Skip to content

adios.

May 30, 2013

I have very much enjoyed sharing my love and passion for best, biggest and greatest club in the world with all of you during the past four years, but the time has come for this blog to end (although I might pop back once in a while when I can’t resist talking about something, such like today, to express my dislike for the choice of fonts on the new jerseys).

I hope that my writings allowed you to see and experience Real Madrid and the players in a different way, and that you picked up some knowledge here and there as well. After all, what better way is there for a madridista to express her love for her club than to share it with others? Thank you for reading this blog during these years, for commenting, for contributing, for drooling over the players with me, for everything. Un beso muy fuerte.

UM.

P.S. If there is interest, I’ll have a Q&A post so you all can ask me anything about Madrid that you didn’t have a chance to before. Let me know!

110 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:31

    Following your blog enriched my love of all things RM and I will always be grateful for the time, energy and talent you put into each and every entry. You will be greatly missed!!!!! Thank you very, very much….. and HALA MADRID!!!!!!!!

  2. wandering-again permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:31

    I will miss this blog Una. It gave me such insight in the Real Madrid world and I’ll be forever grateful.

    As we say here in the Philippines, maraming salamat sa lahat. .

  3. Henrik permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:34

    So sad to see you go,
    I have to thank you so much for all the hard work you’ve put down on all the posts.

    THANKS SO MUCH!!!

  4. lalo landa permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:40

    thank you so much for evertyhing una!

  5. Jennifer permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:43

    Thank you, Madridista, for creating the best (this is indisputable!) football blogs of all time, and for giving us madridistas so much great stuff over the years. I know it has been lots of hard work (I can’t begin imagine how much), but it’s been a great run, and I’ve met some awesome people in the comments here. (Ahem, Mich!) This space will be missed, but I know I’m not alone when I say that it has strengthened my love of the greatest club on earth. ¡Hala Madrid!

  6. May 30, 2013 17:47

    😦 I will really miss you Una. Thank you so much for all your trouble and effort. I love this blog of yours so much.

    I also hope that you change your mind and come back to this blog again.

    *HUGS*

  7. manie permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:53

    Una, thank you so much for your blog. I’m very sad but wish you the best. And yes, I’d love the Q&A especially to ask you about Madrid pre 2001!

  8. rojafan permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:54

    I so appreciate that you came back for a little while. There was so much going on and I wanted to read your take on things. Your translations helped me understand things better, like why, oh why did El Pirata leave? Where, oh where will he go now? I hope you will come back and post your feelings on the new manager when that is revealed. I like to imagine that you have been offered some wonderful behind the scenes job with Real Madrid, or maybe the man of your dreams is keeping you too busy to write. 😉 Whatever your reasons, I will miss sitting down to my computer with my morning coffee and feeling the pleasure of reading a new post. You have a way of cutting through the drama and the crap. I’m sorry I can no longer say “Keep Calm and read Unamadridista.”
    I wish you the best and I look forward to those occasional posts in future. );

  9. May 30, 2013 17:54

    Oooh, this makes me sad ): I’ve come across your blog just last month, or 2 months ago, and I simply loved reading it! But now you’re here saying adios… hahaha I have such a bad timing!! Why didn’t I know your blog before? ):

    (btw, I agree with you on the font choice. I also think the new jersey is just bland, while the 2012-13 was so elegant!)

    As I said on the other comment, your blog inspired me, so I’ll never forget it! I wish you all the best, and thank you for sharing your love for RM with us!
    Un beso y hasta luego!!

  10. OlaOla permalink
    May 30, 2013 17:58

    what a shame. Your blog is the best that I followed.
    Thanks for all the days.
    all the best for You !!!
    Hala Madrid!!!!

  11. Carla permalink
    May 30, 2013 18:09

    Oh no😦
    This is such a pity cause I haven’t missed one of your posts in the past 3 years or so, you are really going to be missed! I’d have missed so many special madridista moments if it weren’t for you😦

    Thanks for everything though and I really hope we hear from you soon!
    xox

  12. May 30, 2013 18:13

    Thank you so much for all that you’ve done! When I was a new fan back in the 10/11 season finding your blog was worth more than gold. I’m so grateful to have been able to visit this blog, the one place on the internet that I’m pretty sure /every/ madridista around has visited and loved.Thank you

    (I’ll look forward to see you pop back every now and then!)

