Skip to content

Sergio Ramos at El Hormiguero 3.0

February 22, 2013
tags: ,

Sergio Ramos was the special guest on Thursday night’s El Hormiguero 3.0, and as Pablo Motos said, the first active Real Madrid player to appear on the talk show. I had a great time watching Sergio, and he seemed to be enjoying himself too! The two talk about his hair, the dropped Copa del Rey, the penalties against Bayern Munich and Portugal, plus many other things! And if we look at his tweets about his appearance, it appears that the help has finally gone on!

PM: Good evening! Welcome to El Hormiguero! We’re happy, you know why? I don’t want to wait one second more, it’s 21:45, today we have one of the best footballers in the world, Real Madrid and national team defender Sergio Ramos!

[Sergio walks in, picks up Pablo and carries him to the desk!]

PM: I don’t weigh anything as far as you’re concerned!

SR: I’m already used to it… but you’re really strong, eh? I was surprised!

PM: Not as strong as you, you do work out, you do sports, no?

SR: Hombre, we are… practically obligated to do so.

PM: Outside of the games and training sessions, when there’s no one to tell you to run around…

SR: Hombre, that’s part of playing on the elite level, where they demand a lot from you during training sessions, and you also have to watch what you eat, to rest well… I love sports very much.

PM: I want to thank you, Sergio, for coming on to the program, you’re the first active Real Madrid player to sit in this chair. Players from Barça, Sevilla, Málaga, Athletic, Valencia have been here, there have been some Real Madrid players in the audience, but in this chair… you’re the first. I want to thank you and Real Madrid. Thank you Real Madrid!

SR: I want to thank everyone as well, for the welcome. I’m a big fan of this program, because it has the biggest stars as guests, and as a big fan and admirer of many of the people who have been here, I always watch this show, and when I got the invitation, I told my brother it would be a great pleasure for me, and in addition the public is always so affectionate.

PM: You’ll like what we have planned for you tonight. So, how is everything going?

SR: Ve-ry good. Phenomenal, hombre, I believe one should be happy above all other things, at least try to be happy, enjoying one’s profession, since it’s important to get up each day with the same excitement and the desire to continue improving, growing, with the ambition to achieve goals. The personal level is also super important, I’m at a great point in my life, and I want to share it with my people.

PM: I’ve been told that you’re the life of the party, that with the national team you’re the one organizing things, that you’re the one selecting the music. What type of music do you choose?

SR: Right now, what the people want to hear, because when you take on the role, this role of being the DJ, people keep asking you to put on certain songs, popular ones, not just flamenco all the time. I try for there to be a bit of everything, since everyone has different tastes and in this way everyone will be happy, but the underlying idea is to create a good atmosphere which is fundamental for the team. For me, music is very personal, it comes from the inside.

PM: Raúl Albiol was a bit of a gossip and he told me that you don’t let him sleep during the concentraciones because you have organized a parchís gambling den.

SR: It’s true, there’s a small group that gets together to kill time in the hotel, parchís is a game that has become popular with us recently, it’s an old game and I’ve always liked it, and now it’s much easier to play, with the new technologies, the iPad, the iPhone, and in the hotels, during the pre-season, we played it, Arbeloa, Albiol and a few more joined us. We play in our rooms, on the bus…

PM: In Albiol’s room, you ask for room service and you leave all the trash behind…

SR: It’s true, because he’s perhaps a bit more disorganized and he doesn’t care about anything. But when you go into my room, I have all my things laid out just right, the suitcase there, and if you touch my things… I say let’s go to Chori’s room, we won’t have any problems there, you can throw the pillow backwards, he won’t give you any trouble. He’s a phenomenon.

PM: So when you get to the hotel, you have to put your suitcase in a certain spot, hang up your clothes, these types of things?

SR: I’m very traditional, very superstitious with a few things, and so when I get to the hotel, I always put the suitcase in the same spot, then I got to the nightstand and I arrange the phone and the list of telephone numbers, I put it under the phone. Then I go turn off the air conditioner, because it’s always on.

PM: You’re a bit vain, no? Pepe Reina told me that you’re always the last one to leave the locker room.

SR: Hombre, well there’s a bit of vanity, I’m not going to lie…

PM: Well, when you don’t have hair, you do finish first.

