campo has become an annual event for young footballers in Madrid, and each year Antonio’s Nuevo Mejorada team competes alongside big names such as Real Madrid, Barcelona or Los Piratas de Granero.  Antonio previously said, “the idea came to me in summer, when we decided to set up a football school for children, and do other small things to benefit children… The most important thing is that the kids enjoy themselves.”  Here’s the write-up on the 2011 edition, and here’s the write-up for the 2012 edition.

(I was going to use this picture, but I thought that would make all of us too sad, so I chose another one.)

What is it about Antonio Adán that strikes you?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mariam permalink
    December 13, 2012 11:35

    I think Pirata could come back to Real Madrid. I’ve been watching most of the QPR games for him, and they still haven’t had their first win of the season. It is too early to tell where QPR will be at the end of the season, but if they get relegated, he would be welcomed back with open arms. And if not within the next couple of years, then perhaps later in his career.

    I know this post is supposed to be about Adán. I like that both of our first team goalkeepers are canteranos. It would be sad to see Antonio leave to another team next year, but I understand that he wants to play more. Having spent his whole football career at Real Madrid though, I can’t imagine him playing for another team. If he does leave though, I hope he gets a guaranteed starting position. There’s no point leaving to another team if he’s just going to be a substitute at another team.

  2. rojafan permalink
    December 13, 2012 15:54

    I had to look at the picture you didn’t use! My yes, double sad, but Antonio looks especially good in that picture, doesn’t he?
    My favourite Adan moment is when he had to come off the bench for the red-carded Casillas against Espanyol and he saved the penalty! Very St. Iker-like! He went on to play so well and they won the match with only 10 men.

  3. Mia permalink
    December 13, 2012 19:16

    Oh Una,I had to look at the picture and I am devastated. I cannot believe he is not with us any longer. This is too much, now I’m off to cry….

    I love Antonio by the way, I started to like him when I saw that interview with Oscar last year. He is such a nice guy, so happy for him.

    OH, Esteban! COME BACK!!

  4. December 14, 2012 03:12

    i like him. 🙂 it can’t be easy, always being in iker’s shadow — others would have left for greener pastures (and pitches) where they had more playing time. but adan’s humble and willing to stick around and learn and i respect him for that.

    (also, was it mou — i think? — who said he wouldn’t let adan babysit his kids because he swears a lot? jajajaja! iker’s rubbing off on him in more ways than one!)

  5. Pammie permalink
    December 14, 2012 16:51

    When he would scream into every camera he saw during the liga celebration xD

  6. December 14, 2012 17:20

    I think it was after our copa del rey, he shrieked out a celebration at the camera. For some reason, I always remember that strange shout, LOL.

  7. Stella permalink
    December 14, 2012 21:08

    Canales and Granero. Miss them at least we have Adan left. My favorite Adan movement is when Mourinho told us Adan never gone babysit his kids.

Leave a Reply