  13. Anna permalink
    May 30, 2013 18:15

    Thank you for everything Una, hope someday you will be back🙂

  14. izah permalink
    May 30, 2013 18:15

    Thanks for an amazing 4 years..they’re very few madridistas like you..you’ve made me love this great Team more everyday I’ve seen the players in a different light and I thank you for that I’m even considering moving to spain after my education…I hope you’ll always and forever be a madridista. And maybe start another blog?? I wish you all the best in your future endeavours..lots of love from nigeria…HALAMADRID

  15. Marit permalink
    May 30, 2013 18:24

    This makes me really sad… But nevertheless: thank you so much for all the time you put in this blog. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts a lot! You’ve always been my favorite Real Madrid blogger because the way you’re able to write things down/describe things is not only special, but often also hilarious.
    I’m very sad that you’ve decided to quit posting, but I can understand. These posts take a lot of your time. (Although I still hope you’re reconsidering to continue…)To me, you’re an irreplaceable Madrid blogger and madridista.
    Again, thanks for everything you’ve shared!

  16. jism permalink
    May 30, 2013 18:27

    After four years, you still haven’t told us anything about yourself. Who is the brilliant person behind this blog? Where are you from? What do you do? What do you look like? Come on, give us a brief intro about yourself. I’m sure a lot of us are curious to know. 🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:27

      Jajaja, I’m really not that interesting.

      • Uli permalink
        June 5, 2013 18:06

        Oh, I do support this request!!! Tell us at least a little bit about you!!🙂

      • tawdih permalink
        June 13, 2013 16:54

        Oh really? You are not the one to judge, please let us know. We would actually love to know you better, But anyways, thank you Una, your blog brings out the fangirl madridista in me. Please come back soon. Still sad since I saw this post in my mail.

    • Lulja permalink
      June 6, 2013 15:09

      True though! We’re all super curious about some exclusive background info on you!

  17. Mariam permalink
    May 30, 2013 19:07

    I found it easier to accept Mou’s adios than this one, and I strongly supported Mou up until recently when things got a bit out of control. All I can say is muchas gracias por todo! sigo este blog desde hace mucho tiempo y siempre puso una sonrisa en mi cara. I hope those moments where you can’t resist commenting on something regarding our beloved team are frequent :p jeje un abrazo, y te deseo lo mejor.

  18. LosBlancos permalink
    May 30, 2013 19:10

    NOOOOOOOO PLEASE!!!

  19. May 30, 2013 19:11

    Thanks for all your work; I’ve enjoyed it.

    HALA MADRID!!!

  20. Bhargav permalink
    May 30, 2013 19:12

    Nooooo! ;_; I’ll miss your blog tremendously.. I always look forward to a new post before and after a match…😦

    Best of luck with your endeavors! I hope you’ll return once again like before.

  21. May 30, 2013 19:23

    Triste😦
    I enjoyed your blog always very much!! Hope to read from you in the future!
    How is it possible to stay in contact w/ you? You can write me to kern@realtotal.de

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:28

      You can email me, the address is on the right sidebar!

  22. May 30, 2013 19:29

    was pleasure to have you here. thank you so much and good luck. oh and please get back when you get bored, and when we win la decima🙂

  23. zeynab permalink
    May 30, 2013 19:37

    don’t like this post at all! why you are going?
    i am not a Spanish speaker and don’t have access on this kind of info you put every week! i am so sad!
    i wish CR went back to UK so i will have all information about him!

  24. May 30, 2013 20:09

    i have found your blog a few months ago but I’m visiting it nearly every day to see if you have blog about new things.. and at first, when i saw the topic “adios” i thought that this is a blogpost about the ending of the football-season.. but I’m now soooo sad about your decision to stop blogging😦 It was such a big gift for me, when I found your blog. I felt sooo happy to know other madridistas online and to find a blogger who is sharing the love with me for real madrid..I love the way you write about real madrid.. I love the Xabi Alonso pose sections, the Karim Benzema self portraits, the GIFs about the players and all the blogposts before and after the games.. absolutely everything.. when you should stop blogging, than i dont know where I can get all the news and information about real madrid.. i have visited a lot of blogs, but no one of them was so good like yours.. can you suggest other blogs who also blog about real madrid?? i really, realllyyy, realllllllyyyyyyyy dont know, where i can get information about real madrid, when you should stop blogging😦

  25. Uli permalink
    May 30, 2013 21:20

    Noooooo!!!!! Please, don’t go, Una!!!! Can’t imagine my life without your blog! Such a shock that you’re leaving!!!:(:(:(

  26. Courtney permalink
    May 30, 2013 21:26

    We will miss you Una!