SR: Yes, he does finish before me, but I like taking care of myself, and I believe one’s image is important, but being the last one to leave doesn’t mean that I spend the whole day in front of the mirror with my creams, on my hair… It’s true that I am the last one to leave, because I also stretch, I spend time in the cold water, which is also part of the training session.

PM: I never understood that about the cold water.

SR: Only the legs. Nothing above that.

PM: But then you end up like a peanut, no?

SR: Almost everything does.

PM: I spoke to Pepe, and he’s playing a Europa League match, but he sent you this.

PR: Good evening to everyone! Sergio, I’m happy to be part of this night with you and Pablo, even though I’m playing a game tonight, have a great time, enjoy it. A big kiss to both of you.

PM: He refers to you as “my brother Sergio.”

SR: Yes, it’s true. I met him through football, I was able to get to know him as a friend, Pepe and I are very good friends, we’ve known each other for years, as have our families, and just because he lives far away doesn’t mean I’ll forget about him, I do miss him.

PM: I met you at one of Pepe’s birthday parties.

SR: Yes, I remember we talked about it at the restaurant where the party was held, he always spoke highly of you, and I thought, if it comes from Pepe’s mouth, then I’ll have to think twice.

PM: I went to the party, and the entire national team was there. And you know, they always talk about the good atmosphere on the team, and I noticed that you were all great friends.

SR: Yes, of course. I believe we will always need that, it’s super important to have that when it comes to competing, to forming the nucleus of a team. Fortunately, we have that, even though there were some delicate moments due to the many successive games between Barcelona and Madrid with practically everything on the line, but because of that, there has been a before and after that has helped to unite the team. That’s where the successes come from, those successes that are now part of the history of the country, and I hope it will last a long time because there will come the day when you will miss it.

PM: If Barça loses, does that make you happy? Do you send messages telling them to cheer up?

SR: Yes, I do send messages when things aren’t going well, when there are personal issues that could affect one professionally, in certain moments, and I do joke around, but the reality is that Barcelona is our competition. Hombre, I always say, when a Spanish team is playing a foreign team, I always want the Spanish team to win, whether it’s Barcelona or any other Spanish team.

PM: Tell me about the time you dropped the Copa del Rey.

SR: It’s a moment that has marked my life, for how big it became. I see it as…

PM: Did everyone tease you a lot?

SR: Yes, yes, yes, I’m always made fun of twice as much as everyone else, for good things and for bad things. But I’ve always had a great sense of humor and I’m always joking around, so I’m the first one to take jokes as well. I had the Copa on the bus, the bus was rocking back and forth, there was a step, and I was trying to catch my balance, the bus braked, I fell forward with the Copa in my hands, and so I moved backwards and I thought, I either let go of the Copa or I fall. I let go, I tried to grab it but it fell. Nothing came out of it, the important thing was to win it, to enjoy it with all the madridistas and I hope I can break many more.

PM: Did you have to pay for it?

SR: No, at least not yet. I haven’t received a receipt. But as I said, as long as we keep winning, I’ll break all the cups we win.

PM: Where is the broken Copa?

SR: It’s in the Real Madrid museum, it’s half destroyed. A good memory.

PM: I didn’t know that. Then you cut off your hair and it was a huge thing. It was just hair!

SR: Perhaps it became like that because during my days with Sevilla and Real Madrid, I always had the long hair, and I might change the length a bit between seasons, but I always had long hair, and so perhaps that’s why it was such a big thing. One day I decided to do it, and I told my brother, I’m going to cut my hair. And my brother was like…

… I think you have a fever, no? And I said no, I’m going to get a haircut, I’ll see you later. And I did it, and so far, for the most part there hasn’t been any criticism.

PM: What did your hairstylist say?

SR: Hombre, he was just used to trimming the ends, so he was a bit surprised, but he said, a change will be good for you, and if not, well, your hair will grow.

PM: You had both good days and bad days with your long hair.

SR: That was the day of my presentation with Real Madrid.

PM: This was a good day. Because this is a bad day. You look like Pepe El Marismeño.

PM: The most tense moments players experience are during penalties.

