Skip to content

pirates and booties

November 26, 2013

These moments – from the game against Almería – are the kind that are meant to be shared, no?

For those of you who aren’t so inclined towards half-dressed footballers, there’s just a bit more suffering, and then some Pirata for your patience.

Three cheers for the Almería players who were so persistent in their pursuit of shirts and especially shorts!

As for Esteban Granero, the program “El Día Después” spent some time with him recently, and followed his recovery process, which was in its 67th day at that point.

Narrator: Sixty seven days ago, Esteban’s life changed significantly.

EG: when you get injured, you always hope they’ll tell you, no, no, it’s not serious.

N: but it was a torn ACL, equivalent to six months out.

EG: right now, I’m not playing a game against another team, against a rival, but rather against myself.  This also helps you to realize where your limitations are.

N: from that point on, the support of his friends, family and of the entire Real Sociedad family has helped him to move forward.

EG: for me, knowing that I’m going to go practice when I wake up in the mornings is what makes me the happiest.  What makes things difficult now is waking up and knowing that I am not able to practice.  Each day I take this path [to Zubieta], and I pass by the team training, and that’s difficult.  For me, football is not only my job, it’s also my passion and a way of life.

Each day is different, the challenges are different, the sensations are different, but you can use each day to improve, and that is what is important.

Here, I have both professional and personal support, and you don’t get that in all places.  In this sense, I am very grateful.

(The first two pedals were hard, but after that… it didn’t hurt anymore.)

N: Six hours a day of hard work so that the recovery process will be perfect.

EG: this is the worst part.

With each day, I get closer to the day when I can play again, and in this sense, I’m very happy.

N: during the next four months, he’ll be accompanied by his closest family and friends.

EG: I try to take charge as much as I can, but it always hurts a bit.  I have a very small group of close friends, and this group has gotten even smaller since the injury.  There were people who fled because of the injury.  But the circle has gotten stronger, which is good.

[What a view!!]

They have an unerring sense, and whenever there’s the smallest problem, they can sense it even before I realize it.

My father, when he sees me like that, begins a game of chess with me over the phone; everyone has their way of doing things.

Playing the guitar helps as well; it’s a hobby.  I like to play my friends’ songs, so I play songs by Quique González or Leiva.  It helps you in moments when you’re feeling down.

N: the hardest part is what is coming up, having to watch his teammates from the stands.

EG: Carlitos is playing up front, no?

We’re playing quite well, eh?

What a great goal!

I think we have to keep doing what we’ve been doing, we’re playing well.

There’s no need to get nervous, there’s a lot of time left, half an hour.

A bit, eh?

Shoot!

This is when we’re going to tie the game, eh?

EG: I was only here for two months before I got injured, and in this sense it has been overwhelming, the affection which I’ve received, which isn’t anywhere proportional to what I have earned and deserve.  I would like to earn it and return it to them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. @ulonghaz permalink
    November 26, 2013 13:56

    drooling, I am drooling hahaha

  2. Pammie permalink
    November 26, 2013 14:08

    thanks for the transcript!

  3. Jessie permalink
    November 26, 2013 16:02

    i’ve missed granero😦

  4. Sasja permalink
    December 2, 2013 14:37

    Thank you for still posting once in awhile! I appreciate it!;)

Trackbacks

  1. Bits & Bobs: Catching Up With El Pirata | Of Headbands and Heartbreak...

Leave a Reply