  27. May 30, 2013 21:37

    I’m going to miss checking in for the “All set for.. ” and “ICYMI”. Thanks for everything🙂

  28. May 30, 2013 21:50

    Thank you for this wonderful blog, it has been a pleasure to read this for so long. I’ll miss you and your blog, but I believe it’s better to say goodbye if that’s how you feel.

    I don’t have any questions in mind right now but the Q&A post sounds really fun!

  29. Dave permalink
    May 30, 2013 22:14

    Adios U.M. It has been a pleasure reading you for the past years. I always wondered where you got all your info and pictures and video. I am going to miss reading your comments when I open my e mails but that is the way it goes. Adios and good luck for whatever projects your future holds .

  30. moumou permalink
    May 30, 2013 22:31

    much much love and respect to you. I have been changing names and emails here, but mostly ‘amourai’. I want to apologize to you for any, even slight pain i caused to you by my comments or discussions. I have been very depressed the last few weeks with the ever flooding news about the conflict between our coach and captain. At times i felt that one should blame Sara for she was so ugly in her criticism to our coach. To be truthful, I was brought to real madird by my admiration to Mourinho. I ve embraced them all because of my idol Mourinho. I hated Spain the Spanish press for their poisoned and poisoning attacks on him.
    And here we are, Mourinho will leave Madrid with eternal bitterness in his memory. I also feel that Real Madrid will not be the same as after his departure and may be I will not even be able to watch the games while somebody else occupy his seat. I say this while trying my best not to cry for I don’t have that much joy in my life but Real Madrid-Mourinho. Spanish Press: Go to hell for all the pain you caused to millions of madridistas.
    Una, I wish great life ..

  31. maggie permalink
    May 30, 2013 22:40

    nooo i’m really sad to see you go! But if this is it, I want to show my appreciation!! I haven’t
    been a Real Madrid fan for very long but finding you blog was a great treat! And since I found it, I checked in on a regular basis to see if you posted something. This is the first I actually commented because I never knew what to comment. But to get to the point, here are my 5 ‘thank yous’ for you.

    1. Thank you for all you posts. I always had great fun reading them and to have something
    to look forward to, especially after a bad game because you always knew how to chear us
    madridistas up!

    2. Thank you for sharing your absolute passion and love for this club! Without your blog
    I wouldn’t have loved this club as much as I do now.

    3. Thank you for giving foreign fans,like me, the full Real Madrid experience, something that
    we wouldn’t have gotten without you! And for that you have my full respect and appreciation.

    4. Thank you for all the translating you did for us. I can’t believe your kindness for doing
    that and especially when it takes up lots of spare time for you. Real Madrid is lucky to have
    you as a madridista! I hope I can ever be half the madridista your are.

    5. And last but certainly not least, thank you for the Xabi pose selection!!! Without it my
    life wouldn’t be complete hahaha

    I hope you enjoyed writing this blog beacause we really did love to read it! I already can’t
    wait for you to pop back in again! I’m going to miss you and your hilarious posts :((
    I just can’t express my gratitude towards you… All I can say is just muchas gracias!

    Besos!

  32. May 30, 2013 23:10

    Of all the gin joints in all the world, you had to blog into mine…
    Thank you Una, for four fabulous years. We all look forward to your next venture… You will keep us informed, mayhaps?

  33. Alyssa permalink
    May 30, 2013 23:30

    There’s a lot that I want to say but I suppose only one thing really matters at this point, a genuine, heart-felt thank you.

  34. Catherine permalink
    May 30, 2013 23:37

    Aww I am so sad to see this blog end!!! I loved every story, I always got so excited when I saw in my emails a new page was up!! Thankyou for everything, you made me fall even more in love with Real Madrid, even more than I thought possible!!! I am going to miss it so so much!!!!
    Good luck for everything in the future,
    Hala Madrid para siempre!!!!