SR: Yes, it depends on who it’s with, but it’s true that penalties need courage. I’ve always liked taking on this responsibility because I have the confidence to do so, and the day I no longer have the motivation to take a penalty, I’ll be the first to say, let someone else take it. The day of the famous penalty against Bayern Munich…

PM: Tell me about it.

SR: Hombre, I missed it. I didn’t mind the criticism, what bothered me were the lies, because if I really was so nervous that I kicked it all the way up there, I’ll be the first one to admit it and that’s why I sent the ball to where it went.

PM: It came back to Earth last week over Russia.

SR: So I’ve been told. Some of my teammates also missed it, great players, but not as much was said about them. I accept all of this graciously. I went to place the ball on the penalty spot, which was in a poor condition, although that’s not an excuse, and I didn’t put the weight correctly on my supporting leg and the ball went up a bit. I kicked the ball a little too high, it should have been on the lower part of the ball, and that’s why it went so high.

PM: Did you realize when you kicked it where it was going?

SR: You could tell by the way it moved, when you kick the ball a few centimeters too high, you know it’s going to go up. And that’s why I had a thorn in my side, especially for all that was said, and for all that my mother and sister suffered, they’re the ones who suffer the most with the criticism directed at me. The experience and the years make you stronger, and if you spend every day lamenting over the errors and the criticism, you won’t live your life and you can’t be a professional, which I consider myself to be. You have to be optimistic, you have to live your life knowing that you’re a public figure but always wanting to surpass yourself, you have to know when to turn over another leaf when you make mistakes, so that you can continue growing as a person.

PM: What is interesting is the courage you showed right after. Another decisive penalty, in the semifinals of the Eurocopa with the national team against Portugal; were you out of your mind???

SR: Hombre… a bit, no? Can you imagine if I had missed it?

PM: If you missed it, you would have to move to Antarctica!

SR: Yes, that’s true, but look, the same day I missed the penalty, I had my entire family there, more of them than usual, and after the game we were supposed to go out and eat. But after what happened, I didn’t feel like it and we went home to have a tranquil dinner there. I said to my mother, don’t worry, when it comes time to take another penalty, I’m going to chip it in. She had no idea what I was saying. And my father laughed like this and said “yeah, okay, that’s what you said the other day.” And later on, I dedicated the moment to them, since they had suffered so much with all the criticism. And the moment of liberation showed that when it comes time to take on a very important risk, I’m not going to shy away. And those are the moments when I’m the most tranquil. You can make a mistake, you can fail like everyone can, it’s your profession…

PM: It was said that from outer space, you can see the Great Wall of China and Sergio Ramos’ balls. Did you think about kicking it hard?

SR: Well, I think that that was the easiest moment to chip it, because the entire world isn’t expecting Sergio Ramos to take a Panenka-style penalty, it requires just a light touch, and normally the goalkeepers have already decided what to do before you kick it so they can get to the ball if you kick it well. And so, in that aspect that was the easiest thing to do… because if the goalkeeper had stopped it, forget it, I would have had to walk back to Spain.

PM: Let’s take a look at that moment [they watch a video]. Look at Vicente del Bosque’s face!

SR: I believe we footballers…

PM: Hold on a second. Let’s take a look at Vicente del Bosque’s face again. He’s thinking, I’m going to kill him.

SR: Perhaps in this moment, in a penalty shootout, we footballers are the ones who can react better, because once a game starts, you get your head into the game, and you forget about the pressure, but I believe the coaches are the ones who suffer the most during these moments because of the consequences.

PM: What did he say to you afterward?

SR: When you get past the group stage, you know that with a bad game, we would be going home. And there was the possibility that the game could go into overtime and then penalties, and so we were constantly practicing them. And I remember in the previous days, some of the players, those who had been lucky enough to start the games, did different work than those who had not been playing, more along the lines of recovery work, and so we finished first. And some of us, Piqué, Xabi Alonso, some others stayed behind to practice penalties, including Panenka ones. And the day before the game against Portugal, we had practiced them once the cameras were no longer there and I told the míster, when the time comes, watch out, I’m going to chip it. He was probably thinking, this one is going to get me into trouble. And he responded, I think when the moment comes, you won’t dare to take it like that. And in the penalty shootout, I went up to him and told him I wanted to take a penalty. He asked if I was sure, and I said yes and he said perfect. We had the good fortune of passing on, and this allowed Sergio Ramos [again with the third person!] to remove that thorn from his side. It’s a part of history now and in the future I can tell my kids and everyone about it.

