Skip to content

¡Oh la la! ¡Varane!

January 31, 2013

Look at that: six Barcelona players and none of them can contain Rafa Varane (it probably helps that the combined height of the three on his right is more or less equivalent to Rafa’s height).  Rafa was colossal on both ends of the field on Wednesday!  ¡Partidazo!

Some random thoughts on the game, since I lack the time to make a game post…

First, Zizou is going to make a great coach.

Rafa said after the game, “I felt great.  I’m very happy with the game I had, as it’s always complicated to play against Barcelona and the team played well.  This was my best-ever game with Madrid and I want to continue like this… the goal is a dream, it’s incredible.  Scoring at the age of 19 against Barcelona is the best.  Mourinho congratulated me and all my teammates did as well.  They were happy for me.”   Rafa even came in for praise from Gerard Piqué, who said, “it’s not easy to do this at the age of 19.  He has all my respect.”

I have a lot of respect for Carles Puyol, especially in the moment when Piqué headed over to the referee with the lighter than some idiot fan had thrown onto the field.  Puyi stopped him, grabbed the lighter, tossed it away and told Piqué to get back into the game.  He is a great captain.  (On the flip side, we had Xavi – although he didn’t use the word “superior,” as far as I heard, he did say thing such as “we were better than them ,” “we had possession, which is usually the case,” “we missed four goals that we normally don’t miss,” “we tried to impose our style and we achieved that,” and this: “Madrid scored on an isolated play.   We played a great game.  They lived off of our bad passes.”)

And I love that things seem to be back to normal between the rivals (aside from Leo Messi going after Álvaro Arbeloa in the parking lot with his pregnant wife by his side to hurl insults at him, and telling Aitor Karanka in the tunnel that he was “Mourinho’s puppet,” according to La Sexta.*  Such sportsmanship!).  The hugs between the players after the game was great and heartwarming!  I am confident that we can eliminate Barcelona in the Camp Nou during the second leg on Feb. 27.

To the final!

* José Callejón confirmed that he heard Leo Messi call Aitor Karanka “Mou’s puppet” at his press conference on Feb. 1.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Soñando con Dios permalink
    January 31, 2013 16:58

    Oh my gosh, three cheers to Rafa Varane! He was incredible! I’m very happy for him! Thanks Una for the post!

  2. Alyssa permalink
    January 31, 2013 17:03

    I’m SO glad the world got to see what we madridistas have known about Varane for a long time. I’m so excited to see him defend our crest so beautifully for soooo many years! And let’s not forget Diego Lopez! To be honest, I was nervous but he stepped up to the challenge and was BRILLIANT! I suppose there’s no substitute for a madridista heart 🙂

    I think Pique is in love with Cristiano. Just saying.

  3. Camilla permalink
    January 31, 2013 17:39

    It was a great game!!! Varane was amazing, he played with the ball, wasn’t dramatic…. But I have to say: love to see xabi angry; I know it’s awful, but I loved it.
    Messi, he’s no angel, don’t know why people keep acting like he is….

    Diego Lopez did good as well!!
    ¡HalaMadrid!

  4. anabel permalink
    January 31, 2013 19:13

    It was great to see Varane step up to the circumstances. I admit i was kinda uncertain when we signed him, i shouldn’t have doubted Zizou!

  5. Linda permalink
    January 31, 2013 20:18

    I feel so stupid, I fell asleep before we equalized! Work must have really worn me out because i woke up again around 12 with my laptop still running and was really confused as to why I wasn’t in my bed. I even forgot I watched it until somebody mentioned the game!

  6. shan permalink
    February 1, 2013 00:13

    Is it just me or is this the first time we’re actually seeing an article that doesn’t paint Messi as the perfect, humble human being?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      February 1, 2013 15:34

      I know! That really pisses me off, how he’s always portrayed as the most perfect, humble person ever to exist when we all know he’s not.

  7. February 1, 2013 05:07

    Pique has matured a bit. I’m impressed! 😀

    • rojafan permalink
      February 1, 2013 17:11

      I was about to comment the same, that Pique is growing up. I was starting to like Messi, too. I guess fatherhood didn’t have the same effect on both of them. Maybe Messi is drinking Xavi’s Kool aid.

  8. Sophia permalink
    February 2, 2013 07:34

    Forget about Messi and Cristiano, Varane was the star of the match! When Pique does or says things like that is hard to not like him, I always have mixed feelings about him. How inconsiderate and disrespectful of Messi to do that in front of a pregnant woman and I’m guessing Alba was with them? I understand he was annoyed but he could’ve talk to Arbeloa alone like mature adults AND why is he messing with Karanka?!!! He’s always shown impecabble behavior!

  9. Taqdees qayyum permalink
    February 3, 2013 18:58

    Hahahahahahaha!!!! Nice post.

Leave a Reply