    Ps… Please come back soon!!🙂

  35. May 31, 2013 00:40

    Oh no, this make me so sad! It has been an absolute joy following your blog all these years, it’s my favourite place to read about Real Madrid. Your writing is always a pleasure to read and I’ve really appreciated the translations you’ve shared, and the gifs, and everything else!
    You’re an absolute treasure and I want to thank you for sharing so much with us!

    I suppose if you might come back on occasion, you’ll be keeping the blog up? I love going back to read interviews and ICYMIs of fantastic matches, etc!

    And that new font is truly terrible, I thought it was comic sans when I first caught a glimpse of it in the video release…and we had done quite well these past two seasons, I thought. Not looking forward to an orange third jersey either…

    Anyway, once again, thank you so much for everything!

  36. Pat permalink
    May 31, 2013 01:02

    I am very sad by the end of the blog, but thank you all the information you shared with fans.Great moments.Kiss from Brasil. Pat

  37. May 31, 2013 01:21

    Now that this blog is down, i’ve gotta read magazines again, all crap and bullshit. Thank you for these years, everything has an end and you’ve gotta continue your life. Thank you, wish you all the best luck.

  38. Greta permalink
    May 31, 2013 01:36

    Hey una,
    I’m sad to hear that you quit, but I’m sure you know best what you are doing. I still will miss your blog a lot.

    Though there is a question that nobody really could answer yet, so I’m asking you now.
    In football, everybody talks about money, and I often notice people bitching on other fan’s clubs for having debts or other financial problems. Now I know, Madrid is making a lot of money (more than 500 mio last year?) and there are documentaries on Madrid that tell me they are well situated, but I still often hear, the club was deep in debts. Do you know, how things are exactly? Going with that, I ofter hear, Madrid wouldn’t be paying taxes (what I cannot really believe), so do you know anything about that, too?

    greetings from a fan of your work,
    Greta

  39. May 31, 2013 03:03

    Thank you, Una for everything…you have unselfishly shared your love of Real Madrid with us. For one like me who is thousands of miles away from Spain and the RM boys, you make it seems like I am also watching in the sidelines. Really hope I get to read you write again….when you cannot resist. Gracias, Una!

  40. Cammy permalink
    May 31, 2013 03:19

    Thank you, thank you, thank from the bottom of my Madridista heart. I’ve learned so much from your blog that I could not get anywhere else. Thanks for translating the interviews and articles for us Spanish challenged fans. I’ll still send you pictures from UCLA this summer. Best to you always:)

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:37

      Great, looking forward to seeing the pictures, and hearing about your adventures!

  41. Natalie permalink
    May 31, 2013 04:57

    no,😦 i will miss reading ur blog

  42. realmadridlover permalink
    May 31, 2013 05:06

    WHY ARE YOU LEAVING???? NOOOOOOOOOO. I ACTUALLY LOVE THIS BLOG THOUGH.

  43. rani permalink
    May 31, 2013 05:11

    Unaaaaa…..~ why you not continue this blog..? ;( your post is my medicine when i feel confuse and bad about the ‘unpredictable’ news around our beloved team. you always gave us a different point of view. And that means a lot. the first thing i do when i start my day (besides praying) is open your blog!! oh, i dont know what would i do after that. its different blog. you fill it with a positive energy and classyness…..

    well, but i respect your choice tho.. but still, its hurt me. now, i need to search another source to fill my empty heart and soul. THANK YOU for Every post you did. Amazing. love you.

  44. Sarah Gonsalves permalink
    May 31, 2013 05:18

    Thanks for everything Una! I wish you nothing but the best and I hope that we are blessed with a post every now and then :p❤

  45. black widow permalink
    May 31, 2013 05:30

    oh, una!😦 i’m gutted!

    there is seriously no other RM or footie blog on the entire internet that i enjoy as much as yours. you will be missed more than you know. thank you for all the time you have given to this site, your fantastic posts and sense of humour and incredible depth of knowledge and most of all, for making this such a comfortable, welcoming, non-judgmental home for fans of all backgrounds, beliefs and clubs. you will be missed!

    muchos besos y abrazos!

  46. irina permalink
    May 31, 2013 05:48

    nooooo!!!! i check this everyday after a long day and it make me feel better:(
    thanks for everything though

  47. May 31, 2013 06:14

    It’s a pity really… I believe all your readers wish you can continue, anyway all of us respect your decision as well. Thank you for everything! Best wishes!