PM: You love kids, no?

SR: Yes. It’s an experience that so far I haven’t been lucky enough to have, but I have my little niece, Daniela, who is like my own.

PM: You play dolls with her.

SR: Yes, whatever she wants. I don’t see her too often because she lives in Sevilla, and so when she comes, she can do whatever she wants. She’s the first grandchild in the family and I love her a lot. I send her a big kiss.

On the way here, she was talking with my brother René on the phone, and she said [I love the voice Sergio begins using] papi, normally, I go to bed early, but today I’m going to watch El Hormiguero.

PM: Then there have been rumors that you fought a Miura bull.

SR: It was a long time ago. Since I’m very close to several bullfighters, Talavante is a good friend, as are Manzanares, Morante, El Juli… I have a good feeling with Talavante. It was four years ago, I’ve always been a big fan of bullfighting, my family as well, and since I have such a good relationship with Talavante, we went to the country to kill a couple of bulls and I did a few passes because I had always wanted to. I don’t know about the future, but right now, it’s safer to stay behind the barrier.

Barrancas: how are you? We’re so happy to have you here!

SR: Thank you!

B: Since you’re here, if I may, I’d like to ask a little favor of you.

SR: Of course.

B: Can you ask the Ultras to enunciate a bit more, because when they sing, it sounds like this [B & T sing].

Trancas: Sergio, we’re very happy that you came, but it’s our obligation as ants, as puppets, as fake journalists without qualifications to give you the… Supertest of the Spanish National Team!

B: First question. Have you ever exchanged a shirt with another player, and then had to throw that shirt away after you got home because it smelled too bad?

SR: Now and then. Normally, I wash them at home, but when it smells really bad I give it to the equipment manager and tell him give it back to me tomorrow.

T: Second question. Out of all the players on the national team, who is the one that leaves the most hair in the shower? It could be Puyol; I mean hair from the head.

SR: I would say it’s a tie between Reina and Puyol.

B: Next question. We all know that you players play FIFA a lot. Is it true that when you play FIFA, you sign yourself and give yourself a fantastic salary?

SR: Hombre, I do sign myself. I put myself as a forward, but the salary…

T: Next question. Have you ever cracked up when Del Bosque is scolding you?

SR: Well… now and then but not only with Del Bosque, it happens a lot with me.

B: Is it true that when you played against Portugal, you had to be careful of Pepe?

SR: Hombre, you always have to be careful of the whole team, of Cristiano, Pepe, Fábio…

The program finishes with a few science segments, including a game of “human ball,” with Sergio deflating Jandro; a round of golf through a revolving door, since Pablo heard he was good at golf (Sergio says he doesn’t play anymore, but he was pretty good back in the day); then El Hombre del Negro comes out to draw in the air using a “light” spray, with Sergio creating his own artwork by playing keepie uppie; and finally everyone examines a meteorite and they simulate a burning meteorite falling to Earth.

The program ends with Sergio presenting Pablo with a brown shirt, because “I watch this program a lot, and you always only wear black or white shirts, so I thought you should have more choices.”

Watch the whole thing here!

I’m still not 100 percent, so there may be a few gaps and errors in the transcript here and there…

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    February 22, 2013 16:14

    Thank you so much Una! I was hoping someone would translate this, and you’ve done it so quickly! Hope you feel 100% again very soon.

  2. CinematiqueChic permalink
    February 22, 2013 17:25

    Sergio is the cutest! Swoon. And you are amazing for doing the translation and putting this all up! Thank you!

  3. Camilla permalink
    February 22, 2013 18:11

    Thank you! It was really fun; although my Spanish is not the best, so I missed a few parts…

  4. February 22, 2013 18:32

    thank you a lot!

  5. Soñando con Dios permalink
    February 22, 2013 19:11

    I’ve always wondered about the smelly shirts.. Thanks for the translation Una and get well soon!

  6. Shi Rin permalink
    February 22, 2013 20:07

    As usual, a huge thanks to you, Una!