    And, will you continue with conlaroja? At least till the end of the Confederations Cup?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:37

      For the moment, yes.

  48. Tab3 permalink
    May 31, 2013 07:57

    This is depressing. Say it isn’t so una. Your writing is very valued around the world.

    From Atlanta, Georgia USA

  49. Elizabeth permalink
    May 31, 2013 07:59

    Una, thanks to you❤ and all these years of sharing info about real madrid with us, you kinda made me a madridista, when i found out about real (cause i didn´t know it before) i only watched all the games and read some things the press said, but when i found this blog i found more about the players, the club, the cantera and saw everything with a different point of view, thanks to you i fell in love with this club, the players,the coach and the "afición", i loved your point of view about the games, how you shared things most people don´t see (jokes, bromances etc.) and all those funny stories i could read all over again❤ i feel sad you kinda leave, i`ll miss this blog (a LOT) cause when you don´t post the games seem different, there is no other blog that do what you have done, thanks thanks and thanks, i don´t comment very often but today i need to express my gratitude, so sad that not only mou leave, the project ended but you too, well it´s kinda a closure but real madrid is "eterno", so i´m gonna stay positive (: THANKS again, and HALA MADRID!!!

    PS: Honestly, this blog can make everyone feel a madridista

  50. May 31, 2013 08:17

    Hi Una, thank you so much for all these years. I have developed a love for a team I hadn’t known about 3 years ago. And your passion had a lot to do with it!
    I really hope you have a fantastic life. Here’s wishing you all the best!
    With warm regards, Iram

  51. Hornbeam permalink
    May 31, 2013 08:34

    You’ve been our only chance in the world for us to read the interviews from spanish magazines in english.😦

    Please, don’t stop.😦

  52. Jenny permalink
    May 31, 2013 11:25

    Bye bye, darling Una! Always reconsider…if you get the urge to write, give in to it😉

    And just promise you won’t erase! I love reading old posts.

  53. May 31, 2013 15:01

    Nooo😦

  54. May 31, 2013 15:08

    hey Una, this is my very first post to your blog. I’ve been following your work for a long time, and I’m kicking myself in the shin for being an eternal lurker and not replying to your wonderful and informative entries, especially the ones with GIFs and behind-the-scenes videos of our team and our beloved coach…. Those were the good old days… well, I can’t help but agree with you on this, Una.. I won’t be following Madrid so much and so often as I used to, now that Mou is leaving this club we all love in such a tragic and pointless manner. Such a disappointment from the Board of Directors, the spoiled bandwagon fans, and the Spanish gutter press as usual who are running this club to the ground and will continue to do so as they’ve always been since the late 90s. Once again, there will be similar glaring headlines in huge red font, of Lyonazo and Alcorconazo, the return of Barca’s hegemony, of the perpetual demonizing of one coach after another, one new player after another… I am just too tired, too hurt, and too disappointed that this club has never learned from its mistakes from the past decade or so. Too bad, so sad. The one man who could’ve given us the future we’ve been painstakingly waiting and dreaming for, was kicked out unceremoniously… After all the hard work, the sleepless nights, the enduring of the personal attacks on him and his family, and treating his players like his own sons, defending them and this club from the press, exposing the football corruption in Spain and Europe, this is what he gets…. Real Madrid does not deserve the Special One. Maybe someday, when the dust settles and cooler heads prevail, maybe Real will wake up from its stupor and have its share of humble pie. But right now, all I see is complacency, unprofessionalism and personal pathetic little agendas dominating and destroying this club. Real will still be in my heart and my soul, por siempre en mi, but… I need a rest from this. I wish Mou the best of luck in Chelsea, they really deserve him and know his worth, and respect him not only as a coach, but more importantly, as a PERSON. I’ll go as far as to say I will support him wherever he goes. He has honesty and integrity, and he’s a good man. As for Real, I sincerely hope the next manager can discipline the ranks and bring home some silverware, amid the hell that the board and the media brings, but… sadly, that’s gonna be a tall order.

  55. Abbe permalink
    May 31, 2013 15:34

    Una, I will miss you!! You weren’t like anyother Real Madrid blogger I have seen!! You didn’t just wright about what happened in the games but also about what happened when the whistle was blown!!
    Thank you!!❤

  56. Alekk permalink
    May 31, 2013 17:45

    Thank you for everything. Been a pleasure following your blog. Best of luck

  57. Aditya Halder permalink
    May 31, 2013 17:46

    sad. . . .

  58. Aditya Halder permalink
    May 31, 2013 18:01

    hi UM….I’m silent follower of your blog for past 2 years I think. I really regret I never made a comment on appreciation of your work. I loved this blog….enjoyed it since the day m following it. and I learnt this term mediapunta from you. thanks a lot and bye. I’m not so good with words….so sorry about that.

  59. Tambourine permalink
    May 31, 2013 18:38

    I’ll be sad to see you leave – your blog has brought me great joy through the years. I, for one, would love to see you finish off with a Q&A. Best of luck with everything and thanks for the laughs and the tears and the joy!

  60. May 31, 2013 18:40

    Tu eres GRANDE

  61. Maestro permalink
    May 31, 2013 19:12

    As a final thing u can put your picture up here cuz i’ve been wanting to see what u look like.

  62. Mia permalink
    May 31, 2013 20:37

    Aww Una, I am so sad right now, you gave me something that no one else has ever given me: a passion and love for Real Madrid that I am sure I would not have gotten if not for this blog.Thank you dearly, and I have to go and look for a blog similar to this, I haven´t found it yet, and I am not sure I will.

    With lots of love

    Mia

  63. Maripili permalink
    May 31, 2013 21:46

    We shall miss you. I always enjoyed your posts. Good luck in all your future endeavors.

  64. Madridista permalink
    May 31, 2013 22:18

    Una, thank you very much for everything you have done for all of us madridistas and informing us🙂 I am very sad that you are leaving us but wish you well. as for the Q & A I would like to participate😀

  65. Morales permalink
    June 1, 2013 00:55

    Oh. adios! I love your blog very much. Buena suerte in your future endeavors.

  66. Diego Hernandez permalink
    June 1, 2013 02:35

    Una does it really have to end? I’ve absolutely loved reading your blogs they make my day and whenever I read one it never fails to make me smile. I will miss this blog so much it was like a daily ritual for me to check it but now it looks like it’s over😥. Uno beso muy fuerte.

  67. Sheh permalink
    June 1, 2013 03:40

    Pls do! You will be greatly missed.

  68. June 1, 2013 11:57

    Dear Una, I just want to thank you very very much for all the work you did to make this blog so awesome! And I hope you will write as often as possible ! Muchas gracias!

  69. Marquise permalink
    June 1, 2013 14:26

    You will missed, UM! You were my go to source for anything Madrid. I have learned more about the club and about being a madridista than I ever could have thanks to your hard work! I hope you will be able to do a follow up every now and then🙂

  70. June 1, 2013 16:12

    Sad, that you quit, because your blog is my favourite Real Madrid blog, it’s just so amazing and interesting and these gifs are wonderful. I really want to thank you for such an amazing blog! Q&A would be awesome!

  71. nadia permalink
    June 1, 2013 19:18

    I have to thank you for the best, best blog and for writing the best football related texts I’ve ever read. My life will be so empty without checking your blog every afternoon and after our games, especially the big ones. Muchas gracias. And good luck with everything!

  72. June 2, 2013 03:54

    SNIFF! I always love reading your posts and they are always so informative! Being in the US, it is sometimes difficult to get all the Real Madrid news, especially when your Spanish is not very good. I hope that you will continue to share with us whenever you feel like writing a blog. They are always welcome! Best of luck in everything you do!

  73. June 2, 2013 04:33

    Una, it really saddens me to hear that this blog has come to an end, because all that you’ve shared about Madrid has really made me a madridista. I don’t think I would have loved this beautiful club so much if it weren’t for you, because there are simply so many things that I never would have found out or appreciated. I remember checking this eagerly every day, because of the hilarious commentary, interesting statistics and lovely pictures you’ve posted. So thank you so, so much for everything over the years❤

    And hell yes (excuse my language), I'd love a Q&A session.

  74. June 2, 2013 11:32

    thank u for all these years

  75. Joe permalink
    June 2, 2013 13:39

    Quite sad to hear this!!😦

  76. Lulja permalink
    June 2, 2013 15:17

    Dear Una,
    you have been a huge inspiration for all of us. Thank you so much for all the effort you have put into this blog, I appreciated it really much. It was indeed beautiful to see the world of RM from a certainly different, human, female perspective.