  7. February 22, 2013 22:30

    this was AWESOME! thank you so much for taking the time to do that, una!🙂 i am completely in love with sergio’s personality, he’s just so funny and good-natured and sweet.🙂

    the broken copa del rey is actually in the national team museum in las rozas, though? at least, it was there in october when i went to visit (i have photos) … i wonder if they moved it? i actually wondered why it wasn’t at the bernabeu musuem, because it was a real madrid trophy and not a la seleccion trophy.

    gracias, una!

  8. February 22, 2013 23:23

    Una, Gracias!! As a loyal madridista I watched the program, but I am just learning Spanish and truly appreciate your taking the time to translate.

  9. ThatPerson permalink
    February 23, 2013 00:54

    Thank you sooo sooo much for translating this! I watched it first but i didn’t understand everything, especially not the jokes🙂 so this is a big help. Thank youuuuu !!

  10. debsen permalink
    February 23, 2013 01:25

    Thanks for translating this Una! Since Sergio was tweeting about it. Will there be a link from Con la Roja to this page since there’s quite a bit of nice tidbits about the national team?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      February 26, 2013 14:11

      I’ll put it in the next post.

  11. February 23, 2013 02:08

    Thank you very much!

    Una, it feels like I’m asking too much, but are going to translate both of Xabi’s and Cristiano’s interviews with GQ please?

  12. Zozo permalink
    February 23, 2013 16:23

    Una, thank you so so much for the translation!🙂

  13. judyjyy permalink
    February 23, 2013 23:01

    “ But then you end up like a peanut”
    what does that mean?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      February 26, 2013 14:12

      I think it means the cold water leads to “shrinkage,” as George Costanza would say.

      • judyjyy permalink
        February 27, 2013 05:37

        Haha! Thank you so so so so so much for the translation! Sergio is so cute ~ adoreble😉 when he smiles he looks almost the same as 19 years old. He is also very funny saying that he had to walk back to Spain if he failed the Panenka-style penalty, and he put himself as a forward in FIFA.😉 Love his friendship with Pepe Reina. And the white suit, I know Iker remembers it clearly!;-)

  14. February 23, 2013 23:02

    Thanks so much, he’s my favorite. Such a sweetheart!

  15. dinastere permalink
    February 24, 2013 00:18

    Thank you

  16. Sam permalink
    February 24, 2013 23:53

    Thanks so much for putting up this transcript. I know I’m not the only non-spanish speaking fan who appreciates it!

  17. February 25, 2013 14:31

    me guta ete programa!! *con acento de Sergio*…jajajajaja ^^

  18. February 25, 2013 18:29

    He says “Hombre” quite a lot eh?

  19. February 25, 2013 23:31

    Hi Una ! I started reading your blog few months ago when i was looking for some translations of interviews with la roja players,and I couldn’t find ii in polish. I want to thank you for all the work you do ! for people like me , who doesn’t know spanish (I mean I do not know it YET because i decided to learn it:-)) your blog is the best source to learn awesome things about our boys thank you very much!!! PS I’m sorry for mistakes i probably did…

    • unamadridista permalink*
      February 26, 2013 14:18

      You’re welcome! And I understood you perfectly! Good luck with learning Spanish!

  20. Dr. Heidi permalink
    February 28, 2013 18:45

    Thanks so much for the translation…..he so darn adorable, I didn’t want to miss any part of this, especially the parts where he’s being his cheeky, cutie-patootie self…..

  21. consuela permalink
    April 1, 2013 01:46

    I liked the translation. Thanks a lot! I know he is from Seville and I was there about two years ago I visited the bull ring there. I grew up in So. California and every weekend we would visit my grandparents (on my mother’s side), they would always have the bullfights on from Tijuana. I used to like it as a kid because I grew up on a farm and we raised cattle for meat. But now, as grew older, my opinions about bull fighting have changed… But I realize it is a tradition in Spain and Mexico, so I wouldn’t dare to change it. And, to boot, he just is so yummy.

  22. May 11, 2013 03:54

    That was a best read❤

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Training, Morata/Pepe Interviews & BNFs, FTL | Of Headbands and Heartbreak...

Leave a Reply