    Whenever you feel like there’s a topic that needs to be discussed within your own little Una Madridista community, you know where to come back.

    Again, thanks a lot – you will definitely be missed.

    Lots of love from Germany,
    Lulja

  77. Mychal permalink
    June 3, 2013 04:57

    Thank you so much for all the work you’ve put into this website. As a American Madridista it was always hard to find news in English about this wonderful club until I found your website. I will miss your posts more than all of your readers combined. I wish you happiness, good health and success in all of your future plans. But this isn’t goodbye this is more of a see you later because I think I speak for everyone when I say I hope you come back one day.🙂

    p.s. I don’t know if you’d want to do this but I would love if you created a twitter account so we can still hear your opinions on different things going on at the club. You don’t have to obviously but we’d all love it. Hasta luego y gracias Una🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:40

      I don’t have plans to create a twitter account at the moment, but I’ll consider it.

      • June 5, 2013 18:16

        I will definitely follow you on twitter. I speak for myself, but I am sure that most of the people here will gladly follow you on twitter.

      • Lulja permalink
        June 6, 2013 15:14

        That would be absolutely awesome. And it would be certainly (much!) less effort for you.

        Funny how so many of us can’t imagine a RM-future without our dear Una! Jeje.🙂

  78. Jessie permalink
    June 3, 2013 18:41

    we’re gonna miss you and the posts. please come back next season!!

  79. June 3, 2013 19:03

    So sad to lose this wonderful blog, but thank you for all the hard work you’ve put in over the years, with your impeccable writing, fabulous insights and Iker-stalking prowess – I’ll really miss it:) xoxo

  80. yvette permalink
    June 4, 2013 06:14

    ¡Te hechare de menos Una! You have been the best….Hope you’ll sneak back once in a while..🙂

  81. June 4, 2013 14:29

    OH NOOOOO, NOT AGAIN!!!!

    Sad to read this, UnaMadridista, I will miss the blog! I respect your decision, but please know that you will be missed.
    The blog was wonderful, wonderful, thank you for your time, work and attention to fun details, it is really appreciated! Many journalists could learn from you!

    I wish you all the best for the future, besos and abrazos and of course, let’s have an O&A!!!!!

    BTW I am quite happy that this season ended, I am a bit sick of this season and all the atmosphere that was really weird recently. I hope the club will hire a wise coach and some fresh start will come. With all my liking of Mou, I do not get the last months, but whatever happened is in the past and I hope that the next season will be fine!

  82. Che permalink
    June 4, 2013 19:04

    Why Una Why? POR QUE?🙂
    Please do not close the website. It is like a treasure trove for us non spanish Madridistas. Will be fun to go through whenever we feel like. Any payments needed to just keep it running as its is now – I am willing to pitch in🙂 Just email me – I am serious about this – not joking🙂

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 5, 2013 16:41

      The site will stay up, don’t worry! I might even “surprise” post once in a while…

      • Nas permalink
        June 5, 2013 17:02

        Thank you for the wonderful blog! Your posts have helped get through alot of hard times with the team. Thank you for giving up your free time to keep us posted and always bring a smile on my face! I look forward to the surprise posts🙂

      • June 5, 2013 18:19

        🙂 that would be lovely and I’ll look forward to that.

        I can’t wait for the Q&A session that you are going to post. I’m so fed up to death of the constant sniping that’s happening at our beloved club. I’m so glad that this season is over with all the bitterness that we experienced.

  83. Xxanaaa_99 permalink
    June 5, 2013 17:24

    I’m so Sad to read this! I don’t understand spanish that well (I’m learning though), so it was great to read your translations, and humoristic Posts!!! Thanks for that Una. I hope you’ll come back somtime, but i understand your decision.

  84. June 5, 2013 20:22

    I didn’t comment on this initially (perhaps because I had trouble accepting the fact that you’re leaving?), but just know that your work has been so, so appreciated. You’re fantastic and you honestly have made the Real Madrid fandom a better place and I hope you know that🙂

    Ps. I support the voices suggesting you make a Twitter account at some point – your opinions are so valued for a lot of us, so to have access to your comments and opinions that way would be fantastic. Glad to see you’re continuing with Conlaroja, by the way.

    Lots of love and I hope I’ll see you grace us all with your presence again soon! Thank you so much for your hard work, we’re so many people who have appreciated it a lot more than you’ll ever know.

  85. NAJ permalink
    June 5, 2013 21:30

    Thanx for the amazing blog Una! Always keeping us informed, showing us the fun side of RM ( the recent Coentrao show, the “Sergio Ramos Goya Awards”, etc) lol; stats; evens your effortless “all set for” posts, when you said you didn’t have time to write a worthy post for that particular RM game. Una, I loved it all! But now its time we learn more about Unamadridista herself…from Madrid? Season ticket holder? What influenced your passion for RM? That said, thanx again for the awesome blog& showing us your love& passion for RMadrid🙂

  86. June 6, 2013 08:44

    since the day you declared that you will stop writing, i have been wanting to write this..el mucho gracias una..for so long you gave us the privilege to enjoy so much about the club, we love the most…i wish you could go on forever and ever..i would have posted 100 comments saying #UnaQuedate but i know your life must be getting busier and you must be having a plethora of other work and non-work commitments too..good luck for the future endeavors..for me you are a hero..the kind of respect and love that rmfc players deserve and command from us, the fans, you are a legend too and you will always command the same respect and love from my side…what will i do without your ‘marcelo sunshine’ pictures and those umpteen classic ‘xabi alonso pose sections’ or those incredible gifs featuring our past and the present..wish you were here and i could give you a big, warm hug…your announcement that u will stop with your blog has actually got me teary eyed..’following real madrid’ has been a part and parcel of my life since ever and now it seems that we are going through a break-up..i hate break ups and good byes..and especially if its about saying good bye to the best ever rmfc blog..trust me, there hasnt ever been or ever will be, a better blog than this, that would make us fall in love with real madrid all over again, the way you used to..time and again..thank you..from the bottom of my heart…never got to know your real name..would have loved to know more about you…this song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnIJrbwjlZA is dedicated to you…it sums up my feelings alright.

  87. Ida permalink
    June 6, 2013 15:28

    it was fun as long it lasted! I really love this blog and hope to see more of it in the future

    many hugs from a faithful madridista!

  88. mahnoor zahid permalink
    June 9, 2013 13:16

    this blog is reay amazing..🙂

  89. Mani Thangadurai permalink
    June 10, 2013 07:40

    Sad to hear this news…you and I have disagreed on several aspects regarding Real Madrid but I have always respected your opinion. This has been a fine blog and I do hope that this won’t be the end. Who else can post here if not you?

    You have been a great provider of insights into the club, and despite all the shenanigans your love for the club has shone through. I too wish you the best in your endeavours.

  90. cyn permalink
    June 10, 2013 13:56

    Hi Una

    Thank you so much for all your awesome posts over the past few years, I’ve especially enjoyed reading the Xabi Alonso Pose sections. Best wishes from a Liverpool FC fan 🙂

  91. Ally permalink
    June 23, 2013 18:36

    This is sad news, but I can only say; Thank you so much for teaching me new things about Real’s history (before 2008, when I joined the fanbase of this amazing club) and thank you for making my day with your witty comments on players’ outfits🙂
    I wish you all the best and hope that you will come back every once in a while

  92. Zama permalink
    July 1, 2013 11:00

    Thank God! I am a true Red Devil and Una was quickly turning me into a Madridista!

    Seriously though, I am not happy at all. Where will I see Real Madrid players like this? The Sunshine Marcelo?

    It’s bad news but Thank you Una. You gave us the best and we’ll forever be grateful.

    PS: If, by some miracles you happen to come to Tanzania, let me know, I owe you a safari.

    Kisses.

    If you REALLY have to take down con la roja can you please do it after WC 2014? Or may be WC 2018?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 14, 2013 15:11

      I’d love to go to Tanzania! And for the moment, CLR is staying up, so no worries.

  93. July 3, 2013 17:06

    My question: will you marry me?

    Thank you so much for your hard work and sharing your unique angle on Real Madrid with us. It’s phenomenal what you’ve done particularly for non-Spanish Madridistas who don’t know about the kind of stuff you observe and talk about.

    • unamadridista permalink*
      July 14, 2013 15:11

      Jajaja! You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

